Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, in the reply filed on 21 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/21/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0128528, filed on 07 October 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 14 July 2023 and 24 May 2024 has been reviewed and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication CN108273514A (published 18 January 2018).
In regard to claim 1, CN ‘514A teaches an unsupported metallic catalyst comprising nickel (Ni), molybdenum (Mo), and tungsten (W) (Example 1, paragraph [0026]). The catalyst is described to have both hydrogenation and selective ring opening of cycloalkanes (paragraph [0002]).
In regard to claim 2, the process limitations are noted. However, when the examiner has found the same or substantially similar product as in the applied prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct and not the examiner to show the same process of making. In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685 and In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324. As the catalyst described by CN ‘514A anticipates the limitations of claim 1, and claim 2 does not further limit the structure of the catalyst, claim 2 is also anticipated by CN ‘514A.
In regard to claim 3, CN ‘514A teaches a catalyst composition containing 0.6 mol Ni (0.50 Ni/(Ni+Mo+W)), 0.3 mol Mo (0.25 Mo/(Ni+Mo+W)), and 0.3 mol W (0.25 W/(Ni+Mo+W)) (Example 1, paragraph [0026]). The disclosed molar ratio of Ni:Mo:W anticipates the instantly claim values.
In regard to claim 4, CN ‘514A teaches the addition of a synthesized acidic ZSM-5 molecular sieve nanocluster to the catalyst (paragraph [0012] and Example 1, paragraph [0026]) which functions as a reaction promoter by ensuring close contact between the active metal sites and acidic sites of the catalyst (paragraph [0012]).
In regard to claim 5, CN ‘514A teaches the addition of an acidic ZSM-5 molecular sieve nanocluster as a promoter in an amount of 5 wt% of the catalyst (Example 1, paragraph [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN108273514A as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et. al. (Patent Pub. No. US20090114566, published 7 May 2009).
In regard to claim 6, CN ‘514A does not teach that the unsupported metallic catalyst further comprises phosphorus (P). However, Chen et. al. teaches a metallic catalyst composition with generic formula Av[(MP)(OH)x(L)ny]z(MVIBO4) where MP comprises at least 1 Group VIII metal (Fe, Co, Ni, Ru, Re, Pd, Os, Ir, Pt, and combinations thereof, paragraph [0043]) and MVIB comprises at least one Group VIB metal (Cr, Mo, W, and combinations thereof, paragraph [0039]) (paragraphs [0024]-[0028]). Further, Av is at least one of an alkali metal cation, an ammonium, and a phosphonium cation (paragraph [0024]). Chen et. al. further discloses that to the catalyst may comprise additional phosphorus compounds such as ammonium phosphate, phosphoric acid, or organic phosphorus compounds (paragraph [0111]).
The catalyst makeup taught be Chen et. al. is disclosed to effectively upgrade heavy hydrocarbon feedstocks to jet fuel products with a net heat of combustion greater than 125,000 Btu/gal as well as other favorable properties such as low viscosity (paragraph [0123] and Table 1, pp. 11). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time to adapt the catalyst composition of CN ‘514A to include phosphorus as taught by Chen et. al. in order to catalyze the formation of an energy-dense, low viscosity product.
Conclusion
/MORDECAI M LEAVITT/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742