Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Since the independent claims 1 and 44 remain rejected, the rejection of the dependent
claims persist.
Claim Objections
Claim 44 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 44 does not end with a period (.). Claims must conclude with a period (.).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU, et al. (US 20210059004 A1, hereinafter, "WU") in view of WANG, et al. (US 20220232664 A1, hereinafter, "WANG") and ANDERSON, et al. (US 20120120828 A1, hereinafter, "ANDERSON").
Regarding claim 44, WU teaches a first user equipment (UE) (paragraph 0148; figure 7, device:
705) comprising:
a memory storing computer code instructions (paragraph 0148; figure 7, memory: 730);
and a processor configured to communicate with the memory and to execute the computer
code instructions (paragraph 0148; figure 7, processor: 740) to cause the first UE to perform:
information, wherein the DRX configuration assistance information comprises DRX cycle information;
WU writes, “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining an awake period associated with a DRX cycle, where the DRX configuration includes an indication of the awake period associated with the DRX cycle” (paragraph 0019).
transmitting, to a second UE, the DRX configuration assistance information;
WU writes, “The method may include receiving, from a second UE of the group of UEs, traffic
information including a transmission schedule associated with traffic of the second UE, determining
a DRX configuration for the group of UEs based on the transmission schedule associated with the traffic
of the second UE...” (paragraph 0006).
and receiving, from the second UE, DRX configuration information comprising DRX- related
parameters for a sidelink communication between the first UE and the second UE or between a pair of
source layer-2 ID and destination layer-2 ID,
WU writes, “Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable
medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for receiving,
by a vehicle-to-everything layer of the first UE from an upper layer of the first UE, a configuration
message including an indication that the first UE may be a group leader of the group of UEs,
where transmitting, to the group of UEs, the DRX configuration may be based on the first UE being the
group leader of the group of UEs” (paragraph 0015). WU indicates the first UE may transmit DRX
configuration to other UEs, including the second UE.
wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer code instructions to further cause the first UE to perform:
WU writes, “The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to...determine a DRX configuration for the group of apparatuses based on the transmission schedule...the DRX configuration including a DRX schedule for the group of apparatuses, and transmit, to the group of apparatuses, the DRX configuration” (paragraph 0007).
WU fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “providing, by an upper layer of the first
UE to a lower level of the first UE, discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration assistance information,” and “determining a shortest DRX cycle of a plurality of DRX cycle configurations associated with the same destination layer-2 ID as the DRX cycle information of the destination layer-2 ID”
However, in analogous art, WANG teaches providing, by an upper layer of the first UE to a
lower level of the first UE, discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration assistance information,
WANG writes, “...the DRX configuration received from the upper layer (e.g., layer 3) ...the DRX
configuration is pushed to lower layer…” (paragraph 0092).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WU to include aspects described by WANG for “wireless communication and in particular, discontinuous reception (DRX) control using at least in part communication layer 1 and/or layer 2 signaling for helping reduce misalignment of a DRX state between the network node and wireless device and/or helping align a DRX status between the network node and wireless device.” WANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “More precisely, the teachings of some of these embodiments may improve the data rate, latency, and/or power consumption and thereby provide benefits such as reduced user waiting time, relaxed restriction on file size, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime, etc.” (paragraph 0071).
WU and WANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining a shortest DRX cycle of a plurality of DRX cycle configurations associated with the same destination layer-2 ID as the DRX cycle information of the destination layer-2 ID”
However, in analogous art, ANDERSON teaches determining a shortest DRX cycle of a plurality of DRX cycle configurations associated with the same destination layer-2 ID as the DRX cycle information of the destination layer-2 ID
ANDERSON writes, “...a single value for the DRX-related parameter may be selected and applied to affect or control a reception pattern (such as a DRX pattern), wherein the selected and applied value is selected according to a maximum or minimum of those DRX-related parameter values... (e.g., where the DRX-related configuration parameter is the drx-InactivtyTimer) then the longest single value for any single logical channel drx-InactivityTimer is selected from all of the individual logical channel drx-InactivityTimer values either explicitly signaled, predetermined or with a preconfigured relationship... (e.g., if the DRX-related configuration parameter is onDurationTimer then the longest individual logical channel associated configured parameter could be selected), or in the case of the shortDRX-Cycle the shortest cycle could be selected (or alternatively the longest shortDRX-Cycle could also be selected in an alternative embodiment)” (paragraph 0066). ANDERSON adds, “Applications or services may be identified by means of a set of traffic flow attributes such as source IP address, destination IP address, source port number, destination port number and protocol type, ID or number” (paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WU and WANG to include aspects described by ANDERSON that “relates to wireless communications in wireless communication systems.” ANDERSON provides the motivation for modification stating, “...the network may actively monitor the statistics of an ongoing communication with the UE and may adapt or adjust the configured value of a drx-InactivityTimer (or one or more other DRX-related parameters) based on an ongoing analysis by the network of the statistics of the aggregated traffic profile or communication with the UE. Thereby, the network may attempt to optimize the drx-InactivityTimer parameter or one or more other DRX-related parameters according to a currently-observed traffic profile, or an observed statistic of a current traffic flow or aggregated traffic flow. The optimization may include an optimization of UE battery consumption whilst maintaining certain latency or Quality of Service criteria associated with the communication with the UE, such as QoS parameter values associated with one or more QCI labels” (paragraph 0059).
Claim 1 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 44 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 44. Claim 1 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 44.
Regarding claim 9, WU, WANG, and ANDERSON teach the method claim 1, wherein the DRX configuration assistance information comprises
Additionally, WANG teaches a Downlink DRX configuration of the first UE.
WANG writes, “Uplink resources and/or downlink resources may be scheduled and/or provided with
allocation or configuration data” (paragraph 0049). WANG indicates that downlink resources may be
provided with configuration data, including DRX configuration data.
Regarding claim 10, WU, WANG, and ANDERSON teach the method claim 1,
Additionally, WU teaches wherein the first UE is a receiving (RX) UE, and wherein the second
UE is a transmitting (TX) UE.
WU writes, “A method of wireless communications at a first UE of a group of UEs is described. The
method may include receiving, from a second UE of the group of UEs, traffic information including a
transmission schedule associated with traffic of the second UE, determining a DRX configuration for the
group of UEs based on the transmission schedule associated with the traffic of the second UE,
the DRX configuration including a DRX schedule for the group of UEs, and transmitting, to the group of
UEs, the DRX configuration” (paragraph 0006). WU describes the wireless communication method at a
first UE. WU explains the method includes receiving traffic information from a second UE. Therefore, the
second UE is a transmitting UE, and, since the traffic information is being transmitted to the first UE, the
first UE is a receiving UE.
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU, WANG, and ANDERSON as applied to claims 1 and 44 above, and further in view of PARK et al. (US 20220369417 A1, hereinafter, "PARK").
Regarding claim 46, WU, WANG, and ANDERSON teach the first UE according to claim 44, wherein the DRX configuration assistance information comprises a default DRX configuration of the first UE, and wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer code instructions to cause the first UE to perform the method further comprising:
WU, WANG, and ANDERSON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receiving, by the first UE from a network, a mapping between a plurality of Qos requirements and at least one of a set of DRX configuration parameters or an index of the set of DRX configuration parameters;” and “and
determining, by the first UE, the default DRX configuration based on a Qos requirement and the
mapping.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches receiving, by the first UE from a network, a mapping
between a plurality of Qos requirements and at least one of a set of DRX configuration parameters or
an index of the set of DRX configuration parameters;
PARK writes, “...one of the QoS parameter(s) may be mapped to the sidelink DRX configuration…”
(paragraph 0398). PARK continues, “That is, a sidelink DRX configuration parameter may be set to match
a QoS requirement level so that the service requirement of the UE may be satisfied” (paragraph 0398).
and determining, by the first UE, the default DRX configuration based on a Qos requirement
and the mapping.
PARK writes, “FIG. 12 illustrates UEs that conduct V2X or SL communication between them according to
an embodiment of the present disclosure. For example, a first UE (UE1) may be a first device 100 and a
second UE (UE2) may be a second device 200. For example, UE1 may select a resource unit
corresponding to specific resources in a resource pool which is a set of resources. UE1 may then
transmit an SL signal in the resource unit” (paragraphs 0147-0148). PARK adds, “The sidelink DRX
configuration may be preconfigured according to a latency requirement mapped to the [PC5 QoS
identifier (PQI)] or the [PC5 QoS flow identifier (PFI)]” (paragraph 0385). PARK continues, “As described
below, a default value is set to '0' (long DRX). When the sidelink DRX cycle is switched to a short DRX
cycle configuration, the bit is switched to '1'. In contrast, when the sidelink DRX cycle is switched from
the short DRX configuration to the long DRX configuration, the bit is switched to '0' from '1'” (paragraph
0390). PARK indicates DRX configuration based on a QoS requirement and the mapping.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WU, WANG, and ANDERSON to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system and, more particularly, to an operation method of a user equipment associated with sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) and an apparatus associated with DRX.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, a power saving effect may be maximized by changing a DRX configuration, a DRX cycle, etc., appropriately to surrounding circumstances” (paragraph 0048).
Claim 7 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 46 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 46. Claim 7 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 46.
Regarding claim 4, WU, WANG, and ANDERSON teach the method of claim 1, wherein the DRX configuration information comprises
WU, WANG, and ANDERSON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “at least one of DRX slot offset information, DRX on duration timer information, DRX start offset information, or DRX cycle information.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches at least one of DRX slot offset information, DRX on
duration timer information, DRX start offset information, or DRX cycle information.
PARK writes, “The sidelink DRX configuration may be one of a sidelink DRX configuration related to a
long DRX cycle and a sidelink DRX configuration related to a short DRX cycle” (paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WU, WANG, and ANDERSON to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system and, more particularly, to an operation method of a user equipment associated with sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) and an apparatus associated with DRX.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, a power saving effect may be maximized by changing a DRX configuration, a DRX cycle, etc., appropriately to surrounding circumstances” (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 5, WU, WANG, and ANDERSON teach the method of claim 1, wherein the DRX configuration assistance information comprises
WU, WANG, and ANDERSON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “a plurality of existing DRX configurations for a plurality of sidelink communications associated with at least one different PC5 link or destination Layer-2 ID.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches a plurality of existing DRX configurations for a
plurality of sidelink communications associated with at least one different PC5 link or destination
Layer-2 ID.
PARK writes, “The sidelink DRX configuration may be preconfigured according to a latency requirement mapped to the [PC5 QoS identifier (PQI)] or the [PC5 QoS flow identifier (PFI)]” (paragraph 0385).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WU, WANG, and ANDERSON to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system and, more particularly, to an operation method of a user equipment associated with sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) and an apparatus associated with DRX.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, a power saving effect may be maximized by changing a DRX configuration, a DRX cycle, etc., appropriately to surrounding circumstances” (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 8, WU, WANG, and ANDERSON teach the method of claim 1, wherein the DRX configuration assistance information comprises a default DRX configuration of the first UE, and wherein the method comprises:
WU, WANG, and ANDERSON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining, by the first UE, the default DRX configuration based on a Qos requirement and a preconfigured mapping between a plurality of Qos requirements and at least one of a set of DRX configuration parameters or an index of the set of DRX configuration parameters.”
However, in analogous art, PARK teaches determining, by the first UE, the default DRX
configuration based on a Qos requirement and a preconfigured mapping between a plurality of Qos
requirements and at least one of a set of DRX configuration parameters or an index of the set of DRX
configuration parameters.
PARK writes, “FIG. 12 illustrates UEs that conduct V2X or SL communication between them according to
an embodiment of the present disclosure. For example, a first UE (UE1) may be a first device 100 and a
second UE (UE2) may be a second device 200. For example, UE1 may select a resource unit
corresponding to specific resources in a resource pool which is a set of resources. UE1 may then
transmit an SL signal in the resource unit” (paragraphs 0147-0148). PARK adds, “The sidelink DRX
configuration may be preconfigured according to a latency requirement mapped to the [PC5 QoS
identifier (PQI)] or the [PC5 QoS flow identifier (PFI)]” (paragraph 0385). PARK continues, “As described
below, a default value is set to '0' (long DRX). When the sidelink DRX cycle is switched to a short DRX
cycle configuration, the bit is switched to '1'. In contrast, when the sidelink DRX cycle is switched from
the short DRX configuration to the long DRX configuration, the bit is switched to '0' from '1'” (paragraph
0390). PARK indicates DRX configuration based on a QoS requirement and the mapping.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WU, WANG, and ANDERSON to include aspects described by PARK that “relates to a wireless communication system and, more particularly, to an operation method of a user equipment associated with sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) and an apparatus associated with DRX.” PARK provides the motivation for modification stating, “According to an embodiment, a power saving effect may be maximized by changing a DRX configuration, a DRX cycle, etc., appropriately to surrounding circumstances” (paragraph 0048).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU, WANG, and ANDERSON as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DAMNJANOVIC, et al. (US 20220225466 A1, hereinafter, "DAMNJANOVIC").
Regarding claim 11, WU, WANG, and ANDERSON teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
Additionally, WANG teaches providing, by the upper layer to the lower level of the first UE, the
DRX configuration assistance information
WANG writes, “...the DRX configuration received from the upper layer (e.g., layer 3) ...the DRX
configuration is pushed to lower layer…” (paragraph 0092).
WU, WANG, and ANDERSON fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “along with at least one of a layer-2 ID, an identification of another UE, quality of service (Qos) information, or Qos flow identity.”
However, in analogous art, DAMNJANOVIC teaches along with at least one of a layer-2 ID, an
identification of another UE, quality of service (Qos) information, or Qos flow identity.
DAMNJANOVIC writes, “In one example, target user equipment 904A may select a user-equipment-
specific sidelink DRX configuration (e.g., a sidelink DRX cycle) autonomously based on an identifier
associated with the user equipment, such as a sidelink synchronization identity (SSID) or Layer-2 ID”
(paragraph 0104). DAMNJANOVIC states the UE may select a UE specific sidelink DRX configuration (e.g.,
a sidelink DRX cycle) that may be based on an identifier associated with the UE, such as Layer-2 ID.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of WU, WANG, and ANDERSON to include aspects described by DAMNJANOVIC that “relate to wireless communications, and more particularly, to techniques for configuring discontinuous reception (DRX) on sidelink communication channels.” DAMNJANOVIC provides the motivation for modification stating, “An issue with all wireless communications, including sidelink communications, for battery operated wireless devices (e.g., smartphones, smart wearables, and others) is that “listening” for such communications requires power. As such, wireless devices often implement discontinuous reception (DRX) modes in order to power down receiving equipment and save power. While power efficiency is improved, the ability to leverage advanced capabilities, such as those enabled by sidelink communications, is impacted” (paragraph 0031).
Claims 2-3, 6, 12-43, and 45 have been cancelled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 2/10/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475