Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 10/24/2025. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 21-40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Babaei US 2022/0225215 A1 in view of Takeda et al US20220116924A1
1-20 are Cancelled.
Regarding claims 21 and 33, Babaei US 2022/0225215 A1 discloses
21. A method, comprising:
33. (New) An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and the at least one processor executing instructions to cause the apparatus to (claim 11. A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to); and (see fig. 15 and [0136]-[0141] wireless device comprising data processing system 1524 couple to the memory 1512, wherein the Memory 1512 that may store software code or instructions that may be executed by the Data Processing System 1524 :
receiving, by an apparatus, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling configures a temporary reference signal set at a cell granularity , the temporary reference signal set comprises at least one temporary reference signal, the RRC signaling comprises a temporary reference signal configuration, and the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a temporary reference signal index [0170]-[0172] a wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells, configuration of the RS of a plurality of RS configurations, e.g., a plurality of RRC configured RS configurations , a configuration of RS may indicate the BWP (e.g., by including the BWP ID) and/or resources associated with transmission of the RS,For example, a field of the one or more fields may comprise a value/ID identifying the configuration of the RS from the plurality of configurations of the RS .( see also claims 1 and 11, respectively: receiving, by a wireless device, one or more messages comprising: configuration parameters of a plurality of cells comprising a first secondary cell; and a reference signal configuration, associated with an identifier, for secondary cell activation); receiving, by the apparatus, media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, wherein the MAC CE signaling comprises an activation/deactivation status indicator field of a secondary cell and a temporary reference signal index indicator field on the secondary cell, and the activation/deactivation status indicator field of the secondary cell indicates activation of the secondary cell [0170-[0172] The wireless device may receive a first MAC CE and a second MAC CE, The first MAC CE may be for indication of the one or more SCells to be activated and the second MAC CE may be for triggering/activation/indication of RSs used in activation of the one or more SCells), wherein [0168] The first MAC CE may include a first field associated with activation of one or more cells and one or more second fields associated with activation of the RSs (temporary RSs) used in activation of the one or more cells. [0168] discloses the MAC CE may include a first field associated with activation of one or more cells and one or more second fields associated with activation of the RSs (temporary RSs) used in activation of the one or more cells; triggering, by the apparatus, the activation of the secondary cell in response to the MAC CE signaling, and receiving a temporary reference signal on the secondary cell based on the temporary reference signal configuration and the temporary reference signal index indicated by the temporary reference signal index indicator field on the secondary cell[0170]-[0172] The wireless device may receive a first MAC CE and a second MAC CE, The first MAC CE may be for indication of the one or more SCells to be activated and the second MAC CE may be for triggering/activation/indication of RSs used in activation of the one or more SCells), wherein [0168] The first MAC CE may include a first field associated with activation of one or more cells and one or more second fields associated with activation of the RSs (temporary RSs) used in activation of the one or more cells. [0168] discloses the MAC CE may include a first field associated with activation of one or more cells and one or more second fields associated with activation of the RSs (temporary RSs) used in activation of the one or more cells; (Abstract:The wireless device may receive a downlink transport block comprising MAC CE(s) indicating activation of the first secondary cell. A MAC CE, in the MAC CE(s), may comprise a first field with a first value indicating triggering transmission of reference signal(s) that are used in activation of the first secondary cell. The wireless device may activate the first secondary cell based on the reference signal(s). Babaei US 2022/0225215 A1 does not explicitly disclose the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a gap between different temporary reference signal bursts in a time domain. Takeda et al US20220116924A1 discloses the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a gap between different temporary reference signal bursts in a time domain [0083] the gap may be configurable by the BS via higher layer configurations, wherein the gap is between individual temporary RSs or temporary RS bursts and the gap is at the OFDM symbol-level, the slot-level, or the subframe-level (i.e. time domain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babaei by including the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a gap between different temporary reference signal bursts in a time domain, as taught by Takeda, in order to configure a gap between individual temporary RSs or temporary RS bursts (see Takeda [0083]).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Babaei US 2022/0225215 A1 discloses
27. (New) A method, comprising:
37. (New) An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and the at least one processor executing instructions (fig. 15 and [0136]-[0141] a base station comprising data processing system 1564 couple to the memory 1552, wherein the Memory 1552 that may store software code or instructions that may be executed by the Data Processing System 1564 )to cause the apparatus to:
sending, by an apparatus, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling configures a temporary reference signal set at a cell granularity, the temporary reference signal set comprises at least one temporary reference signal, the RRC signaling comprises a temporary reference signal configuration, and the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a temporary reference signal index[0170]-[0172] a wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of cells, configuration of the RS of a plurality of RS configurations, e.g., a plurality of RRC configured RS configurations , a configuration of RS may indicate the BWP (e.g., by including the BWP ID) and/or resources associated with transmission of the RS,For example, a field of the one or more fields may comprise a value/ID identifying the configuration of the RS from the plurality of configurations of the RS ( see claim 20); and
sending, by the apparatus, media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling, wherein the MAC CE signaling comprises an activation/deactivation status indicator field of a secondary cell and a temporary reference signal index indicator field on the secondary cell, and the activation/deactivation status indicator field of the secondary cell indicates activation of the secondary cell [0170-[0172] The wireless device may receive a first MAC CE and a second MAC CE, The first MAC CE may be for indication of the one or more SCells to be activated and the second MAC CE may be for triggering/activation/indication of RSs used in activation of the one or more SCells), wherein [0168] The first MAC CE may include a first field associated with activation of one or more cells and one or more second fields associated with activation of the RSs (temporary RSs) used in activation of the one or more cells, wherein (Abstract: The wireless device may receive a downlink transport block comprising MAC CE(s) indicating activation of the first secondary cell. A MAC CE, in the MAC CE(s), may comprise a first field with a first value indicating triggering transmission of reference signal(s) that are used in activation of the first secondary cell. The wireless device may activate the first secondary cell based on the reference signal(s).
Babaei US 2022/0225215 A1 does not explicitly disclose the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a gap between different temporary reference signal bursts in a time domain.
Takeda et al US20220116924A1 discloses the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a gap between different temporary reference signal bursts in a time domain [0083] the gap may be configurable by the BS via higher layer configurations, wherein the gap is between individual temporary RSs or temporary RS bursts and the gap is at the OFDM symbol-level, the slot-level, or the subframe-level (i.e. time domain)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Babaei by including the temporary reference signal configuration indicates a gap between different temporary reference signal bursts in a time domain, as taught by Takeda, in order to configure a gap between individual temporary RSs or temporary RS bursts (see Takeda [0083]).
Regrading claims 22,28,34 and 38 , the combination of Babaei and Takeda discloses all the features with respect to claims 21 ,27,33, and 37 , respectively. Babaei further discloses wherein the temporary reference signal configuration further indicates at least one of a quantity of temporary reference signal bursts in a time domain, [0277] A burst of a reference signal, in the one or more reference signals, may comprise one or more slots (i.e.,a time domain). In an example, the one or more reference signals may comprise a tracking reference signal (TRS). The one or more reference signals may be used by the wireless device for secondary cell activation; a frequency domain resource of the temporary reference signal, an offset of the temporary reference signal, or
an index of a bandwidth part [0171] a configuration of RS may indicate the BWP (e.g., by including the BWP ID) and/or resources associated with transmission of the RS. For example, a field of the one or more fields may comprise a value/ID identifying the configuration of the RS from the plurality of configurations of the RS.
Regrading claims 23,29 ,35and 39, the combination of Babaei and Takeda discloses all the features with respect to claims 21,27, 33, and 37, respectively. Babaei further discloses wherein the temporary reference signal [0292] the one or more reference signals may comprise an aperiodic reference signal) comprises an aperiodic channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) [0158] discloses The wireless device may receive the RS (e.g., the temporary RS) used in SCell activation (e.g., TRS, CSI-RS, etc.) and [0151]a base station may configure one or more of aperiodic CSI-RS, periodic and/or semi-persistent CSI-RS, SRS, and RS based on SSS/PSS as the RS used during SCell activation.
or
an aperiodic tracking reference signal (TRS)[0277] The one or more MAC CEs may comprise a MAC CE that indicates triggering/activation of one or more reference signals (e.g., temporary/aperiodic reference signals that are transmitted by the base station to the wireless device temporarily and based on the MAC CE trigger. In an example, the one or more reference signals may comprise a tracking reference signal (TRS). The one or more reference signals may be used by the wireless device for secondary cell activation.
Regrading claims 24, 30 ,36 and 40, the combination of Babaei and Takeda discloses all the features with respect to claims 21, 27 ,33, and 37, respectively. Babaei further discloses wherein a value of the activation/deactivation status indicator field of the secondary cell is 1 to indicate the activation of the secondary cell. [0171]an activation command (e.g., a command indicating SCell activation and/or triggering/activation of an RS used in SCell activation, and wherein the command may be a MAC CE or a DCI) may comprise a field indicating a cell to be activated. For example, the field may be a bitmap comprising a plurality of bits, wherein a bit of the plurality of the bits may be associated with a cell and a value of the bit (e.g., one) may indicate activation of the cell. Regrading claims 25 and 31 the combination of Babaei and Takeda discloses all the features with respect to claims 21 and 27, respectively. Babaei further discloses wherein information required for cell activation to complete the cell activation is obtained based on the temporary reference signal [0170-[0172] The wireless device may receive a first MAC CE and a second MAC CE, The first MAC CE may be for indication of the one or more SCells to be activated and the second MAC CE may be for triggering/activation/indication of RSs used in activation of the one or more SCells), wherein [0168] The first MAC CE may include a first field associated with activation of one or more cells and one or more second fields associated with activation of the RSs (temporary RSs) used in activation of the one or more cells; wherein (Abstract:The wireless device may receive a downlink transport block comprising MAC CE(s) indicating activation of the first secondary cell. A MAC CE, in the MAC CE(s), may comprise a first field with a first value indicating triggering transmission of reference signal(s) that are used in activation of the first secondary cell. The wireless device may activate the first secondary cell based on the reference signal(s).
Regrading claims 26 and 32, the combination of Babaei and Takeda discloses all the features with respect to claims 21 and 27, respectively. Babaei further discloses wherein the MAC CE signaling comprising the temporary reference signal index indicator field on the secondary cell is based on the activation/deactivation status indicator field in the MAC CE signaling indicating the activation of the secondary cell [0170-[0172] The wireless device may receive a first MAC CE and a second MAC CE, The first MAC CE may be for indication of the one or more SCells to be activated and the second MAC CE may be for triggering/activation/indication of RSs used in activation of the one or more SCells), wherein [0168] The first MAC CE may include a first field associated with activation of one or more cells and one or more second fields associated with activation of the RSs (temporary RSs) used in activation of the one or more cells; wherein (Abstract: The wireless device may receive a downlink transport block comprising MAC CE(s) indicating activation of the first secondary cell. A MAC CE, in the MAC CE(s), may comprise a first field with a first value indicating triggering transmission of reference signal(s) that are used in activation of the first secondary cell. The wireless device may activate the first secondary cell based on the reference signal(s).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant’s amendment to claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478