DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-23 are pending; claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-20 are examined, claims 21-23 are withdrawn pursuant to Applicant’s election without traverse on 06 October 2025.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06 August 2026 and 02 October 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein” in part (c), line 1 of the claim should be removed as it is recited twice. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the nano-emulsions are” in line 3 should be recited as --- the nano-emulsion is in the form of ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “affect” in the last line should be recited as --- effect ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “composition comprises of” in line 2 should be recited as --- composition further comprises ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: immediately prior to “skin” in line 3 there should be recited --- or ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) (New Matter)
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a new matter rejection.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises 20 picograms to 50 nanograms of the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum toxin. The new claim limitation “50 nanograms to 20 picograms of the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum toxin” fails to comply with the written description requirement since the recitation does not appear to be supported by the Specification as originally filed, which in fact uses the narrow term: “Botulinum Toxin A complex ranging from 25-50 picograms” ([0004]). At best, para. [0048] of the instant Specification discloses wherein 1 unit of botulinum toxin A = 1 LD50 = 25 pg of Balb c mice, and para. [0049] discloses wherein 1 unit of botulinum toxin A = 1 LD50 = 25 pg/kg of Balb c mice. However, neither of these paragraphs disclose wherein the amount of the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum toxin ranges from 20 picograms to 50 nanograms. At best, the Specification discloses administering 100 units of Botulinum toxin A, which is equivalent to 2500 picograms, or 2.5 nanograms. Therefore, the limitations “50 nanograms to 20 picograms of the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum toxin” does not meet the written description requirement.
Claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-20 are included as they depend from claim 1 but does not further clarify the subject matter.
Claim 3 has been amended to recite wherein the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum provides 25 to 500 units of biological activity. The new limitation “provides 25 to 500 units of biological activity” fails to comply with the written description requirement since the recitation does not appear to be supported by the Specification as originally filed. Although Applicant asserts support is found in Figs. 3 and 4 and para. [0002] of the instant Specification, the Examiner notes para. [0002] discusses the various forms of botulinum toxin, and Figs. 3 and 4 display 25, 50, and 100 units of BoNT/A formulation and its relation to DAS scores. However, none of these disclose wherein the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum provides 25 to 500 units of biological activity. Therefore, the limitation “provides 25 to 500 units of biological activity” does not meet the written description requirement.
Claim 16 has been amended to recite wherein the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum comprise a pure Clostridium botulinum of about 150kDa or an M-complex of 250-300 kDa. The new claim limitations:
“a pure Clostridium botulinum of about 150kDa”; and
“an M-complex of 250-300 kDa”
fail to comply with the written description requirement since the recitations do not appear to be supported by the Specification as originally filed, which in fact uses, respectively, the narrow terms:
“pure botulinum toxin A (150 kDa; BoNT/A)” ([0047]); and
“Botulinum complex variant M consisting of neurotoxin (150 kDa) and a nontoxic protein component (120 kDa)” ([0002]).
At best, para. [0048] and [0049] discloses pure BoNT/A, but does not disclose a “pure” Clostridium botulinum (i.e. bacterium). Moreover, para. [0002] discloses that Botulinum complex variant M consists of a 150kDa neurotoxin and a 120 kDa nontoxic protein component (i.e. 270 kDa). Applicant has not provided support for the limitation of “250-300 kDa”. Therefore, the limitations “a pure Clostridium botulinum of about 150kDa” and “an M-complex of 250-300 kDa” do not meet the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum toxin" in lines 1-2 of part (b). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum in lines 1-2. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to recite --- the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum toxin --- throughout the claims (e.g., claim 1, lines 1-2 and claim 3, lines 2-3).
Similar instances are noted in claims 2, 4, and 5, reciting “the Clostridium botulinum toxin”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims since claim 1, from which it depends, recites one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for claims 2, 4, and 5 to recite --- the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum toxin ---.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a therapeutic affect” in the last two lines of the claim. The claim is indefinite because the scope of the claim is unclear. The term “therapeutic affect” is not defined by the claims, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite standard to be considered a therapeutic effect such that one of ordinary skill in the art would know whether an effect would infringe on the claimed invention. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to recite specific effects consistent with the instant Specification, e.g., skin disorders ([0011]), analgesic ([0037]), wrinkles or scars ([0044]).
Claim 2 recites “the measurable decrease” in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, from which it depends, does not recite a measurable decrease. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for claim 2 to recite --- a measurable decrease ---.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “up to 100 hours”, and the claim also recites “up to 75 hours”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to recite either --- for up to 75 hours --- or --- for up to 100 hours ---.
Claim 5 recites wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises of any other therapeutic proteins. The claim is indefinite because the scope of the claim is unclear. The term “any” is not defined by the claims, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite standard to be considered a therapeutic protein such that one of ordinary skill in the art would know whether a protein would infringe on the claimed invention. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to remove the term “any other” as is consistent with para. [0054] of the instant Specification.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “biomolecules”, and the claim also recites “vaccines” and “protein hormones”, which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to remove the broader recitation of “biomolecules”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “anti-inflammatory agents”, and the claim also recites “salicylates” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to remove the broader recitation of “anti-inflammatory agents”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “oil”, and the claim also recites “soy-bean oil”, “tea oil”, “vegetable oil”, “fish oil” and “sesame oil”, which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to remove the broader recitation of “oil”.
The term “pure” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “pure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. At best, para. [0048] of the instant Specification discloses wherein “pure” botulinum toxin A is 150kDa. However, the Specification does not disclose a “pure” Clostridium botulinum of “about” 150kDa. Therefore, it is not clear how a “pure” protein is “about” 150kDa, and it is further unclear what level of purity is considered “pure”, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would know when a protein of Clostridium botulinum infringes on the claimed invention. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to remove the term “pure”, as it is unclear how the term further defines the one or more proteins.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “therapeutic agents”, and the claim also recites “stem cells”, “epidermal growth factors”, “keratinocyte growth factors”, “fibroblast growth factors”, and “human growth hormones” which are the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to remove the broader recitation of “therapeutic agents”.
Claim 20 recites wherein the pharmaceutical composition is able to effectively treat local and systemic conditions. The claim is indefinite because the scope of the claim is unclear. It is not clear how a condition is both local (i.e. not systemic) and systemic (i.e. not localized). To obviate this issue, it is suggested for the claim to recite --- local or systemic ---. Clarification is requested.
Response to Arguments
The indefiniteness rejections listed above represent the unaddressed or new rejections from Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 19 recites wherein the pharmaceutical composition further comprises “components for administering topically”. However, claim 1, from which it depends, already recites wherein the pharmaceutical composition is a nano-emulsion for topical delivery. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand topical delivery to include components for topical delivery. Therefore, absent specific recitation of particular components, claim 19 fails to further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(NEW) Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2021/0346292 A1, 11/11/2021) (hereinafter Singh) in view of Abiad et al. (US 2019/0351034 A1, 11/21/2019) (hereinafter Abiad) and Sugumar et al. (“Current Development of Chemical Penetration Enhancers for Transdermal Insulin Delivery”, 02/22/2023) (hereinafter Sugumar).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 19 and 20, Singh discloses a method of treatment by topically administering an effective amount of pharmaceutical compositions comprising proteins of botulinum toxins (BoNT) or complex thereof, as an emulsion to treat local and systemic conditions including skin problems, disease involving muscle movement, and various wounds and scars (i.e. local aesthetic) ([0013]). The proteins were emulsified with encapsulated microspheres and nanospheres (nanoparticles) (i.e. claimed nano-emulsion) containing propylene glycol (0.3-6%), phenoxyethanol (0.1-5%), sodium hyaluronate (0.01-1%), caprylic/capric triglyceride (0.5-10%), hydrogenated castor oil (1-15%) and Span®-80 (0.01-6%) in water (claim 9, [0017]). The botulinum neurotoxin is approximately 150 kDa ([0014]). Known types of BoNT formulations include isolated/pure BoNT/A without neurotoxins associated polypeptides (NAPs) ([0003]). The composition may comprise surfactants ([0011]). The method may also treat conditions including diabetic problem (claim 20).
Singh differs from the instant claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing an amount of botulinum toxin.
However, Abiad discloses compositions comprising a Clostridial toxin active ingredient and one or more excipients ([0002]) that may be administered transdermally/topically ([0056]) in amounts of from about 1.0 pg to about 10 µg ([0142]). The Clostridial toxin includes botulinum toxin alone (about 150 kDa) ([0066]) and serotypes A, B, C, D, E, F, and G, and complexes ([0065]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used about 1.0 pg to about 10 µg of botulinum toxin in the composition of Singh since it is a known and effective dose for botulinum toxin suitable for transdermal/topical formulations as taught by Abiad. Such amounts used appears to overlap with the claimed ranges (i.e. 20 picograms to 50 nanograms), thus making the claimed range obvious. Moreover, in any case, the selection of appropriate amounts of botulinum toxin would appear to require no more than routine testing on the part of the skilled artisan, and so alternatively it would have been obvious to determine workable ranges to arrive at the claimed amounts in nanogram or picogram. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Singh and Abiad differ from the instant claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the composition comprises saponin.
However, Sugumar discloses transdermal delivery systems for improved permeability through the skin, useful in the treatment of diseases such as diabetes. The delivery systems may utilize ginsenosides (GS) as nanodrug carriers to encapsulate actives, such as insulin, since GS are natural triterpenoid saponin compounds that could essentially create transient pores in the membrane and promote skin penetration, disrupt intracellular lipid barriers of the stratum corneum (SC), and increase the distribution of drugs into the SC. GS has been observed to transiently permeated the skin barrier, which facilitates penetration of actives, such as insulin, into cells (p. 9, ¶ 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a saponin such as ginsenosides in the composition of Singh to promote skin penetration as taught by Sugumar. Moreover, in any case, the inclusion of a saponin such as ginsenoside would appear to have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art, and so alternatively it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a saponin such as ginsenosides since it is a known and effective carrier suitable for facilitating penetration of actives in transdermal delivery systems treating diabetic problems as taught by Sugumar. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 1 reciting amounts of saponin, the selection of appropriate w/v percentages would appear to require no more than routine testing on the part of the skilled artisan, and so alternatively it would have been obvious to determine workable ranges to arrive at the claimed amounts in % w/v. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 2-4, Singh further discloses wherein the composition comprises therapeutic protein including various serotypes of botulinum toxin (claim 4), which includes botulinum toxin A (title), and that the composition may be used to treatment of one or more neuromuscular diseases and conditions, including diseases involving muscle movement ([0013]). Accordingly, a detectable decrease in motor and neuromuscular function would have been obvious. As such, the claimed ranges (i.e. up to 75 hours or up to 100 hours), encompassing 0-75 or 0-100 hours, would have also been obvious. Moreover, in any case, it is noted that the instant claims are directed to a composition. Where the components of the composition is taught by the prior art, as long as the components are present in the composition made obvious, there is a reasonable expectation that the functional recitations regarding such a composition are also met, given that the function of compositions is a product of the compositions’ structure.
Regarding claims 3 and 4 reciting providing 25 to 500 units or 25 to 100 units of biological activity, respectively, as discussed above, Abiad discloses wherein botulinum toxin may be included in amounts of 1.0 pg to about 10 µg, which appears to overlap the claimed amounts in units of biological activity. Moreover, in any case, the selection of appropriate amounts of botulinum toxin as an active ingredient to produce desired activity would appear to require no more than routine testing on the part of the skilled artisan, and so alternatively it would have been obvious to determine workable ranges to arrive at the claimed amounts in units of biological activity. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Singh further discloses wherein the composition comprises therapeutic protein including protein hormones (claim 4).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Singh discloses wherein the compositions further comprises bioactive peptides including pentapeptide KTTKS (claim 13).
Regarding claim 9, Singh discloses wherein the composition comprises soy-bean oil (claim 11).
Regarding claim 10, Singh discloses wherein the composition comprises water-soluble co-solvents and surfactants (claim 12).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Singh discloses wherein the composition further comprises humectants including propylene glycol, and emollients including zinc oxide (claim 14).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Singh discloses wherein the composition further comprises a stabilizer including human serum albumin (claim 15).
Regarding claim 17, Singh discloses wherein the composition includes emulsified proteins with retinoids (claim 17).
Regarding claim 18, Singh discloses wherein the composition is stabilized at a pH in between 5.5 and 8.0 (claim 18).
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2021/0346292 A1, 11/11/2021) (hereinafter Singh) in view of Baker et al. (US 2012/0064136 A1, 03/15/2012) (hereinafter Baker).
Regarding claims 1, 16, 19 and 20, Singh discloses a method of treatment by topically administering an effective amount of pharmaceutical compositions comprising proteins of botulinum toxins (BoNT) or complex thereof, as an emulsion to treat local and systemic conditions including skin problems, disease involving muscle movement, and various wounds and scars (i.e. local aesthetic) ([0013]). The proteins were emulsified with encapsulated microspheres and nanospheres (nanoparticles) (i.e. claimed nano-emulsion) containing propylene glycol (0.3-6%), phenoxyethanol (0.1-5%), sodium hyaluronate (0.01-1%), caprylic/capric triglyceride (0.5-10%), hydrogenated castor oil (1-15%) and Span®-80 (0.01-6%) in water (claim 9, [0017]). The botulinum neurotoxin is approximately 150 kDa ([0014]). Known types of BoNT formulations include isolated/pure BoNT/A without neurotoxins associated polypeptides (NAPs) ([0003]). The composition may comprise surfactants ([0011]).
Singh differs from the instant claim insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the composition comprises saponin.
However, Baker discloses topical nanoemulsions ([0029]) comprising active agents including botulinum toxin (claim 9). The nanoemulsion may further comprise at least one surfactant ([0028]), including saponin ([0113]) that may be included in amounts of about 0.001-10% by weight ([0062]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a saponin in the composition of Singh since it is a known and effective surfactant suitable for topical nanoemulsions as taught by Baker. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 1 reciting amounts of saponin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected an amount of surfactant within the disclosed range of about 0.001-10% by weight, which appears to overlap the instantly claimed concentration in % w/v, thus making the claimed range (i.e. 1 to 10% w/v) obvious. Moreover, in any case, the selection of appropriate w/v percentages would appear to require no more than routine testing on the part of the skilled artisan, and so alternatively it would have been obvious to determine workable ranges to arrive at the claimed amounts in % w/v. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 1 reciting amounts of the one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum, although Singh does not explicitly disclose an amount, the selection of appropriate amounts of botulinum toxin as an active ingredient would appear to require no more than routine testing on the part of the skilled artisan, and so it would have been obvious to determine workable ranges to arrive at the claimed amounts in nanogram or picogram. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 2-4, Singh further discloses wherein the composition comprises therapeutic protein including various serotypes of botulinum toxin (claim 4), which includes botulinum toxin A (title), and that the composition may be used to treatment of one or more neuromuscular diseases and conditions, including diseases involving muscle movement ([0013]). Accordingly, a detectable decrease in motor and neuromuscular function would have been obvious. As such, the claimed ranges (i.e. up to 75 hours or up to 100 hours), encompassing 0-75 or 0-100 hours, would have also been obvious. Moreover, in any case, it is noted that the instant claims are directed to a composition. Where the components of the composition is taught by the prior art, as long as the components are present in the composition made obvious, there is a reasonable expectation that the functional recitations regarding such a composition are also met, given that the function of compositions is a product of the compositions’ structure.
Regarding claims 3 and 4 reciting providing 25 to 500 units or 25 to 100 units of biological activity, respectively, as discussed above, Singh discloses treating neuromuscular diseases and conditions including those involving muscle movement. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed ranges through routine experimentation based on the level of botulinum toxin needed to treat neuromuscular diseases. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Singh further discloses wherein the composition comprises therapeutic protein including protein hormones (claim 4).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Singh discloses wherein the compositions further comprises bioactive peptides including pentapeptide KTTKS (claim 13).
Regarding claim 9, Singh discloses wherein the composition comprises soy-bean oil (claim 11).
Regarding claim 10, Singh discloses wherein the composition comprises water-soluble co-solvents and surfactants (claim 12).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Singh discloses wherein the composition further comprises humectants including propylene glycol, and emollients including zinc oxide (claim 14).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Singh discloses wherein the composition further comprises a stabilizer including human serum albumin (claim 15).
Regarding claim 17, Singh discloses wherein the composition includes emulsified proteins with retinoids (claim 17).
Regarding claim 18, Singh discloses wherein the composition is stabilized at a pH in between 5.5 and 8.0 (claim 18).
Response to Arguments
Note: The Examiner notes that the Remarks filed 06 August 2026 and 02 October 2026 contain substantially similar arguments. Therefore, the Examiner will note once the corresponding pages to the Remarks of 02 October 2026, then refer to the remaining arguments by their page numbers from the 06 August 2026 Remarks.
Applicant mainly asserts on pp. 2 of the Remarks filed 06 August 2026 (corresponding to pp. 3-4 of the Remarks filed 02 October 2026) that Singh et al. teaches a different composition with different ranges of each ingredient, and that Applicant has determined through non-routine experimentation the optimal formulation for topical applications of nano-emulsions comprising one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum. Applicant asserts one of ordinary skill in the art could not produce the formulation of the present invention based on Singh et al. (US 2021/0346292 A1) due to the difficulty in testing animal models demonstrating deep penetration through the skin after topical application such that a therapeutic effect is reliably demonstrated.
The Examiner does not find the assertions to be persuasive. As this is a 103 obviousness rejection, no one piece of prior art is required to teach each and every claim limitation. As discussed in the rejection, Singh teaches compositions comprising botulinum toxins and that the composition may comprise surfactants, and Baker discloses a known and effective surfactant suitable for inclusion into topical nano-formulations comprising botulinum toxins. See MPEP 2141(III). Although Applicant has asserted one of ordinary skill in the art could not produce the formulation based on the prior art, Applicant has not provided any objective evidence to support this assertion. See MPEP § 716.01(c). Similarly, although Applicant asserts the ranges of the instant claims differ from those of the prior art, Applicant has not provided objective evidence showing the criticality of the claimed ranges. As such, because Singh et al. discloses a composition wherein elements of the instant claims may be included, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating these elements. As supported by MPEP § 2144.06(I), combining known ingredients for their known functions is generally obvious. Furthermore, as supported by MPEP § 2143.02, obviousness does not require absolute predictability, and conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success.
Moreover, it is not necessary for the prior art to suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by Applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV). In this case, Singh discloses compositions comprising one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum, and explicitly discloses surface active agents can be added; Baker discloses known and effective surfactants suitable for topically applied formulations. It is not clear to the Examiner how the addition of saponin provides the unexpected results alleged by the Applicant, as Applicant has not provided any objective showing to support allegations of unexpected results from the addition of saponin. As such, Applicant’s assertions are unpersuasive.
Applicant mainly asserts on pp. 2-4 and 6 of the Remarks filed 06 August 2026 that Baker broadly lists “botulinum toxin” among numerous possible active agents that may be incorporated into a nanoemulsion. Baker provides no working example or evidence demonstrating that botulinum toxin remains active after formulation or is capable of transdermal delivery, or: a purified 150 kDa neurotoxin; M-complex toxin (~250-300 kDa); biological activity retention of botulinum toxin after formulation; transdermal delivery of active toxin; neuromuscular efficacy following topical administration; or dose response studies. Applicant further asserts that the present application experimental results demonstrated that complex toxin showed relatively lower DAS score, whereas purified 150 kDa toxin 50-100 units had DAS scores between 2.5-4. Since commercial Botox consists primarily of approximately 900 kDa neurotoxin complexes containing accessory proteins, Baker provides no enabling teaching that a 150 kDa neurotoxin can be successfully delivered through intact skin within the composition of claim 1.
In response to Applicant's assertion that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., neuromuscular efficacy following topical administration, a purified 150 kDa neurotoxin, and biological activity retention of botulinum toxin after formulation) are not recited in the rejected claims (see new matter rejection above regarding recitation of M-complex toxin of about 250-300 kDa). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also MPEP 2111.01.
Moreover, it is noted that the Examiner does not rely on Baker to teach botulinum toxin. In this instant case, Singh teaches known types of BoNT formulations including isolated/pure BoNT/A without neurotoxins associated polypeptides (NAPs) (Singh: para. [0003]), and that the compositions are able to efficiently deliver botulinum toxin through the skin as a topical application (Singh: abs). As evidenced by para. [0047] of the instant Specification, pure botulinum toxin A is 150 kDa. Accordingly, the isolated BoNT/A formulation disclosed by Singh reasonably appears to be substantially the same 150 kDa protein instantly claimed. As such, Applicant’s assertion regarding botulinum toxin is unpersuasive.
Regarding potential evidence of unexpected results, Applicant has the burden of explaining the data in any declaration they proffer as evidence of non-obviousness. MPEP § 716.02(b)(II). Note that factually uncorroborated assertions (such as those referenced in the Specification) cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See MPEP § 716.01 (c)(Il). Moreover, any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some difference in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. The burden is on Applicant to establish that the results are in fact really unexpected and of statistical and practical significance. Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See also MPEP § 716.02. Applicant does not appear to have discussed same (at least in specific detail) with respect to the putative probative value of objective data in the instant Specification in comparison to the closest prior art.
Finally, assuming purely arguendo that the unexpectedness of the results has been established, the probative value of the evidence as compared to the invention as claimed must then be determined, i.e., the claims must be “commensurate in scope” with the showing. MPEP § 716.02(d). See also MPEP § 2145. Applicant must explain the “manner in which the specific compositions illustrated are considered to be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention”; see Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992); see also MPEP 716.02, citing same. For examples, Figures 3 and 4 of the instant Specification employ specific components in specific percentages, and even if Applicant were to show unexpected results, they would have been obtained, for example, not with the broad class of “one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum” or “an amount ranging from micrograms to picograms” generally, but instead with specific species and amounts of same. Note, for example, Fig. 3 uses BoNT/A formulation at 25 units, 50 units, and 100 units as the “one or more proteins of Clostridium botulinum” and “amount ranging from micrograms to picograms” respectively. Applicant would need to explain how these specific species are “reasonably representative” of the more broadly claimed subject matter of the claims, even were the results persuasively demonstrated to be “in fact really unexpected and of statistical and practical significance”. Moreover, the Examiner notes that Applicant agrees on p. 6 of the Remarks that any unexpected results obtained are dose-dependent. In addition, the Examiner notes that the results also appear to be limited by time elapsed.
Applicant mainly asserts on pp. 4-5 of the Remarks filed 06 August 2026 that Baker does not demonstrate saponin’s: compatibility with botulinum neurotoxin; preservation of toxin activity, enhancement of toxin penetration; enhancement of neuromuscular efficacy; and dose optimization.
The Examiner appreciates Applicant’s explanation but does not find the assertion to be persuasive. Although Baker does not specifically demonstrate the various benefits of saponin asserted by the Applicant, rationale different from Applicant’s is permissible. It is not necessary for the prior art to suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by Applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV). Thus, it is not necessary for Baker to disclose using saponin for the same reason as Applicant, which is to preserve toxin activity and enhance toxin penetration and neuromuscular efficacy.
Moreover, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., compatibility with botulinum neurotoxin; preservation of toxin activity, enhancement of toxin penetration; enhancement of neuromuscular efficacy; and dose optimization) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). As such, Applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
Applicant mainly asserts on pp. 6-7 of the Remarks filed 06 August 2026 that routine optimization does not apply in Baker because the prior art does not recognize the variable as affecting the result and provides guidance toward workable ranges. Applicant asserts Baker does not teach: topical administration of purified 150 kDa toxin; effective dosage ranges for topical toxin; activity preservation during transdermal delivery; or therapeutic thresholds, therefore the prior art provides no working starting point, thus there was no known range to optimize.
The Examiner does not find the assertion to be persuasive. It is noted the rejection does not rely on Baker for botulinum toxin dose starting points. Moreover, routine experimentation is permitted, and the determination of appropriate percentages of known components for their known function would seem to reasonably constitute no more than routine experimentation. In this regard, note that the heading for MPEP § 2144.05 IIA reads: “Optimization within Prior Art Conditions Or Through Routine Experimentation”. The latter does not require identification of a “result effective variable”, which is reinforced by the statement later in the section explaining that courts have cautioned that “a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only a change in form, proportion or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes in kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”
Applicant mainly asserts on pp. 7-9 of the Remarks filed 06 August 2026 that Baker teaches away from the claimed invention because they never suggested delivery of biological active neurotoxins to motor nerve terminals; treatment through neuromuscular blockade; and preservation of botulinum toxin potency. Thus, a skilled artisan would have expected a large, fragile neurotoxin to be unsuitable for topical delivery and would not have been motivated to combine Baker’s cosmetic nanoemulsion teachings with purified botulinum neurotoxin and deliver using topical administration.
The Examiner does not find the Applicant’s assertion to be persuasive. As discussed above, rationale different from Applicant’s is permissible. Therefore it is not necessary for Baker to disclose using components of the composition for the same reasons as Applicant. As this is a 103 obviousness rejection, no one piece of prior art is required to teach each and every claim limitation. As the rejection does not rely on Baker to disclose botulinum toxins, such argument is unpersuasive. As Singh explicitly discloses topical administration and delivery of botulinum toxin, it would appear that Singh does not teach wherein botulinum toxin cannot be delivered topically. As Baker does not teach wherein botulinum toxin cannot be used as an active ingredient in topical formulations, it would appear Baker does not teach away. Finally, a prior art reference is evaluated for all that it reasonably suggests and is not limited to preferred embodiments and working examples. Therefore disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. Finally, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this instant case, Baker is not relied upon to teach Clostridium botulinum. As such, Applicant’s assertions are unpersuasive.
Applicant mainly asserts on pp. 10-11 of the Remarks filed 06 August 2026 that the Office’s rejection is based on hindsight reconstruction of Applicant’s invention because Baker does not suggest the claimed combination of purified 150 kDa botulinum neurotoxin, the specifically claimed nano-emulsion composition, saponin-mediated penetration enhancement, or the demonstrated dose-dependent topical biological activity. The comparative data of this application established unexpected results and rebuts the case of obviousness.
The Examiner does not find the assertions to be persuasive. As this is a 103 obviousness rejection, no one piece of prior art is required to teach each and every claim limitation. Baker discloses known and effective surfactant suitable to be included into topical nanoemulsions comprising botulinum toxin such as those of Singh. Moreover, rationale different from Applicant’s is permissible. Therefore it is not necessary for Singh or Baker to disclose using the components of the composition for the same reasons as Applicant. Arguments regarding unexpected results have been answered above in the Response to Arguments to Singh. As such, the assertions are unpersuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Examiner encourages Applicant to review the instant disclosure and provide objective data comparing the instantly claimed compositions, supported by the Specification, to the closest prior art, and to also review the claims and consider claim languages that would highlight the results achieved by the Applicant, such as: specific Clostridium botulinum toxin species; specific dose ranges supported by the instant Specification; specific effects and/or quantitative limitations regarding the decrease in motor and neuromuscular functions with specific time ranges; and specific functional language actively correlating the enhancement of penetration to the inclusion of saponin, ensuring the claim languages find full support in the instant Specification.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
Singh and Kumar (US 2022/0288173 A1, 09/15/2022), directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a M complex of botulinum neurotoxin E having a molecular weight of about 250-300 kDa and suitable to be administered topically.
Taylor (US 2006/0018931 A1, 01/26/2006), directed to stability of botulinum toxin compositions, which may be enhanced by incorporating a pH buffer to a pH range of approximately 4 to about 7.5.
Ding et al. (CN 101214200 A, 07/09/2008), directed to a topically applied nano-emulsion comprising saponin (a.k.a. ginsenoside or ginsengenin), which contributes to prevent and delay skin aging effect.
Edelson et al. (US 2011/0212157 A1, 09/01/2011) (hereinafter Edelson), directed to topically applied nanoemulsions (i.e. nanoparticle composition) comprising at least one therapeutic agent including botulinum toxin.
Conclusion
/LUCY M TIEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612