DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the Species I in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged. After further search and consideration, the claimed embodiments do not constitute a burdensome search, since a separate status for them could not be established by citing patents nor was a different field of search pertinent to the type of subject matter covered by the claims, required. Arguments for traversal are found persuasive. All withdrawn claims (Claims 6, 13, and 18-21) are rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-12,14-16, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0077714) in view Wu (CN 107045255 A).
With respect to claim 1, Hsieh discloses an illumination system, comprising: a light source module (see 110 in fig.1A) configured to emit at least one excitation light beam (see the beam of 110); and a light deflection element(see 120 in fig.1 or 1120a in fig.11A (B or C) and teaching [0061]: FIGS. 11A to 11C are schematic front views illustrating different embodiments of the anisotropic light expanding element 120 of FIG. 1A; Examiner note that these embodiments have the same optical operational principle (i.e. Snell’s law)) disposed on a transmission path of the at least one excitation light beam (see the beam of 110 in fig.1 and para.[0062]: “when the laser beam 60 passes through the anisotropic light expanding element 1120a having the triangular-pyramidal surface, the laser beam 60 that passes through an upper left portion of the anisotropic light expanding element 1120a of FIG. 11A is deflected toward the lower right”) and having a central axis (see center of 120 in fig. 1 and 0 in fig.11a), wherein the light deflection element (see 120 in fig.1 and 1120a in fig.11a) comprises: a plurality of inclined surfaces (see SS in fig.2B and fig.11a,1120a) each having a different normal direction (see the surfaces SS in fig.20), wherein the plurality of inclined surfaces (see SS in fig.1,120 and 1120a) are configured to deflect the at least one excitation light beam toward the central axis of the light deflection element(para.[0062]: “when the laser beam 60 passes through the anisotropic light expanding element 1120a having the triangular-pyramidal surface, the laser beam 60 that passes through an upper left portion of the anisotropic light expanding element 1120a of FIG. 11A is deflected toward the lower right, the laser beam 60 that passes through an upper right portion of the anisotropic light expanding element 1120a is deflected toward the lower left, and the laser beam 60 that passes through a lower middle portion of the anisotropic light expanding element 1120a is deflected upward, for example.”; also see wherein the beam converges then expands, para.[0062]: the laser beam 60 converges and then expands in the light expanding direction E1) but does not disclose the light deflection element as a diffusion element.
Wu discloses the deflecting element (see 5 in fig.6) as a diffusion element by providing a plurality of microlenses (see claim 3 wherein the lenses of 5 are disclosed with the following properties and affects: parameter sub lens size, curvature and material refractive index and lens plate wedge angle theta is upper through the honeycomb lens plate (5) for increasing the uniformity of the light source and capable of deflecting the parallel light, diffused into the projection system) on an inclined surface (see the inclined surface of 5 in fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh with the teaching of Wu so that the light deflection element is a diffusion element to enhance the uniformity of the light source by providing a honeycomb lens structure on inclined surfaces.
With respect to claims 2 and 4, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the illumination system according to claim 1, Hsieh does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of inclined surfaces has a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are configured to diffuse the at least one excitation light beam, wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is a convex lens or a concave lens.
Wu discloses wherein the inclined surface has a plurality of microlenses (see the lenses of 5 in fig.6), and the plurality of microlenses (see the honeycomb lenses of 5) are configured to diffuse the at least one light beam see claim 3 wherein the lenses of 5 are disclosed with the following properties and affects: parameter sub lens size, curvature and material refractive index and lens plate wedge angle theta is upper through the honeycomb lens plate (5) for increasing the uniformity of the light source and capable of deflecting the parallel light, diffused into the projection system) on an inclined surface (see the inclined surface of 5 in fig.6), and wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is a convex lens or a concave lens (see the lenses of 5 in fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh in view of Wu with the teaching of Wu so that each of the plurality of inclined surfaces has a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are configured to diffuse the at least one excitation light beam and wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is a convex lens or a concave lens to enhance the uniformity of the light source by providing a honeycomb lens structure on inclined surfaces.
With respect to claim 5, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the illumination system according to claim 1, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses wherein the light deflection and diffusion element (see claim 1 above), wherein Hsieh further comprises a bottom surface (see the bottom surface of 120), the bottom surface is located on a first side of the light deflection and diffusion element (see the bottom surface of 120 in fig.1), and the plurality of inclined surfaces are located on a second side opposite to the first side (see the location of the inclined surfaces in figs.1 and 11a), wherein the bottom surface is a flat surface (see the flat surface of 120), a convex surface, or a concave surface.
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses a projection device, comprising: the illumination system according to claim 1; Hsieh discloses a wavelength conversion element (130 in fig.1) disposed on the transmission path of the at least one excitation light beam (110) from the light deflection and diffusion element (see 120 and 1120 in view of Wu) and configured to convert the at least one excitation light beam from the light source module into a conversion light beam (see the operation of 130 in fig.1), wherein the at least one excitation light beam and the conversion light beam form an illumination light beam in a sequential manner by the wavelength conversion element ( see para.[0054]: “The at least one wavelength conversion areas 131a and 131b and the at least one light transmission area 133 are capable of moving, so as to sequentially insert into the transmitting path of the laser beam 60”), wherein the illumination light beam comprises at least one of the at least one excitation light beam (60 in fig.1A) and the conversion light beam (see 70 in fig.1A); a light valve (170) disposed on a transmission path of the illumination light beam (see 60 and 70) from the wavelength conversion element (130) and configured to convert the illumination light beam into an image light beam (see 80 in fig.1A); and a projection lens (220 in fig.1A) disposed on a transmission path of the image light beam and configured to project the image light beam out of the projection device (see the operation of 1A).
With respect to claims 9, 11 and 19, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the illumination system according to claims 8 and 18, Hsieh does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of inclined surfaces has a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are configured to diffuse the at least one excitation light beam, wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is a convex lens or a concave lens.
Wu discloses wherein the inclined surface has a plurality of microlenses (see the lenses of 5 in fig.6), and the plurality of microlenses (see the honeycomb lenses of 5) are configured to diffuse the at least one light beam see claim 3 wherein the lenses of 5 are disclosed with the following properties and affects: parameter sub lens size, curvature and material refractive index and lens plate wedge angle theta is upper through the honeycomb lens plate (5) for increasing the uniformity of the light source and capable of deflecting the parallel light, diffused into the projection system) on an inclined surface (see the inclined surface of 5 in fig.6), and wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is a convex lens or a concave lens (see the lenses of 5 in fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh in view of Wu with the teaching of Wu so that each of the plurality of inclined surfaces has a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are configured to diffuse the at least one excitation light beam and wherein each of the plurality of microlenses is a convex lens or a concave lens to enhance the uniformity of the light source by providing a honeycomb lens structure on inclined surfaces.
With respect to claim 12, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the illumination system according to claim 8, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses wherein the light deflection and diffusion element (see claim 1 above), wherein Hsieh further comprises a bottom surface (see the bottom surface of 120), the bottom surface is located on a first side of the light deflection and diffusion element (see the bottom surface of 120 in fig.1), and the plurality of inclined surfaces are located on a second side opposite to the first side (see the location of the inclined surfaces in figs.1 and 11a), wherein the bottom surface is a flat surface (see the flat surface of 120), a convex surface, or a concave surface.
With respect to claim 14, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the projection device according to claim 8, Hsieh discloses wherein the plurality of inclined surfaces (the inclined surfaces of Hsieh in figs.1 and 11A) cause (by virtue of being in the optical chain in fig.1A) the at least one excitation light beam to form a plurality of sub-light spots on the wavelength conversion element (see 130 in fig.1B where light is incident), and the number of the plurality of sub-light spots is equal to the number of the plurality of inclined surfaces (since sub-light spot can be arbitrarily defined any two arrows can define to light spots).
With respect to claim 15, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the projection device according to claim 14, Hsieh discloses wherein an overlapping area of two adjacent ones of the plurality of sub-light spots is less than half of an area of any one of the plurality of sub-light spots (disclosed by defining two spots of fig.1B such that they do not overlap).
With respect to claim 16, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the projection device according to claim 14, Hsieh discloses wherein the plurality of inclined surfaces are configured to divide the at least one excitation light beam into a plurality of sub-light beams (disclosed by the operation 120 and 1120 and the light passing through each surface), the plurality of sub-light beams are transmitted in different directions (disclosed by the operation of SS surfaces), and the plurality of sub-light beams are crossed (see para.[0062]: the laser beam 60 converges and then expands in the light expanding direction E1) and then transmitted to the wavelength conversion element (see 130 in fig.1A) to form the plurality of sub-light spots (see the sub-light spots disclosed in fig.1B).
With respect to claim 20, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the projection device according to claim 18, Hsieh discloses further comprising a condenser lens (141 in fig.1A) disposed on the transmission path of the at least one excitation light beam (see light of 110 in fig.1A) and disposed between the light source module (see 110) and the light deflection and diffusion element (see 120).
With respect to claim 21, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the projection device according to claim 18, Hsieh discloses further comprising a light beam adjustment element (see lens between 150 and 170 in fig.1A) disposed on the transmission path of the at least one excitation light beam (see 110 in fig.1A ) and disposed between the light deflection and diffusion element (see 120 in fig.1A ) and the light valve (170 in fig.1A).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0077714) in view Wu (CN 107045255 A) and Otani (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0179158 A1).
With respect to claims 6 and 13, Hsieh in view of Wu disclose the illumination system according to claims 5 and 12, but does not disclose wherein the bottom surface comprises a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are configured to diffuse the at least one excitation light beam.
Otani discloses wherein the light deflection and diffusion element (see 34U in fig.4 or 600U in fig.9) further comprises a bottom surface (see the surface wherein 330 is located in fig.4 or 611 in fig.9), the bottom surface (see the bottom surface 33G or 611 in fig.9) is located on a first side of the light deflection and diffusion element (see the side 33G are located; see the with 611 in fig.9), and the plurality of inclined surfaces are located on a second side opposite to the first side (see the inclined surfaces of 43S or the inclined surfaces of 610), wherein the bottom surface is a flat surface, a convex surface, or a concave surface (wherein the bottom is a concave surface in fig.4; see the concave surface of fig.9), the bottom surface comprises a plurality of microlenses (see the plurality of lenses in 33G or see lenses of fig.9), and the plurality of microlenses (see the operation of 330 or 611) are configured to diffuse the at least one excitation light beam (see the operation of 330 or 611).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh in view of Wu with the teaching of Otani so that the bottom surface the bottom surface comprises a plurality of microlenses, and the plurality of microlenses are configured to diffuse the at least one excitation light beam to enhance the uniformity of the by providing a diffusing microlens configuration on the bottom surface.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0077714) in view Wu (CN 107045255 A) and Inoue (United States Patent Application Publication 2013/0114044 A1).
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Hsieh in view of Wu The illumination system according to claims 1 and 8, Hsieh discloses further comprising a lens (see between the lens between 160 in fig.1) disposed on the transmission path of the at least one excitation light beam (see the 110 in fig.1, 200) from the light deflection and diffusion element (see 120 in fig.1 or 1120a in fig.11A in view of Wu), wherein the central axis of the light deflection and diffusion element (see 120 in fig.1 or 1120a in fig.11A in view of Wu) does not overlap with an optical axis of the lens (see lens between 160 in fig.1), the plurality of inclined surfaces are configured to cause the at least one excitation light beam to form a plurality of sub-light spots on the lens (see region of lens containing light in fig.1), and the number of the plurality of sub-light spots is equal to the number of the plurality of inclined surfaces (region of light spot on the lens in fig.1 can be subdivided into an arbitrary number of regions including 2 (for 120) or 4 (for 1120a)).
But Hsieh does not explicitly disclose the lens as a condenser lens.
Inoue discloses using a condenser lens (see 153d in fig.5) in a mirror-lens optical chain (see fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh in view of Wu with the teaching of Inoue so that the lens is a condenser lens to facilitate control of the light column.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0077714) in view Wu (CN 107045255 A) and Shibuya (WO 2022034926 A1).
With respect to claims 3 and 10, Hsieh in view of Wu discloses the illumination system according to claims 2 and 8, Hsieh in combination with Wu discloses wherein a first microlens (see lens nearest the apex of the wedge in fig.6 of Wu) and a second microlens adjacently arranged along an oblique direction are provided on one of the plurality of inclined surfaces (see the lens adjacent to the apex lens in fig.6), the first microlens is disposed between the central axis (defined by Hsieh in combination with Wu) and the second microlens in the oblique direction (see the configuration of 5 in fig.6), but does not disclose a curvature center of the first microlens is located between two reference straight lines, wherein the two reference straight lines pass through centers of the first microlens and the second microlens respectively and are parallel to the central axis.
Shibuya discloses concave diffusing lenses (see (b) and (c) in fig.2) and a center of curvature (R in fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh in view of Wu with the teaching of Shibuya so that the first and second microlens comprise concave lens to enhance diffusion by utilizing concave diffusing lens while reducing material cost.
Hsieh in view of Wu and Wang do not explicitly disclose a curvature center of the first microlens is located between two reference straight lines, wherein the two reference straight lines pass through centers of the first microlens and the second microlens respectively and are parallel to the central axis.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the tilt angle of the inclined surface of Hsieh in view of Wu, Wang and Shibuya so that a curvature center of the first microlens is located between two reference straight lines, wherein the two reference straight lines pass through centers of the first microlens and the second microlens respectively and are parallel to the central axis, since it would predictably improve diffusion and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882