DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 01/06/2026 for response of the office actions mailed on 10/06/2025. Independent claims 1, 15 and 29-30 are amended. Claims 2 and 16 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1, 3-15 and 17-30 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim 1, 13-15 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei al. (2020/0351026), Babaei hereinafter, in view of TSAI et al. (2022/0078881, as submitted in IDS), TSAI hereinafter.
Re. claims 1, 15 and 29, Babaei teaches a method of wireless communication (Fig. 16-19 & ¶0372/¶0379/¶0382) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device), a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 3, 315) storing a set of instructions (Fig.3, 316) for wireless communication (Fig. 3/ Fig. 16-19), the set of instructions (Fig.3, 316) comprising: one or more instructions (Fig.3, 316) that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig. 3, 314) of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device), cause the UE to, and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device) for wireless communication (Fig. 3/ Fig. 16-19), comprising: a memory (Fig. 3, 315); and one or more processors (Fig. 3, 314), coupled to the memory, configured to: receive a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication having a new data indicator (NDI) value for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process (Fig. 5 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16 & ¶0372 - wireless device may receive a first DCI indicating downlink scheduling of a transport block. The first DCI may indicate a first HARQ process identifier, a first new data indicator (NDI….., the first DCI may have a downlink scheduling format (e.g., format 1_0 or 1_1). …. The first HARQ process identifier may be one of a plurality of HARQ process identifiers of a cell for downlink scheduling. The first NDI may indicate whether the first DCI is for scheduling a new transmission or for a retransmission. Fig. 16 & ¶0379 - the wireless may consider the second NDI as toggled compared to the first NDI regardless of a value of the second NDI. The wireless device may use resources indicated by the second DCI for initial reception of a transport block corresponding to the first HARQ process and based on the second DCI. Fig. 19 & ¶0382 - the wireless device may receive a first DCI and a second DCI, by implementing examples of FIG. 16. The wireless may ignore the second DCI in response to a value of the second NDI not being toggled compared to a value of the first NDI.Also, see ¶0398 along with Fig. 16-19.);
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach start a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARQ state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication, wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is based at least in part on one or more conditions a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses start a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARQ state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - Configured Grant (CG): The gNB may allocate/configure uplink resources for the initial HARQ transmissions and/or the HARQ retransmissions to UEs. Two types of configured uplink grants may be provided. With CG type 1, RRC/gNB may directly provide the configured uplink grant (e.g., including the periodicity). With CG type 2, RRC/gNB may define the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to Configured Scheduling-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) can either activate the configured uplink grant, and/or deactivate it (e.g., a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI may indicate that the uplink grant is implicitly used according to the periodicity defined by RRC/gNB, until deactivated). Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - Dynamic Grant (DG): The gNB can dynamically allocate UL resources to UEs via the C-RNTI on PDCCH. ¶0064 - In the NTN, the HARQ process(es) for DL transmission and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL transmission may be disabled/enabled, by NW configuration and/or UE itself. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be disabled/enabled per UE. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be disabled/enabled per HARQ process. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0074 - UE may consider whether an NDI bit for a HARQ process to have been toggled (e.g., regardless of the value of the NDI) based on the state of the HARQ process (e.g., whether HARQ feedback and/or HARQ retransmission for the HARQ process) is enabled/disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0075 - For a DL and/or UL transmission (e.g., via CG, DG, RAR grant, MsgA PUSCH) transmitted via a disabled HARQ process, the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) for the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process). … For a UL transmission via CG (e.g., if an uplink grant has been received on the PDCCH for the UE/MAC entity's CS-RNTI) with a disabled HARQ process, the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI and/or no matter whether a configuredgrantTimer/cg-RetransmissionTimer is running or not) for the transmission associated with the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process). More specifically, considering the NDI bit to have been toggled for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the DL/UL transmission is a new transmission. Considering the NDI bit to not have been toggled (e.g., the value of the NDI bit is the same as before) for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the transmission is a DL/UL retransmission. ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled. ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled. For example, as shown in Table 2, If the MAC entity has a C-RNTI, a Temporary C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI, the MAC entity shall for each PDCCH occasion and for each Serving Cell belonging to a TAG that has a running timeAlignmentTimer and for each grant received for this PDCCH occasion: 1> if an uplink grant for this Serving Cell has been received on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's C- RNTI or Temporary C-RNTI; …. 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> consider the NDI to have been toggled for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI). 2> deliver the uplink grant and the associated HARQ information to the HARQ entity. 1> else if an uplink grant for this PDCCH occasion has been received for this Serving Cell on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's CS-RNTI: 2> if the NDI in the received HARQ information is 1: 3> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled): 4> consider the NDI to have been toggled for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI. Also, see Table 3 (¶0077), which shows for an example for a CG that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled, with an uplink grant is received on the PDCCH. Also, see Table 4 (¶0081), cg-RetransmissionTimer (performed per HARQ process) – Start or restart the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission or retransmission of CG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG; Stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission of DG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG ACK or NACK is received for that HARQ process configuredGrantTimer expires for that HARQ process. Also, see Table 5 (¶0103), For each Serving Cell and each configured uplink grant, if configured and activated, the MAC entity shall: 1> if the PUSCH duration of the configured uplink grant does not overlap with the PUSCH duration of an uplink grant received on the PDCCH or in a Random Access Response for this Serving Cell or with the PUSCH duration of an MSGA payload: 2> set the HARQ Process ID to the HARQ Process ID associated with this PUSCH duration 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> stop the configuredGrantTimer, if running 3> stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer, if running), wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is based at least in part on one or more conditions a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for a HARQ process, the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060)
Re. Claims 13 and 27, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach setting the HARQ state discard timer according to the duration of the HARQ state discard timer.
However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses setting the HARQ state discard timer according to the duration of the HARQ state discard timer. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for a HARQ process, the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060)
Re. Claims 14 and 28, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach wherein the duration of the 1HARQ state discard timer is further based on include at least one of: a behavior of a network node with respect to communicating with the UE, a traffic pattern associated with the UE, a HARQ round trip time (RTT) associated with the network node, a sleep state of the UE, a subcarrier spacing associated with the UE, a cell type associated with the network node, an application type associated with UE traffic, a set of quality of service characteristics associated with the UE traffic, a quality of service identifier associated with the UE traffic, or a configuration received from the network node.
However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses the duration of the 1HARQ state discard timer is further based on include at least one of: a behavior of a network node with respect to communicating with the UE, a traffic pattern associated with the UE, a HARQ round trip time (RTT) associated with the network node (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for a HARQ process, the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process). Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation), a sleep state of the UE, a subcarrier spacing associated with the UE, a cell type associated with the network node, an application type associated with UE traffic, a set of quality of service characteristics associated with the UE traffic, a quality of service identifier associated with the UE traffic, or a configuration received from the network node.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060)
Re. claim 30, Babaei teaches an apparatus (Fig. 3, 110/ Fig. 16-19, wireless device) for wireless communication (Fig. 3/ Fig. 16-19), comprising: means for receiving (Fig. 3, 310, 330A-B & ¶0208-¶0209) a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) communication having a new data indicator (NDI) value for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process (Fig. 5 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16 & ¶0372 - wireless device may receive a first DCI indicating downlink scheduling of a transport block. The first DCI may indicate a first HARQ process identifier, a first new data indicator (NDI….., the first DCI may have a downlink scheduling format (e.g., format 1_0 or 1_1). …. The first HARQ process identifier may be one of a plurality of HARQ process identifiers of a cell for downlink scheduling. The first NDI may indicate whether the first DCI is for scheduling a new transmission or for a retransmission. Fig. 16 & ¶0379 - the wireless may consider the second NDI as toggled compared to the first NDI regardless of a value of the second NDI. The wireless device may use resources indicated by the second DCI for initial reception of a transport block corresponding to the first HARQ process and based on the second DCI. Fig. 19 & ¶0382 - the wireless device may receive a first DCI and a second DCI, by implementing examples of FIG. 16. The wireless may ignore the second DCI in response to a value of the second NDI not being toggled compared to a value of the first NDI.Also, see ¶0398 along with Fig. 16-19);
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach means for starting a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARO state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication, wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is based at least in part on a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses means for starting a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARO state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - Configured Grant (CG): The gNB may allocate/configure uplink resources for the initial HARQ transmissions and/or the HARQ retransmissions to UEs. Two types of configured uplink grants may be provided. With CG type 1, RRC/gNB may directly provide the configured uplink grant (e.g., including the periodicity). With CG type 2, RRC/gNB may define the periodicity of the configured uplink grant while the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) addressed to Configured Scheduling-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI) can either activate the configured uplink grant, and/or deactivate it (e.g., a PDCCH addressed to CS-RNTI may indicate that the uplink grant is implicitly used according to the periodicity defined by RRC/gNB, until deactivated). Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - Dynamic Grant (DG): The gNB can dynamically allocate UL resources to UEs via the C-RNTI on PDCCH. ¶0064 - In the NTN, the HARQ process(es) for DL transmission and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL transmission may be disabled/enabled, by NW configuration and/or UE itself. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be disabled/enabled per UE. In some implementations, the HARQ process(es) for DL and/or the HARQ process(es) for UL may be disabled/enabled per HARQ process. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0074 - UE may consider whether an NDI bit for a HARQ process to have been toggled (e.g., regardless of the value of the NDI) based on the state of the HARQ process (e.g., whether HARQ feedback and/or HARQ retransmission for the HARQ process) is enabled/disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0075 - For a DL and/or UL transmission (e.g., via CG, DG, RAR grant, MsgA PUSCH) transmitted via a disabled HARQ process, the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) for the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process). … For a UL transmission via CG (e.g., if an uplink grant has been received on the PDCCH for the UE/MAC entity's CS-RNTI) with a disabled HARQ process, the UE may consider the NDI bit to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI and/or no matter whether a configuredgrantTimer/cg-RetransmissionTimer is running or not) for the transmission associated with the HARQ process with a second state (e.g., disabled HARQ process). More specifically, considering the NDI bit to have been toggled for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the DL/UL transmission is a new transmission. Considering the NDI bit to not have been toggled (e.g., the value of the NDI bit is the same as before) for a DL/UL transmission may imply that the transmission is a DL/UL retransmission. ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled. ¶0076 - Table 2 below includes an example for a UL grant that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled. For example, as shown in Table 2, If the MAC entity has a C-RNTI, a Temporary C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI, the MAC entity shall for each PDCCH occasion and for each Serving Cell belonging to a TAG that has a running timeAlignmentTimer and for each grant received for this PDCCH occasion: 1> if an uplink grant for this Serving Cell has been received on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's C- RNTI or Temporary C-RNTI; …. 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> consider the NDI to have been toggled for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI). 2> deliver the uplink grant and the associated HARQ information to the HARQ entity. 1> else if an uplink grant for this PDCCH occasion has been received for this Serving Cell on the PDCCH for the MAC entity's CS-RNTI: 2> if the NDI in the received HARQ information is 1: 3> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission of the HARQ process is a second state (e.g., disabled): 4> consider the NDI to have been toggled for the corresponding HARQ process (regardless of the value of the NDI. Also, see Table 3 (¶0077), which shows for an example for a CG that the UE may consider whether an NDI bit for the HARQ process to have been toggled (regardless of the value of the NDI) based on determining whether a HARQ process (e.g., for HARQ retransmission) is enabled/disabled, with an uplink grant is received on the PDCCH. Also, see Table 4 (¶0081), cg-RetransmissionTimer (performed per HARQ process) – Start or restart the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission or retransmission of CG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG; Stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer when a new transmission of DG via a HARQ process is performed, and the HARQ process is configured for CG ACK or NACK is received for that HARQ process configuredGrantTimer expires for that HARQ process. Also, see Table 5 (¶0103), For each Serving Cell and each configured uplink grant, if configured and activated, the MAC entity shall: 1> if the PUSCH duration of the configured uplink grant does not overlap with the PUSCH duration of an uplink grant received on the PDCCH or in a Random Access Response for this Serving Cell or with the PUSCH duration of an MSGA payload: 2> set the HARQ Process ID to the HARQ Process ID associated with this PUSCH duration 2> if, for the corresponding HARQ process, HARQ retransmission is a second state (e.g., disabled): 3> stop the configuredGrantTimer, if running 3> stop the cg-RetransmissionTimer, if running), wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is based at least in part on a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for a HARQ process, the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060)
Claims 3, 7, 12, 17, 21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babae, in view of TSAI, further in view of HU et al. (2024/0129072), HU hereinafter.
Re. Claims 3 and 17, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is longer than the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses teach wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is longer than the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE. (Fig.2-12 & ¶0165 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the first information is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time that is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission. Optionally, for the implementations of above (1), (2), (3) and (4), in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is longer than the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, uplink retransmission timers correspond to all HARQ processes are stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which exceeds the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU)
Re. Claims 7 and 21, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach determining the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE; and calculating the duration of the HARQ state discard timer based at least in part on the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses determining the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for a HARQ process, the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060)
Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach calculating the duration of the HARQ state discard timer based at least in part on the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses calculating the duration of the HARQ state discard timer based at least in part on the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE (Fig.2-12 & ¶0128 - If the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and if uplink HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by a network device has not been received after a last repeated transmission of the PUSCH bundling transmission is completed, a first timer is started at a target subframe. Fig.2-12 & ¶0162 - The first uplink retransmission timer corresponds to the HARQ process used for the PUSCH bundling transmission. ¶0163 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission…. Fig.2-12 & ¶0166 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which is less than or equal to the first RTT.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU)
Re. Claims 12 and 26, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Babaei does not expressly teach determining a first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part on duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE;
However, in the analogous art, TSAI explicitly discloses determining a first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0085: ¶0087 - drx-RetransmissionTimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL may indicate a maximum duration until a grant for UL retransmission is received. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL (per DL HARQ process except for the broadcast process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL may indicate a minimum duration before a DL assignment for HARQ retransmission is expected by the MAC entity. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (per UL HARQ process): the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may indicate a minimum duration before a UL HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity The configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL may be impacted if the HARQ feedback and/or the HARQ retransmission of the corresponding HARQ process(es) is disabled. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0088 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), a UE may stop the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for the HARQ process) when/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0092: ¶0094 - assuming a UL transmission via CG is transmitted via a HARQ process (e.g., the HARQ process (ID) has been derived for the CG transmission), the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-RetransmissionTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (for a HARQ process) based on the following conditions: When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for the UE, the UE may not (re-)start all the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for all HARQ processes). When/after the UE receives the second state (e.g., disabling of HARQ feedback/HARQ retransmission) for a HARQ process, the UE may not (re-)start the configuredGrantTimer, cg-Retransmission Timer, drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, and/or drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL (e.g., for the HARQ process)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system to include TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks, because it provides an efficient mechanism for coping with long propagation delays associated with the NTN network, when HARQ feedback for downlink (DL) transmission at the UE receiver, is disable, in the next generation wireless communication networks. (TSAI, ¶0060)
Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach determining that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value; and identifying the duration of the HARQ state as the first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part on the determination that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value.
However, in the analogous art, HU explicitly discloses determining that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value (Fig.2-12 & ¶0128 - If the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and if uplink HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by a network device has not been received after a last repeated transmission of the PUSCH bundling transmission is completed, a first timer is started at a target subframe. Fig.2-12 & ¶0162 - The first uplink retransmission timer corresponds to the HARQ process used for the PUSCH bundling transmission. Fig.2-12 & ¶0163 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, ¶0166 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which is less than or equal to the first RTT. ); and identifying the duration of the HARQ state as the first HARQ state discard timer duration value based at least in part on the determination that the first HARQ state discard timer duration value is less than or equal to a second HARQ state discard timer duration value (Fig.2-12 & ¶0128 - If the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission and if uplink HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by a network device has not been received after a last repeated transmission of the PUSCH bundling transmission is completed, a first timer is started at a target subframe. Fig.2-12 & ¶0162 - The first uplink retransmission timer corresponds to the HARQ process used for the PUSCH bundling transmission. ¶0163 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission…. Fig.2-12 & ¶0166 - in case that the first timer is an uplink retransmission timer and the first RTT is less than or equal to the transmission duration of the PUSCH bundling transmission, before the first uplink retransmission timer expires, the first uplink retransmission timer is stopped if the HARQ-ACK feedback information transmitted by the network device is received and the first uplink retransmission timer has been running for a period of time which is less than or equal to the first RTT.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include HU’s invention of a system and a method for determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active time in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a terminal device in performing only necessary PDCCH listening in a an Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), where signal propagation delay between the terminal device and the NTN network, costs Round Trip Time (RTT) longer value, in turns, saves further power consumption of the terminal device operating in the NTN network. (¶0002-¶0005, HU)
Claims 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babae, in view of TSAI, further in view of Hong et al. (2022/0007455), Hong hereinafter.
Re. Claims 9 and 23, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is further based at least in part on a delay period, wherein a duration of the delay period is based at least in part on at least one of a scheduling delay, a UE wake-up delay, jitter, or a period of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant.
However, in the analogous art, Hong explicitly discloses wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is further based at least in part on a delay period, wherein a duration of the delay period is based at least in part on at least one of a scheduling delay, a UE wake-up delay, jitter, or a period of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) grant (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0174 - the base station may indicate that a parameter to be used as the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer for NTN exists by designating a specific value (eg, 0) among the conventional drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer values. In the case of the UE capable of non-terrestrial network communication, when the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer is indicated as the corresponding value (for example, 0), a parameter value indicated by information (Information element) distinguished from the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer may be used as the HARQ-RTT-Timer….the parameter value distinguished from the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer to be used as the HARQ-RTT-Timer may be calculated in the UE by separate information explicitly or implicitly indicated by the base station. The parameter distinguished from the drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer to be used as the HARQ-RTT-Timer may be provided as a time value such as one way delay or RTD between the UE and the base station, and the parameter is coded according to the location or height information of the base station. This parameter may also be provided as a value used to recognize/calculate the reference round trip delay. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence “at least one of” in the limitation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include Hong’s invention of a system and a method for performing communication in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) between a user equipment (UE) and a network node in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for performing an operation in consideration of a long round trip delay between the UE and the base station in association of the non-terrestrial network (NTN) in the wireless communication system. (¶0166-¶0167, Hong)
Claims 10-11 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babae, in view of TSAI, further in view of Wu Zuomin (2023/0231661), Wu hereinafter.
Re. Claims 10 and 24, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Babaei further teaches receiving a second PDCCH communication having the NDI value for the HARQ process, the second PDCCH communication being received prior to an expiration of the HARQ state discard timer (Fig. 5/ Fig. 16-22 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16-22 & ¶0331 - when DRX is configured, if a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL expires and if the data of the corresponding HARQ process was not successfully decoded, the MAC entity may start the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL. Fig. 16-22 & ¶0377 - The wireless device may receive a second DCI for downlink scheduling. The second DCI may indicate the first HARQ process identifier (e.g., same as HARQ process in the first DCI). The second DCI may indicate a second NDI. The second DCI may indicate second resources for reception of a transport block. In an example, the second DCI may indicate a new transmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a new transmission (e.g., second NDI may be toggled compared to the first NDI). In an example, the second DCI may indicate a retransmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a retransmission (e.g., second NDI may not be toggled compared to the first NDI). Fig. 16-22 & ¶0392 - The wireless device may receive a second downlink information based on a DRX procedure indicating an Active Time. In an example, the wireless device may receive the second downlink information based on the DRX retransmission timer running..),
Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a retransmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received prior to the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer;
However, in the analogous art, Wu explicitly discloses processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a retransmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received prior to the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer; (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0244 - in a case where a terminal device is configured with DRX, the terminal device receives a first PDSCH sent by a network device using HARQ y, as in case 1 in FIG. 13, the terminal device starts the third timer after a last symbol transmitted by the first PDSCH, and starts the fourth timer after the third timer expires. …. during operation of the fourth timer, the terminal device receives a second PDSCH sent by the network device using HARQ y, or the terminal device receives a second PDCCH sent by the network device for scheduling the HARQ y to transmit a second PDSCH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include Wu’s invention of channel transmission mechanism in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for ensuring a removal of out of order of a processing timing of a terminal with HARQ scheduling restrictions are enhanced when an HARQ process is disabled in order to increase throughput of data transmission and reduce an influence of Round Trip Time (RTT) of signal transmission in Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) system deployment scenario including a satellite network in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Wu)
Re. Claims 11 and 25, Babaei and TSAI teach claims 1 and 15.
Babaei further teaches receiving a second PDCCH communication having the NDI value for the HARQ process, the second PDCCH communication being received after an expiration of the HARQ state discard timer (Fig. 5/ Fig. 16-22 & ¶0220 - Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH) 515 may carry DCI 517 from a base station to a UE. Fig. 16-22 & ¶0331 - when DRX is configured, if a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL expires and if the data of the corresponding HARQ process was not successfully decoded, the MAC entity may start the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL. Fig. 16-22 & ¶0377 - The wireless device may receive a second DCI for downlink scheduling. The second DCI may indicate the first HARQ process identifier (e.g., same as HARQ process in the first DCI). The second DCI may indicate a second NDI. The second DCI may indicate second resources for reception of a transport block. In an example, the second DCI may indicate a new transmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a new transmission (e.g., second NDI may be toggled compared to the first NDI). In an example, the second DCI may indicate a retransmission. In an example, the second NDI may indicate a retransmission (e.g., second NDI may not be toggled compared to the first NDI). Fig. 16-22 & ¶0392 - The wireless device may receive a second downlink information based on a DRX procedure indicating an Active Time. In an example, the wireless device may receive the second downlink information based on the DRX retransmission timer running),
Yet, Babaei and TSAI do not expressly teach processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a new transmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received after the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer.
However, in the analogous art, Wu explicitly discloses processing a shared channel communication scheduled by the second PDCCH communication as a new transmission based at least in part on the second PDCCH communication being received after the expiration of the HARQ state discard timer. (Fig. 1-13 & ¶0244 - in a case where a terminal device is configured with DRX, the terminal device receives a first PDSCH sent by a network device using HARQ y, as in case 1 in FIG. 13, the terminal device starts the third timer after a last symbol transmitted by the first PDSCH, and starts the fourth timer after the third timer expires. …. during operation of the fourth timer, the terminal device receives a second PDSCH sent by the network device using HARQ y, or the terminal device receives a second PDCCH sent by the network device for scheduling the HARQ y to transmit a second PDSCH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enabling operations of hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process in a multicarrier wireless communication system and TSAI’s invention of a system and a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process operation in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in next generation wireless communication networks to include Wu’s invention of channel transmission mechanism in a New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for ensuring a removal of out of order of a processing timing of a terminal with HARQ scheduling restrictions are enhanced when an HARQ process is disabled in order to increase throughput of data transmission and reduce an influence of Round Trip Time (RTT) of signal transmission in Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) system deployment scenario including a satellite network in the New Radio (NR)/5G wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Wu)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, 18-20 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 4 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is shorter than N times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, wherein N is greater than or equal to 2.
Claim 5– wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is equal to approximately two times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, minus a delay period.
Claim 6 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is greater than or equal to the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE plus a delay period.
Claim 8 – wherein the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE is 40 milliseconds (ms) and the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is 70 ms.
Claim 18 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is shorter than N times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, wherein N is greater than or equal to 2.
Claim 19– wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is equal to approximately two times the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE, minus a delay period.
Claim 20 – wherein the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is greater than or equal to the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE plus a delay period.
Claim 22 – wherein the duration of the DRX cycle of the UE is 40 milliseconds (ms) and the duration of the HARQ state discard timer is 70 ms.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks at pages 9-11 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Xue (2024/0049347 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) fails to teach the amended claimed limitation, such as, “start a HARQ state discard timer associated with discarding a HARQ state for the HARO process based at least in part on receiving the first PDCCH communication, wherein a duration of the HARQ state discard timer is based at least in part on one or more conditions a duration of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the UE.”.
Examiner agrees with the applicant, however, in the analogous art, TSAI et al. (2022/0078881 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference for the instant office action, as submitted in IDS), discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar arguments are applicable for independent claims 15 and 29-30.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of TSAI (2022/0078881 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 15 and 29-30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei, in view of TSAI (2022/0078881 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1 and 15, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467