CTNF 18/352,047 CTNF 93463 DETAILED ACTION The following is a non final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 05/11/2026 for response of the office actions mailed on 03/09/2025 . Independent claims 1, 15 and 29-30 are amended. Claims 2 and 16 were cancelled previously. Claims 3 and 17 a re cancelled currently. Claims 31-32 are newly added. Therefore, claims 1, 4-15 and 18-32 are pending and addressed below. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/11/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 05/11/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1, 7, 9-15, 21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei al. (2020/0351026), Babaei hereinafter, in view of TSAI et al. (2022/0078881, as submitted in IDS), TSAI hereinafter, further in view of HU et al. ( 2024/0129072 ), HU hereinafter . Re. claims 1, 15 and 29, Babaei teaches a method of wireless communication (Fig. 16-19 & ¶0372/¶0379/¶0382) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device), a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 3, 315) storing a set of instructions (Fig.3, 316) for wireless communication (Fig. 3/ Fig. 16-19), the set of instructions (Fig.3, 316) comprising: one or more instructions (Fig.3, 316) that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 3, 314) of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device), cause the UE to, and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device) for wireless communication (Fig. 3/ Fig. 16-19), comprising: a memory (Fig. 3, 315); and one or more processors (Fig. 3, 314), coupled to the memory, configured to: receive a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication having a new data indicator (NDI) value for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process (Fig. 5 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel ( PDCCH ) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16 & ¶0372 - wireless device may receive a first DCI indicating downlink scheduling of a transport block. The first DCI may indicate a first HARQ process identifier , a first new data indicator (NDI….. , the first DCI may have a downlink scheduling format (e.g., format 1_0 or 1_1 ). …. The first HARQ process identifier may be one of a plurality of HARQ process identifiers of a cell for downlink scheduling. The first NDI may indicate whether the first DCI is for scheduling a new transmission or for a retransmission . Fig. 16 & ¶0379 - the wireless may consider the second NDI as toggled compared to the first NDI regardless of a value of the second NDI. The wireless device may use resources indicated by the second DCI for initial reception of a transport block corresponding to the first HARQ process and based on the second DCI . Fig. 19 & ¶0382 - the wireless device may r eceive a first DCI and a second DCI , by implementing examples of FIG. 16. The wireless may ignore the second DCI in response to a value of the second NDI not being toggled compared to a value of the first NDI . Also, see ¶0398 along with Fig. 16-19.); Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach start a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARQ state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication, However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses start a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARQ state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - Configured Grant (CG): The gNB may allocate/configure uplink resources for the initial HARQ transmissions and/or the HARQ retransmissions to UEs . Two types of configured uplink grants may be provided. With CG type 1, RRC/gNB may directly provide the configured uplink grant (e.g., including the periodicity). With CG type 2, RRC/gNB may define the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to Configured Scheduling-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) can either activate the configured uplink grant, and/or deactivate it (e.g., a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI may indicate that the uplink grant is implicitly used according to the periodicity defined by RRC/gNB, until deactivated). Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - Dynamic Grant (DG): The gNB can dynamically allocate UL resources to UEs via the C-RNTI on PDCCH. ¶0064 - In the NTN, the HARQ process(es) for DL transmission and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL transmission may be disabled/enabled , by NW configuration and/or UE itself. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be disabled/enabled per UE. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) f or UL may be disabled/enabled per HARQ process. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0074 - UE may consider whether an NDI bit for a HARQ process to have been toggle d (e.g., regardless of the value of the NDI) based on the state of the HARQ process (e.g., whether HARQ feedback and/or HARQ retransmissio n for the HARQ process) is enabled/disabled . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0075 - For a DL and/or UL transmission (e.g., via CG , DG, RAR grant, MsgA PUSCH) transmitted via a disabled HARQ process , the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) for the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process). … For a UL transmission via CG (e.g., if an uplink grant has been received on the PDCCH for the UE/MAC entity's CS-RNTI) with a disabled HARQ process , the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI and/or no matter whether a configuredgrantTime r/ cg-RetransmissionTimer is running or not) for the transmission associated with the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process ). More specifically, considering the NDI bit to have been toggled for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the DL/UL transmission is a new transmission. Considering the NDI bit to not have been toggled (e.g., the value of the NDI bit is the same as before) for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the transmission is a DL/UL retransmission . ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission ) is enabled/disabled . ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI ) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission ) is enabled/disabled . For example, as shown in Table 2, If the MAC entity has a C-RNTI , a Temporary C-RNTI , or CS-RNTI, the MAC entity shall for each PDCCH occasion and for each Serving Cell belonging to a TAG that has a running timeAlignmentTimer and for each grant received for this PDCCH occasion : 1> if an uplink grant for this Serving Cell has been received on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's C- RNTI or Temporary C-RNTI ; …. 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> consider the NDI to have been toggled for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI). 2> deliver the uplink grant and the associated HARQ information to the HARQ entity. 1> else if an uplink grant for this PDCCH occasion has been received for this Serving Cell on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's CS-RNTI: 2> if the NDI in the received HARQ information is 1 : 3> if, for the corresponding HARQ process , HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled ): 4> consider the NDI to have been toggle d for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI. Also, see Table 3 (¶0077), which shows for an example for a CG that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled , with an uplink grant is received on the PDCCH. Also, see Table 4 (¶0081), cg-RetransmissionTimer (performed per HARQ process) – Start or restart the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission or retransmission of CG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG; Stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission of DG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG ACK or NACK is received for that HARQ process configuredGrantTimer expires for that HARQ process. Also, see Table 5 (¶0103), For each Serving Cell and each configured uplink grant , if configured and activated, the MAC entity shall: 1> if the PUSCH duration of the configured uplink grant does not o verlap with the PUSCH duration of an uplink grant received on the PDCCH or in a Random Access Response for this Serving Cell or with the PUSCH duration of an MSGA payload: 2> set the HARQ Process ID to the HARQ Process ID associated with this PUSCH duration 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process , HARQ retransmission is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> stop the configuredGrantTimer, if running 3> stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer , if r unning ), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060) Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is longer than a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE. However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is longer than a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE . (Fig.2-12 & ¶0083 - a method for determining a DRX active time. A terminal device may determine a DRX active time according to a transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission and a first RTT . PDCCH listening is performed during the DRX active time determined by the solution. Since the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and the first RTT are considered when determining t he DRX active time , unnecessary PDCCH listening will not be caused even in the scene where the RTT time is longer , thereby saving the power of the terminal device. Fig.2-12 & ¶0165 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the first information is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time that is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. Optionally, for the implementations of above (1), (2), (3) and (4), in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, uplink retransmission timers correspond to all HARQ processes are stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which exceeds the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. In fact , the aforesaid disclosures by HU , is to address the unnecessary PDCCH listening by a terminal <e.g., an eMTC terminal device with poor network device coverage >, due to the long RTT , which is not helpful to power saving of the terminal device, in particular, to an eMTC <Enhanced Machine Type Communication> terminal device, when there exists a wireless communications between the terminal device and a NTN <Non Terrestrial Network>, signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN significantly increases, which causes the RTT <round trip time> much larger than the terminal device processing time considered in traditional terrestrial network device standard, which also poses a new problems for UL HARQ ACK feedback mechanism, which is a very similar issue, being addressed by the instant application, at least as mentioned in ¶0085, for example, the instant application, recites, “ in a scenario in which the network node 110 is included in a non-terrestrial network ( NTN ), the RTT (and therefore the latency) may be comparatively longer , and so the duration of the HARQ state discard timer may be comparatively longer.” ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU) Re. Claims 7 and 21, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claims 1 and 15 . Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach determining the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE; and calculating the duration of the HARQ state discard timer based at least in part on the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE . However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses determining the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL ( per UL HARQ process ): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ( per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity . drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process ): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer , drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process ( e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process ) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process ) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second stat e (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for a HARQ process , the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer , d rx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HAR Q-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060) Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach calculating the duration of the HARQ state discard timer based at least in part on the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE . However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses calculating the duration of the HARQ state discard timer based at least in part on the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE (Fig.2-12 & ¶0128 - If the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and if uplink HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by a network device has not been received after a last repeated transmission of the PUSCH bundling transmission is completed, a first timer is started at a target subframe . Fig.2-12 & ¶0162 - The first uplink retransmission timer corresponds to the HARQ proces s used for the PUSCH bundling transmission . ¶0163 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission…. Fig.2-12 & ¶0166 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT i s less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which is less than or equal to the first RTT .). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU) Re. Claims 9 and 23, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claims 1 and 15 . Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is further based at least in part on a delay period, wherein a duration of the delay period is based at least in part on at least one of a scheduling delay, a UE wake-up delay, jitter, or a period of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant. However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is further based at least in part on a delay period, wherein a duration of the delay period is based at least in part on at least one of a scheduling delay , a UE wake-up delay, jitter, or a period of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant. (Fig.2-12 & ¶0083 - a method for determining a DRX active time. A terminal device may determine a DRX active time according to a transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission and a first RTT . PDCCH listening is performed during the DRX active time determined by the solution. Since the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and the first RTT are considered when determining t he DRX active time , unnecessary PDCCH listening will not be caused even in the scene where the RTT time is longer , thereby saving the power of the terminal device. Fig.2-12 & ¶0165 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the first information is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time that is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. Optionally, for the implementations of above (1), (2), (3) and (4), in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, uplink retransmission timers correspond to all HARQ processes are stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which exceeds the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. In fact , the aforesaid disclosures by HU , is to address the unnecessary PDCCH listening by a terminal <e.g., an eMTC terminal device with poor network device coverage >, due to the long RTT , which is not helpful to power saving of the terminal device, in particular, to an eMTC <Enhanced Machine Type Communication> terminal device, when there exists a wireless communications between the terminal device and a NTN <Non Terrestrial Network>, signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN significantly increases, which causes the RTT <round trip time> much larger than the terminal device processing time considered in traditional terrestrial network device standard, which also poses a new problems for UL HARQ ACK feedback mechanism, which is a very similar issue, being addressed by the instant application, at least as mentioned in ¶0085, for example, the instant application, recites, “ in a scenario in which the network node 110 is included in a non-terrestrial network ( NTN ), the RTT (and therefore the latency) may be comparatively longer , and so the duration of the HARQ state discard timer may be comparatively longer.” Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence “at least one of” in the limitation) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU) Re. Claims 10 and 24, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claims 1 and 15 . Babaei further teaches receiving a second PDCCH communication having the NDI value for the HARQ process, the second PDCCH communication being received prior to an expiration of the HARQ state discard timer (Fig. 5/ Fig. 16-22 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel ( PDCCH ) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16-22 & ¶0331 - when DRX is configured, if a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL expires and if the data of the corresponding HARQ process was not successfully decoded , the MAC entity may start the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL . Fig. 16-22 & ¶0377 - The wireless device may receive a second DCI for downlink scheduling . The second DCI may indicate the first HARQ process identifier (e.g., same as HARQ process in the first DCI). The second DCI may indicate a second NDI. The second DCI may indicate second resources for reception of a transport block. In an example, the second DCI may indicate a new transmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a new transmission (e.g., second NDI may be toggled compared to the first NDI). In an example, the second DCI may indicate a retransmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a retransmission (e.g., second NDI may not be toggled compared to the first NDI ). Fig. 16-22 & ¶0392 - The wireless device may receive a second downlink information based on a DRX procedur e indicating an Active Time. In an example, the wireless device may receive the second downlink information based on the DRX retransmission timer running ..), Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a retransmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received prior to the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer; However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a retransmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received prior to the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer ; (Fig.2-12 & ¶0066 - The conditions for the terminal device to start or restart downlink Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Round Trip Time timer (HARQ RTT Timer) are as follows: Fig.2-12 & ¶0068:¶0070 - a ) If the UE is an eMTC terminal device , there may be the following situations. a1) If the physical layer indicates that transmission of multiple transport blocks (TB) is scheduled, the UE s tarts the HARQ RTT Timer corresponding to the downlink HARQ process used for the PDSCH of each of the multiple TBs after receiving a subframe in which a last repeated transmission of the PDSCH of a last TB of the multiple TBs is located. a2) If the physical layer indicates that transmission of one transport block is scheduled, the UE starts the HARQ RTT Timer corresponding to the downlink HARQ process used for the PDSCH after receiving a subframe in which a last repeated transmission of the PDSCH is located . Fig.2-12 & ¶0072 - If the HARQ RTT Timer expires , the UE starts the drx-RetransmissionTimer corresponding to the downlink HARQ process in response to the data decoding of the HARQ process failing.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU) Re. Claims 11 and 25, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claims 1 and 15 . Babaei further teaches receiving a second PDCCH communication having the NDI value for the HARQ process, the second PDCCH communication being received after an expiration of the HARQ state discard timer (Fig. 5/ Fig. 16-22 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel ( PDCCH ) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16-22 & ¶0331 - when DRX is configured, if a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL expires and if the data of the corresponding HARQ process was not successfully decoded , the MAC entity may start the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL . Fig. 16-22 & ¶0377 - The wireless device may receive a second DCI for downlink scheduling . The second DCI may indicate the first HARQ process identifier (e.g., same as HARQ process in the first DCI). The second DCI may indicate a second NDI. The second DCI may indicate second resources for reception of a transport block. In an example, the second DCI may indicate a new transmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a new transmission (e.g., second NDI may be toggled compared to the first NDI). In an example, the second DCI may indicate a retransmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a retransmission (e.g., second NDI may not be toggled compared to the first NDI ). Fig. 16-22 & ¶0392 - The wireless device may receive a second downlink information based on a DRX procedur e indicating an Active Time. In an example, the wireless device may receive the second downlink information based on the DRX retransmission timer running ), Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a new transmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received after the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer. However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a new transmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received after the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer .( Fig.2-12 & ¶0066 - The conditions for the terminal device to start or restart downlink Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Round Trip Time timer (HARQ RTT Timer) are as follows: Fig.2-12 & ¶0068:¶0070 - a ) If the UE is an eMTC terminal device , there may be the following situations. a1) If the physical layer indicates that transmission of multiple transport blocks (TB) is scheduled, the UE s tarts the HARQ RTT Timer corresponding to the downlink HARQ process used for the PDSCH of each of the multiple TBs after receiving a subframe in which a last repeated transmission of the PDSCH of a last TB of the multiple TBs is located. a2) If the physical layer indicates that transmission of one transport block is scheduled, the UE starts the HARQ RTT Timer corresponding to the downlink HARQ process used for the PDSCH after receiving a subframe in which a last repeated transmission of the PDSCH is located . Fig.2-12 & ¶0072 - If the HARQ RTT Timer expires , the UE starts the drx-RetransmissionTimer corresponding to the downlink HARQ process in response to the data decoding of the HARQ process failing.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU) Re. Claims 12 and 26, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claims 1 and 15 . Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach determining a first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part on duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE; However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses determining a first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL ( per UL HARQ process ): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ( per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity . drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process ): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer , drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process ( e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process ) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process ) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second stat e (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for a HARQ process , the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer , d rx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HAR Q-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060) Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach determining that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value; and identifying the duration of the HARQ state as the first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part on the determination that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value. However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses determining that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value (Fig.2-12 & ¶0128 - If the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and if uplink HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by a network device has not been received after a last repeated transmission of the PUSCH bundling transmission is completed, a first timer is started at a target subframe . Fig.2-12 & ¶0162 - The first uplink retransmission timer corresponds to the HARQ proces s used for the PUSCH bundling transmission . Fig.2-12 & ¶0163 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission , ¶0166 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT i s less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which is less than or equal to the first RTT . ); and identifying the duration of the HARQ state as the first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part on the determination that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value (Fig.2-12 & ¶0128 - If the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and if uplink HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by a network device has not been received after a last repeated transmission of the PUSCH bundling transmission is completed, a first timer is started at a target subframe . Fig.2-12 & ¶0162 - The first uplink retransmission timer corresponds to the HARQ proces s used for the PUSCH bundling transmission . ¶0163 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission…. Fig.2-12 & ¶0166 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT i s less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which is less than or equal to the first RTT .). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU) Re. Claims 13 and 27, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claims 1 and 15 . Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach setting the HARQ state discard timer according to the duration of the HARQ state discard timer. However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses setting the HARQ state discard timer according to the duration of the HARQ state discard timer . (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL ( per UL HARQ process ): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ( per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity . drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process ): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer , drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process ( e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process ) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process ) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second stat e (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for a HARQ process , the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer , d rx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HAR Q-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060) Re. Claims 14 and 28, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claims 1 and 15 . Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach wherein the duration of the 1HARQ state discard timer is further based on include at least one of : a behavior of a network node with respect to communicating with the UE, a traffic pattern associated with the UE, a HARQ round trip time (RTT) associated with the network node, a sleep state of the UE, a subcarrier spacing associated with the UE, a cell type associated with the network node, an application type associated with UE traffic, a set of quality of service characteristics associated with the UE traffic, a quality of service identifier associated with the UE traffic, or a configuration received from the network node. However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses the duration of the 1HARQ state discard timer is further based on include at least one of : a behavior of a network node with respect to communicating with the UE, a traffic pattern associated with the UE, a HARQ round trip time (RTT) associated with the network node (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL ( per UL HARQ process ): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL ( per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity . drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process ): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer , drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process ( e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL , drx-RetransmissionTimerUL , drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process ) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission ), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL , and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process ) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second stat e (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission ) for a HARQ process , the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer , cg-Retransmission Timer , d rx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HAR Q-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process) . Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence “ at least one of ” and “ or ” in the limitation ), a sleep state of the UE, a subcarrier spacing associated with the UE, a cell type associated with the network node, an application type associated with UE traffic, a set of quality of service characteristics associated with the UE traffic, a quality of service identifier associated with the UE traffic, or a configuration received from the network node. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060) Re. claim 30, Babaei teaches an apparatus (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device) for wireless communication (Fig. 3/ Fig. 16-19), comprising: means for receiving (Fig. 3, 310, 330A-B & ¶0208-¶0209) a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication having a new data indicator (NDI) value for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process (Fig. 5 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel ( PDCCH ) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16 & ¶0372 - wireless device may receive a first DCI indicating downlink scheduling of a transport block. The first DCI may indicate a first HARQ process identifier , a first new data indicator (NDI….. , the first DCI may have a downlink scheduling format (e.g., format 1_0 or 1_1 ). …. The first HARQ process identifier may be one of a plurality of HARQ process identifiers of a cell for downlink scheduling. The first NDI may indicate whether the first DCI is for scheduling a new transmission or for a retransmission . Fig. 16 & ¶0379 - the wireless may consider the second NDI as toggled compared to the first NDI regardless of a value of the second NDI. The wireless device may use resources indicated by the second DCI for initial reception of a transport block corresponding to the first HARQ process and based on the second DCI . Fig. 19 & ¶0382 - the wireless device may r eceive a first DCI and a second DCI , by implementing examples of FIG. 16. The wireless may ignore the second DCI in response to a value of the second NDI not being toggled compared to a value of the first NDI . Also, see ¶0398 along with Fig. 16-19); Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach means for starting a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARO state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication, However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses means for starting a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARO state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - Configured Grant (CG): The gNB may allocate/configure uplink resources for the initial HARQ transmissions and/or the HARQ retransmissions to UEs . Two types of configured uplink grants may be provided. With CG type 1, RRC/gNB may directly provide the configured uplink grant (e.g., including the periodicity). With CG type 2, RRC/gNB may define the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to Configured Scheduling-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) can either activate the configured uplink grant, and/or deactivate it (e.g., a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI may indicate that the uplink grant is implicitly used according to the periodicity defined by RRC/gNB, until deactivated). Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - Dynamic Grant (DG): The gNB can dynamically allocate UL resources to UEs via the C-RNTI on PDCCH. ¶0064 - In the NTN, the HARQ process(es) for DL transmission and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL transmission may be disabled/enabled , by NW configuration and/or UE itself. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be disabled/enabled per UE. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) f or UL may be disabled/enabled per HARQ process. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0074 - UE may consider whether an NDI bit for a HARQ process to have been toggle d (e.g., regardless of the value of the NDI) based on the state of the HARQ process (e.g., whether HARQ feedback and/or HARQ retransmissio n for the HARQ process) is enabled/disabled . Fig. 1-5 & ¶0075 - For a DL and/or UL transmission (e.g., via CG , DG, RAR grant, MsgA PUSCH) transmitted via a disabled HARQ process , the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) for the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process). … For a UL transmission via CG (e.g., if an uplink grant has been received on the PDCCH for the UE/MAC entity's CS-RNTI) with a disabled HARQ process , the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI and/or no matter whether a configuredgrantTime r/ cg-RetransmissionTimer is running or not) for the transmission associated with the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process ). More specifically, considering the NDI bit to have been toggled for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the DL/UL transmission is a new transmission. Considering the NDI bit to not have been toggled (e.g., the value of the NDI bit is the same as before) for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the transmission is a DL/UL retransmission . ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission ) is enabled/disabled . ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI ) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission ) is enabled/disabled . For example, as shown in Table 2, If the MAC entity has a C-RNTI , a Temporary C-RNTI , or CS-RNTI, the MAC entity shall for each PDCCH occasion and for each Serving Cell belonging to a TAG that has a running timeAlignmentTimer and for each grant received for this PDCCH occasion : 1> if an uplink grant for this Serving Cell has been received on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's C- RNTI or Temporary C-RNTI ; …. 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> consider the NDI to have been toggled for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI). 2> deliver the uplink grant and the associated HARQ information to the HARQ entity. 1> else if an uplink grant for this PDCCH occasion has been received for this Serving Cell on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's CS-RNTI: 2> if the NDI in the received HARQ information is 1 : 3> if, for the corresponding HARQ process , HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled ): 4> consider the NDI to have been toggle d for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI. Also, see Table 3 (¶0077), which shows for an example for a CG that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled , with an uplink grant is received on the PDCCH. Also, see Table 4 (¶0081), cg-RetransmissionTimer (performed per HARQ process) – Start or restart the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission or retransmission of CG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG; Stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission of DG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG ACK or NACK is received for that HARQ process configuredGrantTimer expires for that HARQ process. Also, see Table 5 (¶0103), For each Serving Cell and each configured uplink grant , if configured and activated, the MAC entity shall: 1> if the PUSCH duration of the configured uplink grant does not o verlap with the PUSCH duration of an uplink grant received on the PDCCH or in a Random Access Response for this Serving Cell or with the PUSCH duration of an MSGA payload: 2> set the HARQ Process ID to the HARQ Process ID associated with this PUSCH duration 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process , HARQ retransmission is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> stop the configuredGrantTimer, if running 3> stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer , if r unning ), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060) Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is longer than a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE. However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is longer than a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE . (Fig.2-12 & ¶0083 - a method for determining a DRX active time. A terminal device may determine a DRX active time according to a transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission and a first RTT . PDCCH listening is performed during the DRX active time determined by the solution. Since the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and the first RTT are considered when determining t he DRX active time , unnecessary PDCCH listening will not be caused even in the scene where the RTT time is longer , thereby saving the power of the terminal device. Fig.2-12 & ¶0165 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the first information is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time that is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. Optionally, for the implementations of above (1), (2), (3) and (4), in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, uplink retransmission timers correspond to all HARQ processes are stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which exceeds the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. In fact , the aforesaid disclosures by HU , is to address the unnecessary PDCCH listening by a terminal <e.g., an eMTC terminal device with poor network device coverage >, due to the long RTT , which is not helpful to power saving of the terminal device, in particular, to an eMTC <Enhanced Machine Type Communication> terminal device, when there exists a wireless communications between the terminal device and a NTN <Non Terrestrial Network>, signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN significantly increases, which causes the RTT <round trip time> much larger than the terminal device processing time considered in traditional terrestrial network device standard, which also poses a new problems for UL HARQ ACK feedback mechanism, which is a very similar issue, being addressed by the instant application, at least as mentioned in ¶0085, for example, the instant application, recites, “ in a scenario in which the network node 110 is included in a non-terrestrial network ( NTN ), the RTT (and therefore the latency) may be comparatively longer , and so the duration of the HARQ state discard timer may be comparatively longer.” ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of TSAI, in view of HU, further in view of Suzuki et al. (2018/0145798), Suzuki hereinafter . Re. Claim 31, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claim 14 . Yet, Babaei, TSAI and HU do not expressly teach wherein the traffic pattern comprises one or more of a buffer status of a traffic periodicity. However, in the analogous art, Suzuki explicitly discloses wherein the traffic pattern comprises one or more of a buffer status of a traffic periodicity . (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0256 - At a time T60 , the HARQ survival duration timer expires , and the HARQ buffer associated with the HARQ process is flushed based on the expiration of the HARQ survival duration timer . The HARQ RTT timer expires at a time T70 . Even in a case that the HARQ RTT timer expires at the time T70 because the HARQ buffer is empty due to the fact that the HARQ buffer has been flushed at the time T60 , the UL-drx-RetransmissionTimer does not start. In other words, even in a case that the HARQ RTT timer expires at the time T70 based on the fact the HARQ survival duration timer is not running, the UL-drx-RetransmissionTimer does not start. ) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks and HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system to include Suzuki’s invention of a system and a method for switching between synchronous HARQ <Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest> and asynchronous HARQ in uplink transmission in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient configuration enabling controlling of HARQ functionality in a flexible manner for operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0162, Suzuki) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of TSAI, in view of HU, further in view of Roy et al. (2023/0328639), Roy hereinafter . Re. Claim 32, Babaei, TSAI and HU teach claim 14 . Yet, Babaei, TSAI and HU do not expressly teach wherein the application type comprises a voice over new Radio (VoNR) application. However, in the analogous art, Roy explicitly discloses wherein the application type comprises a voice over new Radio (VoNR) application . (Fig. 1-6 & ¶0049 - While the non-3GPP access network may include a bandwidth of 100 MHz. In such case, the UE 201 may select the non-3GPP access network. In another example, the RTT delay may be 50 ms in the 3GPP access network and 70 ms in the non-3GPP access network. In such case, the UE 201 may select the 3GPP access network. In an embodiment, the UE 201 is further configured to select one of, the 3GPP access network and the non-3GPP network for routing data of the UE 201 based on the one or more network parameters, when the one or more network services are not available in the 3GPP access network and the non-3GPP access network. For example, both the 3GPP access network and the non-3GPP access network may not include the VoNR support for routing voice traffic of the UE 201 . For instance, a latency i n the 3GPP access network may be 5 ms. The latenc y in the non-3GPP access network may be 10 ms . In such case, the UE 201 may select the 3GPP access network.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks and HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system to include Roy’s invention of a system and a method for selecting access network for routing data of user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in routing user data of a user equipment (UE) between a non-3GPP access network and a 3GPP access network with a flexible service availability without degrading user experience in the wireless communication system. (¶0032, Roy) Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-6, 8, 18-20 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of: Claim 4 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is shorter than N times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, wherein N is greater than or equal to 2. Claim 5– wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is equal to approximately two times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, minus a delay period. Claim 6 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is greater than or equal to the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE plus a delay period. Claim 8 – wherein the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE is 40 milliseconds (ms) and the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is 70 ms. Claim 18 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is shorter than N times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, wherein N is greater than or equal to 2. Claim 19– wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is equal to approximately two times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, minus a delay period. Claim 20 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is greater than or equal to the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE plus a delay period. Claim 22 – wherein the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE is 40 milliseconds (ms) and the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is 70 ms . Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding remarks at pages 11-13 for i ndependent claim 1, applicant argues that HU fails to teach the amended claimed limitation, such as, “ wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is longer than a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, HU discloses that a method for determining a DRX active time. A terminal device may determine a DRX active time according to a transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission and a first RTT . PDCCH listening is performed during the DRX active time determined by the solution. Since the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and the first RTT are considered when determining t he DRX active time , unnecessary PDCCH listening will not be caused even in the scene where the RTT time is longer , thereby saving the power of the terminal device. See ¶0083 along with Fig. 2-12. HU further discloses that in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the first information is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time that is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. Optionally, for the implementations of above (1), (2), (3) and (4), in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission < transmission duration of a PUSCH bundling transmission, is directly related to DRX active time , see ¶0083 > , before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, uplink retransmission timers correspond to all HARQ processes are stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which exceeds the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. See ¶0165 along with Fig. 2-12. In fact , the aforesaid disclosures by HU , is to address the unnecessary PDCCH listening by a terminal <e.g., an eMTC terminal device with poor network device coverage >, due to the long RTT , which is not helpful to power saving of the terminal device, in particular, to an eMTC <Enhanced Machine Type Communication> terminal device, when there exists a wireless communications between the terminal device and a NTN <Non Terrestrial Network>, signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN significantly increases, which causes the RTT <round trip time> much larger than the terminal device processing time considered in traditional terrestrial network device standard, which also poses a new problems for UL HARQ ACK feedback mechanism, which is a very similar issue, being addressed by the instant application, at least as mentioned in ¶0085, for example, the instant application, recites, “ in a scenario in which the network node 110 is included in a non-terrestrial network ( NTN ), the RTT (and therefore the latency) may be comparatively longer , and so the duration of the HARQ state discard timer may be comparatively longer.”, quite a contrast to applicant’s remarks at least at page 13 of remarks as submitted on 05/11/2026. Similar arguments are applicable for independent claims 15 and 29-30. For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of TSAI, further in view of HU For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 15 and 29-30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of TSAI, further in view of HU As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 15, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #112; R2-2010168 ; Source : Ericsson ; Title : On scheduling, HARQ, and DRX for NTN; E-Meeting, November 2nd – 13th, 2020 ; See §2, §3, §4. PNG media_image2.png 174 588 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 206 633 media_image3.png Greyscale 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #112 electronic; R2-2009108 ; Source : OPPO ; Title : HARQ impact on MAC procedures in NTN; Online, November 12th - 13th, 2020. See §2.1, §2.3. 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #112e; R2-2009452; Source : Qualcomm Incorporated; Title: UL HARQ process without HARQ retransmission; E-Meeting: November 02-13, 2020 . See §2.1 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMED SHAMSUL CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is (571)272-0485. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 9 AM- 6 PM EST (Friday Var.). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/352,047 Page 2 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/352,047 Page 3 Art Unit: 2467 Application/Control Number: 18/352,047 Page 5 Art Unit: 2467