DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/18/2016 has been entered. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026, particularly regarding rejection of the claims in view of Ko (2023/0389121) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended the limitations to include three features claimed in the alternative, and they will be addressed below:
Regarding Feature A, Applicant argues that paragraph [0200] of Ko recites that the sensing time and active timer period can completely overlap or partially overlap, but Ko fails to further discuss the threshold of the overlapped time length of the sensing time and active timer period. Accordingly, Applicant argues that Ko fails to disclose, teach or suggest at least Feature A: "configuring duration of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to be greater than or equal to a seventh threshold."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited claim limitations provide no indication of what the value of the “seventh threshold” actually is, or how it is to be determined. Ko teaches at ([0200]) “a UE may perform full sensing in the entire active timer period.” Interpreting the threshold to be the length of the active timer period, setting the duration of the sensing time to the length of the active timer period would be configuring a duration “equal to a threshold” as recited in the amended claims. Further, Ko teaches at ([0200]) “an active timer period can basically last for the duration of an OnDurationTimer interval. Additionally, for example, an active time period may be extended by adding an InactivityTimer period or a RetransmissionTimer period to an OnDurationTimer period according to a reception condition. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing only during an OnDuratonTimer period. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+InactivityTimer period).” Extending the duration of the active timer period, and performing full sensing during the extended time, discloses configuring a duration “greater than . . . a threshold” as recited in the amended limitations. Therefore, Ko implicitly discloses the recited threshold and continues to anticipate the claims as amended.
Regarding Feature B, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner has withdrawn any rejection for Feature B in view of Ko.
Regarding Feature C, Applicant argues since the Patent Office did not assess Feature C, Applicant submits that prior art documents also fail to disclose, teach or suggest at least Feature C, and therefore feature C is allowable.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the features are claimed in the alternative, and only one feature is required to be met to anticipate the claim, a lack of art rejection for the features not invoked is not an indication of allowability for said feature by the examiner.
Since Ko continues to anticipate Feature A, and Features B and C are alternative embodiments not invoked, Ko continues to anticipate the claims as amended, and the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 20 and 21 are indefinite because they are incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The claims recite “a seventh threshold,” “an eighth threshold,” and “a ninth threshold.” The omitted elements are: a first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth threshold. Claims 2-14 and 16-19 are rejected for the same reasons by virtue of their dependency on Claim 1, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ko et al (US 2023/0389121).
Regarding Claim 1, Ko teaches a transmission configuration method performed by an electronic device ([0205], FIG. 12, a sensing window and a selection window configured by a UE are shown), wherein the method comprises: configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism ([0205], Fig. 12, the UE may repeatedly experience on-duration and off-duration times according to an SL DRX configuration. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the on-duration may be extended to an active time. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the off-duration may mean a time when a UE is not active. At a resource selection time point, a UE may select an SL resource to be used for transmitting SL data on the selection window based on a result of sensing performed in the sensing window);
wherein the configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring duration of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to be greater than or equal to a seventh threshold ([0200], a UE may perform full sensing in the entire active timer period. For example, a UE may perform partial sensing within an active timer period. Through this, the power saving gain can be maximized. In this case, for example, an active timer period can basically last for the duration of an OnDurationTimer interval. Additionally, for example, an active time period may be extended by adding an InactivityTimer period or a RetransmissionTimer period to an OnDurationTimer period according to a reception condition. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing only during an OnDuratonTimer period. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+InactivityTimer period). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer interval extended by a RetransmissionTimer interval (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer interval+RetransmissionTimer interval). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period and a RetransmissionTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+ Inactivity Timerperiod +RetransmissionTimer period));
configuring a ratio of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to a third time to be greater than or equal to an eighth threshold, wherein the third time comprises one of the following: the sensing time, the active time, an inactive time of the second mechanism, or a period of the second mechanism (Embodiment not invoked); or wherein the configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism comprises: in a case that a gap between a fourth time and a start point or end point of the active time is less than or equal to a ninth threshold, configuring the sensing time of the first mechanism to at least partially overlap the active time of the second mechanism; wherein in a case that the gap between the fourth time and the start point or end point of the active time is greater than the ninth threshold, sensing within the sensing time is unrelated to the second mechanism; wherein the fourth time comprises one of the following: a start point of the sensing time, an end point of the sensing time, the sensing time, a resource selection or reselection triggering moment, a re-evaluation triggering moment, or a pre-emption triggering moment (Embodiment not invoked).
Regarding Claim 2, Ko teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring a configuration parameter for the sensing time of the first mechanism such that the sensing time at least partially overlaps the active time of the second mechanism; configuring a configuration parameter for a resource selection time of the first mechanism such that a sensing time corresponding to the resource selection time at least partially overlaps the active time of the second mechanism ([0205-0206], Fig. 12, the SL resource may be selected from resources in an on-duration period of a UE within the selection window. For example, the SL resource may be selected within a second time. The second time may represent a time after a specific time point during which the sensing window and the on-duration overlap. For example, the specific time point may be configured or pre-configured for the UE by a higher layer, For example, when the time of the transmission resource selected by a UE within an active timer period within a selection window is located after the start of the active timer period by a specific time interval, the UE may perform continuous sensing. Through this, prior to the final transmission, a probability that a transmission resource selected by a UE collides with a transmission resource selected by another UE may be minimized. In this case, a UE may perform the continuous sensing during the (selected resource time−specific time interval) from the start of the active timer period, and the UE may reselect the selected transmission resource based on the result of the continuous sensing. For example, the specific time interval may be predefined for a UE); determining a candidate resource set of the first mechanism such that a sensing time corresponding to the candidate resource set at least partially overlaps the active time of the second mechanism ([0089]); configuring a value of a first parameter for the first mechanism such that a sensing time corresponding to a selectable range of resource selection time related to the first parameter at least partially overlaps the active time of the second mechanism, the first parameter comprising at least one of a first sub-parameter and a second sub-parameter, the first sub-parameter being a gap between a resource selection or reselection triggering moment and a start point of the selectable range of resource selection time, and the second sub-parameter being a gap between the resource selection or reselection triggering moment and an end point of the selectable range of resource selection time; or configuring a configuration parameter for the second mechanism such that the sensing time of the first mechanism at least partially overlaps the active time of the second mechanism.
Regarding Claim 3, Ko teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the configuring a configuration parameter for the sensing time of the first mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring a start point of the sensing time to be a start point of the active time or configuring a start point of the sensing time to be offset by a first offset value relative to a start point of the active time; configuring an end point of the sensing time to be an end point of the active time or configuring an end point of the sensing time to be offset by a second offset value relative to an end point of the active time; or configuring duration of the sensing time to be shorter than or equal to duration of the active time ([0206], Fig. 12, For example, the specific time point may be configured or pre-configured for the UE by a higher layer, For example, when the time of the transmission resource selected by a UE within an active timer period within a selection window is located after the start of the active timer period by a specific time interval, the UE may perform continuous sensing. Through this, prior to the final transmission, a probability that a transmission resource selected by a UE collides with a transmission resource selected by another UE may be minimized. In this case, a UE may perform the continuous sensing during the (selected resource time−specific time interval) from the start of the active timer period, and the UE may reselect the selected transmission resource based on the result of the continuous sensing. For example, the specific time interval may be predefined for a UE, [0089], NR resource allocation mode 2, UE 1 may indicate the priority of SL transmission to a second UE using SCI. For example, a second UE may decode the SCI, and the second UE may perform sensing and/or resource (re)selection based on the priority. For example, the resource (re)selection procedure may include identifying a candidate resource in a resource selection window by a second UE and selecting a resource for (re)transmission from among the identified candidate resources. For example, the resource selection window may be a time interval in which a UE selects a resource for SL transmission. For example, after the second UE triggers resource (re)selection, a resource selection window may start at T1>0, and the resource selection window may be limited by a remaining packet delay budget of a second UE); or wherein the configuring a configuration parameter for the sensing time of the first mechanism comprises: determining, based on a degree of overlapping of the sensing time with the active time, whether to change the sensing time.
Regarding Claim 4, Ko teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein in a case of changing the sensing time, a changed-to sensing time comprises at least a part of the changed sensing time (Embodiment not invoked).
Regarding Claim 5, Ko teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the configuring a configuration parameter for a resource selection time of the first mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring a start point of the resource selection time to be no earlier than the start point of the selectable range of resource selection time or configuring a start point of the resource selection time to be no earlier than a time offset by a third offset value relative to the start point of the selectable range of resource selection time ([0205-0206], For example, the SL resource may be selected from resources in an on-duration period of a UE within the selection window. For example, the SL resource may be selected within a second time. The second time may represent a time after a specific time point during which the sensing window and the on-duration overlap, a UE may perform the continuous sensing during the (selected resource time−specific time interval) from the start of the active timer period, and the UE may reselect the selected transmission resource based on the result of the continuous sensing. For example, the specific time interval may be predefined for a UE); configuring an end point of the resource selection time to be no later than the end point of the selectable range of resource selection time or configuring an end point of the resource selection time to be no later than a time offset by a fourth offset value relative to the end point of the selectable range of resource selection time; or configuring duration of the resource selection time to be less than a first threshold; wherein the first threshold is duration of the active time of the second mechanism ([0089], NR resource allocation mode 2, UE 1 may indicate the priority of SL transmission to a second UE using SCI. For example, a second UE may decode the SCI, and the second UE may perform sensing and/or resource (re)selection based on the priority. For example, the resource (re)selection procedure may include identifying a candidate resource in a resource selection window by a second UE and selecting a resource for (re)transmission from among the identified candidate resources. For example, the resource selection window may be a time interval in which a UE selects a resource for SL transmission. For example, after the second UE triggers resource (re)selection, a resource selection window may start at T1>0, and the resource selection window may be limited by a remaining packet delay budget of a second UE).
Regarding Claim 6, Ko teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the configuring a value of a first parameter for the first mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring a difference between the first sub-parameter and the second sub-parameter to be less than a second threshold; or determining a value of the first sub-parameter such that the start point of the selectable range of resource selection time is no later than an end point of the active time; wherein the second threshold is duration of the active time (Embodiment not invoked).
Regarding Claim 7, Ko teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein a first object satisfies a packet delay budget (PDB) limitation, and the first object comprises at least one of the resource selection time or the selectable range of resource selection time; wherein in a case that the first object comprises the resource selection time, the resource selection time satisfying the PDB limitation comprises an end point of the resource selection time being no later than an end point of the PDB; in a case that the first object comprises the selectable range of resource selection time, the selectable range of resource selection time satisfying the PDB limitation comprises the end point of the selectable range of resource selection time being no later than an end point of the PDB ([0205], Fig. 12, At a resource selection time point, a UE may select an SL resource to be used for transmitting SL data on the selection window based on a result of sensing performed in the sensing window. For example, the PDB related to the SL data may be higher than a threshold value. For example, the SL resource may be selected from resources in an on-duration period of a UE within the selection window, [0201], number of active timer periods used in the selection window may be configured so as not to exceed a packet delay budget (PDB) of packets to be transmitted by the UE, [0203], when the PDB related to a packet to be transmitted by a UE is relatively large, and/or high transmission reliability is required for a packet to be transmitted by a UE, the UE may select or reselect a transmission resource within a time interval after a specific time point in which a resource collision probability is reduced by the continuous sensing among active timer periods within the selection window. For example, in the case of a relatively small PDB related to a packet to be transmitted by a UE and/or a packet requiring urgent transmission, the UE may select or reselect a transmission resource within a time interval prior to the specific time point among active timer periods within the selection window).
Regarding Claim 8, Ko teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein in a case that it is impossible to satisfy both a first constraint and a second constraint, the first constraint is performed or the second constraint is performed; wherein the first constraint is that the first object satisfies the PDB limitation, and the second constraint is that a sensing time corresponding to the first object at least partially overlaps the active time ([0089], NR resource allocation mode 2, UE 1 may indicate the priority of SL transmission to a second UE using SCI. For example, a second UE may decode the SCI, and the second UE may perform sensing and/or resource (re)selection based on the priority. For example, the resource (re)selection procedure may include identifying a candidate resource in a resource selection window by a second UE and selecting a resource for (re)transmission from among the identified candidate resources. For example, the resource selection window may be a time interval in which a UE selects a resource for SL transmission. For example, after the second UE triggers resource (re)selection, a resource selection window may start at T1>0, and the resource selection window may be limited by a remaining packet delay budget of a second UE).
Regarding Claim 9, Ko teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the configuring a configuration parameter for the second mechanism comprises one of the following: extending the active time of the second mechanism; or configuring a second parameter for the second mechanism; wherein the second parameter for the second mechanism comprises at least one of the following: a period of the second mechanism; duration of the active time of the second mechanism; duration of an inactive time of the second mechanism; a location of the second mechanism; a location of the active time of the second mechanism; a location of an inactive time of the second mechanism; a start point or end point of the second mechanism; a start point or end point of the active time of the second mechanism; or a start point or end point of an inactive time of the second mechanism ([0200], a UE may perform full sensing in the entire active timer period. For example, a UE may perform partial sensing within an active timer period. Through this, the power saving gain can be maximized. In this case, for example, an active timer period can basically last for the duration of an OnDurationTimer interval. Additionally, for example, an active time period may be extended by adding an InactivityTimer period or a RetransmissionTimer period to an OnDurationTimer period according to a reception condition. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing only during an OnDuratonTimer period. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+InactivityTimer period). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer interval extended by a RetransmissionTimer interval (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer interval+RetransmissionTimer interval). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period and a RetransmissionTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+ Inactivity Timerperiod +RetransmissionTimer period), [0205], Referring to FIG. 12, a sensing window and a selection window configured by a UE are shown. For example, the UE may repeatedly experience on-duration and off-duration times according to an SL DRX configuration. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the on-duration may be extended to an active time).
Regarding Claim 10, Ko teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the extending the active time of the second mechanism comprises one of the following: starting extending the active time from an indication information reception time; starting extending the active time from a packet reception time; starting extending the active time from a reception failure time; starting extending the active time from a transmission/reception failure time; starting extending the active time from a demodulation failure time; starting extending the active time from the start point of the active time; or starting extending the active time from the end point of the active time ([0200], a UE may perform full sensing in the entire active timer period. For example, a UE may perform partial sensing within an active timer period. Through this, the power saving gain can be maximized. In this case, for example, an active timer period can basically last for the duration of an OnDurationTimer interval. Additionally, for example, an active time period may be extended by adding an InactivityTimer period or a RetransmissionTimer period to an OnDurationTimer period according to a reception condition. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing only during an OnDuratonTimer period. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+InactivityTimer period). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer interval extended by a RetransmissionTimer interval (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer interval+RetransmissionTimer interval). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period and a RetransmissionTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+ Inactivity Timerperiod +RetransmissionTimer period), [0205], Referring to FIG. 12, a sensing window and a selection window configured by a UE are shown. For example, the UE may repeatedly experience on-duration and off-duration times according to an SL DRX configuration. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the on-duration may be extended to an active time); or wherein the extending the active time of the second mechanism comprises at least one of the following: extending the end point of the active time to a first moment; or extending the start point of the active time to a second moment; or wherein the extending the active time of the second mechanism comprises: extending the active time in a case that a first condition is met; wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time being less than a third threshold; a ratio of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to a first time being less than or equal to a fourth threshold, wherein the first time comprises one of the following: the sensing time, the active time, the inactive time of the second mechanism, or the period of the second mechanism; or a gap between a second time and the start point or end point of the active time being less than or equal to a fifth threshold, wherein the second time comprises one of the following: the sensing time, a start point of the sensing time, an end point of the sensing time, the resource selection or reselection triggering moment, a re-evaluation triggering moment, or a pre-emption triggering moment; or wherein the configuring a second parameter for the second mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring the start point of the active time of the second mechanism to be a start point of the sensing time or configuring the start point of the active time of the second mechanism to be a time offset by a twelfth offset value relative to a start point of the sensing time; configuring the end point of the active time of the second mechanism to be an end point of the sensing time or configuring the end point of the active time of the second mechanism to be a time offset by a thirteenth offset value relative to an end point of the sensing time; configuring the active time of the second mechanism to at least partially overlap at least M of the sensing time, wherein M is a positive integer; configuring the duration of the active time of the second mechanism to be greater than or equal to a sixth threshold; or in a case that the sensing time is a partial sensing time, configuring the period of the second mechanism to be a step of the partial sensing time; or wherein the configuring a second parameter for the second mechanism comprises: configuring the second parameter for the second mechanism based on a property of a service.
Regarding Claim 11, Ko teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the first moment comprises one of the following: an end point of the sensing time; a moment offset by a fifth offset value relative to an end point of the sensing time; a start point of the sensing time; a moment offset by a sixth offset value relative to a start point of the sensing time; the resource selection or reselection triggering moment; a moment offset by a seventh offset value relative to the resource selection or reselection triggering moment; a re-evaluation triggering moment; a moment offset by an eighth offset value relative to a re-evaluation triggering moment; a pre-emption triggering moment; or a moment offset by a ninth offset value relative to a pre-emption triggering moment; wherein the second moment comprises one of the following: a start point of the sensing time; a moment offset by a tenth offset value relative to a start point of the sensing time; an end point of the sensing time; or a moment offset by an eleventh offset value relative to an end point of the sensing time; wherein the configuring the second parameter for the second mechanism based on a property of a service comprises: configuring the period of the second mechanism to be a period of the service in a case of periodic service transmission (Embodiment not invoked).
Regarding Claim 16, Ko teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing time is at least one of the following: a full sensing time; a partial sensing time ([0200], For example, a UE may perform full sensing in the entire active timer period. For example, a UE may perform partial sensing within an active timer period); sensing times related to aperiodic transmission; or a sensing time related to signaling; wherein the sensing times related to aperiodic transmission comprise: a sensing time for aperiodic service sensing; a sensing time for aperiodic service re-evaluation; or a sensing time for aperiodic service pre-emption; wherein the sensing time related to signaling comprises: a sensing time indicated by sidelink control information (SCI).
Regarding Claim 17, Ko teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following: configuring at least one of the sensing time or the active time to at least partially overlap a second object in a first communication technology or a second communication technology; or configuring a fifth time for V2X in the first communication technology to at least partially overlap a third object in V2X in the second communication technology, wherein the fifth time comprises at least one of the sensing time or the active time ([0086], Referring to (a) of FIG. 8, in the LTE transmission mode 1, the LTE transmission mode 3, or the NR resource allocation mode 1, a BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource scheduling to a UE 1 through a PDCCH (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)) or RRC signaling (e.g., Configured Grant Type 1 or Configured Grant Type 2), and the UE 1 may perform V2X or SL communication with respect to a UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)); wherein the second object comprises one of the following: a paging occasion; idle state DRX; an active time of idle state DRX; an inactive time of idle state DRX; a downlink synchronization signal block (SSB) for a serving cell; or a downlink SSB for a neighbor cell; wherein the third object comprises: a periodic service.
Regarding Claim 18, Ko teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fourth object at a sixth time; or skipping receiving a fourth object at a sixth time; wherein the sixth time is a time other than the sensing time of the first mechanism ([0086], Referring to (a) of FIG. 8, in the LTE transmission mode 1, the LTE transmission mode 3, or the NR resource allocation mode 1, a BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource scheduling to a UE 1 through a PDCCH (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)) or RRC signaling (e.g., Configured Grant Type 1 or Configured Grant Type 2), and the UE 1 may perform V2X or SL communication with respect to a UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)).
Regarding Claim 19, Ko teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the fourth object comprises at least one of the following: a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH), sidelink control information (SCI), a synchronization signal block (SSB), or a reference signal (RS); and/or wherein the fourth object is indicated or reserved by SCI; and/or wherein the sixth time is a time within the active time of the second mechanism but excluding the sensing time of the first mechanism ([0086], Referring to (a) of FIG. 8, in the LTE transmission mode 1, the LTE transmission mode 3, or the NR resource allocation mode 1, a BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform resource scheduling to a UE 1 through a PDCCH (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)) or RRC signaling (e.g., Configured Grant Type 1 or Configured Grant Type 2), and the UE 1 may perform V2X or SL communication with respect to a UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)).
Regarding Claim 20, Ko teaches an electronic device comprising a memory, a processor, and instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor ([0247]), wherein the instructions, when being executed by the processor ([0205], FIG. 12, a sensing window and a selection window configured by a UE are shown) implement: configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism ([0205], Fig. 12, the UE may repeatedly experience on-duration and off-duration times according to an SL DRX configuration. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the on-duration may be extended to an active time. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the off-duration may mean a time when a UE is not active. At a resource selection time point, a UE may select an SL resource to be used for transmitting SL data on the selection window based on a result of sensing performed in the sensing window);
wherein the configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring duration of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to be greater than or equal to a seventh threshold ([0200], a UE may perform full sensing in the entire active timer period. For example, a UE may perform partial sensing within an active timer period. Through this, the power saving gain can be maximized. In this case, for example, an active timer period can basically last for the duration of an OnDurationTimer interval. Additionally, for example, an active time period may be extended by adding an InactivityTimer period or a RetransmissionTimer period to an OnDurationTimer period according to a reception condition. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing only during an OnDuratonTimer period. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+InactivityTimer period). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer interval extended by a RetransmissionTimer interval (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer interval+RetransmissionTimer interval). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period and a RetransmissionTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+ Inactivity Timerperiod +RetransmissionTimer period));
configuring a ratio of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to a third time to be greater than or equal to an eighth threshold, wherein the third time comprises one of the following: the sensing time, the active time, an inactive time of the second mechanism, or a period of the second mechanism (Embodiment not invoked); or
wherein the configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism comprises: in a case that a gap between a fourth time and a start point or end point of the active time is less than or equal to a ninth threshold, configuring the sensing time of the first mechanism to at least partially overlap the active time of the second mechanism; wherein in a case that the gap between the fourth time and the start point or end point of the active time is greater than the ninth threshold, sensing within the sensing time is unrelated to the second mechanism; wherein the fourth time comprises one of the following: a start point of the sensing time, an end point of the sensing time, the sensing time, a resource selection or reselection triggering moment, a re-evaluation triggering moment, or a pre-emption triggering moment (Embodiment not invoked).
Regarding Claim 21, Ko teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and when the program or instructions are executed by a processor ([0247]), the following steps ([0205], FIG. 12, a sensing window and a selection window configured by a UE are shown) are implemented: configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism ([0205], Fig. 12, the UE may repeatedly experience on-duration and off-duration times according to an SL DRX configuration. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the on-duration may be extended to an active time. For example, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the off-duration may mean a time when a UE is not active. At a resource selection time point, a UE may select an SL resource to be used for transmitting SL data on the selection window based on a result of sensing performed in the sensing window);
wherein the configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism comprises at least one of the following: configuring duration of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to be greater than or equal to a seventh threshold ([0200], a UE may perform full sensing in the entire active timer period. For example, a UE may perform partial sensing within an active timer period. Through this, the power saving gain can be maximized. In this case, for example, an active timer period can basically last for the duration of an OnDurationTimer interval. Additionally, for example, an active time period may be extended by adding an InactivityTimer period or a RetransmissionTimer period to an OnDurationTimer period according to a reception condition. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing only during an OnDuratonTimer period. For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+InactivityTimer period). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer interval extended by a RetransmissionTimer interval (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer interval+RetransmissionTimer interval). For example, a UE may perform the full sensing during an OnDuratonTimer period extended by an InactivityTimer period and a RetransmissionTimer period (i.e., a basic OnDurationTimer period+ Inactivity Timerperiod +RetransmissionTimer period));
configuring a ratio of an overlapping part of the sensing time and the active time to a third time to be greater than or equal to an eighth threshold, wherein the third time comprises one of the following: the sensing time, the active time, an inactive time of the second mechanism, or a period of the second mechanism (Embodiment not invoked); or
wherein the configuring a sensing time of a first mechanism to at least partially overlap an active time of a second mechanism comprises: in a case that a gap between a fourth time and a start point or end point of the active time is less than or equal to a ninth threshold, configuring the sensing time of the first mechanism to at least partially overlap the active time of the second mechanism; wherein in a case that the gap between the fourth time and the start point or end point of the active time is greater than the ninth threshold, sensing within the sensing time is unrelated to the second mechanism; wherein the fourth time comprises one of the following: a start point of the sensing time, an end point of the sensing time, the sensing time, a resource selection or reselection triggering moment, a re-evaluation triggering moment, or a pre-emption triggering moment (Embodiment not invoked).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Ko et al (US 2023/0389121), in view of Li et al (US 2022/0232626).
Regarding Claim 12, Ko teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 9 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches wherein before the extending the active time of the second mechanism, the method further comprises: in a case that a resource reserved by sidelink control information (SCI) is not covered by the active time of the second mechanism, determining, based on periodicity of SCI reservation, whether to extend the active time of the second mechanism ([0400], In Rel-16 sidelink, retransmission(s) for aperiodic traffic can be reserved in advance with up to 32 slots via a SCI, and the re-evaluation procedure (triggered at slot m-T.sub.3) was introduced prior to a SCI transmission in slot m to overcome the potential resource collision caused by aperiodic traffic. One proposal is to introduce an extended sensing window before the first candidate resource in slot t.sub.y.sub.1 among the selected candidate resource sets within the selection window, as shown in FIG. 5 (FIG. 6). A TX UE may combine the sensing results based on the partial sensing slots monitored for periodic reservation as well as slots monitored within the extended partial sensing window to determine whether the first candidate resource in slot t.sub.y.sub.1 would be excluded from S.sub.A.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate extending based on the periodicity of the SCI, as taught in Li, in the system of Ko, in order to overcome resource collisions.
Regarding Claim 13, Ko, as modified by Li, teaches the method according to claim 12, Li further teaching wherein the active time of the second mechanism is extended in a case of aperiodic SCI resource reservation; and/or the active time of the second mechanism is not extended in a case of periodic SCI resource reservation ([0400], In Rel-16 sidelink, retransmission(s) for aperiodic traffic can be reserved in advance with up to 32 slots via a SCI, and the re-evaluation procedure (triggered at slot m-T.sub.3) was introduced prior to a SCI transmission in slot m to overcome the potential resource collision caused by aperiodic traffic. One proposal is to introduce an extended sensing window before the first candidate resource in slot t.sub.y.sub.1 among the selected candidate resource sets within the selection window, as shown in FIG. 5 (FIG. 6). A TX UE may combine the sensing results based on the partial sensing slots monitored for periodic reservation as well as slots monitored within the extended partial sensing window to determine whether the first candidate resource in slot t.sub.y.sub.1 would be excluded from S.sub.A.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate extending based on the periodicity of the SCI, as taught in Li, in the system of Ko, in order to overcome resource collisions.
Regarding Claim 14, Ko, as modified by Li, teaches the method according to claim 13, Li further teaching wherein that the active time of the second mechanism is extended in a case of aperiodic SCI resource reservation comprises: that the active time of the second mechanism is extended in a case that aperiodic resource reservation is indicated by SCI in SCIs covered by the sensing time of the first mechanism ([0400], In Rel-16 sidelink, retransmission(s) for aperiodic traffic can be reserved in advance with up to 32 slots via a SCI, and the re-evaluation procedure (triggered at slot m-T.sub.3) was introduced prior to a SCI transmission in slot m to overcome the potential resource collision caused by aperiodic traffic. One proposal is to introduce an extended sensing window before the first candidate resource in slot t.sub.y.sub.1 among the selected candidate resource sets within the selection window, as shown in FIG. 5 (FIG. 6). A TX UE may combine the sensing results based on the partial sensing slots monitored for periodic reservation as well as slots monitored within the extended partial sensing window to determine whether the first candidate resource in slot t.sub.y.sub.1 would be excluded from S.sub.A.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate extending based on the periodicity of the SCI, as taught in Li, in the system of Ko, in order to overcome resource collisions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shahidi et al (US 2021/0360530) teaches method for wireless communication at a device is described. The method may include monitoring a channel for wireless communication associated with a first RAT during one or more of a first active duration or a first inactive duration, the device operating in a first power mode during the first inactive duration, monitoring the channel for wireless communication associated with a second RAT during one or more of a second active duration or a second inactive duration, the device operating during the second inactive duration in one or more of the first power mode based on an absence of an overlap between the first active duration and one or more of the second active duration or a third active duration, or a second power mode based on the overlap between the first active duration and one or more of the second active duration or the third active duration, and operating the device according to the first mode or the second mode based on the monitoring of the channel associated with the first RAT and the second RAT. ([0005])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641