Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (CON of PCT/JP2022/002828, filed 26 January 2022) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority (JP2021-011579, filed 28 January 2021) under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments filed 04 August 2026 have been entered. Claim 1 has been amended; new Claims 7-9 have been added. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Regarding the rejections of Claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HYODO et al. (JP 2016175063 A), Applicant’s amendments are persuasive; these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been made for Claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HYODO et al. (JP 2016175063 A) in view of HASEGAWA et al. (US 2020/0269188 A1) with evidentiary support from HOEHN (US 3,822,202).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04 August 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to HYODO preferably performing a regeneration step in an air atmosphere being differentiated from the as-amended claim now requiring a low oxygen atmosphere is noted (pg. 6-8). Such an amendment was persuasive to withdraw the rejection. Thus, while Applicant’s arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive because they are directed to grounds of rejection that have been withdrawn. Therefore, the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the presently pending claims.
New Claims 7-9 have also been addressed in the following prior art rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HYODO et al. (JP 2016175063 A; machine translation previously provided and referenced herein) in view of HASEGAWA et al. (US 2020/0269188 A1) with evidentiary support from HOEHN (US 3,822,202).
Regarding Claim 1, HYODO discloses a method for restoring the separation performance of a DDR-type zeolite membrane utilizing a thermal regeneration process (i.e., [a] membrane heat treatment method for heating a membrane; abstract). Briefly, the DDR-type zeolite membrane comprises a DDR-type zeolite with pores formed by a polyhedron containing an oxygen 8-membered ring (i.e., a membrane having small pores; pg. 3, par. 1). During treatment of a mixed fluid, compounds of the mixed fluid degrade the membrane by adhering to and depositing on the membrane surface and pores (i.e., a membrane… with adsorbates adsorbed therein; pg. 1, par. 1) to the point that the “permeation characteristics” are lowered and a regeneration process to recover the permeation characteristics is necessitated (par. spanning pg. 3-4).
This regeneration process entails heating the zeolite membrane to a predetermined regeneration temperature between 100 °C and 550 °C at a temperature increasing rate of 1 °C/hr to 100 °C/hr (i.e., raising a temperature of the membrane to an intermediate heating temperature; heating and keeping said membrane at said intermediate heating temperature for a predetermined period of time; raising the temperature of said membrane to a main heating temperature that is higher than said intermediate heating temperature) for a predetermined holding time of 2 hrs to 30 hrs (i.e., heating and keeping said membrane at said main heating temperature for a predetermined period of time; pg. 4, pars. 1-2). Under such a regenerative process, the adhered/deposited compounds are desorbed and removed thereby improving membrane permeation flux (pg. 4, par. 3).
HYODO is deficient in disclosing the membrane heat treatment method is performed in a heat-treatment atmosphere that is a low oxygen atmosphere having a lower oxygen concentration than in an ambient atmosphere.
HASEGAWA discloses the regeneration of gas separation membranes in a gas separation device (abstract), specifically membranes made from zeolites (p0036). Due to a decrease in permeation performance of the separation membrnaes caused by increased adsorption of impurities, the prior art teaches the use of heat and carbon dioxide to accelerate the molecular movement of the adhered impurities (p0048) for a predetermined period of time (p0055). As evidenced by HOEHN, heat treatment of a gas separation membrane in an inert gas that is not oxygen or air at high temperatures is preferable to avoid the oxidative degradation of the membrane (c2/17-24). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a more inert atmosphere, e.g., carbon dioxide, to heat and regenerate zeolite membranes as taught by HASEGAWA and motivated by HOEHN for the method disclosed by HYODO.
The prior art is deficient in explicitly disclosing “a first recovery amount that is a difference in permeability of said membrane between after said operation b) and before said operation a) is 50% or more and 95% or less of a second recovery amount that is a difference in permeability of said membrane between after said operation d) and before said operation a)”. However, the recited limitation is directed toward an inherent result from the practice of the claimed method, i.e., because the prior art discloses or makes obvious all claimed method steps (a) through (d) as claimed, the end result of the instantly recited limitation is necessarily expected. “[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention.” (Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP §2112 II).
Regarding Claim 2, modified HYODO makes obvious the membrane heat treatment method of Claim 1. The prior art is deficient in explicitly disclosing “said permeability of said membrane after (n+ 1) times repetitions of degradation of said permeability of said membrane and said operations a) to d) is 95% or more of said permeability of said membrane after n times repetitions of degradation of said permeability of said membrane and said operations a) to d), where n is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 2000”. However, the recited limitation is directed toward an inherent result from the practice of the claimed method, i.e., because the prior art discloses or makes obvious all claimed method steps (a) through (d) as claimed, the end result of the instantly recited limitation is necessarily expected. “[T]he fact that a characteristic is a necessary feature or result of a prior-art embodiment (that is itself sufficiently described and enabled) is enough for inherent anticipation, even if that fact was unknown at the time of the prior invention.” (Toro Co. v. Deere & Co., 355 F.3d 1313, 1320, 69 USPQ2d 1584, 1590 (Fed. Cir. 2004); MPEP §2112 II).
Regarding Claim 3, modified HYODO makes obvious the membrane heat treatment method of Claim 1. HYODO further discloses the predetermined regeneration temperature is up to 550 °C from presumably room temperature (e.g., during treatment of a mixed fluid) at a temperature increasing rate of 1 °C/hr to 100 °C/hr (pg. 4, pars. 1-2). Indeed, in one example, HYODO discloses a predetermined regeneration temperature of 380 °C (pg. 5, par. 5). This implies that to reach the predetermined regeneration temperature, the temperature must be gradually increased and thereby cross the recited range of an intermediate heating temperature higher than or equal to 60 °C and lower than or equal to 180 °C and therefore, establishes a case of prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 4, modified HYODO makes obvious the membrane heat treatment method of Claim 1. HYODO further discloses the predetermined regeneration temperature is 380 °C (pg. 5, par. 5), which reads on the recited range of a main heating temperature is higher than or equal to 150 °C and lower than or equal to 450 °C.
Regarding Claim 5, modified HYODO makes obvious the membrane heat treatment method of Claim 1. HYODO further discloses the DDR-type zeolite membrane comprises a DDR-type zeolite (i.e., said membrane is a zeolite membrane; pg. 3, par. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, modified HYODO makes obvious the membrane heat treatment method of Claim 5. HYODO further discloses the DDR-type zeolite membrane comprises a DDR-type zeolite with pores formed by a polyhedron containing an oxygen 8-membered ring (i.e., said zeolite membrane is composed of a maximum 8-membered ring zeolite; pg. 3, par. 1).
Regarding Claims 7-9, modified HYODO makes obvious the membrane heat treatment method of Claim 1. As noted earlier, HASEGAWA teaches the use of heated carbon dioxide to regenerate zeolite separation membranes (i.e., the oxygen concentration in said heat-treatment atmosphere is 10% or less by volume (Claim 7); the oxygen concentration in said heat-treatment atmosphere is 5% or less by volume (Claim 8); said heat-treatment atmosphere is nitrogen gas or carbon dioxide gas (Claim 9); p0048-0049).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: MIYAHARA et al. (US 2015/0224487 A1) discloses a zeolite membrane regeneration method (p0058-0068) whereby a zeolite membrane is regenerated at or above the oxidative pyrolysis temperature of 425°C (p0063); however, this prior art fails to explicitly disclose a low oxygen atmosphere.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772