DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 04/21/026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivier (US 20210188686 A1) in view of Duan (CN 113402159 A, See Espacenet Machine Translation).
Re Claim 14, Olivier discloses, on Fig. 2 (specific embodiment) and Fig. 5 (general arrangement), a method for forming a sheet of glass into a mirror, comprising: (a) supporting a flat or planar glass sheet (Fig. 2: Glass 334) [Par 36] with a support structure (skeleton 333) only in a first region on an underside of the glass sheet (region of glass sheet 334 between and around skeleton 333, see Fig. 5 for more complete figure with skeleton 2); (b) a load structure (Fig. 2: counter skeleton 331) [Par 36] only in a second region on a top side of the glass sheet (Fig. 2: counter skeleton 334 and Fig. 5: counter skeleton 8 are in a second region above the glass) [Par 55]; (c) heating the glass sheet, supported between the load structure and the support structure, to a slumping temperature (Counter skeleton provides specific thermal benefits for glass slumping during glass heating in furnace ) [Par 16 and 33-34] so as to form a curved mirrored surface of the glass sheet (curved or bent glass is inherently reflective and thus at least slightly mirrored) [Par 5-11], when the first region is the only contact region with the glass sheet (Fig. 5: skeleton 2 is the only contact region on the glass) other than with an atmosphere through an opening in the load structure ( Fig. 2 and 5: counter skeleton 334 and 8 have an opening for contact with an atmosphere) [Par 55]
But Olivier does not explicitly disclose, loading the glass sheet with a load distribution using a load structure, and when the first region and second region are the only contact regions with the glass sheet.
However, Olivier teaches in an alternate embodiment, that it is desirable to include loading the glass sheet with a load distribution using a load structure (“…it is on the one hand quite possible for the counter-skeleton to be in partial contact with the glass, in particular at the middle or close to the middle of the top and bottom sides of the glass”, “…it is possible to force the glass to bend due to the descent of the counter-skeleton.”)[Par 33], the first region and second region are the only contact regions with the glass sheet (See Fig. 2 and 5 where if the counter skeleton was in contact with the glass, skeletons 333 and 2 and counter skeletons 334 and 8 would be the only contact points) [Par 36 and 55].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Olivier, in order to provide, to facilitate the main bending of the glass and thus to reduce the forming cycle time, as taught by Olivier [Par 33].
But modified Olivier does not explicitly disclose, wherein the method comprises an iterative process, comprising: measuring at least one of a surface roughness or a curvature of the curved mirrored surface (curvature detection error ; comparing the surface roughness with a target surface roughness to obtain a roughness error and/or comparing the curvature with a target curvature to obtain a curvature error; repeating steps (a)-(c) using the load distribution comprising a modified load distribution determined using the roughness error and the slumping temperature comprising a modified slumping temperature determined using the curvature error.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Dua teaches, on Fig. Table 1, that it is desirable in glass curving methods, wherein the method comprises measuring a curvature of the curved mirrored surface (Table 1: Comparative examples are compared to a standard rearview mirror curvature after production) [Par 84-91]; and comparing the curvature with a target curvature to obtain a curvature error [Par 84-91]; repeating steps (a)-(c) using the load distribution comprising a modified load distribution determined using the slumping temperature comprising a modified slumping temperature determined using the curvature error (“…softening it by heating it at different temperatures (above 560°C) 3-5 times. After softening, the glass blank can be shaped into the required shape by its own weight or by applying pressure, and then cooled to room temperature.”, heating at different temperatures and repeatedly cooling to the desired shape… the thermoforming process can be adjusted according to the different thicknesses, shapes, and outlines of the glass blank. Different products require different parameters, and the specific selection should be based on the needs. There are no restrictions here.) [Par n0012-n0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Olivier with Dua in order to provide, a better fit between the glass and the mold as taught by Dua [Par n0011-n0015].
But Olivier in view of Dua does not explicitly disclose, the iterative process, comprising: measuring at least one of a surface roughness or a curvature of the curved mirrored surface.
However, since Dua does teach, iterative process of glass curving (“…softening it by heating it at different temperatures (above 560°C) 3-5 times. After softening, the glass blank can be shaped into the required shape by its own weight or by applying pressure, and then cooled to room temperature.”, heating at different temperatures and repeatedly cooling to the desired shape), and curvature error calculation (See Table 1) [Par 86-91]. Thus Dua teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention to explicitly control, curvature error and iteratively heat and form the curved mirrored surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of simply performing the error calculation during the iterative process of heating and forming the curved surface. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a better fit between the glass and the mold as taught by Dua [Par n0011-n0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Olivier in view of Dua, such that the iterative process, comprising: measuring at least one of a surface roughness or a curvature of the curved mirrored surface, in order to provide the iterative process, comprising: measuring at least one of a surface roughness or a curvature of the curved mirrored surface.
Re Claim 15, modified Olivier in view of Duan discloses, the method of claim 14, and Olivier further discloses, further comprising: modeling a desired curvature of the curved mirror surface as a function of the load distribution and the slumping temperature (Olivier teaches preferred temperatures as well as frame thicknesses, counter skeleton contact times, and counter skeleton contact initation kinematics, which amounts to load distribution) [Par 33-34] to obtain a modeled load distribution and a modeled slumping temperature (‘advantageous kinematics’ and temperatures would inherently involve some predictive mathematical equation, or calculation) [Par 33-34]; wherein the loading comprises loading with the modeled load distribution and the slumping temperature comprises the modeled slumping temperature (the use of said preferred conditions in glass bending is taught by Olivier) [Par 33-34].
Re Claim 18, modified Olivier in view of Duan discloses, the method of claim 14, and Olivier further discloses on Fig. 2 and 5, wherein the support structure (Fig. 5: skeleton frame 1) comprises a first ring contacting the glass sheet in the first region (Fig. 5: skeleton 2 forms a ring) [Par 45] comprising a first annular region having a first radius (Fig. 5: skeleton 2 has a radius) and the load structure (Fig. 5: Counter skeleton frame 7) [Par 45] comprises a second ring contacting the glass sheet in the second region comprising a second annular region (Fig. 5: counter skeleton 8 has an annular region) having a second radius smaller than the first radius (counter skeleton frame 7 has a smaller diameter when measured in Fig. 2 from the point of counter skeleton 334).
Re Claim 19, modified Olivier in view of Duan discloses, the method of claim 14, and Olivier further discloses, wherein the slumping temperature is a transformation temperature that softens the glass sheet so as to allow the glass in the glass sheet to flow under the force of gravity and the pressure applied by the loading (“The glass is bent by gravity at a temperature within the range from 570 to 650° C., more generally in the range from 610 to 650° C. In order to achieve this bending, it is possible to convey the skeleton/counter-skeleton assembly loaded with glass through a tunnel furnace brought to the plastic deformation temperature of the glass.”)[Par 33-34].
Re Claim 20, modified Olivier in view of Duan discloses, the method of claim 14, and Olivier further discloses wherein the slumping temperature is in a range of 500° C.-1100° C (temperature is 570-650 ºC) [Par 34], and further teaches, a load distribution comprising a mass distributed along a perimeter of the mirror's aperture (“…it is possible to force the glass to bend due to the descent of the counter-skeleton. The counter-skeleton presses on the glass during its descent, which forces the peripheral bending. Such kinematics are advantageous since they make it possible to facilitate the main bending of the glass and thus to reduce the forming cycle time.”, this would apply a mass load to the mirror’s aperture) [Par 33]
But Olivier does not explicitly disclose, wherein the mass is in a range of 1-15 kg.
Optimizing the mass of the load on the mirror is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” Ine Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Olivier teaches “advantageous kinematics” (such kinematics would include mass) [Par 33] as a variable which achieves a recognized result.
Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting load mass and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize, mass load such that between a range of 1-15 kg, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivier in view of Du as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hennion (CN 103874579 A).
Re Claim 17, modified Olivier in view of Dua discloses, the method of claim 14, and Olivier further discloses on Fig. 5, wherein the mirrored surface comprises an aperture bounded by the second region along a perimeter of the aperture (unlabeled glass reflective surface is bounded on all sides by counter skeleton 8 creating an aperture).
But Modified Olivier in view of Dua, does not explicitly disclose, the method further comprising cutting the glass sheet along an inside of the second region to form the mirror comprising the aperture.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Hennion teaches, that it is desirable in glass forming to include, cutting the glass sheet along an inside of the second region to form the mirror comprising the aperture (“edge cut along the cutting line determined with hole area, and has an aperture or notch in the form of the outer edge of the glass pane”) [Par 20-21].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Olivier with Hennion in order to provide, uniformity, as taught by Hennion [Par 20-21].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dannoux (US 20130125589 A1) teaches an apparatus for glass sheet bending.
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872