DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 of the claim recite “wherein evaluating the mura degree of the virtual image based on the mura type, further comprising” which should read “wherein evaluating the mura degree of the virtual image based on the mura type further comprises” for grammatical correctness. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an image generator configured to render a virtual image” and
“a positioner coupled with the image generator and the imager, and configured to control a relative position of the near-eye display and the imager”
in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richards (U.S. Patent 9,905,168).
As to claim 1, Richards discloses a method for detecting a mura of a virtual image in a near-eye display, comprising:
acquiring the virtual image rendered in the near-eye display (fig. 1; col. 10, lines 32-53; a virtual reality image is rendered in an HMD, which is a near-eye display; it is acquired by a colorimeter, which measures color values at a number of points in the display);
extracting a mura feature of the virtual image according to a mura type (col. 10, line 54-col. 11, line 39; non-uniformity features, reading on mura, are extracted based on measurements for various types of mura, such as brightness non-uniformities, color non-uniformities, high-frequency non-uniformities, and low-frequency non-uniformities);
and evaluating a mura degree of the virtual image based on the mura type (col. 10, line 54-col. 11, line 39; different degrees of non-uniformity/mura are associated with different correction factors for each of the types of non-uniformity; and the difference measurements for type of non-uniformity, such as brightness non-uniformity and color non-uniformity, are used to determine the correction factors).
As to claim 2, Richards discloses wherein the mura type comprises a corner mura, a cloud mura, or a global mura (col. 11, lines 26-39; col. 12, lines 7-36; type can include low frequency across an entire display, which would read on global mura, or high-frequency in a specific area which would read on cloud mura).
As to claim 4, Richards discloses wherein extracting the mura feature of the virtual image according to the mura type, comprises: extracting, when the mura type is the cloud mura, the mura feature based on a spatial gradient profile or frequency domain (col. 11, lines 26-39; non-uniformity/mura type is evaluated using frequency; non-uniformity in a specific area, which would read on cloud mura, is evaluated using high-frequency calibration data).
As to claim 5, Richards discloses wherein extracting the mura feature of the virtual image according to the mura type, comprises: extracting, when the mura type is the global mura, the mura feature based on a global profile (col. 11, lines 26-39; col. 12, lines 24-36; if the mura/non-uniformity is global across the entire display panel, it is determined/extracted based on a low-frequency calibration and a profile of what users will tolerate in global/entire panel non-uniformity).
As to claim 8, Richards discloses wherein evaluating the mura degree of the virtual image based on the mura type, further comprises determining one or more primary mura types of the virtual image; and evaluating the mura degree of the virtual image based on one or more preset thresholds corresponding to the one or more primary mura types (col. 11, lines 26-39; col. 12, lines 7-36; depending on a frequency type of the non-uniformities/mura that is identified as part of the image, which would read on a “primary” mura type, different thresholds are used to evaluate correction of the non-uniformities/mura).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards in view of Wang (CN 106782251 A, herein represented by a translation).
As to claim 3, Richards does not disclose, but Wang discloses wherein extracting the mura feature of the virtual image according to the mura type, comprises: extracting, when the mura type is the corner mura, the mura feature based on a luminance threshold profile (p. 5; p. 7; to evaluate corner mura, the luminance is compared to a threshold to determine if it is greater in scale). The motivation for extracting mura and then evaluating based on luminance is that dividing into areas and then evaluating is a fast, simple method of image processing to detect screen quality (p. 6). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to extract, when the mura type is the corner mura, the mura feature based on a luminance threshold profile in order to use a fast, simple method of image processing to detect screen quality as taught by Wang.
As to claim 9, Richards does not disclose, but Wang discloses wherein the corner mura is determined as the primary mura type (p. 5-6; corner mura is determined as the primary defect class/area based on comparisons between areas in the display). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 10, Wang discloses wherein the one or more preset thresholds comprises: a luminance scale threshold corresponding to the corner mura, or an area size threshold corresponding to the cloud mura (p. 5; p. 7; to evaluate corner mura, the luminance is compared to a threshold to determine if it is greater in scale). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the preset threshold is .132 or 13.2% (p. 5), rather than the claimed luminance scale threshold of 30%, and Richards discloses wherein the preset threshold of the area size threshold appears to be between 5% and 10% (fig. 5a) rather than the claimed threshold of 30%. However, applicant’s disclosure does not show any criticality for the 30%, instead giving this an example at section 0052 of the specification while also stating that 1% differences are insignificant while 8% differences are more serious than 5% differences. Given the lack of criticality of the 30% threshold in applicant’s disclosure, one skilled in the art would expect smaller, but still greater than or equal to the 5% example given in applicant’s disclosure, to work just as well, rendering the threshold values in Wang and Richards as obvious variations of the claimed threshold value. See MPEP 2144.05, which states, regarding similar proportions, that a reference teaching proportions of 0.7:1 of alkali to water, renders unpatentable a claim that increased the proportion to at least 1:1 because there was no showing that the claimed proportions were critical. Similar to the 0.3 difference in the case discussed in MPEP 2144.05, Wang and Richards show differences of 0.17-0.25 to the claimed invention but can still be considered obvious variations of the claimed invention because of the lack of criticality for the “30%” threshold in applicant’s disclosure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards in view of Hong (U.S. Publication 2021/0366392).
As to claim 6, Richards discloses extracting mura feature according to the mura type as discussed in the rejection to claim 1. Richards does not disclose, but Hong discloses before extracting the mura feature of the virtual image, the method further comprises: translating the virtual image into a pseudo-color image, wherein the pseudo-color image presents an absolute luminance distribution or a relative luminance distribution (fig. 4; p. 2, section 0015; p. 4, section 0063-0065; p. 6, sections 0088-0092; before extracting/correcting for a mura issue, the image is translated to a luminance distribution which can be an overall/absolute luminance profile/distribution or one scaled by block currents, which would be relative). The motivation for this is to properly compensate driving voltage based on actual display values (p. 1, sections 0004-0006). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to translate the virtual image into a pseudo-color image, wherein the pseudo-color image presents an absolute luminance distribution or a relative luminance distribution before mura feature extraction in order to properly compensate driving voltage based on actual display values as taught by Hong.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards in view of Buckley (U.S. Publication 2023/0236429).
As to claim 7, Richards discloses extracting mura features of the virtual image based on the mura type as discussed in the rejection to claim 1. Richards does not disclose, but Buckley discloses wherein before extracting mura features of the virtual image, the method further comprises: plotting the virtual image as a 3D surface to obtain a 3D image (p. 1-2, section 0005; the VR/virtual image is plotted as a surface with X, Y, Z coordinates at different eye relief distances before extracting information about display non-uniformities/mura). The motivation for this is to compensate for a user’s custom eye position. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to plot the virtual image as a 3D surface to obtain a 3D image before mura extraction in order to compensate for a user’s custom eye position as taught by Buckley.
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards in view of Stan (U.S. Publication 2021/0210007).
As to claim 12, Richards does not disclose, but Stan discloses wherein acquiring the virtual image rendered in the near-eye display (p. 3, section 0023; p. 6, sections 0056-0059; a virtual image test pattern is rendered and acquired by a measurement device such as a camera; the display is a virtual-reality head-mounted display, which reads on a near-eye display), further comprise acquiring the virtual image under a solid test pattern or multiple partial test patterns, wherein the partial test patterns are with various gray values and colors (p. 6, section 0056; p. 8, section 0082; various patterns including setting each of a particular sub-pixel in an image to particular values, such as 16, 32, etc. are used to reduce mura; the patterns are solid colors since each a particular sub-pixel is set to an equal value; they are also partial test patterns since they are only single components at once- R pixels are separate from G, etc.). The motivation for this is to calculate de-mura offsets for each pixel or sub-pixel (p. 6, section 0061). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to acquire the virtual image under a solid test pattern or multiple partial test patterns, wherein the partial test patterns are with various gray values and colors in order to calculate de-mura offsets for each pixel or sub-pixel as taught by Stan.
As to claim 15, Stan discloses wherein the virtual image is rendered under an ambient light condition (p. 9, section 0087; the virtual image is rendered at a particular ambient light level, and compensation is changed based on whether than level meets a threshold). Motivation for the combination of references is given in the rejection to claim 12.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards in view of Stan and further in view of Chung (U.S. Publication 2007/0091041).
As to claims 13 and 14, Stan discloses test patterns as noted in the rejection to claim 12. Stan does not disclose, but Chung discloses wherein the test pattern is a full white test pattern or a full gray test pattern (p. 1-2, section 0021; the test pattern can be white, black, or any shade of gray in between on a 0-255 scale). The motivation for this is to set different compensations for different locations and input values (p. 2, section 0022-0023). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards and Stan to use test patterns of full white test pattern and full gray in order to set different compensations for different locations and input values as taught by Chung.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards in view of Moertelmaier (U.S. Publication 2019/0362481).
As to claim 16, Richards does not disclose, but Moertelmaier discloses wherein before extracting the mura feature of the virtual image according to the mura type, the method further comprises: preprocessing the virtual image by eliminating one or more of a noise or a distortion (p. 3, section 0032-p. 4, section 0037; before local mura defects are calculated according to patterns/types, artifacts and noise are removed from the combined image, which can read on a virtual image since it is a combined image rather than a single real image that corresponds to a camera output). The motivation for this is to enhance the quality of the evaluated image. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to preprocess the virtual image by eliminating one or more of a noise or a distortion before extracting the mura feature of the virtual image according to the mura type in order to enhance the quality of the evaluated image as taught by Moertelmaier.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richards in view of Jia (U.S. Publication 2023/0059052).
As to claim 17, Richards discloses a system for detecting a mura in a virtual image rendered in a near-eye display, comprising:
an image generator configured to render a virtual image; an imager configured to acquire the virtual image (fig. 1; col. 10, lines 32-53; a virtual reality image is rendered in an HMD, which is a near-eye display; it is acquired by a colorimeter, which measures color values at a number of points in the display);
and a processor coupled with the imager and configured to evaluate a mura degree of the virtual image (col. 7, lines 25-33; col. 10, line 54-col. 11, line 39; different degrees of non-uniformity/mura are determined and associated with different correction factors for each of the types of non-uniformity).
Richards does not disclose, but Jia discloses a positioner coupled with the image generator and the imager, and configured to control a relative position of the near-eye display and the imager (fig. 1; p. 1, section 0015-p. 2, section 0022; p. 3, section 0034; p. 4, section 0037; an orientation controller acts as a positioner to change the position of the eye system, which includes a camera that acts as an imager, relative to the HMD/near-eye display being imaged). The motivation for this is that a static camera is insufficient to confirm responsiveness of a display. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richards to include a positioner coupled with the image generator and the imager, and configured to control a relative position of the near-eye display and the imager in order to confirm responsiveness of a display as taught by Jia.
As to claim 18, see the rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 19, see the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 20, Richards does not disclose, but Jia discloses wherein the imager comprises: a near-eye display lens configured to emulate a human eye for acquiring the virtual image and a light measuring device configured to measure the virtual image (fig. 1; p. 1, section 0015-p. 2, section 0025; the lens focuses light from a virtual reality image to a camera system that is a light measuring device to measure the image for testing purposes). Motivation for the combination is given in the rejection to claim 17.
Conclusion
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617