DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki (US 9,981,255 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst comprising a catalyst-coated filter, the catalyst-coated filter comprising a filter substrate and a catalyst layer on a pore wall of the filter substrate, wherein the exhaust gas-purifying catalyst has a first end, a second end, a porous wall, a first cell, and a second cell, the first cell extending from the first end toward the second end, being opened at the first end, and being closed at the second end, the second cell extending from the second end toward the first end, being opened at the second end, and being closed at the first end, and the first cell and the second cell being adjacent to each other with the porous wall interposed therebetween (see Abstract; figures 1(a)-1(b); and column 2, line 16 through column 10, line 67), since Okazaki discloses providing a ceramic honeycomb structure for cleaning an exhaust gas, which has high strength without plugs, while securing good flowability of an exhaust gas through pores in cell walls, and which exhibits high capability of removing harmful substance with small pressure loss when carrying a catalyst (see column 2, lines 16-22), and the honeycomb ceramic structure may be plugged in ends of or inside desired flow paths by a known method to form a ceramic honeycomb filter (see column 9, lines 1-4).
Okazaki fails to explicitly disclose that the porous wall has a proportion SS/S of 65% or more at a surface on the first cell side, the proportion SS/S being a proportion of a total area SS of pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at the surface in a total area S of all pores at the surface.
Okazaki discloses that when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of 20 μm or less is more than 25% of the total pore volume, a smaller percentage of pores have diameters of more than 20 μm, resulting in more pressure loss; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of 20 μm or less is preferably 3-22%, more preferably 5-18%; when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 20 μm and 50 μm or less is less than 50% of the total pore volume, a catalyst-carrying ceramic honeycomb structure has larger percentages of fine pores and coarse pores, resulting in poor pressure loss characteristics and low strength; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 20 μm and 50 μm or less is preferably 55-80%, more preferably 60-75%; when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 50 μm is less than 12% of the total pore volume, a catalyst-carrying ceramic honeycomb structure has poor pressure loss characteristics; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 50 μm is preferably 15-30%, more preferably 18-25% (see column 4, lines 35-54); and table 4 shows a median pore diameter between 26.8 and 45.0 µm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the porous wall has a proportion SS/S of 65% or more at a surface on the first cell side, the proportion SS/S being a proportion of a total area SS of pores having an opening diameter of less than 40μm at the surface in a total area S of all pores at the surface, since applicant has not disclosed that having the porous wall has a proportion SS/S of 65% or more at a surface on the first cell side, the proportion SS/S being a proportion of a total area SS of pores having an opening diameter of less than 40μm at the surface in a total area S of all pores at the surface solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform well with the porous wall has a proportion SS/S of 65% or more at a surface on the first cell side, the proportion SS/S being a proportion of a total area SS of pores having an opening diameter of less than 40μm at the surface in a total area S of all pores at the surface.
Regarding claim 2, Okazaki fails to explicitly disclose that exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the porous wall has a proportion SM/S of 30% or less at the surface, the proportion SM/S being a proportion of a total area SM of pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more and less than 60 μm at the surface in the total area S of all the pores.
Okazaki discloses that when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of 20 μm or less is more than 25% of the total pore volume, a smaller percentage of pores have diameters of more than 20 μm, resulting in more pressure loss; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of 20 μm or less is preferably 3-22%, more preferably 5-18%; when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 20 μm and 50 μm or less is less than 50% of the total pore volume, a catalyst-carrying ceramic honeycomb structure has larger percentages of fine pores and coarse pores, resulting in poor pressure loss characteristics and low strength; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 20 μm and 50 μm or less is preferably 55-80%, more preferably 60-75%; when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 50 μm is less than 12% of the total pore volume, a catalyst-carrying ceramic honeycomb structure has poor pressure loss characteristics; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 50 μm is preferably 15-30%, more preferably 18-25% (see column 4, lines 35-54); and table 4 shows a median pore diameter between 26.8 and 45.0 µm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the porous wall has a proportion SM/S of 30% or less at the surface, the proportion SM/S being a proportion of a total area SM of pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more and less than 60 μm at the surface in the total area S of all the pores, since applicant has not disclosed that having the porous wall has a proportion SM/S of 30% or less at the surface, the proportion SM/S being a proportion of a total area SM of pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more and less than 60 μm at the surface in the total area S of all the pores solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform well with the porous wall has a proportion SM/S of 30% or less at the surface, the proportion SM/S being a proportion of a total area SM of pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more and less than 60 μm at the surface in the total area S of all the pores.
Regarding claim 3, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the porous wall has a proportion SL/S of 15% or less at the surface, the proportion SL/S being a proportion of a total area SL of pores having an opening diameter of 60 μm or more at the surface in the total area S of all the pores (see column 2, line 66 through column 3, line 2 and column 5, line 56 through column 6, line 4).
Regarding claim 4, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the porous wall has a proportion SSS/S of 50% or less at the surface, the proportion SSS/S being a proportion of a total area SSS of pores having an opening diameter of less than 20 μm at the surface in the total area S of all the pores (see column 4, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 5, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein a portion of the porous wall on the first cell side has a cross section perpendicular to the surface, pores of the filter substrate include first pores having a pore diameter of 5 μm or more and less than 10 μm at the cross section, second pores having a pore diameter of 10 μm or more and less than 20 μm at the cross section, and third pores having a pore diameter of 20 μm or more at the cross section, a filling rate RF1 of the first pores with the catalyst layer, a filling rate RF2 of the second pores with the catalyst layer, and a filling rate RF3 of the third pores with the catalyst layer satisfy a relationship represented by an inequality RF1 < RF2 < RF3 (see Abstract; figures 1(a)-1(b); and column 2, line 16 through column 10, line 67), since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Regarding claims 6-7, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the filling rate RF1 is 40% or less, the filling rate RF2 is 40% or less, and the filling rate RF3 is 45% or less; and wherein the filling rate RF3 is 20% or more (see Abstract; figures 1(a)-1(b); and column 2, line 16 through column 10, line 67), since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Regarding claim 9, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst further comprising inorganic particles in a powder form supported by the catalyst-coated filter (see column 3, lines 5-30).
Regarding claim 10, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the inorganic particles are localized on the first cell side of the porous wall (see Abstract; figures 1(a)-1(b); and column 2, line 16 through column 10, line 67), since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
In addition, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the inorganic particles are localized on the first cell side of the porous wall, since applicant has not disclosed that having the inorganic particles are localized on the first cell side of the porous wall solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform well with the inorganic particles are localized on the first cell side of the porous wall.
Regarding claim 12, Okazaki fails to disclose an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the pores of the porous wall include first small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at the surface and first large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface, and pores of a portion of the catalyst-coated filter corresponding to the porous wall include second small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at a surface of the portion on the first cell side and second large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface of the portion, a ratio (SS2-SS1)/SS2 of a difference SS2-SS1 between a total area SS2 of the second small pores and a total area SS1 of the first small pores to the total area SS2 of the second small pores is 40% or less, and a ratio (SL2-SL1)/SL2 of a difference SL2-SL1 between a total area SL2 of the second large pores and a total area SL1 of the first large pores to the total area SL2 of the second large pores is 60% or more.
Okazaki discloses that when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of 20 μm or less is more than 25% of the total pore volume, a smaller percentage of pores have diameters of more than 20 μm, resulting in more pressure loss; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of 20 μm or less is preferably 3-22%, more preferably 5-18%; when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 20 μm and 50 μm or less is less than 50% of the total pore volume, a catalyst-carrying ceramic honeycomb structure has larger percentages of fine pores and coarse pores, resulting in poor pressure loss characteristics and low strength; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 20 μm and 50 μm or less is preferably 55-80%, more preferably 60-75%; when the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 50 μm is less than 12% of the total pore volume, a catalyst-carrying ceramic honeycomb structure has poor pressure loss characteristics; the cumulative pore volume in a pore diameter range of more than 50 μm is preferably 15-30%, more preferably 18-25% (see column 4, lines 35-54); and table 4 shows a median pore diameter between 26.8 and 45.0 µm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the pores of the porous wall include first small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at the surface and first large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface, and pores of a portion of the catalyst-coated filter corresponding to the porous wall include second small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at a surface of the portion on the first cell side and second large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface of the portion, a ratio (SS2-SS1)/SS2 of a difference SS2-SS1 between a total area SS2 of the second small pores and a total area SS1 of the first small pores to the total area SS2 of the second small pores is 40% or less, and a ratio (SL2-SL1)/SL2 of a difference SL2-SL1 between a total area SL2 of the second large pores and a total area SL1 of the first large pores to the total area SL2 of the second large pores is 60% or more, since applicant has not disclosed that having the pores of the porous wall include first small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at the surface and first large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface, and pores of a portion of the catalyst-coated filter corresponding to the porous wall include second small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at a surface of the portion on the first cell side and second large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface of the portion, a ratio (SS2-SS1)/SS2 of a difference SS2-SS1 between a total area SS2 of the second small pores and a total area SS1 of the first small pores to the total area SS2 of the second small pores is 40% or less, and a ratio (SL2-SL1)/SL2 of a difference SL2-SL1 between a total area SL2 of the second large pores and a total area SL1 of the first large pores to the total area SL2 of the second large pores is 60% or more solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform well with the pores of the porous wall include first small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at the surface and first large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface, and pores of a portion of the catalyst-coated filter corresponding to the porous wall include second small pores having an opening diameter of less than 40 μm at a surface of the portion on the first cell side and second large pores having an opening diameter of 40 μm or more at the surface of the portion, a ratio (SS2-SS1)/SS2 of a difference SS2-SS1 between a total area SS2 of the second small pores and a total area SS1 of the first small pores to the total area SS2 of the second small pores is 40% or less, and a ratio (SL2-SL1)/SL2 of a difference SL2-SL1 between a total area SL2 of the second large pores and a total area SL1 of the first large pores to the total area SL2 of the second large pores is 60% or more.
14. The exhaust gas-purifying catalyst according to claim 9, wherein the inorganic particles comprise one or more selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide, a metal hydroxide, a metal carbonate, a metal phosphate, a metal nitrate, a metal sulfate, and a clay mineral.
Regarding claim 13, Okazaki discloses an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the inorganic particles have an average particle size in a range of 1 μm to 50 μm (see column 3, lines 5-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki (US 9,981,255 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rownaghi et al. (US 2019/0001311 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Okazaki fails to disclose an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein the inorganic particles comprise one or more selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide, a metal hydroxide, a metal carbonate, a metal phosphate, a metal nitrate, a metal sulfate, and a clay mineral.
Rownaghi et al. discloses a zeolite coated monolith article; the zeolite coated monolith article comprises an uncoated monolithic support structure including walls having a honeycomb structure comprising ammonia-ZSM-5 powder (SiO2/Al2O3) and bentonite clay; and a porous coating disposed directly upon the uncoated monolithic support structure (see paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the inorganic particles comprise one or more selected from the group consisting of a metal oxide, a metal hydroxide, a metal carbonate, a metal phosphate, a metal nitrate, a metal sulfate, and a clay mineral, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, 11, and 15, the prior art references fail to disclose an exhaust gas-purifying catalyst wherein a ratio of a mass of the catalyst layer to a volume of the filter substrate is in a range of 10 g/L to 300 g/L; wherein an amount A, an amount A1, and an amount A2 satisfy a relationship represented by an inequality (A1+A2)/A ≥ 90%, the amount A being a total amount of the inorganic particles, the amount A1 being an amount of the inorganic particles positioned above a surface of the catalyst-coated filter on the first cell side, and the amount A2 being an amount of the inorganic particles which are in pores of the catalyst-coated filter and whose distances from the surface of the catalyst-coated filter on the first cell side is 20% or less of a thickness of a portion of the catalyst-coated filter corresponding to the porous wall; and wherein a ratio of a mass of the inorganic particles to a volume of the filter substrate is in a range of 3 g/L to 50 g/L.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774