Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “disclosed herein” should be avoided. Examiner recommends removing the language from the abstract on file. Examiner suggests the following edits to the first and last sentences respectively: “Implantable prosthetic valves including an outer sealing member comprising a bulge in the expanded configuration” and “Also described are methods of making bulge-associated prosthetic valves.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, & 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levi et al. US 20190053897 A1, herein referred to as Levi 1, in view of Levi et al US 20190046314 A1, herein referred to as Levi 2.
RE. Claim 1, Levi discloses an implantable prosthetic valve (Fig 2, prosthetic valve 10) comprising: a) an annular frame (Fig 2, bare frame 12) having an inner surface (Annotated Fig 2 below) and an outer surface (Annotated Fig 2 below), an wherein the annular frame is compressible and expandable between a radially compressed configuration ([0048]) and a radially expanded configuration ([0048]); and b) an outer sealing member (Fig 2, outer skirt 18) having a proximal end (Annotated Fig 2 below) and a distal end (Annotated Fig 2 below) and is mounted circumferentially around a first portion (Annotated Fig 2 below) of the outer surface of the annular frame (Annotated Fig 2 below), wherein the first portion of the outer surface has a proximal end (Annotated Fig 4 below) and a distal end (Annotated Fig 4 below), and wherein the first portion has a first length extending between the proximal end and the distal end in the radially compressed configuration of the annular frame (Fig 4, row III; [0054]) and a second length extending between the proximal end and the distal end in the radially expanded configuration of the annular frame (Fig 4, row IV; [0054]); and wherein the outer sealing member is configured to outwardly bulge when the annular frame is in the radially expanded configuration ([0053] &[0057], skirt would bulge as frame bulges), thereby forming a seal against surrounding tissue when the prosthetic valve is implanted ([0056], bulging then seals implant).
But does not disclose an inflow end, and an outflow end; wherein the proximal end of the first portion is at the inflow end of the annular frame; wherein the outer sealing member has a length substantially identical to the first length of the first portion.
But Levi 2 discloses a similar implant heart valve. Levi 2 teaches inflow end (Fig 1, inflow 16 [0064]), and an outflow end (Fig 1, outflow 18 [0064]); wherein the proximal end of the first portion is at the inflow end of the annular frame (Fig 1 [0068]); wherein the outer sealing member (Fig 1, Skirt 30) has a length substantially identical to the first length of the first portion [0068]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Levi 1 to incorporate an inflow end, and an outflow end; wherein the proximal end of the first portion is at the inflow end of the annular frame; wherein the outer sealing member has a length substantially identical to the first length of the first portion, as taught and suggested by Levi 2 in order to mimic a tricuspid arrangement similar to the aortic valve [0064].
RE. Claim 2, the combination of Levi 1 and 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1 teaches wherein the outer surface (Levi 1 Annotated Fig 2 above) of the annular frame has a second portion that is free of the outer sealing member (Levi 1Annotated Fig 2 above) and wherein the second portion extends between the outflow end of the annular frame and the distal end of the first portion (Levi 1Annotated Fig 2 above).
RE. Claim 3, the combination of Levi 1 and 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1 teaches wherein the outer sealing member (Levi 1 Fig 2, outer skirt 18 and Fig 5 inner skirt 12) comprises a mesh layer (Levi 1 [0015] Fig 5, layer 84, electrospun layer is equivalent to mesh) and a pile layer (Levi 1 Fig 5, reinforcing layer 88), wherein the pile layer comprises a plurality of pile yarns (Levi 1 [0063]) extending outwardly from at least a portion of an outer surface of the mesh layer (Levi 1 [0073]), wherein an inner surface of the mesh layer is substantially free of the pile yarns (Levi 1 [0061], window openings allow space of free yarns) and wherein at least a portion of the inner surface of the mesh layer is in substantial contact with at least a portion of the outer surface of the annular frame (Levi 1 [0061], window openings allow space of free yarns).
RE. Claim 4, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1 teaches wherein the mesh layer (Levi 1 Fig 5, layer 84) has a first height extending axially along the frame (Levi 1 [0079]), and the pile layer has a second height extending axially along the frame (Levi 1 [0079], wherein the first height is greater than the second height (Levi 1 [0079], Levi 1 teaches the first height may also be greater).
RE. Claim 5, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1 teaches wherein the mesh layer (Levi 1 [0015] Fig 5, layer 84) comprises a plurality of warp and weft yarns (Levi 1 Fig 1, multiple warp and weft visible on skirt) and comprises a plurality of wales extending axially across the length of the outer sealing layer and a plurality of courses extending circumferentially along a width of the outer sealing layer (Levi 1 Fig 1, extends entire surface), wherein the width of the outer layer is substantially identical to a circumference of the annular frame in the expanded configuration (Levi 1 [0058]).
RE. Claim 6, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 5 teaches
wherein the mesh layer has a wales density from about 10 to about 50 wales per inch (Levi 2 [0060], Levi 2 teaches approximately 13.33 gsm derived from:
Derived range is approximately 1.29-16.67 gsm, as calculated using denier yarn sizes cited paragraph 115 of the instant application) and/or a course density from about 25 to about 85 courses per inch.
RE. Claim 7, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 5 teaches wherein the plurality of wales comprises a warp yarn (Levi 1 Fig 1), wherein the warp yarn is fully-drawn, or spin-drawn or low or not twisted (Levi 1 [0015]).
RE. Claim 8, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 5 teaches wherein the warp yarn has a size from about 10 denier to about 40 denier and a filament count from about 6 to about 56 (Levi 2 [0119-0120] “1-200 denier” and “1-600 count” While Levi 2 does not teach the specific range, the claimed ranges are with the ranges taught by Levi) and/or wherein the warp yarn has a tenacity from about 30 to about 400 cN/tex.
RE. Claim 10, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 5 teaches wherein the plurality of courses are formed with a weft yarn (Levi 1Fig 1), wherein the weft yarn is a monofilament yarn (Levi 1 [0072]).
RE. Claim 15, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 7 teaches herein the warp yarn comprises a polyester (Levi 1 [0063]), co-polyester (Levi 2 [0133] nylon), polyamide (Levi 1 [0063]), polyolefin, polyaryletherketones, aromatic polymers (Levi 2 [0133], PET), polyurethane (Levi 1 [0098]), or any combination thereof (Levi 1 [0063]).
RE. Claim 16, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 7 teaches herein the weft yarn comprises a polyester (Levi 1 [0063]), co-polyester (Levi 2 [0133]), polyamide (Levi 1 [0063]), polyolefin, polyaryletherketones, aromatic polymers (Levi 2 [0133], PET, polyurethane (Levi 1 [0098] polyurethane), or any combination thereof (Levi 1 [0063]).
RE. Claim 17, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 3 teaches wherein the mesh layer comprises a knit or woven fabric (Levi 2 [0056] Fig 12, 16).
RE. Claim 18, Levi discloses wherein the knit fabric is crochet knit and/or warp-knit fabric (Levi 2 Fig 24, shows a v-stitch, a crochet knit).
Claim(s) 9, 11-14, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levi 1 in view of Levi 2, and further in view of Van Hulle et al. US 20180202082 A1, herein referred to as Van Hulle.
RE. Claim 9, the combination of Levi 1 and Levi 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 5 teaches wherein the plurality of courses are formed with a weft yarn (Levi 1 Fig 1).
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the weft yarn comprises a multifilament configuration comprising a twisted yarn, a flat yarn, a textured yarn, or any combination thereof (Levi 1 [0073]).
But Van Hulle teaches a similar woven implant. Van Hulle teaches wherein the weft yarn comprises a multifilament configuration comprising a twisted yarn, a flat yarn, a textured yarn, or any combination thereof (Van Hull [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Levi 1 and Levi 2 to incorporate wherein the weft yarn comprises a multifilament configuration comprising a twisted yarn, a flat yarn, a textured yarn, or any combination thereof as taught and suggested by Van Hulle in order to allow the addition of pockets/openings to the woven element [Van Hulle 0032].
RE. Claim 11, the combination of Levi 1, Levi 2, and Van Hulle discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 9 teaches wherein the weft (Levi 2 [0021]) yarn is a combination of the twisted yarn or the flat yarn with the textured yarn (Van Hulle Fig 14A-E, [0026] & [0099], loops function as twisted yarn).
RE. Claim 12, the combination of Levi 1, Levi 2, and Van Hulle discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 9 teaches wherein the twisted yarn and/or flat yarn have a size of about 10 denier to about 40 denier (Van Hulle [0046], While Van Hulle does not teach the specific range, the claimed ranges are with the ranges taught by Van Hulle), and wherein the textured yarn has a size of about 20 denier to about 160 denier (Van Hulle [0043] While Van Hulle does not teach the specific range, the claimed ranges are with the ranges taught by Van Hulle).
RE. Claim 13, the combination of Levi 1, Levi 2, and Van Hulle discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 12 teaches wherein the twisted yarn and/or flat yarn have a size of about 10 denier to about 40 denier (Van Hulle [0046], While Van Hulle does not teach the specific range, the claimed ranges are with the ranges taught by Van Hulle), and wherein the textured yarn has a size of about 20 denier to about 160 denier (Van Hulle [0043] While Van Hulle does not teach the specific range, the claimed ranges are with the ranges taught by Van Hulle)
RE. Claim 14, the combination of Levi and Van Hulle discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 9 teaches wherein the textured yarn is configured to fill gaps in the mesh layer (Levi 1 [0080] “two layers are fused”, filling gaps).
RE. Claim 19, the combination of Levi 1, Levi 2, and Van Hulle discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim teaches 9 wherein the knit fabric is crochet knit and/or warp-knit fabric (Levi 2 Fig 24, shows a v-stitch, a crochet knit).
RE. Claim 20, the combination of Levi 1, Levi 2, and Van Hulle discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim teaches 9 wherein the pile yarn comprises a flat or textured yarn (Levi 1[0080] layers are fused).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799