DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/28/26. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (2017/0033507) in view of Tan (CN101694912A).
With regard to claim 18, Tsai teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “An electrical connector 1, comprising: a housing 10; and a stamped and bent part 15 inserted into the housing 10, the stamped and bent part 15 has a plate-shaped section 151 and a pin section 155 projecting from the plate-shaped section 151… the pin section 155 protrudes through a wall (right wall of 10 perpendicular to the extension direction of 151 in figure 8) of the housing 10, a side of the wall facing the plate-shaped section 151 and an opposite side of the wall facing a part of the pin section 155 protruding from the wall, the bending section (bent portion at the top of 155 in figure 8) is on the opposite side of the wall”.
Tsai does not teach: “the stamped and bent part has a main grain direction, the pin section has a bending section at which the pin section is bent about a bending axis, the bending axis is perpendicular to the main grain direction”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Tan teaches, as shown in figures 1-3: “the stamped and bent part 1 has a main grain direction A, the pin section 11 has a bending section (between 10 and 11 in figure 2) at which the pin section 11 is bent about a bending axis (axis perpendicular to figure 2 at the point in the middle of the bending section around which the bending section bends in figure 2), the bending axis is perpendicular to the main grain direction A”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the features of Tan with the invention of Tsai in order to improve function and service life of the stamped and bent part (Tan, translation, paragraph 22).
With regard to claim 20, Tsai as modified by Tan teaches: “The electrical connector of claim 18”, as shown above.
Tsai also teaches, as shown in figures 1-8: “wherein the part of the pin section 155 protruding through the housing 10 forms a contact section and is accessible outside the housing 10”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 1, the prior art of record does not anticipate or render obvious the limitations: “each of the plate-shaped section and the pin section have a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface respectively along a thickness direction, the first surface of the plate- shaped section and the first surface of the pin section are in a same plane” when combined with the rest of the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 is therefore allowable.
Claims 2-15 include all the limitations of claim 1 and are therefore also allowable.
With regard to claim 16, the prior art of record does not anticipate or render obvious the limitations: “each of the plate-shaped section and the pin section have a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface respectively along a thickness direction, the first surface of the plate-shaped section and the first surface of the pin section are in a same plane” when combined with the rest of the limitations of claim 16. Claim 16 is therefore allowable.
Claim 17 includes all the limitations of claim 16 and is therefore also allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to claim 18, the Applicant argues that the cited references do not anticipate or render obvious the limitation “a side of the wall faces the plate-shaped section and an opposite side of the wall faces a part of the pin section protruding from the wall, the bending section is on the opposite side of the wall”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, since the language of the claim is broad enough that Tsai anticipates this limitation (see labeled figure below).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN M KRATT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831