DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-12 have been amended; Claims 2, 6, and 10 have been canceled; No Claim(s) have been added. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-12 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to claim 9 to obviate the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation to claim 9. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation to claim 9 is/are hereby withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 5, 8-9, and 12 to obviate the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claims 1-12. The previous 12 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claims 1-12 is/are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments:
The applicant argues in substance that the amendments made to the instant application and co-pending application render the two applications patentably distinct. Therefore, the provisional rejection on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting should be withdrawn.
Furthermore, the applicant argues in substance that the prior art does not teach the amended claim limitations. Specifically, the provisional application which AGIWAL claims priority to, does not explicitly disclose the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting N, which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any of one of 8 start positions. Rather, the provisional application of AGIWAL merely suggests the use of the value X.
Examiner’s Amendment:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding the provisional rejection on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting, the amended limitations of the co-pending application still patently indistinct. See double patenting rejection below for details.
Regarding the amended claim limitations, N = 8 lies inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art, the provisional application of AGIWAL (see attached NPL), where the value of X (interpreted as N of the instant application) can be configured to encompass any number (see attached NPL pg 25), which includes 8. The examiner recommends amending the limitations such that N=8 achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range of any number; or such that N=8 is specifically chosen based on a preceding step or calculation.
Regarding all other arguments presented by the applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those response above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, and 12 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 3, 7, and 11 of Application No. 18351873. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 11 of copending Application No. 18351873 in view of PARK et al. (US 20230379880 A1), hereby referred to as PARK, and AGIWAL (US 20210314914 A1).
Claims 1, 6, and 11 of the copending application disclose claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, and 12 except language underlined and bolded. See Table below.
Instant Application 18351890
Copending Application 18351873
Claim 1:
A terminal comprising: a memory storing a program; and at least one processor that, by executing the program stored in the memory, configured to: receive first configuration information for an extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle and second configuration information on a common search space for a paging,
monitor physical downlink control channel candidates in the common search space for the paging during a paging time window in a Paging Hyperframe (PH) of a Hyper-System Frame Number (H-SFN), the paging time window being given by the eDRX cycle, and receive paging information in a case that downlink control information for the paging is detected based on monitoring of the physical downlink control channel candidates,
wherein: a starting position of the paging time window is represented by System Frame Number (SFN) and given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8), and the eDRX cycle is longer than 1024 radio frames,
the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_IDH given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N, which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions.
Claim 1:
A terminal comprising: a memory storing a program; and at least one processor that, by executing the program stored in the memory, is configured to: receive configuration information on extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX);
Claim 1:
and control to monitor physical downlink control channel candidates in a common search space for a paging within a paging time window in a Hyper-System Frame Number (H-SFN)…a starting position of the paging time window is determined by inputting, to a formula the eDRX cycle
Claim 1:
A starting position of the paging time windows is determined by inputting, to a formula…a value, which is eight, related to the starting position of the paging time window…
Claim 1:
a starting position of the paging time window is determined by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, a value, which is eight, related to the starting position of the paging time window, and UE_ID_H given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier.
Claim 4:
The terminal according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information on the eDRX cycle is included in any of a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and the second configuration information on the common search space for the paging is included in a RRC message.
Claim 1
receive a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message including configuration information on extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX)
Claim 5:
A base station comprising: a memory storing a program; and at least one processor, by executing the program stored in the memory, configured to: transmit first configuration information on an extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle and second configuration information on a common search space for a paging,
transmit downlink control information for the paging on a physical downlink control channel in the common search space for the paging during a paging time window in a Paging Hyperframe (PH) of a Hyper-System Frame Number (H-SFN), the paging time window being given by the eDRX cycle, and transmit paging information in a case that downlink control information for the paging is transmitted on the physical downlink control channel,
wherein a starting position of the paging time window is represented by a System Frame Number (SFN) and given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8), and the eDRX cycle is longer than 1024 radio frames.
the starting positions of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_IDH given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions
Claim 6:
A base station comprising: a memory storing a program; and at least one processor that, by executing the program stored in the memory, is configured to: transmit configuration information for eDRX;
Claim 6:
And control to transmit downlink control information on a physical downlink control channel in a common search space for a paging within a paging time window in a H-SFN, wherein the configuration information on the eDRX includes information for the paging time window in the PH of the H-SFN; a starting position of the paging time window is determined by inputting, to a formula, the eDRX cycle
Claim 6:
a starting position of the paging time window is determined by inputting, to a formula, the eDRX cycle, a value, which is eight, related to the starting position of the paging time window
Claim 6:
a starting position of the paging time window is determined by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, a value, which is eight, related to the starting position of the paging time window, and a hashed user equipment identity (UE_ID_H) of a temporary mobile subscription identifier
Claim 8:
The base station according to claim 5, wherein: the first configuration information on the eDRX is included in any of a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, and the second configuration information on the common search space for the paging is included in an RRC message.
Claim 6:
Transmit a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message including configuration information for extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX)
Claim 9:
For Claim 9, see claim 1 above
Claim 1 (see above) and Claim 11
Claim 12:
For Claim 12, see claim 4 above
Claim 1 (see above) and Claim 11:
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, teaches second configuration information on a common search space for a paging; paging information in a case that downlink control information for the paging is transmitted on the physical downlink control; and the second configuration information on the common search space for the paging is included in a RRC message channel (PARK: para 180 (“The PDCCH may be in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message.”) wherein terminal receives RRC message containing configuration of common search space for monitoring PDCCH with paging information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the copending application with PARK for the benefit of allocating resources usable by a plurality of UEs (PARK: para 122).
AGIWAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a Paging Hyperframe (AGIWAL: para 58 (“…determined by a paging hyperframe (PH)…”)), represented by a System Frame Number (SFN), and the eDRX cycle is longer than 1024 radio frames, the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions (AGIWAL: para 83 (“…instead of “mod 1024,” other values such as mod 2048, or mod 4096, etc. can be used…”) and para 106 (“PTW_start denotes the first radio frame of the paging hyper frame that is part of the PTW and has SFN that satisfies, SFN=(1024/X)*ieDRx, where i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X, where the parameter”X” is signaled by network…The parameter X can also be pre-defined e.g., it can be 1, 2, 4, 8, etc. The parameter X can be referred as number of PTWs in paging hyper frame.”) wherein N can be a configured or preconfigured value of X, which can be 8 and the eDRX cycle value can be greater than 1024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modify the copending application in view of PARK with AGIWAL for the benefit of reducing power consumption (AGIWAL: para 49).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUAWEI, HiSilicon, Discussion on eDRX for RRC_INACTIVE and RRC_IDLE[online]. 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #111-e R2-2007346, 2020.08.17 (see IDS 07/13/2023), hereby referred to as HUAWEI, in view of PARK et al. (US 20230379880 A1), hereby referred to as PARK, and AGIWAL (US 20210314914 A1) (see 892 10/24/2025) (see attached provisional application).
Claim 1:
HUAWEI teaches a terminal comprising: a memory storing a program; and at least one processor that, by executing the program stored in the memory (HUAWEI: pg 3 Figure 1 and Figure 2 item (“UE”)), configured to: receive first configuration information for an extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle (HUAWEI: pg 3 Figure 1 item 2 (“Attach or TAU response including accepted eDRX parameters”) wherein configuration for eDRX is received), monitor physical downlink control channel candidates (HUAWEI: pg 2 (“The power in Non-RRC_Connected is mainly used to monitor PDCCH of paging…The frequency of monitoring paging PDCCH depends on the length of the DRX period.”) wherein PDCCH paging candidates are monitored in DRX) during a paging time window in a Paging Hyperframe (PH) of a Hyper-System Frame Number (H-SFN) (HUAWEI: pg 4 Figure 3 wherein the paging time window is in a PH of a H-SFN) the paging time window being given by the eDRX cycle (HUAWEI: pg 3 (“…YE specific extended idle mode DRX values (cycle length and Paging Time Window Length)…”) and pg 4 Figure 3 wherein paging time window is given by eDRX cycle), and receive paging information in a case that downlink control information for the paging is detected based on monitoring of the physical downlink control channel candidates (HUAWEI: Figure 1 item 4 (“paging”) wherein paging is received during the monitoring on PDCCH candidates), wherein: the eDRX cycle is longer than 1024 radio frames (HUAWEI: pg 4 (“…introduce eDRX period exceeding 10.24s for RRC_INACTIVE…”) wherein the eDRX cycle can be longer than 1024 radio frames).
However, HUAWEI does not explicitly disclose receive second configuration information on a common search space for a paging and wherein a starting position of the paging time window is represented by System Frame Number (SFN) given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8), the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_ID_H given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, teaches receive second configuration information on a common search space for a paging (PARK: para 180 (“The PDCCH may be in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message.”) wherein terminal receives configuration of common search space for monitoring paging PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified HUAWEI with PARK, the combination hereby referred to as HUAWEI-PARK, for the benefit of allocating resources usable by a plurality of UEs (PARK: para 122).
However, HUAWEI-PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein a starting position of the paging time window is represented by System Frame Number (SFN) given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8), and the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_ID_H given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions
AGIWAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a starting position of the paging time window is represented by System Frame Number (SFN) given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8) (AGIWAL: para 106 (“PTW_start denotes the first radio frame of the paging hyper frame that is part of the PTW and has SFN that satisfies, SFN=(1024/X)*ieDRx, where i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X, where the parameter”X” is signaled by network…The parameter X can also be pre-defined e.g., it can be 1, 2, 4, 8, etc. The parameter X can be referred as number of PTWs in paging hyper frame.”) wherein N can be a configured or preconfigured value of X, which can be 8), and the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_ID_H given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions (AGIWAL: para 9-11 (…where UE.sub.ID,H is the hased identity”) and para 106 (“PTW_start denotes the first radio frame of the paging hyper frame that is part of the PTW and has SFN that satisfies, SFN=(1024/X)*ieDRx, where i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X, where the parameter”X” is signaled by network…The parameter X can also be pre-defined e.g., it can be 1, 2, 4, 8, etc. The parameter X can be referred as number of PTWs in paging hyper frame.”) wherein T.sub.eDRX,H is the eDRX cycle, UE_ID is the UE_ID_H, and parameter X=8 is N).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modify HUAWEI-PARK with AGIWAL, the combination hereby referred to as HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL, for the benefit of reducing power consumption (AGIWAL: para 49).
Claim 3:
HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL teaches the terminal according to claim 1, wherein: the starting position of the paging time window is given by that the UE_ID_H is divided by the eDRX cycle to calculate a value (AGIWAL: para 106 (“PTW_start denotes the first radio frame of the paging hyper frame that is part of the PTW and has SFN that satisfies, SFN=(1024/X)*ieDRx, where i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X…”) wherein UE_ID is dived by eDRX), the value is rounded off to an integer (AGIWAL: para 106 (“i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X”) wherein the valued is floored/rounded), the integer is divided by the N which is 8 to calculate a remainder (AGIWAL: para 106 (“i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X… The parameter X can also be pre-defined e.g., it can be 1, 2, 4, 8, etc.”) wherein mod X is the divded by N to find a remainder), and the remainder is multiplied by a constant (AIGWAL: para 106 (“SFN=(1024/X)*ieDRx”) wherein a constant such as 1024 is multiplied to the remainder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modify HUAWEI-PARK with AGIWAL for the benefit of reducing power consumption (AGIWAL: para 49).
Claim 4:
HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL teaches the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information on the eDRX cycle is included in any of a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message and a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (AGIWAL: para 61 (“…eDRX cycle…configured by upper layers (i.e., NAS).”) and para 78 (“The length of extended DRX cycle can be signaled by gNB in dedicated RRC signaling message.”) wherein configuration is by NAS and/or RRC), and the second configuration information on the common search space for the paging is included in a RRC message (PARK: para 180 (“The PDCCH may be in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message.”) wherein terminal receives configuration of common search space for monitoring paging PDCCH in an RRC message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modify HUAWEI with PARK for the benefit of allocating resources usable by a plurality of UEs (PARK: para 122) and AGIWAL for the benefit of reducing power consumption (AGIWAL: para 49).
Claim 5:
HUAWEI teaches A base station comprising:a memory storing a program; and at least one processor, by executing the program stored in the memory (HUAWEI: pg 3 Figure 1 and Figure 2 item (“eNB”)), configured to: transmit first configuration information on an extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) cycle (HUAWEI: pg 3 Figure 1 item 2 (“Attach or TAU response including accepted eDRX parameters”) wherein configuration for eDRX is transmitted, transmit downlink control information for the paging on a physical downlink control channel (HUAWEI: pg 2 (“The power in Non-RRC_Connected is mainly used to monitor PDCCH of paging…The frequency of monitoring paging PDCCH depends on the length of the DRX period.”) wherein PDCCH paging candidates are transmitted for monitoring in DRX) during a paging time window in a Paging Hyperframe (PH) of a Hyper-System Frame Number (H-SFN) (HUAWEI: pg 4 Figure 3 wherein the paging time window is in a PH of a H-SFN) the paging time window being given by the eDRX cycle (HUAWEI: pg 3 (“…YE specific extended idle mode DRX values (cycle length and Paging Time Window Length)…”) and pg 4 Figure 3 wherein paging time window is given by eDRX cycle), and transmit paging information in a case that downlink control information for the paging is transmitted on the physical downlink control channel (HUAWEI: Figure 1 item 4 (“paging”) wherein paging is received/transmitted during the monitoring on PDCCH candidates), and the eDRX cycle is longer than 1024 radio frames (HUAWEI: pg 4 (“…introduce eDRX period exceeding 10.24s for RRC_INACTIVE…”) wherein the eDRX cycle can be longer than 1024 radio frames).
However, HUAWEI does not explicitly disclose receive configuration information on a common search space for a paging and wherein a starting position of the paging time window is represented by System Frame Number (SFN) given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8), the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_ID_H given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, teaches transmit second configuration information on a common search space for a paging (PARK: para 180 (“The PDCCH may be in a common search space (e.g., a Type1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message.”) wherein terminal receives configuration transmission of common search space for monitoring paging PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified HUAWEI with PARK, the combination hereby referred to as HUAWEI-PARK, for the benefit of allocating resources usable by a plurality of UEs (PARK: para 122).
However, HUAWEI-PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein a starting position of the paging time window is represented by System Frame Number (SFN) given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8), the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_ID_H given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions.
AGIWAL, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a starting position of the paging time window is represented by System Frame Number (SFN) given by any one of N starting positions (N = 8) (AGIWAL: para 106 (“PTW_start denotes the first radio frame of the paging hyper frame that is part of the PTW and has SFN that satisfies, SFN=(1024/X)*ieDRx, where i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X, where the parameter”X” is signaled by network…The parameter X can also be pre-defined e.g., it can be 1, 2, 4, 8, etc. The parameter X can be referred as number of PTWs in paging hyper frame.”) wherein N can be a configured or preconfigured value of X, which can be 8), the starting position of the paging time window is given by inputting, to a given formula, the eDRX cycle, UE_ID_H given by a hashed ID of a temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the N which is 8, and the starting position of the paging time window is any one of 8 start positions (AGIWAL: para 9-11 (…where UE.sub.ID,H is the hased identity”) and para 106 (“PTW_start denotes the first radio frame of the paging hyper frame that is part of the PTW and has SFN that satisfies, SFN=(1024/X)*ieDRx, where i.sub.eDRX=floor(UE_ID/T.sub.eDRX,H) mod X, where the parameter”X” is signaled by network…The parameter X can also be pre-defined e.g., it can be 1, 2, 4, 8, etc. The parameter X can be referred as number of PTWs in paging hyper frame.”) wherein T.sub.eDRX,H is the eDRX cycle, UE_ID is the UE_ID_H, and parameter X=8 is N).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modify HUAWEI-PARK with AGIWAL, the combination hereby referred to as HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL, for the benefit of reducing power consumption (AGIWAL: para 49).
Claim 7:
HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL teaches the base station according to claim 6. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 3 above.
Claim 8:
HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL teaches the base station according to claim 6. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 4 above.
Claim 9:
HUAWEI teaches a wireless communication method performed by a terminal. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim 11:
HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 10. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 3 above.
Claim 12:
HUAWEI-PARK-AGIWAL teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 10. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 4 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416