DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Following response to arguments is based on Applicant’s arguments filed on 12 November 2025.
Regarding Previous Claim Objections
Previous objection to claims 13-18 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the objected claims.
Regarding Previous Rejection Under 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments [Pages 5-6] with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 12 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, on pages 5-6, Applicant argues that prior art of record fails to teach “wherein the system information is updated over time according to: a predefined period based on an orbit height range, or a predefined period based on a speed range of the network node, or an indication in a first system information block (SIB1)”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits as follows.
Although the claim has been amended, the incorporated limitations are not exactly the same from former claims 8-10; thus, actually changing the scope of the claim. Furthermore, these incorporated limitations are not inclusive but optional, as they recite alternative feature “or”, and only one option needs to be met by a reference.
Also, the claim is not providing further details or definitions for the “predefined periods” and the relevance of a SIB1 in comparison with another SIB.
Therefore, based on the above interpretation, Qaise’s disclosure teaches how a communication between BS 120 and UE 110 is time-variant based on the orbit distance/height between both elements [Paragraphs 16, 38, 109, 133, 161].
The Examiner respectfully recommends the incorporation of inclusive limitations and further details of the relevance of the “predefined periods and SIB1”, so that the Examiner is precluded from current interpretation of the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 12, this claim has been amended to incorporate similar limitations to those set forth in independent claim 1, and is rejected based on similar reasoning.
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, the Examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 12-18 have been amended. Claims 8-10 and 19-20 have been canceled. Claim 21 has been added. Thus, claims 1-7, 11-18, 21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)-(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qaise et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0297147).
Regarding claim 1, Qaise teaches a method of wireless communication (Fig. 7), comprising:
transmitting, from a network node to a user device, a block of system information that includes system information that is time varying due to at least one of movement of the network node or movement of the user device (node 120 sends to UE 110 SIB based on time varying of the movement of both of them [Paragraphs 8-11, 161]);
wherein the system information is updated over time according to: a predefined period based on an orbit height range, or a predefined period based on a speed range of the network node, or an indication in a first system information block (SIB1) (Although the claim has been amended, the incorporated limitations are not exactly the same from former claims 8-10; thus, actually changing the scope of the claim. Furthermore, these incorporated limitations are not inclusive but optional, as they recite alternative feature “or”, and only one option needs to be met by a reference. Also, the claim is not providing further details or definitions for the “predefined periods” and the relevance of a SIB1 in comparison with another SIB. Therefore, based on the above interpretation, Qaise’s disclosure teaches how a communication between BS 120 and UE 110 is time-variant based on the orbit distance/height between both elements [Paragraphs 16, 38, 109, 133, 161]).
Regarding claim 2, Qaise further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network node is a non-terrestrial base station (BS 120), and the user device is an aircraft-based UE (UE 110).
Regarding claim 3, Qaise further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the system information includes a position-velocity-time (PVT) information indicative a position of the non-terrestrial base station, a velocity of the non-terrestrial base station and a time at the base station ([Paragraph 16]).
Regarding claim 4, Qaise further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the system information includes a scheduling delay value ([Paragraphs 16, 55]).
Regarding claim 5, Qaise further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the system information includes a timing advance value ([Paragraph 76]).
Regarding claim 6, Qaise further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the system information includes a timing drift value ([Paragraph 16]).
Regarding claim 7, Qaise further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the block of system information comprises a system information block (SIB) ([Paragraph 161]).
Regarding claim 11, Qaise further teaches the method of wireless communication of claim 7, wherein the system information block is updated over time aperiodically with a corresponding indication in a short message with a bit indication ([Paragraphs 113, 219]).
Regarding claims 12-18, 21, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-7, 11.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
March 11, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633