DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on November 13, 2025. Claims 1-3 and 5-12 have been amended, claim 4 is canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
In response to the Amendments dated November 13, 2025, the Examiner withdraws the prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 13, 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2022/0297699 (hereinafter, "Kim"; newly of record) in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0344700 (hereinafter, "Ueno"; newly of record), and in further view of US Pub. No. 2020/0137580 (hereinafter, "Yang"; newly of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a notification apparatus comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire an abnormality in a first moving object (“detecting and propagating an abnormal state of a driver based on DSM” (para 0021) and “vehicle V1 is detected as an abnormal vehicle. Here, the surrounding vehicle, the RSU, or the base station may acquire information on the speed, the driving direction, and the like for the V1 vehicle” (para 0221)) which is detected by the first moving object (“the device in V1 detects the abnormal state of the driver of the vehicle V1 and/or the abnormal driving state of the vehicle V1” (para 0175)) or …;
a determination unit configured to determine whether the first moving object can continue normal control based on the abnormality (“When abnormality occurs in a driver of a specific vehicle, the abnormality also occurs even in operating the specific vehicle, and when such a situation is continued or a degree is severe, surrounding vehicles of the specific vehicle may discover the situation” (para 0178) and “a driver status monitoring (DSM) device constituted by a camera, a sensor, etc., may be installed in the vehicle. Likewise, a device for sensing an abnormal status of a passenger including the driver, i.e., a cabin status monitoring (CSM) device may also be installed in the vehicle, and this may also be a device including the DSM device” (para 0149));
a decision unit configured to decide, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination by the determination unit, a notification destination of the abnormality among (a) a second moving object (“The DSM and CSM devices may examine the status of the passenger and judge whether the status of the passenger influences safe driving as follows, and transmit a corresponding measurement/judgment result to the surrounding vehicle/network” (para 0154)) and a second road side machine (“the abnormal vehicle transmits a warning message to the surrounding vehicles (HV1, HV2) and the roadside unit (RSU)” (para 0307)) … and (b) a third moving object and a third road side machine which can be specified by a network address on a network to which the first moving object is connected (“when the abnormal status is sensed, the abnormal status may be announced to the surrounding vehicle, the network, or the related organization through the V2X communication device” (para 0149)); and
a notification unit configured to notify the decided notification destination of the abnormality (“Decentralized environmental notification message (DENM): When a serious problem may occur in the status of the passenger and the status of the vehicle, the DENM may be transmitted. The DENM may be a message transmitted when an event occurs. As an example, in a case where the status of the driver does not return to a normal status even after a predetermined time point or remains to a pre-defined reference time or less up to a time-to-collision (TTC), the abnormal vehicle may announce the case to the surrounding vehicles and/or the network through the DENM” (para 0170)).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach
acquire an abnormality in a first moving object which is detected by … a first road side machine;
decide, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination by the determination unit, a notification destination … within a range based on geographical information representing a geographical position.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
acquire an abnormality in a first moving object which is detected by … a first road side machine (“a misbehavior detection engine 215 may additionally include a message prediction engine 222 to determine potential misbehavior by determining that content of a received message includes information that deviates from information expected to be contained in the message (e.g., based on information included in previous messages from the same (or a different) roadway system)” (para 0045) and “a computing system of a vehicle or road side unit issuing such messages may sign every message sent using a secret key associated to a given certificate” (para 0033)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Yang in order to detect and mitigate against misbehavior involving V2X and other inter-roadway system communications; see Yang at least at [0034].
Ueno, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
decide, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination by the determination unit, a notification destination … within a range based on geographical information representing a geographical position (“The notification target vehicle selection unit 317 selects a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed, based on the information indicating the estimation results of the influence range, the risk level, and the threat type and/or the occurrence factor stored in the influence estimation information storage 324” (para 0044)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Ueno in order to select a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed; see Ueno at least at [0044].
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally Kim discloses wherein the mounting notification apparatus is mounted in the first moving object, and the acquisition unit acquires the abnormality which is detected by the first moving object (“a driver status monitoring (DSM) device constituted by a camera, a sensor, etc., may be installed in the vehicle, when the abnormal status is sensed, the abnormal status may be announced to the surrounding vehicle” (para 0149)).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally Kim discloses wherein the mounting notification apparatus is mounted in the first road side machine (“a driver status monitoring device or surrounding vehicles sense a status of a driver and/or a vehicle in which abnormality occurs upon driving, and a corresponding vehicle in which the abnormality occurs also announces the information to the surrounding vehicle, a network, or a related organization through a V2X communication device” (para 0143) and “The communication unit (110) may transmit and receive signals (e.g., data and control signals) to and from external devices such as other vehicles, BSs (e.g., gNBs and road side units)” (para 0353)), and
However, Kim does not explicitly teach
the acquisition unit acquires the abnormality which is detected by the first road side machine.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
the acquisition unit acquires the abnormality which is detected by the first road side machine (“a misbehavior detection engine 215 may additionally include a message prediction engine 222 to determine potential misbehavior by determining that content of a received message includes information that deviates from information expected to be contained in the message (e.g., based on information included in previous messages from the same (or a different) roadway system)” (para 0045) and “a computing system of a vehicle or road side unit issuing such messages may sign every message sent using a secret key associated to a given certificate” (para 0033)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Yang in order to detect and mitigate against misbehavior involving V2X and other inter-roadway system communications; see Yang at least at [0034].
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 1. However, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein, if the determination unit does not determine that the first moving object can continue normal control, the decision unit decides the second moving object and the second road side machine as the notification destination.
Ueno, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein, if the determination unit does not determine that the first moving object can continue normal control, the decision unit decides the second moving object and the second road side machine as the notification destination (“under the control of the report information transmission unit 319, the SOC server 30 creates an analysis report including information indicating the influence range, the degree of risk, and the threat type and/or the occurrence factor stored in the influence estimation information storage 324, and the abnormality detection information stored in the abnormality detection information storage (para 0077)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Ueno in order to select a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed; see Ueno at least at [0044].
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 5. Additionally Kim discloses wherein, if the determination unit does not determine that the first moving object can continue normal control, the notification unit notifies a moving object and a road side machine on the periphery of the abnormality (“The DSM and CSM devices may examine the status of the passenger and judge whether the status of the passenger influences safe driving as follows, and transmit a corresponding measurement/judgment result to the surrounding vehicle/network” (para 0154) and (“the abnormal vehicle transmits a warning message to the surrounding vehicles (HV1, HV2) and the roadside unit (RSU)” (para 0307) , and the abnormality is notified to the second moving object and the second road side machine by repeating transfer by moving objects and road side machines on the periphery (“Wireless communication/connections (150a, 150b, 150c) may be established between the wireless devices (100a˜100f)/BS (200), or BS (200)/BS (200). Herein, the wireless communication/connections may be established through various RATs (e.g., 5G NR) such as uplink/downlink communication (150a), sidelink communication (150b) (or, D2D communication), or inter BS communication (e.g. relay, Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB))” (para 0327)).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 1. However, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein, if the determination unit determines that the first moving object can continue normal control and the abnormality is an abnormality associated with security, the decision unit decides the third moving object and the third road side machine as the notification destination.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein, if the determination unit determines that the first moving object can continue normal control and the abnormality is an abnormality associated with security, the decision unit decides the third moving object and the third road side machine as the notification destination (“a misbehavior detection engine 215 may include a message analysis engine 220 with logic to scan messages (e.g., V2x) received from other roadway systems to detect inconsistencies with either or both the format or content of the messages suggesting an error or malicious intent in the messages” (para 0044), “misbehavior detection engine 215 may include a collaborative anomaly detection engine 230, which may facilitate sharing of misbehavior reports between systems” (para 0049) and “an anomaly may be detected and reported 1160 a misbehavior decision making engine 1165. In some cases, based on the severity of an anomaly or based on repeated anomalies involving a particular sender or object, the roadway system may generate misbehavior report message to send to other nearby roadway systems (e.g., other vehicles or RSUs) and/or a backend misbehavior authority system” (para 0073)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Yang in order to detect and mitigate against misbehavior involving V2X and other inter-roadway system communications; see Yang at least at [0034].
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally Kim discloses wherein, if the determination unit determines that the first moving object can continue normal control and the abnormality is an abnormality of an operation of a function of the first moving object, the decision unit decides the third moving object and the third road side machine as the notification destination (“When a serious problem may occur in the status of the passenger and the status of the vehicle, the DENM may be transmitted. The DENM may be a message transmitted when an event occurs. As an example, in a case where the status of the driver does not return to a normal status even after a predetermined time point or remains to a pre-defined reference time or less up to a time-to-collision (TTC), the abnormal vehicle may announce the case to the surrounding vehicles and/or the network through the DENM.” (para 0170) and “when the V1 vehicle itself determines that it is an abnormal vehicle. Specifically, when detecting that the V1 vehicle is operating abnormally through a sensor in the V1 vehicle, the V1 vehicle may transmit related information to a neighboring vehicle, an RSU, and/or a base station” (para 0223)).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 1. However, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein, if the determination unit determines that the first moving object can continue normal control and the abnormality is an abnormality that affects control of the first moving object because of an event that has occurred in an external world, the decision unit decides the third moving object and the third road side machine as the notification destination.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
wherein, if the determination unit determines that the first moving object can continue normal control and the abnormality is an abnormality that affects control of the first moving object because of an event that has occurred in an external world, the decision unit decides the third moving object and the third road side machine as the notification destination (“a V2X message 1105 (e.g., safety message) may be received and be first processed by a message analysis engine 220 providing message-level anomaly detection. The message analysis engine 220 may parse the message 1105 to detect anomalies in the objects reported in the message 1105 on a per-message level, such as by performing simple range checks (e.g., acceleration outside predefined boundaries, sudden appearance/teleporting of an object, etc” (para 0069)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Yang in order to detect and mitigate against misbehavior involving V2X and other inter-roadway system communications; see Yang at least at [0034].
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses and the combination of Ueno and Yang teaches the notification apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally Kim discloses wherein, if the determination unit determines that the first moving object can continue normal control and the abnormality is an abnormality representing a state in which an operator of the first moving object cannot continue an operation of the first moving object, the decision unit decides the third moving object (“the device in V1 detects the abnormal state of the driver of the vehicle V1 and/or the abnormal driving state of the vehicle V1, the vehicle V1 may transmit a message including related information to nearby vehicles and/or network” (0175)) and the third road side machine as the notification destination (“the device in V1 detects the abnormal state of the driver of the vehicle V1 and/or the abnormal driving state of the vehicle V1, the vehicle V1 may transmit a message including related information to nearby vehicles and/or network” (0175) and “when detecting that the V1 vehicle is operating abnormally through a sensor in the V1 vehicle, the V1 vehicle may transmit related information to a neighboring vehicle, an RSU, and/or a base station.”(para 0223)).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a notification method performed by a notification apparatus, the notification method comprising:
acquiring an abnormality in a first moving object (“detecting and propagating an abnormal state of a driver based on DSM” (para 0021) and “vehicle V1 is detected as an abnormal vehicle. Here, the surrounding vehicle, the RSU, or the base station may acquire information on the speed, the driving direction, and the like for the V1 vehicle” (para 0221)) which is detected by the first moving object (“the device in V1 detects the abnormal state of the driver of the vehicle V1 and/or the abnormal driving state of the vehicle V1” (para 0175)) or …;
determining whether the first moving object can continue normal control based on the abnormality (“When abnormality occurs in a driver of a specific vehicle, the abnormality also occurs even in operating the specific vehicle, and when such a situation is continued or a degree is severe, surrounding vehicles of the specific vehicle may discover the situation” (para 0178) and “a driver status monitoring (DSM) device constituted by a camera, a sensor, etc., may be installed in the vehicle. Likewise, a device for sensing an abnormal status of a passenger including the driver, i.e., a cabin status monitoring (CSM) device may also be installed in the vehicle, and this may also be a device including the DSM device” (para 0149));
deciding, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination in the determining, a notification destination of the abnormality among (a) a second moving object (“The DSM and CSM devices may examine the status of the passenger and judge whether the status of the passenger influences safe driving as follows, and transmit a corresponding measurement/judgment result to the surrounding vehicle/network” (para 0154)) and a second road side machine (“the abnormal vehicle transmits a warning message to the surrounding vehicles (HV1, HV2) and the roadside unit (RSU)” (para 0307)) … and (b) a third moving object and a third road side machine which can be specified by a network address on a network to which the first moving object is connected (“when the abnormal status is sensed, the abnormal status may be announced to the surrounding vehicle, the network” (para 0149) and “A Session Management Function (SMF) may provide functions, such as user equipment (UE) Internet Protocol (IP) address allocation, PDU session control, and so on” (para 0078)); and
notifying the decided notification destination of the abnormality (“When a serious problem may occur in the status of the passenger and the status of the vehicle, the DENM may be transmitted. The DENM may be a message transmitted when an event occurs. As an example, in a case where the status of the driver does not return to a normal status even after a predetermined time point or remains to a pre-defined reference time or less up to a time-to-collision (TTC), the abnormal vehicle may announce the case to the surrounding vehicles and/or the network through the DENM” (para 0170));
However, Kim does not explicitly teach
acquiring an abnormality in a first moving object which is detected by … a first road side machine.
deciding, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination in the determining, a notification destination … within a range based on geographical information representing a geographical position.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
acquiring an abnormality in a first moving object which is detected by … a first road side machine (“a misbehavior detection engine 215 may additionally include a message prediction engine 222 to determine potential misbehavior by determining that content of a received message includes information that deviates from information expected to be contained in the message (e.g., based on information included in previous messages from the same (or a different) roadway system)” (para 0045) and “a computing system of a vehicle or road side unit issuing such messages may sign every message sent using a secret key associated to a given certificate” (para 0033)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Yang in order to detect and mitigate against misbehavior involving V2X and other inter-roadway system communications; see Yang at least at [0034].
Ueno, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
deciding, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination in the determining, a notification destination … within a range based on geographical information representing a geographical position (“The notification target vehicle selection unit 317 selects a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed, based on the information indicating the estimation results of the influence range, the risk level, and the threat type and/or the occurrence factor stored in the influence estimation information storage 324” (para 0044)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Ueno in order to select a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed; see Ueno at least at [0044].
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program including instructions, which when executed by a computer of a notification apparatus, cause the notification apparatus to perform:
acquiring an abnormality in a first moving object (“detecting and propagating an abnormal state of a driver based on DSM” (para 0021) and “vehicle V1 is detected as an abnormal vehicle. Here, the surrounding vehicle, the RSU, or the base station may acquire information on the speed, the driving direction, and the like for the V1 vehicle” (para 0221)) which is detected by the first moving object (“the device in V1 detects the abnormal state of the driver of the vehicle V1 and/or the abnormal driving state of the vehicle V1” (para 0175)) or …;
determining whether the first moving object can continue normal control based on the abnormality (“When abnormality occurs in a driver of a specific vehicle, the abnormality also occurs even in operating the specific vehicle, and when such a situation is continued or a degree is severe, surrounding vehicles of the specific vehicle may discover the situation” (para 0178) and “a driver status monitoring (DSM) device constituted by a camera, a sensor, etc., may be installed in the vehicle. Likewise, a device for sensing an abnormal status of a passenger including the driver, i.e., a cabin status monitoring (CSM) device may also be installed in the vehicle, and this may also be a device including the DSM device” (para 0149));
deciding, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination in the determining, a notification destination of the abnormality among (a) a second moving object (“The DSM and CSM devices may examine the status of the passenger and judge whether the status of the passenger influences safe driving as follows, and transmit a corresponding measurement/judgment result to the surrounding vehicle/network” (para 0154)) and a second road side machine (“the abnormal vehicle transmits a warning message to the surrounding vehicles (HV1, HV2) and the roadside unit (RSU)” (para 0307)) ... and (b) a third moving object and a third road side machine which can be specified by a network address on a network to which the first moving object is connected (“when the abnormal status is sensed, the abnormal status may be announced to the surrounding vehicle, the network” (para 0149) and “A Session Management Function (SMF) may provide functions, such as user equipment (UE) Internet Protocol (IP) address allocation, PDU session control, and so on” (para 0078)); and
notifying the decided notification destination of the abnormality (“When a serious problem may occur in the status of the passenger and the status of the vehicle, the DENM may be transmitted. The DENM may be a message transmitted when an event occurs. As an example, in a case where the status of the driver does not return to a normal status even after a predetermined time point or remains to a pre-defined reference time or less up to a time-to-collision (TTC), the abnormal vehicle may announce the case to the surrounding vehicles and/or the network through the DENM” (para 0170));
However, Kim does not explicitly teach
acquiring an abnormality in a first moving object which is detected by … a first road side machine;
deciding, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination in the determining, a notification destination … within a range based on geographical information representing a geographical position.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
acquiring an abnormality in a first moving object which is detected by … a first road side machine (“a misbehavior detection engine 215 may additionally include a message prediction engine 222 to determine potential misbehavior by determining that content of a received message includes information that deviates from information expected to be contained in the message (e.g., based on information included in previous messages from the same (or a different) roadway system)” (para 0045) and “a computing system of a vehicle or road side unit issuing such messages may sign every message sent using a secret key associated to a given certificate” (para 0033)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Yang in order to select a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed; see Yang at least at [0044];
Ueno, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
deciding, based on the abnormality and a result of the determination in the determining, a notification destination … within a range based on geographical information representing a geographical position (“The notification target vehicle selection unit 317 selects a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed, based on the information indicating the estimation results of the influence range, the risk level, and the threat type and/or the occurrence factor stored in the influence estimation information storage 324” (para 0044)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the time of filing, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Kim with the teachings of Ueno in order to select a vehicle group in which a response to abnormality is needed; see Ueno at least at [0044].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM M ALHARBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663