DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it . A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 23, 26, 27 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 recites optional language “can” in lines 2 and 4 (i.e. “…wherein the capability information includes a first part indicating whether the terminal device can support joint channel estimation …the terminal device can support joint channel estimation).
In order to present the claim in a better form and to describe a positive or active steps/function to be performed (i.e. using the claim language that does not suggest or make optionally but active or positive steps to be performed), applicant is suggested to remove the claim language “can” to have the limiting effect in “active” form (i.e. the terminal device [[can]] supports), such that the steps/functions, which follows language “can”, to be actively performed (not optional). (MPEP 2111.04)
Claims 26-28 recites the same limitations as claim 23, they are subjected to the same objection set forth above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments filed on 10/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, 20-22, 24 and 25, the applicant argued that, “…First, the Office Action miscorrelates DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit of Ly to third scheduling information of claim 1. The DCIs of Ly at most discloses one or more priorities of the DMRS bundling configuration, transmit power control (TPC) command or an uplink transmission scheduling indication, or a bundling configuration for associated reference signals, where the scheduling information may schedule one or more of an uplink transmission 420 or a PUSCH 415 and may indicate that one or more of the PUSCH 415 and the uplink transmission 420 may overlap for one or more TTIs 425. … It is evident that none of the information included in Ly’s DCIs pertains to whether a sending device meets a condition within duration different from any other time units, particularly within duration between a first time unit and a second time unit for DMRS bundling. Accordingly, Ly fails to disclose the first limitation of claim 1, namely “third scheduling information indicates that a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, meets a second condition within first duration, wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit.” in page 13-15. [Emphasis added]
In response to applicant's argument, that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., DCI and DMRS) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims1.
In this case, when considering the claim construction, it is noted that the broadly recited claim neither recites or make reference any of these “specific” features, Supra. The claim generally states the features in “broad” terms such as “scheduling information”, “duration between first time unit and second time unit”. Note that scheduling is “arranging or planning to take place”, and Ly’s DCI bit in third transmission slot or before second most-recent transmission slot (from a plurality of time slots, TTIs) in order to arrange/bundle for transmission (i.e. scheduling information) clearly illustrate these facts. Similarly, note that duration is “the time during which something continue between time unit (i.e. second, minutes, hours, etc.”), and Ly’s disclose maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs (i.e. within duration of TTIs or time slots where duration is between 1st TTI/time-slot and 2nd TTI/time-slot).
Applicant also admits and acknowledges in the remark that Ly discloses various scheduling indication in the transmission as “…The DCIs of Ly at most discloses one or more priorities of the DMRS bundling configuration, transmit power control (TPC) command or an uplink transmission scheduling indication, or a bundling configuration for associated reference signals, where the scheduling information may schedule..”, Supra.
Identical to Ly’s scheduling DCI’s features, applicant’s own specification2 also discloses that the scheduling information are carried within DCI as stated below:
[0399] Optionally, the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information are carried in downlink control information DCI. ..[Emphasis added]
In particular, Ly discloses receiving, from the network device (see FIG. 2, receive from base station 105-a; see ¶¶ 101-102; also see FIG. 3a to 5b, ¶¶108-114), third scheduling information (see FIG. 2, 11, DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit of third/ before most-recent transmission slot, ¶ 91-94,187-188; also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121, scheduling information DCIs) indicating that a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, meets a second condition within first duration (see FIG. 1, 2, 3a-7b; DMRS-bundling information bit of third/ before most-recent uplink transmission slot of another Base station 105 or downlink slot to another terminal device 115 (i.e. a sending device) shows the maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs (i.e. within duration of TTIs); see ¶¶ 90, 91, 93, 97, 109, 111, 114-116, , 122-124; also see FIG. 4A-B, TTI 425s), wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (see FIG. 2, 3A-B, 4A-B, TTI/duration is between first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot is a time slot before first/currently-received transmission slot; ¶¶38, 54, 88, 90, 95, 97, 114, 121,124,135), and wherein the second condition comprises one or more of: conditions to maintain phase continuity across multiple DMRSs within the first duration (see ¶¶ 91, 109-111, 117, 119, 122, 125, 128, 131, 133, 197 ) and the sending device comprises power amplifier (see ¶¶ 122, CCs utilizing power amplifier in DMRS bundling confirmation for the purpose of phase continuity), carrier frequency (see ¶¶38, 40, 41, 97, 127, 130), antenna (see ¶¶ 63, 65, 92, 191, 183, 212; a set of antennas); wherein when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 91-96, 102-105; 108-114, 121, 187-188, also see FIG. 3a to 5b ; when a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs’s enabling or disabling DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control) and the maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs are as expected (e.g. checking against redundant version or ACK)) ;), the first time unit and the second time unit are available for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶ 7, 37, 89, 91, 93, 95, 102-105, 121, 127, 144, 145, 184, 190; channel estimate by joining/combining processing multiple bundle DMRSs in transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs (i.e. first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot) of N slots or multiple TTIs).
In view of the above, it is clear that Ly discloses the broadly recited claim limitations.
Regarding claims 11, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, 20-22, 24 and 25, the applicant argued that, “…As discussed above, none of DCIs disclosed in Hasegawa refers to “a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, meets a second condition within first duration, ... wherein the second condition comprises one or more of: the sending device does not turn off a power amplifier, the sending device does not perform carrier frequency switching, or the sending device does not perform antenna switching”. Accordingly, Hasegawa fails to disclose the second limitation of claim 1. Third, the combination of Ly and Hasegawa is silent regarding the third limitation of claim 1, namely “wherein when both the first condition and the second condition are met, the first time unit and the second time unit are available for joint channel estimation…” in page 15-17.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In particular, Hasegawa3 discloses a terminal device (see FIG. 1A-D, WTRU 102) receiving, from the network device (see FIG. 1A-D, base station 114) , third scheduling information indicating that a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, (see ¶¶ 90, 94, 101, 105, 163, 169, 173, 210, 228, 232; schedules transmission regarding base station 114) meets a second condition within first duration (see ¶¶ 85, 88, 89, 114, 145-148, 155, 157, 160, 161 283, 285; apply the DMRS bundling condition (i.e. maintain/meet phase/power continuity) between DMRS during first DMRS bundling time slots (i.e. (n+1) or repetitions)) ; wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (¶¶ 161-163, 279, 283, 285, 300-303, 306-307; first DMRS building time slots i.e. (n+1) or repetitions) is the distance between first and second/extended time slots (e.g. multiple time slots)), and wherein the second condition comprises: the sending device does not perform antenna switching (see ¶¶132, 146-148; WTRU does not switch antenna pair); wherein when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 85, 88, 89, 114, 145-148, 155, 157, 160, 161 ; when DMRS bundling conditions (i.e. first and second conditions such as phase and power continuity) are satisfied/met ), the first time unit and the second time unit are available for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶157, 210, 232, 317-319, 325; first and second/extended time slots (i.e. multiple time slots) are used for joint channel estimation for those set of slots).
Hasegawa not only discloses the broadly claim limitations as set forth above, but also discloses the inventive concept as disclosed in the applicant’s own specification as shown below.
Comparison Table 1
Instant application4
Hasegawa
[0011] This technical solution is performed by the terminal device. Transmission in a plurality of time units is limited, so that the plurality of time units meet a requirement of joint channel estimation, and phase continuity between sending in the first time unit and sending in the second time unit can be maintained. DMRSs that meet the phase continuity in the first time unit and the second time unit can be combined when data is received, to implement more accurate channel estimation and improve demodulation performance of transmitted data.
[0109] This technical solution is performed by the network device. Data transmission in a plurality of time units is limited, so that the plurality of time units meet a requirement of joint channel estimation, and phase continuity between data sending in the first time unit and sending in the second time unit can be maintained. DMRSs that meet the phase continuity in the first time unit and the second time unit can be combined when data is received, to implement more accurate channel estimation and improve demodulation performance of transmitted data. [Emphasis added]
[0157] A WTRU may determine one or more conditions to terminate DMRS bundling, for example, based on a continuity of slots and/or frequencies over which PUSCH transmissions are scheduled. If a DMRS bundling termination condition is satisfied, the WTRU may stop maintaining phase and/or power continuity over PUSCH transmissions, Resource(s) may be used (e.g., wasted) to maintain power and/or phase continuity between PUSCH transmissions, for example, without a condition to terminate DMRS bundling, PUSCH transmissions may include multiple transmission occasions in repetition type A/B or PUSCH transmissions from different TBs, for example, During DMRS bundling, the WTRU may maintain phase and/or power continuity, for example, such that the base station (e.g., the gNB) may use DMRS symbols from multiple slots/repetitions jointly to perform a joint channel estimation. The WTRU may enable DMRS bundling by starting to maintain phase and/or power continuity across PUSCH transmissions. The WTRU may disable DMRS bundling by stopping a maintenance of phase and/or power continuity across PUSCH transmissions, for example, if the DMRS bundling termination condition is satisfied. [Emphasis added]
In view of the above, it is clear that Hasegawa discloses the broadly recited claim limitations.
Regarding claims 11, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, 20-22, 24 and 25, the applicant argued that, “…In conclusion, neither Ly nor Hasegawa discloses the above-underlined limitations of claim 1 and the combination of Ly and Hasegawa therefore fails to render the subject matter of claim 1 obvious. Likewise, independent claims 6, 11 and 16 recite elements similar to independent claim 1 and are also patentable over recited references. The remaining claims depend from respective independent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 and are therefore patentable over recited references at least by virtue of their dependencies..…” in page 17.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references5. In this case, the combined system of Ly and Hasegawa clearly disclosed the broadly recited claim as detailed in the rejection below, and specially the main inventive concept of instant application is clearly disclosed by Hasegawa in view of applicant’s own disclosure, Id. Comparable Table 1. Thus, the rejection is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “the second unit ” in lines 11, 13 and 14. It is unclear whether “the second unit” refers to “second scheduling information” or “second time unit” in line 4. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claims 6, 11 and 16 recites the same limitations as claim 1, they are subjected to the same rejection set forth above.
Claim 1 recites, “receiving third scheduling information sent by the network device, wherein the third scheduling information indicates that a sending device sends uplink data or downlink data..,” in lines 19-20. It is unclear whether “a sending device” is the same device as “the network device” since a terminal device is receiving third scheduling information sent by the network device, yet it indicates that a sending device sends uplink or downlink data. The claim is ambiguous. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claims 6, 11 and 16 recites the same limitations as claim 1, they are subjected to the same rejection set forth above.
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15, 17-28 are rejected since they are depended upon rejected independent claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12, 15-17, 20-22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Hasegawa (US 202302915236).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Ly discloses a terminal device (see FIG. 1-2, UE 115-a; see FIG. 11, UE 1105. see FIG. 13, UE 1305) performing a communication method comprising:
a memory storing executable instructions (see FIG. 13, Memory 1330; see ¶ 209);
a processor configured to execute the executable instructions to perform operations of (see FIG. 13, a combined system of processor 1340 and communication manager; see ¶ 209; also see FIG. 11, processor 1115; see ¶ 185):
receiving, from a network device (see FIG. 2, from base station 105-a; see ¶¶ 101-102; also see FIG. 3a to 5b, ¶¶108-114), first scheduling information (see FIG. 2, receiving first scheduling informing within DCI 215;see FIG. 11, DCI reception component 1130: note that DCI contains DMRS-bundling information bit within a new data bit (NDI) which indicate a plan (alternate/maintain) for UE to perform bunding/scheduling process, ¶¶ 91-94,187-188; also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121,127, 130);) for a transmission in a first time unit (see FIG. 2, 11, for transmission in a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs) and second scheduling information for a transmission in a second time unit (see FIG. 2, 11, receiving second scheduling information within DCI where DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit which indicate a plan (alternate/maintain) for UE to perform bunding/scheduling process in second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot) of N slots or multiple TTIs; see ¶¶ 102-105; also see ¶ 109, 114, 121, also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121,127, 13).
determining that the transmission in the first time unit meets a first condition, (see FIG. 2, 11, communication manager 1115 determine transmission DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit in a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs is enabling or disabling DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control);see ¶¶ 91-96, 102-105; 108-114, 121, 187-188, also see FIG. 3a to 5b)
when the first scheduling information (see FIG. 2, 11, DCI’s DMRS-bundling/scheduling information bit of first/currently-received transmission slot) is same as the second scheduling information (see FIG. 2, 11, is same as DCI’s DMRS-bundling/scheduling information bit in second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot); see ¶¶ 102-105; also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121; note that transmission in first/currently-received transmission slot is the same DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control), thereby, meeting DMRS-bundling state/condition value as before ,see ¶¶ 102-104; also see FIG. 3a to 5b, ¶¶108-114),
wherein the second time unit is a time unit before the first time unit (see FIG. 2-5b, second/most-recent/previous transmission slot is a time slot before first/currently-received transmission slot;), a transmission direction of the transmission in the first time unit is the same as a transmission direction in the second time unit of the transmission (see FIG. 1, 2, BS transmit N number consecutive transmission slots or multiple TTIs with DCIs in downlink transmission direction, thus, DCIs are transmitted in first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot the same downlink transmission direction; see ¶¶ 91-96, 105, 106, 11 1), and
no transmission in an opposite direction exists between the second time unit and the first time unit (see FIG. 1, 2, Base Station 105 transmit N consecutive transmission slots or multiple TTIs with DCIs in downlink direction; thus; first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot are on the same downlink direction; since all transmission slots are transmitted on downlink, there is no uplink/opposite transmission between them; see ¶¶ 91-95, 105, 106, 111); and
the first condition comprises same transmit power as the transmission in the second unit, same precoding as the transmission in the second unit, or a same frequency domain resource as the transmission in the second unit (see FIG. 2, 3a-5b, a first/currently-received transmission slot’s DMRS-bundling state/condition value indicates in same precoding matrix, same transmit power/power control, or same frequency domain ) as second/most-recent/previous transmission slot’s DMRS-bundling state/condition value; see ¶¶ 38, 39, 90, 97, 104, 105, 106, 109, 111, 114),
receiving, from the network device (see FIG. 2, receive from base station 105-a; see ¶¶ 101-102; also see FIG. 3a to 5b, ¶¶108-114), third scheduling information (see FIG. 2, 11, DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit of third/ before second most-recent transmission slot, ¶¶ 91-94,187-188; also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121, scheduling information DCIs) indicating that a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, meets a second condition within first duration (see FIG. 1, 2, 3a-7b; DMRS-bundling information bit of third/ before most-recent uplink transmission slot of another Base station 105 or downlink slot to another terminal device 115 (i.e. a sending device) shows the maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs (i.e. within duration of TTIs); see ¶¶ 90, 91, 93, 97, 109, 111, 114-116, , 122-124; also see FIG. 4A-B, TTI 425s), wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (see FIG. 2, 3A-B, 4A-B, TTI/duration is between first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot is a time slot before first/currently-received transmission slot; ¶¶38, 54, 88, 90, 95, 97, 114, 121,124,135), and
wherein the second condition comprises one or more of: conditions to maintain phase continuity across multiple DMRSs within the first duration (see ¶¶ 91, 109-111, 117, 119, 122, 125, 128, 131, 133, 197 ) and the sending device comprises power amplifier (see ¶ 122, CCs utilizing power amplifier in DMRS bundling confirmation for the purpose of phase continuity), carrier frequency (see ¶¶38, 40, 41, 97, 127, 130), antenna (see ¶¶ 63, 65, 92, 191, 183, 212; a set of antennas);
wherein when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 91-96, 102-105; 108-114, 121, 187-188, also see FIG. 3a to 5b ; when a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs’s enabling or disabling DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control) and the maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs are as expected (e.g. checking against redundant version or ACK)) ;), the first time unit and the second time unit are available for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶ 7, 37, 89, 91, 93, 95, 102-105, 121, 127, 144, 145, 184, 190; channel estimate by joining/combining processing multiple bundle DMRSs in transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs (i.e. first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot) of N slots or multiple TTIs);
sending uplink data in the first time unit and the second time unit (see FIG. 1-2, transmitting uplink transmission in the first/currently transmission slot and second/previous transmission slot from UE 115a to BS 105-a; see ¶¶ 44,48,54, 91-95), or
receiving downlink data in the first time unit and the second time unit (see FIG. 1-2, receiving downlink transmission in the first/currently transmission slot and second/previous transmission slot from BS 105-a to UE 115-a; see ¶¶ 44,48,54, 91-95 ).
Although Ly discloses the sending device meets a second condition within a first duration where second condition is to maintain phase continuity across multiple DMRSs as set forth above, Ly does not explicitly disclose the sending device “does not perform” antenna switching.
It is well known the art that in order to guarantees phase continuity among DMRSs , one of skilled in the art would “not turn off” the power amplifier, would “not switch” to carrier frequency, or would “not switch” antenna. Such well known common teaching of “not switch/off” in order to maintain phase continuity is shown below in Hasegawa.
Hasegawa7 discloses a terminal device (see FIG. 1A-D, WTRU 102) receiving, from the network device (see FIG. 1A-D, base station 114) , third scheduling information indicating that a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, (see ¶¶ 90, 94, 101, 105, 163, 169, 173, 210, 228, 232; schedules transmission regarding base station 114) meets a second condition within first duration (see ¶¶ 85, 88, 89, 114, 145-148, 155, 157, 160, 161 283, 285; apply the DMRS bundling condition (i.e. maintain/meet phase/power continuity) between DMRS during first DMRS bundling time slots (i.e. (n+1) or repetitions)) ;
wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (¶¶ 161-163, 279, 283, 285, 300-303, 306-307; first DMRS building time slots i.e. (n+1) or repetitions) is the distance between first and second/extended time slots (e.g. multiple time slots)), and
wherein the second condition comprises: the sending device does not perform antenna switching (see ¶¶132, 146-148; WTRU does not switch antenna pair).
wherein when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 85, 88, 89, 114, 145-148, 155, 157, 160, 161 ; when DMRS bundling conditions (i.e. first and second conditions such as phase and power continuity) are satisfied/met ), the first time unit and the second time unit are available for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶157, 210, 232, 317-319, 325; first and second/extended time slots (i.e. multiple time slots) are used for joint channel estimation for those set of slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide well known teaching of “does not perform” antenna switching as taught by Hasegawa in the system of Ly, so that it would give priority to specific DMRS to maintain continuity while satisfying the condition thereby avoiding data degradation; see Hasegawa ¶3, 146, 148.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Ly discloses wherein the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information are carried in DCI to the terminal device (see FIG. 2, DCI 215;see FIG. 11, DCI reception component 1130: note that DCI contains DMRS-bundling information bit within a new data bit (NDI) which indicate a plan (alternate/maintain) for UE to perform bunding process (i.e. scheduling) sent from base station 105-a to UE 115-a ¶¶ 91-94, ¶¶ 101-102, 108-114, 187-188). Hasegawa8 discloses wherein the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information are carried in DCI to the terminal device (see ¶¶ 160, 162, 173, 228, 232, 242, 245, 280; scheduling information for each slot (e.g. first slot scheduling information and extended slot scheduling information) resides within DCI to WTRU).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ly discloses wherein before the step of receiving downlink data (see ¶¶ 40, 91, 97, 109; before UE receive downlink data), the method further comprises:
reporting capability information (see FIG. 15, UE capability indication component 1530; see ¶¶ 40, 90, 108 ;UE transmit capability indication to base station), wherein the capability information indicates whether a terminal device supports joint channel estimation in a plurality of time units (see ¶¶ 7, 37, 89, 91, 93, 95, 144, channel estimate by joining/combining processing multiple bundle DMRSs in transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs). Hasegawa also discloses reporting capability information wherein the capability information indicates whether a terminal device supports joint channel estimation in a plurality of time units (see ¶¶ 317, 319; capability signaling indicate for joint channel estimation for WTRU in time slots to maintain phase and power continuity).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Ly discloses a network device (see FIG. 1-2, Base Station 105; see FIG. 15, Base station 1505; see FIG. 17, 1705) performing a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) configuration (see ¶ 96, processing DMRSs ) method comprising:
a memory storing executable instructions (see FIG. 17, memory 1730); and
a processor configured to execute the executable instructions to perform operations of (see FIG. 17, a combined system of processor 1740 and communication manager 1710, see FIG. 15, processor 1515; see ¶¶ 221, 223 236, 241, 242)
sending, to a terminal device (see FIG. 2, transmit to UE 115-a, see FIG. 11, UE 1105, see FIG. 13, UE 1305); see ¶¶ 101-102; also see FIG. 3a to 5b, ¶¶108-114), first scheduling information (see FIG. 2, receiving first scheduling informing within DCI 215;see FIG. 11, DCI reception component 1130: note that DCI contains DMRS-bundling information bit within a new data bit (NDI) which indicate a plan (alternate/maintain) for UE to perform bunding/scheduling process, ¶ ¶ 91-94,187-188; also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121,127, 130);) for a transmission in a first time unit (see FIG. 2, 11, for transmission in a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs) and second scheduling information for a transmission in a second time unit (see FIG. 2, 11, receiving second scheduling information within DCI where DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit which indicate a plan (alternate/maintain) for UE to perform bunding/scheduling process in second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot) of N slots or multiple TTIs; see ¶¶ 102-105; also see ¶ 109, 114, 121, also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121,127, 13);
wherein the second time unit is a time unit before the first time unit (see FIG. 2-5b, second/most-recent/previous transmission slot is a time slot before first/currently-received transmission slot;), a transmission direction of the transmission in the first time unit is the same as a transmission direction in the second time unit of the transmission (see FIG. 1, 2, BS transmit N number consecutive transmission slots or multiple TTIs with DCIs in downlink transmission direction, thus, DCIs are transmitted in first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot the same downlink transmission direction; see ¶¶ 91-96, 105, 106, 11 1), and
no transmission in an opposite direction exists between the second time unit and the first time unit (see FIG. 1, 2, Base Station 105 transmit N consecutive transmission slots or multiple TTIs with DCIs in downlink direction; thus; first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot are on the same downlink direction; since all transmission slots are transmitted on downlink, there is no uplink/opposite transmission between them; see ¶¶ 91-95, 105, 106, 111); and
when the first scheduling information (see FIG. 2, 11, DCI’s DMRS-bundling/scheduling information bit of first/currently-received transmission slot) is same as the second scheduling information (see FIG. 2, 11, is same as DCI’s DMRS-bundling/scheduling information bit in second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot); see ¶¶ 102-105; also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121; note that transmission in first/currently-received transmission slot is the same DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control), thereby, meeting DMRS-bundling state/condition value as before ,see ¶¶ 102-104; also see FIG. 3a to 5b, ¶¶108-114),
the transmission in the first time unit meets a first condition, (see FIG. 2, 11, communication manager 1115 determine transmission DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit in a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs is enabling or disabling DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control);see ¶¶ 91-96, 102-105; 108-114, 121, 187-188, also see FIG. 3a to 5b)
the first condition comprises same transmit power as the transmission in the second unit, same precoding as the transmission in the second unit, or a same frequency domain resource as the transmission in the second unit (see FIG. 2, 3a-5b, a first/currently-received transmission slot’s DMRS-bundling state/condition value indicates in same precoding matrix, same transmit power/power control, or same frequency domain ) as second/most-recent/previous transmission slot’s DMRS-bundling state/condition value; see ¶¶ 38, 39, 90, 97, 104, 105, 106, 109, 111, 114),
sending, to the terminal device (see FIG. 2, transmit to UE 115-a, see FIG. 11, UE 1105, see FIG. 13, UE 1305); see ¶¶ 101-102; also see FIG. 3a to 5b, ¶¶108-114), third scheduling information (see FIG. 2, 11, DCI’s DMRS-bundling information bit of third/ before most-recent transmission slot, ¶¶ 91-94,187-188; also see ¶¶109, 114, 121, scheduling information DCIs) indicating that a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, meets a second condition within first duration (see FIG. 1, 2, 3a-7b; DMRS-bundling information bit of third/ before most-recent uplink transmission slot of another Base station 105 or downlink slot to another terminal device 115 (i.e. a sending device) shows the maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs (i.e. within duration of TTIs); see ¶¶ 90, 91, 93, 97, 109, 111, 114-116, , 122-124; also see FIG. 4A-B, TTI 425s), wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (see FIG. 2, 3A-B, 4A-B, TTI/duration is between first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot is a time slot before first/currently-received transmission slot; ¶¶38, 54, 88, 90, 95, 97, 114, 121,124,135), and
wherein the second condition comprises one or more of: conditions to maintain phase continuity across multiple DMRSs within the first duration (see ¶¶ 91, 109-111, 117, 119, 122, 125, 128, 131, 133, 197 ) and the sending device comprises power amplifier (see ¶¶ 122, CCs utilizing power amplifier in DMRS bundling confirmation for the purpose of phase continuity), carrier frequency (see ¶¶38, 40, 41, 97, 127, 130), antenna (see ¶¶ 63, 65, 92, 191, 183, 212; a set of antennas);
wherein when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 91-96, 102-105; 108-114, 121, 187-188, also see FIG. 3a to 5b ; when a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs’s enabling or disabling DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control) and the maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs are as expected (e.g. checking against redundant version or ACK)) ;), the first time unit and the second time unit are available for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶ 7, 37, 89, 91, 93, 95, 102-105, 121, 127, 144, 145, 184, 190; channel estimate by joining/combining processing multiple bundle DMRSs in transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs (i.e. first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot) of N slots or multiple TTIs);
sending downlink data in the first time unit and the second time unit to the terminal device (see FIG. 1-2, receiving downlink transmission in the first/currently transmission slot and second/previous transmission slot from BS 105-a to UE 115-a; see ¶¶ 44,48,54, 91-95 ), or
receiving the uplink data in the first time unit and the second time unit from the terminal device (see FIG. 1-2, transmitting uplink transmission in the first/currently transmission slot and second/previous transmission slot from UE 115a to BS 105-a; see ¶¶ 44,48,54, 91-95).
Although Ly discloses the sending device meets a second condition within a first duration where second condition is to maintain phase continuity across multiple DMRSs as set forth above, Ly does not explicitly disclose the sending device “does not perform” antenna switching.
It is well known the art that in order to guarantees phase continuity among DMRSs , one of skilled in the art would “not turn off” the power amplifier, would “not switch” to carrier frequency, or would “not switch” antenna. Such well known common teaching of “not switch/off” in order to maintain phase continuity is shown below in Hasegawa.
Hasegawa9 discloses a network device (see FIG. 1A-D, base station 114) sending to the terminal device (see FIG. 1A-D, WTRU 102) , third scheduling information indicating that a sending device, which sends uplink data or downlink data, (see ¶¶ 90, 94, 101, 105, 163, 169, 173, 210, 228, 232; schedules transmission regarding base station 114) meets a second condition within first duration (see ¶¶ 85, 88, 89, 114, 145-148, 155, 157, 160, 161 283, 285; apply the DMRS bundling condition (i.e. maintain/meet phase/power continuity) between DMRS during first DMRS bundling time slots (i.e. (n+1) or repetitions)) ;
wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (¶¶ 161-163, 279, 283, 285, 300-303, 306-307; first DMRS building time slots i.e. (n+1) or repetitions) is the distance between first and second/extended time slots (e.g. multiple time slots)), and
wherein the second condition comprises: the sending device does not perform antenna switching (see ¶¶132, 146-148; WTRU does not switch antenna pair).
wherein when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 85, 87-89, 157:when DMRS bundling conditions (i.e. first and second conditions such as phase and power continuity) are satisfied/met ), the first time unit and the second time unit are available for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶157, 210, 232, 317-319, 325; first and second/extended time slots (i.e. multiple time slots) are used for joint channel estimation for those set of slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide well known teaching of “does not perform” antenna switching as taught by Hasegawa in the system of Ly, so that it would give priority to specific DMRS to maintain continuity while satisfying the condition thereby avoiding data degradation; see Hasegawa ¶3, 146, 148.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Ly discloses wherein the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information are carried in DCI to the terminal device (see FIG. 2, DCI 215;see FIG. 11, DCI reception component 1130: note that DCI contains DMRS-bundling information bit within a new data bit (NDI) which indicate a plan (alternate/maintain) for UE to perform bunding process (i.e. scheduling) sent from base station 105-a to UE 115-a ¶¶ 91-94, ¶¶ 101-102, 108-114, 187-188). Hasegawa discloses wherein the first scheduling information and the second scheduling information are carried in DCI to the terminal device (see ¶¶ 160, 162, 173, 228, 232, 242, 245, 280; scheduling information for each slot (e.g. first slot scheduling information and extended slot scheduling information) resides within DCI to WTRU).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Ly discloses wherein before the step of receiving downlink data (see ¶¶ 40, 91, 97, 109; before UE receive downlink data), the method further comprises:
reporting capability information (see FIG. 15, UE capability indication component 1530; see ¶¶ 40, 90, 108 ;UE transmit capability indication to base station), wherein the capability information indicates whether a terminal device supports joint channel estimation in a plurality of time units (see ¶¶ 7, 37, 89, 91, 93, 95, 144, channel estimate by joining/combining processing multiple bundle DMRSs in transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs). Hasegawa also discloses reporting capability information wherein the capability information indicates whether a terminal device supports joint channel estimation in a plurality of time units (see ¶¶ 317, 319; capability signaling indicate for joint channel estimation for WTRU in time slots to maintain phase and power continuity).
Regarding claims 21 and 24, Ly discloses wherein the sending device is the network device that sends the downlink data (see FIG. 2, BS 105 send downlink transmission), the method further comprises:
when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 91-96, 102-105; 108-114, 121, 187-188, also see FIG. 3a to 5b ; when a first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs’s enabling or disabling DMRS-bundling state/condition value (i.e. precoding matrix, transmit power/power control) and the maintained/second condition/status or phase continuity during across DMRSs transmission slots/TTIs are as expected (e.g. checking against redundant version or ACK)), performing joint channel estimation in the first time unit and the second time unit based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) in the first time unit and a DMRS in the second time unit (see ¶¶ 7, 37, 89, 91, 95; perform channel estimation based on jointly processing DMRSs from slots of TTIs (i.e. 1st and 2nd time unit) over which DMRSs are bundled).
Hasegawa also discloses the sending device is the network device that sends the downlink data (see FIG. 1A-D, Bast stion 114 transmits down to WTRU), the method further comprises:
when both the first condition and the second condition are met (see ¶¶ 85, 87-89, 157: when DMRS bundling conditions (i.e. first and second conditions such as phase and power continuity) are satisfied/met ), performing joint channel estimation in the first time unit and the second time unit based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) in the first time unit and a DMRS in the second time unit (see ¶¶82, 157, 232; first and second/extended time slots (i.e. multiple time slots) are used for joint channel estimation for each slot of multiple slots according to DMRS symbols, respectively).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Ly discloses wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (see FIG. 2, 3A-B, 4A-B, TTI/duration is between first/currently-received transmission slot and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot is a time slot before first/currently-received transmission slot; ¶¶38, 54, 88, 90, 95, 97, 114, 121,124,135), and the method further comprises:
determining that the duration between the first time unit and the second time unit, the first time unit and the second time unit are used for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶ 7, 37, 89, 91, 93, 95, 102-105, 121, 127, 144, 145, 184, 190; channel estimate by joining/combining processing multiple bundle DMRSs in transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs (i.e. first/currently-received transmission slot of N slots or multiple TTIs and second/most-recent/previous transmission slot (i.e. same enable bit as in previous slot) of N slots or multiple TTIs).
Hasegawa discloses wherein the first duration is duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (¶¶ 161-163, 279, 283, 285, 300-303, 306-307; first DMRS building time slots i.e. (n+1) or repetitions) is the distance between first and second/extended time slots (e.g. multiple time slots)), and the third scheduling information includes same information as the first scheduling information (see ¶¶ 85, 88, 89, 114, 145-148, 155, 157, 160, 161 283, 285; schedule transmission in 3rd time slot (i.e. n+1 time slots or repetitions) with maintain/meet phase/power continuity/information or DCIs include same continuity/information as schedule transmission in 1st time slot (i.e. n time slots or repetitions) with maintain/meet phase/power continuity/information or DCIs; ¶¶ 91-94,187-188; also see ¶¶ 109, 114, 121);
determining that the duration between the first time unit and the second time unit (see ¶¶ 161-163, 279, 283, 285, 300-303, 306-307; first DMRS building time slots i.e. (n+1) or repetitions) is the distance between first and second/extended time slots (e.g. multiple time slots)), the first time unit and the second time unit are used for joint channel estimation (see ¶¶157, 210, 232, 317-319, 325; first and second/extended time slots (i.e. multiple time slots) are used for joint channel estimation for those set of slots).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 26-28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome
the objection set forth in this action, Id. ¶3
the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in this action, Id. ¶7, and
include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
IAN N. MOORE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993)
2 US 2023/0361960
3See 63/061397 ¶ ¶70, 72, 82, 87, 123, 124, 125, 145): 63/091454 ¶¶ 71, 86, 108, 153, 154, 175
4 US 2023/0361960
5 See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
6 as evidence by provisional applications: 63/061397, 63/091454
7See 63/061397 ¶ ¶70, 72, 82, 87, 123, 124, 125, 145): 63/091454 ¶¶ 71, 86, 108, 153, 154, 175
8 See 63/061397 ¶ ¶70, 72, 82, 87, 123, 124, 125, 145): 63/091454 ¶¶ 71, 86, 108, 153, 154, 175
9 See 63/061397 ¶ ¶70, 72, 82, 87, 123, 124, 125, 145): 63/091454 ¶¶ 71, 86, 108, 153, 154, 175