DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the Amendment/REMARKS filed 12/22/2025.
Claims 1 is pending and rejected. Claims 2-19 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/REMARKS, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 3 & 12 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/REMARKS, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of cancellation of claims 2-19 and amended of claim 1 warranting further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangolae et al (WO2016182597) in view of in further view of Liang et al (WO2022206612) in further view of Susitaival et al (US20210112466A1), in further view of Yiu et al (US20190387440A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bangalae teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor ([00117] processor); and
at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code ([00117] non-transitory memory);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to ([00117] memory), with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
connect to a first base station with one of: a direct connection, or an indirect connection via a first relay user equipment ([0050]-[0053], [00142]-[00148], relay UE initiation,/discovery with remote, relay selection and sidelink establishment, relay relays control/data from eNB to remote UE);
determine at least one second relay user equipment for receiving a reconfiguration message for path switching to a second base station ([0050]-[0053], [00142]-[00148], relay UE initiation,/discovery with remote, relay selection and sidelink establishment, relay relays control/data from eNB to remote UE);
establish a sidelink connection with the at least one second relay user equipment ([0050]-[0053], [00142]-[00148], relay UE initiation,/discovery with remote, relay selection and sidelink establishment, relay relays control/data from eNB to remote UE);
wherein the reconfiguration message comprises a radio resource control reconfiguration message ([0078], relay UEs relay control/configuration messages. Reconfig message = RRC reconfiguration).
wherein the path switching is based, at least partially, on the reconfiguration message ([0059]-[0062], updated context triggers new relay path).
wherein the at least one second relay user equipment comprises one of:
a second relay user equipment ([0070]-[0078], multiple relay candidates), or
the second relay user equipment and a third relay user equipment, wherein the reconfiguration message comprises a reconfiguration message received: from the second base station at the third relay user equipment, from the second base station at the second relay user equipment, and from the second relay user equipment at the apparatus ([0070]-[0078], multiple relay candidates),
wherein the determining of the at least one second relay user equipment comprises the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the first base station, an early reconfiguration message, wherein the early reconfiguration message comprises at least one of:
an upper layer protocol configuration from the second base station ([0041], [0093], [0094], early relay configuration via broadcast/dedicated signaling),
at least one security key configuration from the second base station([0041], [0093], [0094], early relay configuration via broadcast/dedicated signaling), or
an identifier of the at least one second relay user equipment ([0041], [0093], [0094], early relay configuration via broadcast/dedicated signaling); and
receive, from the at least one second relay user equipment, a sidelink message comprising, at least, an identifier of the apparatus ([0099]-[00100], [00105]-[00107], relay determination based on sidelink message; Discovery & sidelink ID exchange); and
determine the at least one second relay user equipment based, at least partially, on the sidelink message ([0099]-[00100], [00105]-[00107], relay determination based on sidelink message; Discovery & sidelink ID exchange);
wherein the identifier of the apparatus comprises at least one of:
a sidelink identifier of the apparatus, a radio network temporary identifier of the apparatus, or a temporary mobile subscriber identifier of the apparatus ([00103]-[00108], identifier types (SL ID, RNTI, TMSI- UE IDs exchanged during setup); wherein the apparatus is a remote user equipment (([00103]-[00108], Abstract; remote UE).
But Bangolae fails to teach receive, via the sidelink connection from the at least one second relay user equipment, the reconfiguration message for the path switching to the second base station,
wherein the path switching comprises, at least, changing the connection between the apparatus and the first base station to connection between the apparatus and the second base station via the at least one second relay user equipment.
However, Liang teaches receive, via the sidelink connection from the at least one second relay user equipment, the reconfiguration message for the path switching to the second base station (English Translation Abstract, pg. 10 paragraph 16; receiving a reconfiguration message, wherein the reconfiguration message is used for indicating that a remote UE is switched from a first path to a second path, in the first path, the remote UE is directly, connected to a first base station, and in the second path, the remote UE is connected to a second base station by means of a first relay UE);
wherein the path switching comprises, at least, changing the connection between the apparatus and the first base station to connection between the apparatus and the second base station via the at least one second relay user equipment (English translation Abstract, pg. 10 paragraph 16; receiving a reconfiguration message, wherein the reconfiguration message is used for indicating that a remote UE is switched from a first path to a second path, in the first path, the remote UE is directly, connected to a first base station, and in the second path, the remote UE is connected to a second base station by means of a first relay UE).
A POSITA at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the relay initiation and measurement-based relay selection procedures disclosed in Bangolae with the relay adaptation and communication path switching described in Liang in order to improve service continuity for a remote UE during mobility. Bangolae teaches how a remote UE discovers candidate relay UEs, reports them to the network, and establishes sidelink connections under relay configuration from the eNB, enabling the remote UE to connect indirectly through a relay. Furthermore, Liang provides the reconfiguration message and path switching framework to multiple base stations. The teachings are complementary: the former establishes which relay to use and when to switch, while the latter enables how to forward control and reconfiguration messages across a sidelink relay path.
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine these teachings because both references address the same problem of maintaining reliable connectivity for remote UEs in relay-assisted sidelink communications, particularly under mobility scenarios. Bangolae alone leaves open how reconfiguration and path switching messages are reliably delivered over multi-relay links, while Liang provides the reconfiguration message and path switching framework to multiple base stations. Combining them would predictably yield a system in which a remote UE can seamlessly switch from a source gNB to a target gNB by receiving an RRC reconfiguration or similar message through an alternate relay UE, thereby ensuring service continuity during inter-gNB mobility. This combination is motivated by the clear need identified in the art—minimizing service disruption during handovers for relay-served UEs in 5G/NR sidelink contexts.
But Liang and fails to teach based on the reconfiguration message for the path switching not being receiving within a configured time period and at least one configured radio link condition being fulfilled, perform the path switching, based on an early reconfiguration message.
However, Susitaival teaches based on the reconfiguration message for the path switching not being receiving within a configured time period and at least one configured radio link condition being fulfilled, perform the path switching, based on an early reconfiguration message ([0038]-[0039], [0042]-[0048], [0062]-[0064], [0069], [0086]-[0087], [0101], teaches receiving an early/conditional RRC reconfiguration for mobility and storing/preserving it so it can be applied later when a configured radio/measurement condition is fulfilled (e.g. target RSRP/quality exceeding source by a threshold; it also discloses a configured time period for the conditional command via a validity timer/time limit that defines how long the UE evaluates the command a may trigger execution; after executing the conditional handover, the flow references path switch signaling in the network as part of the handover procedure).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the relay initiation and measurement-based relay selection procedures disclosed in Bangolae with the relay adaptation and communication path switching described in Liang in order to improve service continuity for a remote UE during mobility. Bangolae teaches how a remote UE discovers candidate relay UEs, reports them to the network, and establishes sidelink connections under relay configuration from the eNB, enabling the remote UE to connect indirectly through a relay. Liang provides the reconfiguration message and path switching framework to multiple base stations. The teachings are complementary: the former establishes which relay to use and when to switch, while the latter enables how to forward control and reconfiguration messages across a sidelink relay path. Furthermore, Susitaival discloses an early/conditional reconfiguration is sent in advance and stored, there is a validity timer/time limit (configured time period) and a radio-link/measurement condition triggers execution.
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine these teachings because both references address the same problem of maintaining reliable connectivity for remote UEs in relay-assisted sidelink communications, particularly under mobility scenarios. Bangolae alone leaves open how reconfiguration and path switching messages are reliably delivered over multi-relay links, while Liang provides the reconfiguration message and path switching framework to multiple base stations. Combining them would predictably yield a system in which a remote UE can seamlessly switch from a source gNB to a target gNB by receiving an RRC reconfiguration or similar message through an alternate relay UE, thereby ensuring service continuity during inter-gNB mobility. This combination is motivated by the clear need identified in the art—minimizing service disruption during handovers for relay-served UEs in 5G/NR sidelink contexts.
However, Yiu remedies the gap left by Susitaival in regards to reconfiguration message for the path switching not received within the configuration time period ([0044]-[0045], UE starts a configured validity timer upon receipt of a mobility reconfiguration (conditional HO/RRC message) and discards the pending mobility configuration if the execution condition is not satisfied before timer expiry; expected mobility reconfiguration (path switching-related configuration) is not received or completed within a configured time period, triggering discard or exit behavior).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the relay initiation and measurement-based relay selection procedures disclosed in Bangolae with the relay adaptation and communication path switching described in Liang in order to improve service continuity for a remote UE during mobility. Bangolae teaches how a remote UE discovers candidate relay UEs, reports them to the network, and establishes sidelink connections under relay configuration from the eNB, enabling the remote UE to connect indirectly through a relay. Liang provides the reconfiguration message and path switching framework to multiple base stations. The teachings are complementary: the former establishes which relay to use and when to switch, while the latter enables how to forward control and reconfiguration messages across a sidelink relay path. Furthermore, Susitaival discloses an early/conditional reconfiguration is sent in advance and stored, there is a validity timer/time limit (configured time period) and a radio-link/measurement condition triggers execution. Lasty, Yiu teaches expected mobility reconfiguration (path switch-related configuration) is not received or completed within a configured time period, triggering discard or exit behavior.
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to combine these teachings because both references address the same problem of maintaining reliable connectivity for remote UEs in relay-assisted sidelink communications, particularly under mobility scenarios. Bangolae alone leaves open how reconfiguration and path switching messages are reliably delivered over multi-relay links, while Liang provides the reconfiguration message and path switching framework to multiple base stations. Further combining Susitaival that teaches providing and storing an early/conditional RRC reconfiguration for mobility execution upon fulfillment of a radio-link condition, with Yiu which teaches associating mobility reconfiguration with a configured validity timer and handling cases where the mobility reconfiguration is not executed within the time period, in order to improve mobility robustness by enabling timely path switching using pre-stored configuration when expected reconfiguration signaling is delayed or unavailable. Combining all these references would predictably yield a system in which a remote UE can seamlessly switch from a source gNB to a target gNB by receiving an RRC reconfiguration or similar message through an alternate relay UE, thereby ensuring service continuity during inter-gNB mobility. This combination is motivated by the clear need identified in the art—minimizing service disruption during handovers for relay-served UEs in 5G/NR sidelink contexts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419