DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-7, 11-17, 21-26 were previously pending. Claims 1, 11, 21-26 are amended. Claims 1-7, 11-17, 21-26 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
An initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 submitted 02/09/2026 is attached to the instant office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 10-11 of Applicants remarks:
…However, the first feedback message 306 does not enable UE1 to perform resource reselection. To the contrary, Belleschi's UE2, not Belleschi's UE1, determines alternative sets of resources for D2D radio transmission. Thus, Belleschi fails to disclose that the resource conflict information is configured to enable the first terminal device to perform resource reselection. Consequently, Belleschi fails to disclose each element of claims 1, 11, and 21, and thus fails to anticipate claims 1-6, 11-16, and 21-26.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that while Belleschi’s UE2 does send alternative sets of resources for D2D radio transmissions to the UE1, [0068] of Belleschi further discloses “However, it would also possible to send the indication of the alternative set of radio resources also in other cases, in order to provide the respective transmitting UE 20, 40 with additional information for making an appropriate final selection of radio resources to be used for its intended D2D radio transmission.” Final selection of radio resources indicates that the candidate resource sent in step 302 has not been finalized, and that the UE1 takes into account the alternative resources sent in feedback 306, and selects a final set of radio resources (i.e. resource reselection) prior to D2D transmission. Furthermore, [0047] of Belleschi, further discloses On the other hand, if the ML indicator was set to the fourth level, indicating a negative acknowledgement by the second UE 30, the first UE 20 may decide refrain from performing the D2D radio transmission 206 on the candidate set of resources, either by selecting other radio resources or even by completely refraining from performing the D2D radio transmission. This further illustrates the ability of the first UE to perform resource reselection based on feedback information of a resource conflict from UE2. As such, examiner maintains that the prior art teaches the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16, 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0219320 A1 to Belleschi et al. (hereinafter “Belleschi”)
Regarding Claim 1, Belleschi teaches A method implemented by a third terminal device and comprising: (Figure 3, illustrates UE2 (i.e. third terminal))
detecting first sidelink control information (SCI) from a first terminal device, wherein the first SCI indicates first resources; (Figure 3 and [0051], The first UE 20 (i.e. first terminal device) then sends SCI 302 (i.e. first SCI) to the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device). [0052], discloses The SCI 302 indicates to one or more other UEs, in particular to the second UE 30, that the first UE 20 intends to perform a D2D radio transmission on the candidate set of radio resources)
detecting second SCI from a second terminal device, wherein the second SCI indicates resources that overlap with the first resources; and (Figure 3 and [0054], the third UE 40 (i.e. second terminal device) sends SCI 303 (i.e. second SCI) to the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device). [0054], discloses The SCI 303 indicates to one or more other UEs, in particular to the second UE 30, that the third UE 40 intends to perform a D2D radio transmission on the second candidate set of radio resources. [0056], discloses As further illustrated, the second UE 30 receives the SCI 302 and the SCI 303 and detects that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting.)
determining the first resources conflict with the second resources based on if the third terminal device is a first receiver of first data scheduled by the first SCI and a second reference signal received power (RSRP) corresponding to the second SCI is greater than a second RSRP threshold or if the third terminal device is a second receiver of second data scheduled by the second SCI and a first RSRP corresponding to the first SCI is greater than a first RSRP threshold. ([0056], discloses the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device) receives the SCI 302 (i.e. first SCI) and the SCI 303 (i.e. second SCI) and detects that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions (i.e. third terminal is a first receiver of first data scheduled by the first sci and the third terminal is a second receiver of second data scheduled by the second SCI) on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting. [0060], discloses The feedback message 306 indicates the availability status of the first candidate set of resources as determined by the second UE 30. [0061], discloses the feedback message 306 includes an ML indicator to indicate the availability status of the first candidate set of radio resources. As mentioned above, the ML indicator indicates the availability status in terms of at least three different levels. These multiple levels may for example correspond to different levels of measured interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources, e.g., in terms if RSPR or RSSI, or to different congestion levels of the first candidate set of resources. (i.e. RSRP corresponding to the second SCI). If the interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources measured by the second UE 30 is denoted by Y1 (i.e. second RSRP), three threshold levels H11, H12 and H13 could be configured, and the ML indicator be set to the first level (e.g., encoded by “11”) if Y1≤H11, to the second level (e.g., encoded by “10”) if H11<Y1≤H12, to the third level (e.g., encoded by “01”) if H12<Y1≤H13; and to the fourth level (e.g., encoded by “00”) if Y1>H13 (i.e. RSRP of second SCI is greater than a second RSRP threshold). The fourth level could be defined to indicate a negative acknowledgement, i.e., that the second UE 30 disapproves the D2D radio transmission on the first candidate set of radio resources, e.g., because second UE 30 considers the first candidate set of resources to be at least partially occupied (i.e. indicates first and second resources conflict))
sending resource conflict information to the first terminal device ([0060], discloses the second UE 30 sends a first feedback message 306 (i.e. resource conflict information) to the first UE 20 (i.e. first terminal device))
wherein the resource conflict information indicates that the first resources and the second resources conflict ([0060], The feedback message 306 indicates the availability status of the first candidate set of resources as determined by the second UE 30. [0061], discloses the feedback message 306 includes an ML indicator to indicate the availability status of the first candidate set of radio resources. As mentioned above, the ML indicator indicates the availability status in terms of at least three different levels. These multiple levels may for example correspond to different levels of measured interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources, e.g., in terms if RSPR or RSSI, or to different congestion levels of the first candidate set of resources. (i.e. RSRP corresponding to the second SCI). The fourth level could be defined to indicate a negative acknowledgement, i.e., that the second UE 30 disapproves the D2D radio transmission on the first candidate set of radio resources, e.g., because second UE 30 considers the first candidate set of resources to be at least partially occupied (i.e. indicates first and second resources conflict))
wherein the resource conflict information is configured to enable the first terminal to perform resource reselection. ([0068], discloses The feedback message 306 may also indicate a first alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission by the first UE 20, and the feedback message 307 may indicate a second alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission by the third UE 20… However, it would also possible to send the indication of the alternative set of radio resources also in other cases, in order to provide the respective transmitting UE 20, 40 with additional information for making an appropriate final selection of radio resources (i.e. enable resource reselection at the first terminal) to be used for its intended D2D radio transmission. [0047], further discloses On the other hand, if the ML indicator was set to the fourth level, indicating a negative acknowledgement by the second UE 30, the first UE 20 may decide refrain from performing the D2D radio transmission 206 on the candidate set of resources, either by selecting other radio resources or even by completely refraining from performing the D2D radio transmission)
Regarding Claim 2, Belleschi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a first priority value indicated by the first SCI is higher than a second priority value indicated by the second SCI. ([0052], discloses the SCI 302 may indicate a priority of the intended D2D radio transmission. [0055], discloses the SCI 303 may indicate a priority of the intended D2D radio transmission by the third UE 40. [0057], discloses As illustrated by block 305, the second UE 30 then performs prioritization of the intended D2D radio transmissions. The prioritization may for example be based on the priority of the intended D2D radio transmission by the first UE 20, e.g., as indicated by a PPPP in the SCI 302, and the priority of the intended D2D radio transmission by the third UE 40, e.g., as indicated by a PPPP in the SCI 303)
Regarding Claim 3, Belleschi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first resources overlapping with the second resources comprises a resource reserved by the first terminal device overlapping with a resource reserved by the second terminal device. ([0056], discloses As further illustrated, the second UE 30 receives the SCI 302 and the SCI 303 and detects that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting.)
Regarding Claim 4, Belleschi teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the resource conflict information further indicates an available resource or an unavailable resource to the first terminal device. ([0060], discloses the feedback message 306 indicates the availability status of the first candidate set of resources as determined by the second UE 30)
Regarding Claim 5, Belleschi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising further sending the resource conflict information when successfully decoding the first data and when an overlapping resource of the first resources and the second resources is a periodic resource indicated by the first SCI, and wherein the resource conflict information further indicates that a conflict occurs on the periodic resource. ([0042], discloses setting of the ML indicator may for example also take into account whether the second UE 30 would be capable of successfully receiving and decoding the intended D2D radio transmission of the candidate set of radio resources. [0052], discloses The SCI 302 may also include a reservation of the first candidate set of resources for multiple future time slots, e.g, in order to address a need to periodically or otherwise repeatedly transmit data to the second UE 30)
Regarding Claim 6, Belleschi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the resource conflict information indicates content of resource conflict indication information using a frequency domain resource. ([0060], discloses The feedback message 306 can be conveyed on a control channel, e.g., in SCI transmitted by the second UE 30, or on a data channel, e.g., as part of a D2D radio transmission performed by the second UE 30. [0026], further discloses D2D radio transmissions in frequency domain)
Regarding Claim 11, Belleschi teaches An apparatus in a third terminal device comprising: (Figure 3, illustrates UE2 (i.e. third terminal))
An interface circuit configured to receive and transmit code instructions; and a processor coupled to the interface circuit and configured to run the code instructions to: (Figure 9 and [0125], discloses a radio device including a processor coupled to memory including program code to be executed by the processor)
detect first sidelink control information (SCI) from a first terminal device, wherein the first SCI indicates first resources; (Figure 3 and [0051], The first UE 20 (i.e. first terminal device) then sends SCI 302 (i.e. first SCI) to the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device). [0052], discloses The SCI 302 indicates to one or more other UEs, in particular to the second UE 30, that the first UE 20 intends to perform a D2D radio transmission on the candidate set of radio resources)
detect second SCI from a second terminal device, wherein the second SCI indicates second resources that overlap with the first resources; and (Figure 3 and [0054], the third UE 40 (i.e. second terminal device) sends SCI 303 (i.e. second SCI) to the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device). [0054], discloses The SCI 303 indicates to one or more other UEs, in particular to the second UE 30, that the third UE 40 intends to perform a D2D radio transmission on the second candidate set of radio resources. [0056], discloses As further illustrated, the second UE 30 receives the SCI 302 and the SCI 303 and detects that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting.)
determining the first resources conflict with the second resources if the third terminal device is a first receiver of first data scheduled by the first SCI and a second reference signal received power (RSRP) corresponding to the second SCI is greater than a second RSRP threshold, or if the third terminal device is a second receiver of second data scheduled by the second SCI and a first RSRP corresponding to the first SCI is greater than a first RSRP threshold. ([0056], discloses the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device) receives the SCI 302 (i.e. first SCI) and the SCI 303 (i.e. second SCI) and detects that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions (i.e. third terminal is a first receiver of first data scheduled by the first sci and the third terminal is a second receiver of second data scheduled by the second SCI) on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting. [0060], discloses The feedback message 306 indicates the availability status of the first candidate set of resources as determined by the second UE 30. [0061], discloses the feedback message 306 includes an ML indicator to indicate the availability status of the first candidate set of radio resources. As mentioned above, the ML indicator indicates the availability status in terms of at least three different levels. These multiple levels may for example correspond to different levels of measured interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources, e.g., in terms if RSPR or RSSI, or to different congestion levels of the first candidate set of resources. (i.e. RSRP corresponding to the second SCI). If the interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources measured by the second UE 30 is denoted by Y1 (i.e. second RSRP), three threshold levels H11, H12 and H13 could be configured, and the ML indicator be set to the first level (e.g., encoded by “11”) if Y1≤H11, to the second level (e.g., encoded by “10”) if H11<Y1≤H12, to the third level (e.g., encoded by “01”) if H12<Y1≤H13; and to the fourth level (e.g., encoded by “00”) if Y1>H13 (i.e. RSRP of second SCI is greater than a second RSRP threshold). The fourth level could be defined to indicate a negative acknowledgement, i.e., that the second UE 30 disapproves the D2D radio transmission on the first candidate set of radio resources, e.g., because second UE 30 considers the first candidate set of resources to be at least partially occupied (i.e. indicates first and second resources conflict))
send resource conflict information to the first terminal device ([0060], discloses the second UE 30 sends a first feedback message 306 (i.e. resource conflict information) to the first UE 20 (i.e. first terminal device))
wherein the resource conflict information indicates that the first resources and the second resources conflict. ([0060], The feedback message 306 indicates the availability status of the first candidate set of resources as determined by the second UE 30. [0061], discloses the feedback message 306 includes an ML indicator to indicate the availability status of the first candidate set of radio resources. As mentioned above, the ML indicator indicates the availability status in terms of at least three different levels. These multiple levels may for example correspond to different levels of measured interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources, e.g., in terms if RSPR or RSSI, or to different congestion levels of the first candidate set of resources. (i.e. RSRP corresponding to the second SCI). The fourth level could be defined to indicate a negative acknowledgement, i.e., that the second UE 30 disapproves the D2D radio transmission on the first candidate set of radio resources, e.g., because second UE 30 considers the first candidate set of resources to be at least partially occupied (i.e. indicates first and second resources conflict))
wherein the resource conflict information is configured to enable the first terminal to perform resource reselection. ([0068], discloses The feedback message 306 may also indicate a first alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission by the first UE 20, and the feedback message 307 may indicate a second alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission by the third UE 20… However, it would also possible to send the indication of the alternative set of radio resources also in other cases, in order to provide the respective transmitting UE 20, 40 with additional information for making an appropriate final selection of radio resources (i.e. enable resource reselection at the first terminal) to be used for its intended D2D radio transmission. [0047], further discloses On the other hand, if the ML indicator was set to the fourth level, indicating a negative acknowledgement by the second UE 30, the first UE 20 may decide refrain from performing the D2D radio transmission 206 on the candidate set of resources, either by selecting other radio resources or even by completely refraining from performing the D2D radio transmission)
Claims 12-16 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2-6, respectively, except the claims are in third terminal apparatus format.
Regarding Claim 21, Belleschi teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in a third terminal device, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the third terminal device to: (Figure 3, illustrates UE2 (i.e. third terminal). Figure 9 and [0125], discloses a radio device including a processor coupled to memory including program code to be executed by the processor)
detect first sidelink control information (SCI) from a first terminal device, wherein the first SCI indicates first resources; (Figure 3 and [0051], The first UE 20 (i.e. first terminal device) then sends SCI 302 (i.e. first SCI) to the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device). [0052], discloses The SCI 302 indicates to one or more other UEs, in particular to the second UE 30, that the first UE 20 intends to perform a D2D radio transmission on the candidate set of radio resources)
detect second SCI from a second terminal device, wherein the second SCI indicates second resources that overlap with the first resources; and (Figure 3 and [0054], the third UE 40 (i.e. second terminal device) sends SCI 303 (i.e. second SCI) to the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device). [0054], discloses The SCI 303 indicates to one or more other UEs, in particular to the second UE 30, that the third UE 40 intends to perform a D2D radio transmission on the second candidate set of radio resources. [0056], discloses As further illustrated, the second UE 30 receives the SCI 302 and the SCI 303 and detects that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting.)
determining the first resources conflict with the second resources if the third terminal device is a first receiver of first data scheduled by the first SCI and a second reference signal received power (RSRP) corresponding to the second SCI is greater than a second RSRP threshold or if the third terminal device is a second receiver of second data scheduled by the second SCI and a first RSRP corresponding to the first SCI is greater than a first RSRP threshold. ([0056], discloses the second UE 30 (i.e. third terminal device) receives the SCI 302 (i.e. first SCI) and the SCI 303 (i.e. second SCI) and detects that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions (i.e. third terminal is a first receiver of first data scheduled by the first sci and the third terminal is a second receiver of second data scheduled by the second SCI) on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting. [0060], discloses The feedback message 306 indicates the availability status of the first candidate set of resources as determined by the second UE 30. [0061], discloses the feedback message 306 includes an ML indicator to indicate the availability status of the first candidate set of radio resources. As mentioned above, the ML indicator indicates the availability status in terms of at least three different levels. These multiple levels may for example correspond to different levels of measured interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources, e.g., in terms if RSPR or RSSI, or to different congestion levels of the first candidate set of resources. (i.e. RSRP corresponding to the second SCI). If the interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources measured by the second UE 30 is denoted by Y1 (i.e. second RSRP), three threshold levels H11, H12 and H13 could be configured, and the ML indicator be set to the first level (e.g., encoded by “11”) if Y1≤H11, to the second level (e.g., encoded by “10”) if H11<Y1≤H12, to the third level (e.g., encoded by “01”) if H12<Y1≤H13; and to the fourth level (e.g., encoded by “00”) if Y1>H13 (i.e. RSRP of second SCI is greater than a second RSRP threshold). The fourth level could be defined to indicate a negative acknowledgement, i.e., that the second UE 30 disapproves the D2D radio transmission on the first candidate set of radio resources, e.g., because second UE 30 considers the first candidate set of resources to be at least partially occupied (i.e. indicates first and second resources conflict))
send resource conflict information to the first terminal device ([0060], discloses the second UE 30 sends a first feedback message 306 (i.e. resource conflict information) to the first UE 20 (i.e. first terminal device))
wherein the resource conflict information indicates that the first resources and the second resources conflict. ([0060], The feedback message 306 indicates the availability status of the first candidate set of resources as determined by the second UE 30. [0061], discloses the feedback message 306 includes an ML indicator to indicate the availability status of the first candidate set of radio resources. As mentioned above, the ML indicator indicates the availability status in terms of at least three different levels. These multiple levels may for example correspond to different levels of measured interfering signal strength on the first candidate set of resources, e.g., in terms if RSPR or RSSI, or to different congestion levels of the first candidate set of resources. (i.e. RSRP corresponding to the second SCI). The fourth level could be defined to indicate a negative acknowledgement, i.e., that the second UE 30 disapproves the D2D radio transmission on the first candidate set of radio resources, e.g., because second UE 30 considers the first candidate set of resources to be at least partially occupied (i.e. indicates first and second resources conflict))
wherein the resource conflict information is configured to enable the first terminal to perform resource reselection. ([0068], discloses The feedback message 306 may also indicate a first alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission by the first UE 20, and the feedback message 307 may indicate a second alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission by the third UE 20… However, it would also possible to send the indication of the alternative set of radio resources also in other cases, in order to provide the respective transmitting UE 20, 40 with additional information for making an appropriate final selection of radio resources (i.e. enable resource reselection at the first terminal) to be used for its intended D2D radio transmission. [0047], further discloses On the other hand, if the ML indicator was set to the fourth level, indicating a negative acknowledgement by the second UE 30, the first UE 20 may decide refrain from performing the D2D radio transmission 206 on the candidate set of resources, either by selecting other radio resources or even by completely refraining from performing the D2D radio transmission)
Claims 22-26 are rejected for having the same limitations as claims 2-6, respectively, except the claims are in computer readable storage medium format.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belleschi in view of US 2020/0053770 A1 (from IDS submitted 09/27/2024) to Gulati et al. (hereinafter “Gulati”)
Regarding Claim 7, Belleschi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein
Belleschi does not explicitly teach the resource conflict information indicates content of resource conflict indication information using a cyclic shift code, a root sequence, or an orthogonal cover code.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Gulati discloses in [0114], when transmitting the sidelink control information, the transmitting device may also determine a sequence identifier, a time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC), a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC), and/or a cyclic shift to use for transmitting the sidelink control information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Belleschi to include the above limitations as suggested by Gulati, to allow for distinguishing a transmission of the transmitting device from another transmission of another transmitting device on a same frequency resource as indicated in [0009] of Gulati, which allows for the creation of a more robust and efficient system for managing resources and minimizing interference in wireless communication networks.
Claim 17 is rejected for having the same limitations as claim 7 above, except the claim is in third terminal apparatus format.
Conclusion
/JENKEY VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477