DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 12, 13, 19, 20, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2023/0047603 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) in view of US Pub. 2020/0221485 to Cirik et al. (hereinafter Cirik).
In regard claim 1, Kim teaches or discloses a method of wireless communication, by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration for enabling a per transmit and receive point (TRP) default beam mode (see paragraph [0329], [0340], [0341], and [0349], as a base station configures a window to UE, UE may receive a configuration or an indication for a set of PDCCH TOs. The base station may always transmit a PDSCH by using a default beam and UE may always receive a PDSCH by using a default beam);
receiving a first scheduling downlink control information message (DCI) from a first TRP (see paragraphs [0236], [0139], [0191], and [0481], UE may receive first DCI and first data scheduled by first DCI through/with TRP 1 from a network side S2110),
the first scheduling DCI scheduling a first downlink transmission for the UE at a first time after receiving the first scheduling DCI (see paragraphs [0326], and [0482], the same DCI/PDCCH may be transmitted at a different time (e.g., slot 1 and slot 2) by the same DCI/PDCCH repeat transmission. In other words, DCI 1 in slot 1 and DCI 2 in slot 2 may include the same information. For example, DCI 1 may include information scheduling a PDSCH transmitted in slot M and DCI 2 may also include information scheduling a PDSCH transmitted in slot M in the same way. First DCI (and second DCI) may include (indication) information on a TCI state, resource allocation information on a DMRS and/or data (i.e., a space/frequency/time resource), etc.),
a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval (see paragraphs [0232], [0236], [0326], [0465], and [0468], the same DCI may be transmitted through PDCCH candidate 1 and PDCCH candidate 2, respectively. In addition, both PDCCH candidate 1 and PDCCH candidate 2 may be (repetitively) transmitted at a specific period (p) interval in a time domain. When a time interval (e.g., DCI to PDSCH time) between a specific TO of one or more TOs and a downlink data channel scheduled by the same DCI (e.g., a PDSCH) is smaller than a predetermined threshold value, a terminal may receive a PDSCH based on a default TCI state (e.g., refer to Embodiment 3-2));
receiving a second scheduling DCI from a second TRP (see paragraphs [0481], [0488], UE may receive second DCI and second data scheduled by second DCI through/with TRP 2 from a network side),
the second scheduling DCI scheduling a second downlink transmission for the UE at a third time after receiving the second scheduling DCI (see paragraphs [0481], may receive second data scheduled by first DCI without second DCI or may receive only second DCI scheduling first data S2120);
a second duration between the third time and a fourth time when receiving the second scheduling DCI being less than the threshold time interval (see paragraphs [0318], [0319], [0329], [0452], [0453], [0481], [0485], and [0488], a default TCI state may be defined as a TCI state used when time until UE receives a PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability. When time until UE receives a PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability, a TCI state for a PDSCH may be determined as a default TCI state (or a default beam) regardless of whether a TCI field is included in DCI);
communicating with the first TRP with a first default beam for the first downlink transmission (see paragraphs [0138], [0317], [0319], [0398], [0399], [0400], [0401], and [0402], TPs transmit data by using a different DMRS (Demodulation Multiplexing Reference Signal) between TPs through a different layer (i.e., through a different DMRS port. A base station may indicate to UE one of default beam 1 and default beam 2 through a TCI field of DCI and alternatively, it may indicate a valid default beam through higher layer control information such as RRC and/or MAC CE, etc. Alternatively, simply, one of default beam 1 or default beam 2 may be predetermined as a valid default beam);
communicating with the second TRP with a second default beam (see paragraphs [0486], [0489], when the same DCI is repetitively transmitted in a different TRP, a default beam may be determined based on an union or an intersection of default beam information related to each DCI. UE may decode received data (e.g., first data and/or second data) through/with TRP 1 (and/or TRP 2) from a network side S2130).
Kim may not explicitly teach or disclose a second duration between the third time and a fourth time when receiving the second scheduling DCI being less than the threshold time interval.
However, Yi teaches or discloses a second duration between the third time and a fourth time when receiving the second scheduling DCI being less than the threshold time interval (see paragraph [0321], when slot n+2 belongs to the second set of transmission time intervals, the wireless device may select the TCI state #2 (for the second TRP) as the second set of transmission time intervals are for the second TRP. With a time resource partitioning, a first TRP and a second TRP may be able to transmit one or more PDSCHs with a TCI state (either by explicit TCI field or implicitly determined based on a CORESET to transmit a scheduling DCI) with high reliability in the assigned time resource partitions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a device for transmitting or receiving a downlink channel in a wireless communication system of Kim by including a second duration between the third time and a fourth time when receiving the second scheduling DCI being less than the threshold time interval suggested by Yi. This modification would provide to enhance by dynamically or semi-dynamically changing the modulation and coding scheme depending on transmission requirements and radio conditions read in paragraph [0186].
In regard claim 8, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising reporting a UE capability indicating whether the UE supports the per TRP default beam mode (see paragraphs [0318], [0329], [0369], [0382], and [0393], when time given from DCI to a PDSCH transmission/reception occasion is smaller than a predetermined threshold value, UE may receive a PDSCH by using a default beam. For it, UE may report the predetermined threshold value as a UE capability value to a base station. When for both DCI 1 and DCI 2, DCI to PDSCH time is smaller than a specific threshold value reported by UE as a capability, if UE has a capability to receive 2 default beams at the same time, UE may find default beam 1 among 2 CORESETs belonging to CORESET pool 1 and find default beam 2 among 2 CORESETs belonging to CORESET pool 2).
In regard claim 9, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising selecting the first default beam based on an indicated transmission configuration indication (TCI) associated with the first TRP and corresponding control resource set (CORESET) pool, in response to the configuration enabling the per TRP default beam mode, wherein each TRP corresponds to a CORESET pool (see paragraphs [0317], [0329], [0336], [0459], and [0470], the specific TCI state may be determined as a default TCI state (or a default beam). For example, a TCI state of a CORESET that a lowest CORESET ID (or SS set ID) in a latest slot that a search space is configured is configured may be determined as a default TCI state. A PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability, a TCI state for a PDSCH may be determined as a default TCI state (or a default beam) regardless of whether a TCI field is included in DCI. For example, a default TCI state (or a default beam) may be determined as a TCI state of a CORESET that the lowest CORESET ID (or SS set ID) in the latest slot that a search space is configured is configured).
In regard claim 12, Kim teaches or discloses a method of wireless communication, by a network device comprising:
transmitting a configuration for enabling a per transmit and receive point (TRP) default beam mode (see paragraph [0340], when a base station configures or indicates to UE a set of PDCCH TOs that the same DCI is repetitively transmitted and UE succeeds in receiving even one DCI in a corresponding set, whether to apply a default beam (a default TCI state) may be determined by calculating DCI to PDSCH time and comparing it with a threshold value based on a specific PDCCH TO in the set):
transmitting a first scheduling downlink control information message (DCI) (see paragraphs [0481], [0482], and [0483], UE may receive first DCI and first data scheduled by first DCI through/with TRP 1 from a network side S2110. DCI (e.g., first DCI and second DCI) and data (e.g., first data and second data) may be transmitted through a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, etc.) and a data channel (e.g., a PDSCH, etc.), respectively),
the first scheduling DCI scheduling a first downlink transmission for a user equipment (UE) at a first time after receiving the first scheduling DCI (see paragraphs [0481], [0482], and [0483], first DCI (and second DCI) may include (indication) information on a TCI state, resource allocation information on a DMRS and/or data (i.e., a space/frequency/time resource), etc. For example, first DCI (and second DCI) may include information related to repeat transmission of a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH) (e.g., a specific DCI format/SS/ RNTI, etc.), indication information related to configuration of a transmission occasion (TO), information related to mapping between a TO and a TCI state (e.g., mapping order), etc.),
a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval (see paragraphs [0232], [0236], [0318], [0320], [0465], and [0468], both PDCCH candidate 1 and PDCCH candidate 2 may be transmitted at a specific period (p) interval in a time domain. When a time interval (e.g., DCI to PDSCH time) between a specific TO of one or more TOs and a downlink data channel scheduled by the same DCI (e.g., a PDSCH) is smaller than a predetermined threshold value, a terminal may receive a PDSCH based on a default TCI state. A default TCI state may be defined as a TCI state used when time until UE receives a PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability);
communicating with the UE with a first default beam of the UE for the first downlink transmission (see paragraphs [0318], [0329], [0336], [0340], and [0341], when time until UE receives a PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability, a TCI state for a PDSCH may be determined as a default TCI state (or a default beam) regardless of whether a TCI field is included in DCI).
Kim may not explicitly teach or disclose a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval.
However, Yi teaches or discloses a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval (see paragraph [0321], when slot n+2 belongs to the second set of transmission time intervals, the wireless device may select the TCI state #2 (for the second TRP) as the second set of transmission time intervals are for the second TRP. With a time resource partitioning, a first TRP and a second TRP may be able to transmit one or more PDSCHs with a TCI state (either by explicit TCI field or implicitly determined based on a CORESET to transmit a scheduling DCI) with high reliability in the assigned time resource partitions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a device for transmitting or receiving a downlink channel in a wireless communication system of Kim by including a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval suggested by Yi. This modification would provide to enhance by dynamically or semi-dynamically changing the modulation and coding scheme depending on transmission requirements and radio conditions read in paragraph [0186].
In regard claim 13, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 12, in which the first default beam is selected based on a first control resource set (CORESET) pool associated with the first scheduling DCI for a TRP in response to the configuration enabling the per TRP default beam mode (see paragraphs [0391], [0410], and [0459], plurality of default TCI states (default beams) may be determined based on DCI to PDSCH time. When one PDSCH from a single TRP (STRP) is scheduled by the repetitively transmitted same DCI, which of a plurality of default beams will be applied to a PDSCH becomes unclear. If two TRPs repetitively transmit the same DCI to slot 1 and slot 2 and uses only a PDCCH transmitted to slot 2 for a default beam determination, UE may determine a default beam by assuming that a PDCCH of slot 1 does not exist and only a PDCCH of slot 2 exists).
In regard claim 19, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising receiving a UE capability indicating whether the UE supports the per TRP default beam mode (see paragraphs [0318], [0329], [0369], [0382], and [0393], when time given from DCI to a PDSCH transmission/reception occasion is smaller than a predetermined threshold value, UE may receive a PDSCH by using a default beam. For it, UE may report the predetermined threshold value as a UE capability value to a base station. When for both DCI 1 and DCI 2, DCI to PDSCH time is smaller than a specific threshold value reported by UE as a capability, if UE has a capability to receive 2 default beams at the same time, UE may find default beam 1 among 2 CORESETs belonging to CORESET pool 1 and find default beam 2 among 2 CORESETs belonging to CORESET pool 2).
In regard claim 20, Kim teaches or discloses the method of claim 12, in which the first default beam is selected based on an indicated transmission configuration indication (TCI) associated with a TRP and corresponding control resource set (CORESET) pool, in response to the configuration enabling the per TRP default beam mode, wherein each TRP corresponds to a CORESET pool (see paragraphs [0317], [0329], [0336], [0459], and [0470], the specific TCI state may be determined as a default TCI state (or a default beam). For example, a TCI state of a CORESET that a lowest CORESET ID (or SS set ID) in a latest slot that a search space is configured is configured may be determined as a default TCI state. A PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability, a TCI state for a PDSCH may be determined as a default TCI state (or a default beam) regardless of whether a TCI field is included in DCI. For example, a default TCI state (or a default beam) may be determined as a TCI state of a CORESET that the lowest CORESET ID (or SS set ID) in the latest slot that a search space is configured is configured).
In regard claim 23, Kim teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 22), comprising:
a memory (see Fig. 22, elements 104 or 204); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (see Fig. 22), the at least one processor configured (see Fig. 22):
to receive a configuration for enabling a per transmit and receive point (TRP) default beam mode (see paragraph [0329], [0340], [0341], and [0349], as a base station configures a window to UE, UE may receive a configuration or an indication for a set of PDCCH TOs. The base station may always transmit a PDSCH by using a default beam and UE may always receive a PDSCH by using a default beam);
to receive a first scheduling downlink control information message (DCI) from a first TRP (see paragraphs [0136], [0139], and [0191], UE may recognize PUSCH (or PUCCH) scheduled by DCI received in different control resource sets (CORESETs)(or CORESETs belonging to different CORESET groups) as PUSCH (or PUCCH) transmitted to different TRPs or may recognize PDSCH (or PDCCH) from different TRPs. A TP delivers data scheduling information through DCI to a terminal receiving NCJT. Scheduling data of DCI 2 becomes a subset of scheduling data of DCI 1 and two DCI is scheduling for the same data, so in this case, it may be considered the same DCI),
the first scheduling DCI scheduling a first downlink transmission for the UE at a first time after receiving the first scheduling DCI (see paragraphs [0136], [0139], and [0141], a TP delivers data scheduling information through DCI to a terminal receiving NCJT. A scheme in which each TP participating in NCJT delivers scheduling information on data transmitted by itself through DCI is referred to as ‘multi DCI based NCJT’. Here, schedule information on the PDSCH is indicated to UE through one DCI and which DMRS (group) port uses which QCL RS and QCL type information is indicated by the corresponding DCI (which is different from DCI indicating a QCL RS and a type which will be commonly applied to all DMRS ports indicated as in the existing scheme)),
a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval (see paragraphs [0232], [0236], [0318], [0320], [0465], and [0468], both PDCCH candidate 1 and PDCCH candidate 2 may be transmitted at a specific period (p) interval in a time domain. When a time interval (e.g., DCI to PDSCH time) between a specific TO of one or more TOs and a downlink data channel scheduled by the same DCI (e.g., a PDSCH) is smaller than a predetermined threshold value, a terminal may receive a PDSCH based on a default TCI state. A default TCI state may be defined as a TCI state used when time until UE receives a PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability),
to receive a second scheduling DCI from a second TRP, the second scheduling DCI scheduling a second downlink transmission for the UE at a third time after receiving the second scheduling DCI, a second duration between the third time and a fourth time when receiving the second scheduling DCI being less than the threshold time interval (see paragraphs [0481], [0485], UE may receive first DCI and first data scheduled by first DCI through/with TRP 1 from a network side S2110. In addition, UE may receive second DCI and second data scheduled by second DCI through/with TRP 2 from a network side or may receive second data scheduled by first DCI without second DCI or may receive only second DCI scheduling first data S2120. For example, data of a single TRP (e.g., first date of TRP 1, or second data of TRP 2) may be scheduled by first DCI and second DCI repetitively transmitted from TRP 1 and TRP 2. When the interval (offset value) is smaller than a specific value, a default beam/a spatial relation RS may be applied and when it is greater than a specific value, a beam/a spatial relation RS may be determined based on a TCI state, etc.);
to communicate with the first TRP with a first default beam for the first downlink transmission (see paragraphs [0340], and [0341], when a base station configures or indicates to UE a set of PDCCH TOs that the same DCI is repetitively transmitted and UE succeeds in receiving even one DCI in a corresponding set, whether to apply a default beam (a default TCI state) may be determined by calculating DCI to PDSCH time and comparing it with a threshold value based on a specific PDCCH TO in the set. As a base station configures a window to UE, UE may receive a configuration or an indication for a set of PDCCH TOs);
to communicate with the second TRP with a second default beam (see paragraphs [0340], [0341], [0354], and [0399], a base station may enable one of a mode which performs channel (i.e., data channel and/or control channel) reception by using multiple default beams, a mode which performs channel reception by using one default beam, a mode which receives a channel by using default beam 1 and a mode which receives a channel by using default beam 2 for UE to make UE operate in an enabled mode).
Kim may not explicitly teach or disclose a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval.
However, Yi teaches or discloses a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval (see paragraph [0321], when slot n+2 belongs to the second set of transmission time intervals, the wireless device may select the TCI state #2 (for the second TRP) as the second set of transmission time intervals are for the second TRP. With a time resource partitioning, a first TRP and a second TRP may be able to transmit one or more PDSCHs with a TCI state (either by explicit TCI field or implicitly determined based on a CORESET to transmit a scheduling DCI) with high reliability in the assigned time resource partitions).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a device for transmitting or receiving a downlink channel in a wireless communication system of Kim by including a first duration between the first time and a second time when receiving the first scheduling DCI being less than a threshold time interval suggested by Yi. This modification would provide to enhance by dynamically or semi-dynamically changing the modulation and coding scheme depending on transmission requirements and radio conditions read in paragraph [0186].
In regard claim 30, Kim teaches or discloses the apparatus of claim 23, in which the at least one processor is further configured to report a UE capability indicating whether the UE supports the per TRP default beam mode (see paragraphs [0318], [0329], and [0369], a default TCI state may be defined as a TCI state used when time until UE receives a PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability. When time until UE receives a PDSCH after receiving DCI (i.e., DCI to PDSCH time) is less than a specific threshold value reported by UE to a base station as its capability, a TCI state for a PDSCH may be determined as a default TCI state (or a default beam) regardless of whether a TCI field is included in DCI).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10, 11, 14-18, 21, 22, and 24-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476