DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of restriction/election in the reply filed on April 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant has elected Group I: Claims 1-9, drawn to a system for bending a spinal rod.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 15, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rout et al. (US 2020/0230812), herein referred to as Rout.
Regarding claim 1, Rout discloses a system (10) (figure 1) for bending a spinal rod (106) (¶59) comprising a rod bending assembly (100) (figures 1-3) including a bender box (122) and a bender assembly (121) coupled to the bender box (122) (figure 3), the bender box (122) includes a top plate (5404) (figure 54) having a fixed coupling member (108) (¶62) and an actuated coupling member (104) (¶62), the bender assembly (121) includes a rod cutter (¶68) attachable to the fixed coupling member (108) (figure 3) and a bending mandrel (110, 150, 154) attachable to the actuated coupling member (104) (figure 3), and an automatic or navigated feeding system (¶59) configured to (i.e. capable of) feed a spinal rod (106) into the rod bending assembly (¶64), and wherein the bender assembly (121) is configured to (i.e. capable of) bend and contour the spinal rod (106) into a complex three-dimensional shape (¶178).
Regarding claim 2, Rout discloses wherein the bending mandrel (110, 150, 154) comprises a roller (154) (¶63) and a coupled lever arm (2503) (¶120).
Regarding claim 3, Rout discloses wherein the roller (154) (¶63) is a vertically oriented cylinder (figure 3) with a radial groove (figure 3) configured to (i.e. capable of) receive the spinal rod (106).
Regarding claim 4, Rout discloses wherein the rod cutter (¶68) includes a block (142) attachable to the fixed coupling member (108) (¶62), a fixed plate (140) attached to the block (142), and a moveable plate (124) pivotally coupled to the fixed plate (140).
Regarding claim 5, Rout discloses wherein the moveable plate (124) is pivotally coupled to the fixed plate (140) via a pivot pin (134).
Regarding claim 6, Rout discloses wherein the fixed plate (140) and the moveable plate (124) define through openings (figure 3), and when aligned, the fixed and moveable plates (124, 140) are configured to (i.e. capable of) receive the spinal rod (106) therethrough (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Rout discloses wherein the automatic or navigated feeding system is an automatic robot (100) (¶59) configured to (i.e. capable of) feed and rotate the spinal rod (106).
Regarding claim 9, Rout discloses wherein the automatic or navigated feeding system (100) is a navigated handle (figure 28) having a plurality of tracking markers (2811, 2815) attachable to one end of the spinal rod (106) (figure 28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775