DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 01/15/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-22 has been considered and entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 17-20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 106713213 B)hereinafter Chen, in view of Zhang et al. (CN 112383499 A) Hereinafter Zhang, and further in view of Ryabkov et al. (CN 103378921 A)hereinafter Ryabkov; translated copy attached
As to claim 1. Chen teaches A data transmission method, comprising: ([0101] transmitting end encodes the original data to obtain the bit sequence..)
determining information about a first modulation constellation diagram; ([0104][0105][106] transmitting end performing constellation mapping for the M bit group according to the constellation diagram to obtain the M constellation points.
the constellation diagram is defined, according to the modulation order modulation order N=2, a constellation is a 4 point constellation, the modulation order is 4, constellation picture is 16 point constellation, modulation order is 6, the constellation picture is 64 point constellation, e.g., obtain information about constellation diagram)
and
communicating with a first device based on the first modulation constellation diagram([0154] transmitting end codes the original data to obtain the bit sequence, the bit sequence into M bit groups, each bit group comprises N bits, wherein M and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, performing constellation mapping of M bit group according to the constellation diagram to obtain the M constellation points, e.g., communicating with device )
wherein the first modulation constellation diagram comprises M constellation points, M is a positive integer, ([0065][0066] transmitting end encodes the original data to obtain the bit sequence, the bit sequence into M bit groups, each bit group comprises N bits, wherein M and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1, performing constellation mapping of M bit group according to constellation diagram to obtain the M constellation points, obtaining M phase of constellation points )
wherein the information about the first modulation constellation diagram comprises one of: ([0106] modulation constellation diagram is according to modulation order, provides mapping relationship for representing a group of bits and the constellation points)
Chen does not teach receiving, from a first device, indication indicating an identifier of a modulation constellation diagram group to which a first modulation constellation diagram belongs and an index of the first modulation constellation diagram in the modulation constellation diagram group
a value range of M1 constellation points in the first modulation constellation diagram, wherein M1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to M;
offsets of M1 constellation points in the first modulation constellation diagram relative to M1 constellation points in a reference modulation constellation diagram, wherein M1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to M; or
a rotation phase of the first modulation constellation diagram relative to a reference modulation constellation diagram.
Zhang teaches a value range of M1 constellation points in the first modulation constellation diagram, wherein M1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to M;
offsets of M1 constellation points in the first modulation constellation diagram relative to M1 constellation points in a reference modulation constellation diagram, wherein M1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to M; or
a rotation phase of the first modulation constellation diagram relative to a reference modulation constellation diagram. ([0065] the constellation points in the four quadrants still have a certain phase offset around the center of the constellation point in the respective quadrants. then taking the standard constellation diagram as the reference, the constellation points in each quadrant in the standard constellation diagram around the respective center for different phase rotation, assuming M different phases to rotate, then obtaining reference constellation diagram after phase rotation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Chen because Zhang teaches that obtaining by transmitting end the standard QAM sending end signal would allow to h greatly reduces the difficulty of synthesizing high-order modulation signal system, and makes the actual application of the system more feasible. (Zhang [0105])
The combination of Chen and Zhang does not teach receiving, from a first device, indication indicating an identifier of a modulation constellation diagram group to which a first modulation constellation diagram belongs and an index of the first modulation constellation diagram in the modulation constellation diagram group
Ryabkov teaches receiving, from a first device, indication indicating an identifier of a modulation constellation diagram group to which a first modulation constellation diagram belongs ([0033] Fig. 1, received signal refers to the signal received by the digital signal processing unit of the receiver; and the decision constellation point set refers to the set of multiple constellation points selected in the modulation constellation diagram referenced by the receiver during demodulation that need to participate in the calculation; the corresponding constellation point is identified, the data bit corresponding to that constellation point can be obtained according to the "constellation point-data bit mapping table")
and an index of the first modulation constellation diagram in the modulation constellation diagram group ([0067] each constellation point in the receiver's modulation constellation diagram corresponds to a data bit with three bits. For instance, the data bit corresponding to constellation point A is "001", the data bit corresponding to constellation point B is "100", and the data bit corresponding to constellation point C is "010",)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ryabkov with the teachings of Chen and Zhang because Ryabkov teaches that by selecting a decision region that includes some constellation points, the computational complexity would be reduced and the computational efficiency would be improved.(Ryabkov [0086])
Claims 17, and 20 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2 the combination of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov specifically Zhang teaches . The method according to claim 1, wherein the value range of the M1 constellation points in the first modulation constellation diagram comprises at least one of the following: an amplitude range of the M1 constellation points, and a phase range of the M1 constellation points. ([0092][0093]standard constellation diagram has the rotating phase is represented by β i, the signal after phase rotation is represented by qk, i represents, wherein i= 1, 2, ..., M.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Chen and Ryabkov because Zhang teaches that obtaining by transmitting end the standard QAM sending end signal would allow to h greatly reduces the difficulty of synthesizing high-order modulation signal system, and makes the actual application of the system more feasible. (Zhang [0105])
Claim 18 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3. the combination of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov specifically Chen teaches wherein the amplitude range of all of the M1 constellation points comprises: an amplitude extension range of the M1 constellation points relative to the M1 constellation points in the reference modulation constellation diagram. ([0106][0110] constellation can be standard APSK constellation, position of a constellation point in constellation diagram, M constellation points of coordinates are respectively (A1, phi 0 + phi 1), [A2, phi 0 + phi 1 + phi 2), (AM, phi 0 + phi 1 + phi 2 + phi 3 + ... + [phi] M), wherein Ai represents the amplitude of the ith constellation point, i = 1, 2, 3, ..., M),
Claim 19 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 4 the combination of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov specifically Chen teaches , wherein the phase range of the M1 constellation points comprises: a phase extension range of the M1 constellation points relative to the M1 constellation points in the reference modulation constellation diagram. ([0106][0109]standard APSK constellation, he constellation points, the invention mapping relation of the bit group and the constellation point; the sending end adjusting the phases of the M constellation points, specifically is as follows: adjusting the phi 1 is phi 0 + phi 1, phi 2 is phi 0 + phi 1 + phi 2, ..., phi M control is phi 0 + phi 1 + phi 2 + phi 3 + ... + [phi] M, wherein Phi 0 is the phase of the previous one symbol 0 or the first constellation point.)
Claim 21 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 22 , 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 107040487 B) Hereinafter Chen487 translated copy attached
As to claim 5. the combination of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov, does not teach wherein the first modulation constellation diagram is comprised in N1 modulation constellation diagrams, wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, wherein the N1 modulation constellation diagrams are modulation constellation diagrams corresponding to a terminal device of a first type, and wherein communicating with the first device comprises: transmitting data of a first terminal device with the first device, wherein a type of the first terminal device is the first type.
Chen487 teaches wherein the first modulation constellation diagram is comprised in N1 modulation constellation diagrams ([0104] two BPSK constellation diagram such as the two relative rotation pi/2 is a different constellation diagram version of the BPSK constellation diagram; two QPSK constellation diagrams of the relative rotation pi/4 is a different constellation diagram version of the QPSK constellation diagram; )
wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1,([0024] Nis an integer greater than 0)
wherein the N1 modulation constellation diagrams are modulation constellation diagrams corresponding to a terminal device of a first type, ([0104] NB-IoT device two QPSK constellation diagram)
and wherein communicating with the first device comprises: transmitting device data of a first terminal device with the first device, wherein a type of the first terminal device is the first type. ([0119] NB-IoT terminal sends the uplink data through the NB-PUSCH in QPSK modulation constellation diagram)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104])
Claim 22 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 7. the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487 specifically Chen487 teaches wherein the value range corresponds to the terminal device of the first type. ([0104] terminal device is NB-IoT device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104])
As to claim 8. the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487,specifcally Chen487 teaches wherein the offset corresponds to the terminal device of the first type. ([0104] r uplink transmission of the NB-IOT system comprises: pi/2BPSK and pi/4QPSK. pi/2BPSK uses respectively constellation diagram of two relative rotation pi/2 to modulate or sign phase correction in different symbol period, the carrier maximum phase hopping of two symbol periods is reduced from 180 degrees to 90 degrees; and pi/4QPSK in different symbol period respectively two relative rotating pi/4 QPSK constellation diagram)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104])
As to claim 9. the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487specifically Chen487 teaches wherein the rotation phase corresponds to the terminal device of the first type. ([0054][0055]Fig. 1, NB-IoT device, constellation version according to the parameter information of the transmission signal, and obtaining the first phase rotation angle corresponding to the designated constellation diagram version, and selecting the second phase rotation angle according to the information)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104])
As to claim 10 the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487specifically Chen487 teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending information about the N1 modulation constellation diagrams to the first device. ([0104] transmits uplink signal in NB-IoT system, pi/2BPSK and pi/4QPSK. pi/2BPSK uses respectively constellation diagram of two relative rotation pi/2 to modulate or sign phase correction in different symbol period, he BPSK constellation diagram such as the two relative rotation pi/2 is a different constellation diagram version of the BPSK constellation diagram; two QPSK constellation diagrams/N1, of the relative rotation pi/4 is a different constellation diagram version of the QPSK constellation diagram)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104])
As to claim 11. the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487specifcally Chen487 teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving information about the N1 modulation constellation diagrams from the first device. ([0125]Fig. 7, the NB-IoT terminal sends the uplink data through the NB-PUSCH. the terminal uses the QPSK modulation mode to modulate the data, while the pilot frequency uses the BPSK modulation mode. pilot constellation Con5 is one of subset constellations Con7 obtained by rotating 45 degrees counter-clockwise with the constellation Con6 of the information data on the OFDM symbol adjacent to the pilot,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104])
As to claim 12. the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487specifcally Chen487 teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending first indication information to the first device, wherein the first indication information indicates a recommended modulation constellation diagram. ([0119] Fig. 5, NB-IoT terminal sends the uplink data through the NB-PUSCH. in TTIs, the terminal repeatedly sends a transmission block through the TTI level, a total of R= 3 times, the modulation mode is QPSK. The modulation mode of the pilot frequency is also QPSK. the three TTI bearing the same data of the OFDM symbol has the same constellation diagram version/suggests.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104])
As to claim 13. the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487 specifically Chen487 teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving second indication information from the first device, wherein the second indication information indicates the first modulation constellation diagram. ([0119] Fig. 5, NB-IoT terminal sends the uplink data through the NB-PUSCH. FIG. 5 is a TTI bearing diagram the terminal repeatedly/ second indication, sends a transmission block through the TTI level, a total of R= 3 times, the modulation mode is QPSK/second indication)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen487 with the teachings of Chen, Zhang and Ryabkov because Chen487 teaches that using two
relatively rotated pi/4 QPSK constellations in different symbol periods would reduce , PAPR for transmitting data, power amplifier efficiency can be effectively improved, the energy consumption is saved, the cost is reduced and the coverage is ensured.(Chen487[0104]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Zhang Ryabkov Chen487 and further in view of Michaels (US 20180241464 A1) Hereinafter Michaels
As to claim 16. the combination of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487 does not teach wherein the second indication information further indicates a bit rate corresponding to the communication.
Michaels teaches wherein the second indication information further indicates a bit rate corresponding to the communication. ([0034] [0044] he PDCCH is QPSK modulated the length of this DCI is 144, 288, or 432 bits for L=1, 2, 3. , downlink bit rate to the virtual radio access network data centers (VRAN))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Michaels with the teachings of Chen, Zhang, Ryabkov and Chen487 because Michaels teaches that modest lossless compression ratio of 4 allow downlink bit rate to the VRAN to be reduced to about 20% of the bit rate required for trivial streaming of the raw sampled data. (Michaels [0044])
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 6, 14, 15, is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 6 prior art Xin et al. [US 20210160116 A1]discloses in para [0095] [0095] In an implementation of the embodiment of the present application, the insertion unit is further configured to: when the constellation point modulation performed on the first data sequence is π/2-BPSK, insert the third datum y(j) between each pair of the first datum x(i) and the second datum x(i+1) which are adjacent to each other; where a modulus of y(j) is equal to a modulus of a π/2-BPSK modulated datum, the phase of y(j) is within the angle between x(i) and x(i+1), and an angle between y(j) and x(i) and an angle between y(j) and x(i+1) each have a value of π/4.
And in para [0100] i and k are both non-negative integers (i is a non-negative integer from 0, 1, . . . , N−1, k is 0, 1, . . . , 2N−2, or k is a non-negative integer from 0, 1, . . . , 2N−1), N is a positive integer, and θ is a constant.
And in prior art Chappaz . [US 20110122970 A1] teaches in [0058] for an input stream comprising k symbols, the complete phase rotation of the constellation diagram 56 which is applied in .pi./2-offset 2PSK modulation at the transition to the k.sup.th symbol is defined by the following expression:
.pi. / 2 - offset 2 P S K Phase Rotation = 4 .times. k .pi. 8 = k .pi. 2 ##EQU00001##
[0059] In 8PSK modulation, possible symbol values are: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7, which are located at respective positions: 60, 64, 68, 72, 76, 80, 84 and 88. An equivalent phase rotation expression for 3.pi./8-offset 8PSK modulation, expressed in the same terms as the above .pi./2-offset 2PSK phase rotation expression, is defined as follows: 3 .pi. / 8 - offset 8 P S K Phase Rotation = 3 .times. k .pi. 8 ##EQU00002##
And prior art Chen et al. [CN 107040487 B] discloses in para [0104]transmits uplink signal in NB-IoT system, pi/2BPSK and pi/4QPSK. pi/2BPSK uses respectively constellation diagram of two relative rotation pi/2 to modulate or sign phase correction in different symbol period, he BPSK constellation diagram such as the two relative rotation pi/2 is a different constellation diagram version of the BPSK constellation diagram; two QPSK constellation diagrams/N1, of the relative rotation pi/4 is a different constellation diagram version of the QPSK constellation diagram
However, combination or prior arts records Xin, Chappaz, Chen487 does not teach
For claim 6,
wherein the N1 modulation constellation diagrams and N2 modulation constellation diagrams are comprised in N3 modulation constellation diagrams, N3 is an integer greater than N1 and N2, and N2 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and wherein the N2 modulation constellation diagrams are modulation constellation diagrams corresponding to a terminal device of a second type.
For claim 14
wherein the second indication information indicates an identifier of a modulation constellation diagram group to which the first modulation constellation diagram belongs and an index of the first modulation constellation diagram in the modulation constellation diagram group.
Therefore, claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this office action and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claims of claim 18 would also be allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HUSSEIN; ASSEM SHOUKRY MOHAMED et al. [US 20210377086 A1] MODULATION SCHEME FOR HIGH ORDER CONSTELLATION
Xin; Yu et al. [US 20210160116 A1] DATA MODULATION METHOD AND APPARATUS
Michaels; Paris [US 20180241464 A1] MOBILE SATELLITE COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413