Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/14/23 and 11/7/25 were filed and the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “the docking port (18) comprises a first door (21), which closes the docking port (18), and wherein the transfer device (19) comprises a second door (22), which closes the transfer device (19), while the docking port (18) is adapted to interact with the transfer device (19) such that the first door (21) and the second door (22) are opened when the outwardly sealed passageway (20) is established from the transfer device (19) to the docking port (18) and the barrier system (3)” (Claims 13 and 14), as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: it appears that claim 11, line 3, the word “a” before “first orientation” should be changed to – the – or –said --,
claim 11, line 4, the word “a” before “second orientation” should be changed to – the – or –said -
claim 12, line 3, the word “a” before “first orientation” should be changed to – the – or –said --, and claim 12, line 4, the word “a” before “second orientation” should be changed to – the – or –said --. Note that “a first orientation” and “a second orientation” have been already recited in claim 9. Claim 11 depends on claim 9 and claim 12 also depends on claim 10 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Applicant discloses that a manipulator head 10 with a magnetic actuator 5 can turn about the axis of rotation 11 wherein the manipulator head 10 having an arrangement of north pole magnetic elements 13 and south pole magnetic elements 14 providing a first orientation 15, a second orientation 16, a third orientation 23 to provide magnetic forces as described on paragraphs [0062] and [0064] of specification:
[0062] The manipulator 4 preferably has a manipulator head 10 with a magnetic actuator 5. Especially preferably, the magnetic actuator 5 with the manipulator head 10 can turn about the axis of rotation 11.
[0064] The magnetic actuator 5 is designed to interact with a coupling element 12, having an arrangement of north pole magnetic elements 13 and south pole magnetic elements 14 corresponding to the arrangement shown in FIG. 2 for the magnetic actuator 5. A degree of overlap or superpositioning of north pole magnetic elements 13 and south pole magnetic elements 14 of the magnetic actuator 5 and the coupling element 12 depends on the angular orientation of the magnetic actuator 5 and the coupling element 12 relative to the axis of rotation. By rotating the magnetic actuator 5, this degree of overlap or superpositioning can be deliberately adjusted.
Claim 7 recites “the magnetic actuator (5) is arranged on a manipulator head (10), which can turn about an axis of rotation (11) oriented parallel to the magnetic acting direction (6)” and Claims 9-12 further recites “the manipulator head 10 having an arrangement of north pole magnetic elements 13 and south pole magnetic elements 14 providing a first orientation 15, a second orientation 16, a third orientation 23 to provide magnetic forces.”
The provided Fig. 1 (see the next page) shows a manipulator head 10 with a magnetic actuator 5 capable of moving horizontally (see an arrow 8), but the specification fails clearly to show the detailed structures of the magnetic actuator 5 and the manipulator (4) as to how the magnetic actuator 5 rotates or turns about the axis of rotation 11. The applicant further does not disclose the manipulator head 10 having an arrangement of north pole magnetic elements 13 and south pole magnetic elements 14 capable of providing a first orientation 15, a second orientation 16, a third orientation 23 to provide magnetic forces.
Moreover, the application discloses “The docking port 18 of the barrier system 3 preferably has a first door 21, with which the docking port 18 can be closed when no transfer device 19 is connected to it. The transfer device 19 preferably has a second door 22, with which the transfer device 19 can be closed when the transfer device 19 is not connected to a docking port 18 of a barrier system 3,” as recited in paragraph [0060] of specification:
[0060] …..The transfer device 19 in particular is suited to transporting the conveyed goods from one barrier system 3 to another barrier system 3, in which case both clean rooms 3 each have a described docking port 18. The docking port 18 of the barrier system 3 preferably has a first door 21, with which the docking port 18 can be closed when no transfer device 19 is connected to it. The transfer device 19 preferably has a second door 22, with which the transfer device 19 can be closed when the transfer device 19 is not connected to a docking port 18 of a barrier system 3. The transfer device 19 and the docking port 18 preferably interact such that the first door 21 and the second door 22 are opened when the sealed passageway 20 is produced from the transfer device 19 to the docking port 18 and the barrier system 3. Preferably, upon connecting the transfer device 19 to the docking port 18 a coupling of the first door 21 and the second door 22 occurs, so that both doors 21, 22 can be opened at the same time. When the transfer device 19 and the docking port 18 are tightly connected to each other, an opening of the doors 21, 22 occurs, preferably automatically, in that a door opening mechanism is activated.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the manipulator (4) is arranged in the barrier system (3) lying opposite a docking port (18), wherein a transfer device (19) for the transport of the conveyed goods (2) to the barrier system (3) can be placed against the docking port (18) and the docking port (18) is adapted to form an outwardly sealed passageway (20) from the transfer device (19) to the barrier system (3), while the conveyed goods (2) can be transported with the magnetic actuator (5) from the transfer device (19) through the passageway (20) to the docking port (18) and the barrier system (3).”
Claim 14 recites “wherein the docking port (18) comprises a first door (21), which closes the docking port (18), and wherein the transfer device (19) comprises a second door (22), which closes the transfer device (19), while the docking port (18) is adapted to interact with the transfer device (19) such that the first door (21) and the second door (22) are opened when the outwardly sealed passageway (20) is established from the transfer device (19) to the docking port (18) and the barrier system (3).”
It is pointed out that the detailed structural elements of “a transfer device (19),” “a barrier system (3), “a docking port (18),” “a first door (21),” a second door (22),” and “a sealed passageway (20)” are confusing and not clearly understood as to how “the docking port (18)” is “adapted to interact with the transfer device (19) such that the first door (21) and the second door (22) are opened when the outwardly sealed passageway (20) is established from the transfer device (19),” or “how the docking port (18)” is adapted to form an outwardly sealed passageway (20) from the transfer device (19) to the barrier system (3).” It appears that none of the provided specification or the provided drawing disclose the recitations of claims 13 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braam et al. (6,290,275).
RE claim 1, Braam et al. (6,290,275) discloses a device (see Figs. 1-5b) for handling of conveyed goods (10) arranged in a barrier system (14 (interface), 32, 22, 20, 38, 40, 36), comprising a manipulator (18) (See Exhibit A) arranged in the barrier system and the manipulator having an end effector (16), a controllable electromagnet (26) (see Figs. 1,4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 5a, and 5b) (see Col. 9, lines 7-12) (See Exhibit A) for applying a magnetic force to the conveyed goods (10) having a design-dependent magnetic acting direction (see Figs. 1 and 4a) of the magnetic force, wherein the manipulator (18) is capable of being arranged inside the barrier system (14) and is capable of coupling the conveyed goods (10) with the magnetic force to the manipulator (18) and capable of moving the conveyed goods (10) with the manipulator (18).
Exhibit A
RE claims 2 and 5, Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275) teaches the magnetic actuator (26) comprises at least one controllable electromagnet (26) (see Figs. 1,4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 5a, and 5b) (see Col. 9, lines 7-12) and the conveyed goods (10) with a material with magnetic properties (24) (see Figs. 1,4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 5a, and 5b).
RE claims 3 and 4, Figs. 1 and 4 a of Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275) also shows the manipulator (18) is capable of moving the conveyed goods (10) with a direction of movement having at least one direction component parallel to the magnetic acting direction of the magnetic force (see Fig. 1) and the direction of movement (8) of the conveyed goods (10) run in parallel.
RE claim 6, the conveyed goods (10) of Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275) are
a transport container for a material such as payload, objects, or workpieces.
RE claim 7, Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275) provides a manipulator (18) with
a manipulator head having a latching means (See Col. 1, lines 49-65) and an interface mechanism (see Col. 2, lines 33-63, and a robotically drivable interface mechanism (see Co. 3, lines 60-67) which can turn about an axis of rotation oriented parallel to the magnetic acting direction.
RE claim 8, Figs. 4a-4d of Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275) employ the conveyed goods (10) with a material with magnetic properties (24) (see Figs. 1,4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 5a, and 5b).
RE claim 15, Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275), as best understood, shows a barrier interface (32) (see Col. 3, lines 9-54), which could be considered as a barrier system, comprising at least one device for handling of conveyed goods (10) within the barrier system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275) in view of Nering et al. (6,082,951).
Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275), as presented above, does not specifically teach “a docking port comprises a first door, which closes the docking port, and wherein the transfer device comprises a second door, which closes the transfer device, while the docking port is adapted to interact with the transfer device such that the first door and the second door are opened when the outwardly sealed passageway is established from the transfer device to the docking port and the barrier system.” However, Figs. 1-14 of Nering et al. (6,082,951), as best understood, show a docking port (60) comprises a first door (66), which closes the docking port, and a second door (78). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the mechanical engineering art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an end effector of Braam et al. magnetic device (6,290,275) as taught by Nering et al. (6,082,951) to firmly grasp the samples or objects within the docking port to a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st and 2nd paragraphs, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PAUL T CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654