DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention Group I (claims 1-11), Reducer Species A (Figs. 1-2 and 6A-6B), and Control Means Species A (Hydraulic) in the reply filed on February 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 16, 2026.
Claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (the elected species does not include a pneumatic motor and gearbox; the nonelected species of Figs. 7A-7D includes pneumatic motor 122 and gearbox 130), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 16, 2026.
Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (the elected species does not include an electric motor; the nonelected species of Fig. 8 includes electric motor 182), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 16, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the shading of the figures makes it difficult to see the structural details (see Figs. 1-7C and 8-10). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “the control system is a pneumatic system” is redundant as claim 2 recites “a pneumatic control system.” The Examiner suggests replacing “the control system is a pneumatic system with” with “the pneumatic control system further includes.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a moveable component” in claim 1 and “actuators” in claim 2. The disclosure describes the moveable component as a piston (see “100” in Fig. 6B) and the actuators as knobs (see “64” in Fig. 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “a plurality of reducers configured to be actuated by hydraulic control or pneumatic control.” Such a recitation is unclear because the originally-filed claims seem to use “hydraulic” and “pneumatic” interchangeably (see original claims 1 and 2). Thus, it is unclear what the difference is between “hydraulic control” and “pneumatic control” (note that if “hydraulic control” and “pneumatic control” cover the same scope, then reciting both in claim 1 is redundant). Because the originally-filed specification recites “pneumatic control” and not “hydraulic control,” the Examiner is interpreting claim 1 as only reciting “pneumatic control.” Claims 2-7 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites that the inlet port is connected by pneumatic tubing or wiring to a supply of compressed air or electricity. However, claims 1 and 2 as amended no longer include reducers actuated by electronic control or an electronic control system. Thus, it is unclear how reducers actuated by hydraulic/pneumatic control and a pneumatic control system have an inlet port connected by wiring to a supply of electricity. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting claim 3 as reciting “the inlet port being connected by pneumatic tubing to a supply of compressed air.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 5,720,751 A) in view of Mladenov et al. (US 2017/0319246 A1).
Claim 1. Jackson discloses a system for reducing a spinal rod comprising:
a reducer (spinal rod pusher assembly 5) configured to be actuated by hydraulic control or pneumatic control (see col. 17, ll. 54-62, which refers to a pneumatic drive mechanism),
the reducer having a reducer body (implant engaging portion 52) and a housing (implant holder 6) coupled to the reducer body (see Fig. 4),
the reducer body having a pair of arms (implant engaging members 60 and 61) separated by a longitudinal slot (adjacent cradle 67) configured to receive the spinal rod (see Fig. 8), a pusher (pusher bar 15) slidably engaged with the arms and having a distally extending tip (abutment member 20) configured to translate the spinal rod along the slot (see Fig. 8), and
the housing having a cylindrical body (see Fig. 4) with a moveable component (stem 16) configured to drive the pusher to apply a compressive load to the spinal rod (see Fig. 7) (Figs. 1-9).
Jackson fails to disclose that the reducer is a plurality of reducers each having the claimed features (claim 1).
Mladenov teaches that a reducer (rotation shaft 100, which includes rod reducer 1000) is a plurality of reducers (rotation shafts 100A, 100B, 100C, and 100D which include rod reducers 1000A, 1000B, 1000C, and 1000D) each having similar structural features (Figs. 1-8B), wherein the plurality of reducers allows the reducers to be sequentially operated as desired by the surgeon (see para. 0055) (Figs. 1-9C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jackson such that the reducer is a plurality of reducers each having the claimed features (claim 1), as suggested by Mladenov, in order to allow the reducers to be sequentially operated as desired by the surgeon.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 5,720,751 A) in view of Mladenov et al. (US 2017/0319246 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chisena et al. (US 2023/0380903 A1).
Jackson and Mladenov fail to teach a pneumatic control system including a panel having a plurality of actuators configured to control each reducer (claim 2), wherein the panel includes an inlet port and a plurality of outlet ports, the inlet port being connected by pneumatic tubing or wiring to a supply of compressed air or electricity, and the outlet ports being connected to the respective reducers (claim 3).
Chisena teaches that a pneumatic control system includes a panel (system 100, which includes controller 130) having a plurality of actuators (inputs 124 – see para. 0191) configured to control different components (see para. 0191), wherein the panel includes an inlet port (entrance zone 156) and a plurality of outlet ports (exit zones 155) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Jackson such that it includes a pneumatic control system including a panel having a plurality of actuators (claim 2), wherein the panel includes an inlet port and a plurality of outlet ports (claim 3), as suggested by Chisena, as such would provide means to control the pneumatic drive mechanism disclosed by Jackson. In view of such a modification, and because the system of Jackson as modified by Mladenov includes a plurality of reducers with pneumatic drive mechanisms, it would have been obvious that the plurality of actuators are configured to control each reducer (claim 2) and that the inlet port is connected by pneumatic tubing or wiring to a supply of compressed air or electricity and the outlet ports are connected to the respective reducers (claim 3) in order to enable operation of the reducers.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson (US 5,720,751 A) in view of Mladenov et al. (US 2017/0319246 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McAfee et al. (US 2018/0110504 A1).
Jackson and Mladenov fail to teach wherein the cylindrical body is a pneumatic cylinder configured to receive compressed air (claim 5), wherein the moveable component comprises a piston fitting snuggly inside the pneumatic cylinder, and the piston is configured to translate the pusher distally to drive the spinal rod into alignment (claim 6), and wherein the piston includes a piston head, a piston rod extending distally from the piston head, and a stem protruding proximally from the piston head (claim 7).
McAfee teaches a pneumatic device (tool 40) comprising: a cylindrical body (air cylinder 41) in the form of a pneumatic cylinder (air cylinder 41) configured to receive compressed air (see para. 0042); and a moveable component (piston 50) comprising a piston (piston 50) fitting snuggly inside the pneumatic cylinder (see Figs. 9 and 10), wherein the piston is configured to translate distally (see Fig. 10 in comparison to Fig. 9), wherein the piston includes a piston head (adjacent seals 51), a piston rod (rod portion of piston 50) extending distally from the piston head, and a stem (arm 47) protruding proximally from the piston head (Figs. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of Jackson such that the cylindrical body is a pneumatic cylinder configured to receive compressed air (claim 5), wherein the moveable component comprises a piston fitting snuggly inside the pneumatic cylinder, and the piston is configured to translate the pusher distally to drive the spinal rod into alignment (claim 6), and wherein the piston includes a piston head, a piston rod extending distally from the piston head, and a stem protruding proximally from the piston head (claim 7), as suggested by McAfee, as such would enable the reducers to be actuated by the pneumatic drive mechanism disclosed by Jackson.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if amended as suggested above to overcome the claim rejection.
Conclusion
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773