Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al (WO 2018175812; hereinafter Nguyen) in view of Bae et al (US 20210118587; hereinafter Bae) and RU 2231838 (hereinafter RU ‘838) or Ishii et al (US 20140194665; hereinafter Ishii).
As regarding claim 11, Nguyen discloses the claimed invention for a method for producing an off-gas filter, the method comprising 3D printing the filter (title and claim 1) from a polymer composition comprising a polymeric matrix and sorbent (abstract).
Nguyen does not disclose a cesium sorbent. Bae teaches a cesium sorbent {for adsorbing and separating radioactive chemical wastes from radioactive chemical waste-containing fluid (including waste water or gas); abstract and [0008], [0096]}. Both Nguyen and Bae are directed to an adsorption member for separating undesired fluid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a cesium sorbent as taught by Bae in order to adsorbing and separating radioactive chemical waste.
Nguyen as modified does not disclose the cesium sorbent dispersed within the matrix. RU ‘838 teaches the cesium sorbent dispersed within the matrix. Both Nguyen and RU ‘838 are directed to an adsorption element for separating pollutants. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide the cesium sorbent dispersed within the matrix as taught by RU ‘838 in order to create a safer, more durable, low-dust, uniform, and easily processed filtration medium that maintains high cesium uptake and prevents the release of sorbent particles.
Nguyen as modified does not disclose a cesium sorbent dispersed within the matrix, wherein 3D printing the filter forms a polymer structure having a portion of the cesium sorbent exposed on a surface of the polymer structure for direct exposure to a vapor stream. Ishii teaches a cesium sorbent dispersed within the matrix, wherein 3D printing the filter forms a polymer structure having a portion of the cesium sorbent exposed on a surface of the polymer structure for direct exposure to a vapor stream ([0048]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide a cesium sorbent dispersed within the matrix, wherein 3D printing the filter forms a polymer structure having a portion of the cesium sorbent exposed on a surface of the polymer structure for direct exposure to a vapor stream as taught by Ishii in order to increase direct contact between the sorbent and the vapor or fluid stream, thereby improving cesium adsorption kinetics and sorption efficiency.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al (WO 2018175812; hereinafter Nguyen) in view of Bae et al (US 20210118587; hereinafter Bae) and RU 2231838 (hereinafter RU ‘838) or Ishii et al (US 20140194665; hereinafter Ishii), as applied supra, and further in view of Liang et al (US 20200317870; hereinafter Liang).
As regarding claim 12, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein 3D printing comprises stereolithography. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein 3D printing comprises stereolithography in order to provide strong, durable, support-free printing with high geometric freedom and efficient batch production, making it ideal for functional prototypes and end-use parts, since it was known in the art as shown in Liang ([0002]-[0003] and claim 2).
As regarding claim 13, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the polymer matrix comprises a photopolymerizable resin (Liang – [0075]).
As regarding claim 14, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the photopolymerizable resin comprises an acrylate or methacrylate polymer (Liang – [0075]).
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al (WO 2018175812; hereinafter Nguyen) in view of Bae et al (US 20210118587; hereinafter Bae) and RU 2231838 (hereinafter RU ‘838) or Ishii et al (US 20140194665; hereinafter Ishii), as applied supra, and further in view of Nakamura et al (US 20240140026; hereinafter Nakamura).
As regarding claim 15, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein 3D printing comprises selective laser sintering. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein 3D printing comprises selective laser sintering in order to produce strong, accurate, highly complex 3D-printed parts without the need for support structures, and provide a powder-supported printing process that delivers excellent mechanical properties, high design freedom, efficient batch production, and minimal post-processing, since it was known in the art as shown in Nakamura ([0054], [0077]).
As regarding claim 16, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the polymer matrix comprises a polyamide resin (Nakamura – [0077]).
As regarding claim 17, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the polyamide resin comprises PA11 and/or PA12 (Nakamura – [0077]).
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al (WO 2018175812; hereinafter Nguyen) in view of Bae et al (US 20210118587; hereinafter Bae) and RU 2231838 (hereinafter RU ‘838) or Ishii et al (US 20140194665; hereinafter Ishii), as applied supra, and further in view of Sakuma et al (US 20200129956; hereinafter Sakuma).
As regarding claim 18, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the cesium sorbent comprises crystalline silicotitanate particles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the cesium sorbent comprises crystalline silicotitanate particles in order to selectively and efficiently remove cesium even in harsh, high-salt, and high-radiation environments, provide a rigid, inorganic crystal structure that offers exceptional high cesium selectivity, high ion-exchange capacity, strong chemical and radiation stability, fast sorption kinetics and minimal swelling or leaching, since it was known in the art as shown in Sakuma (abstract, [0045]).
As regarding claim 19, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the crystalline silicotitanate particles further comprise zirconium hydroxide (Sakuma – [0045]).
As regarding claim 20, Nguyen as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Nguyen as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the crystalline silicotitanate particles have a weight-average particle size less than 45 µm (Sakuma – abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773