DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Claims 1-8 (Figures 10 and 12), battery case with planar portion in the reply filed on 04 June, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 June, 2026.
Claims 1-8 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20170237045 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al teach a battery cell, comprising:
an electrode assembly (electrode assembly [0021]); and
a case accommodating the electrode assembly (battery case surrounds an electrode assembly [0021]),
wherein the case includes a plurality of corner portions and a planar portion located between the plurality of corner portions (see annotated figure 8 below).
It is deemed that the planar portion being configured to press the electrode assembly when the electrode assembly swells is an inherent characteristic and/or property of the specifically disclosed prismatic battery cell. In this respect, MPEP 2112 sets forth the following:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
“Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Kim et al. teach that their prismatic battery cell has improves overall rigidity, preventing the battery cell from being deformed due to gas generated in the battery cell ([0021]). Since the overall structures of the claimed invention and Kim et al.’s battery cell are the same, the planar portion of Kim et al.’s case is expected to press the electrode assembly when the electrode assembly swells, preventing the battery cell from being deformed.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1, wherein the case comprises a wide surface and a narrow surface,
and at least a portion of the wide surface is configured to press the electrode assembly, when the electrode assembly swells (deemed inherent, when the electrode assembly swells, it will be pressed by at least a portion of the wide surface; see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20170237045 A1) in view of Kanemoto (US 20240372197 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1.
Kim et al. do not teach wherein the case comprises at least one support sleeve forming at least a portion of the planar portion.
However, Kanemoto teaches the use of a support sleeve (reinforcing member 50, [0061]), which provides a protective effect to the battery cell (impact absorption [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the planar portion of Kim et al.’s battery case to have included at least one support sleeve (reinforcing member) forming at least a portion of the planar portion to alleviate impacts, as taught by Kanemoto.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1.
Kim et al. do not teach wherein a thickness of at least a portion of the planar portion is greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of corner portions.
However, the obvious combination of the support sleeve combined with the planar portion of the battery case would lead to the thickness of at least a portion of the planar portion reinforced by a support sleeve to be greater in thickness than each of the plurality of corner portions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the thickness of at least a portion of the planar portion greater than a thickness of each of the plurality of corner portions to alleviate impacts, as taught by Kanemoto.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20170237045 A1) in view of Kanemoto (US 20240372197 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Norimine et al. (US 20240222768 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim et al. teach the battery cell of claim 2 in view of Kanemoto.
They do not teach that the support sleeve comprises steel.
However, Kanemoto teaches, “the reinforcing member 50 is a plate-shaped member made of a metal material such as an aluminum alloy or iron and is a member which improves the safety of the energy storage apparatus 1 by reinforcing the outer case.” The outer case of Kanemoto may comprise steel (stainless steel or plated steel [0045]).
Norimine et al. teach a reinforcement plate made of a metal such as aluminum or steel for improving the rigidity of electrical storage devices ([0041]). This teaching suggests that steel and aluminum are effective for providing structural support and are possible substitutes for one another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the support sleeve of Kim et al. in view of Kanemoto out of steel instead of aluminum or iron for improved rigidity, as taught by Norimine et al.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20170237045 A1) in view of Kang (US 20070151590 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1.
Kim et al. do not teach wherein the planar portion comprises a reinforcing portion protruding toward the electrode assembly.
However, Kang teaches a prismatic type lithium secondary battery wherein the planar portion of the case comprises a reinforcing portion protruding toward the electrode assembly (Figure 6, stopper 50; see paragraphs 16-20 and paragraph [0047]), which serve as structural support for the cap assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the planar portion of Kim et al.’s battery case to have included a reinforcing portion protruding toward the electrode assembly as this would provide support for the cap assembly, as taught by Kang. This combination would work as expected because the planar portion that extends toward the electrode assembly provides a buffer zone for force absorption as the electrode assembly swells toward the case wall.
Claim 5 is considered product-by-process claim. The cited prior art, Kim et al., teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20170237045 A1) in view of Ueda et al. (US Patent No. 6,946,221 B2).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim et al. teach the battery cell of claim 1.
Kim et al. do not teach wherein the planar portion comprises an ironing region and a protrusion extending from the ironing region and protruding outwardly of the case.
However, Ueda et al. teach a battery cell with a case made by an extrusion process, comprising an ironing region (the flat portions between the protrusions, see figure 9B and 44 of figure 9C) and a protrusion extending from the ironing region (convex protruding portions 43, figures 9A, 9B, and 9C), which effectively restrains expanding deformation due to a rise in pressure within the battery while maintaining sufficient energy density (col 15, lines 40-49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery cell container of Kim et al. to include a convex protrusion portion extending from the ironing region and protruding outwardly from the case to restrain expansion deformation as taught by Ueda et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Burkert (US-20190252647-A1) discloses a method and device for producing a prismatic battery cell container, using impact extrusion to shape the battery cell’s case.
/ANDREW KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727