Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 18, 19 and 20 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. The amendment of claim 1 is different from the allowed subject matter which including additional features of claim 10. Claims 1, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claims 19 and 20 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein different offsets are determined for each of the multiple PUCCHs after a first PUCCH”. It is unclear how to interpret “after a first PUCCH”. In the first interpretation, the first PUCCH is part of the multiple PUCCHs, for example, the multiple PHCCHs contains PUCCH1 and PUCCH2, and the PUCCH1 is the first PUCCH. In the second interpretation, the first PUCCH is not part of the multiple PUCCHs, for example, the multiple PHCCHs contains PUCCH2 and PUCCH3, and the PUCCH1 is the first PUCCH. For the examination purpose, the examiner interprets it according to the first interpretation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 18, 19 and 20 recite similar limitations of claim 1 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Claims 2-13 and 15-17 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240057095 A1 (hereinafter Sakhnini), in view of US 20240040587 A1 (hereinafter Rastegardoost).
Regarding claim 19, Sakhnini teaches A terminal comprising (Sakhnini Fig. 14, communications
device 1400; [0143] communications device 1400 is a UE, such as UE 104 described above with respect to FIGS. 1 and 3. ):
a transceiver (Sakhnini Fig. 14, transceiver 1408;
[0144] The communications device 1400 includes a transceiver 1408 (e.g., a transmitter
and/or a receiver). The transceiver 1408 is configured to transmit and receive signals for the communications device 1400 via an antenna 1410, such as the various signals as described herein. ); and
a processor configured to (Sakhnini Fig. 14, processors 1420;
[0144] The communications device 1400 includes a processing system 1402.
[0145] The processing system 1402 includes one or more processors 1420.):
receive, from a base station, a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) for multiple physical DL
shared channel (PDSCHs), the DCI including an indication of at least one physical uplink (UL) control channel (PUCCH) resource indicator (PRI) and at least one timing indicator (K1) for providing multiple PUCCHs to carry hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the PDSCHs (Sakhnini [0108] a network entity (e.g., such as gNodeB (gNB) or BS 102 in wireless communication network 100 of FIG. 1) transmits a DCI to a UE.
[0102] the DCI scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions may also indicate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the HARQ feedback.
[0103] the PUCCH resources that carry the HARQ-ACK feedback are dynamically controlled by the network entity and can be divided into two parts. A first part may include HARQ feedback timing (K1), which indicates time relationship between the PDSCH transmissions and the corresponding HARQ feedback.
[0104] A second part may include a PUCCH resource selection. a PUCCH resource within the selected PUCCH resource set for the HARQ feedback is indicated using the DCI (e.g., using an up to three bit field).
[0109] the DCI schedules multiple transmissions (e.g., multiple PDSCH transmissions illustrated in FIG. 8) belonging to a plurality of sub-groups. As illustrated in FIG. 9, the plurality of sub-groups may include a first sub-group and a second sub-group. Each sub-group is associated with one or more transmissions. For example, the first sub-group is associated with a first transmission (e.g., PDSCH 1) and a second transmission (e.g., PDSCH 2). The second sub-group is associated with a third transmission (e.g., PDSCH 3) and a fourth transmission (e.g., PDSCH 4).
[0110] the DCI indicates one or more parameters. The one or more parameters may include a feedback timing (e.g., a HARQ feedback timing such as K1) and/or a resource (e.g., a PUCCH resource) for a feedback (e.g., a HARQ feedback) for each sub-group. The feedback timing indicates a slot offset between a transmission of a sub-group and a corresponding feedback occasion for the feedback. For example, the slot offset may be between a last PDSCH transmission of the sub-group and the corresponding HARQ feedback. ),
receive the PDSCHs from the base station (Sakhnini [0111] the network entity transmits the first transmission of the first sub-group to the UE.
[0112] the network entity transmits the second transmission of the first sub-group to the UE.
[0114] the network entity transmits the third transmission of the second sub-group to the UE.
[0115] the network entity transmits the fourth transmission of the second sub-group to the UE.
Note: first, second, third and fourth transmission corresponds to PDSCH 1, PDSCH 2, PDSCH 3 and PDSCH 4 in Fig. 8, 9. ),
determine a PRI value and a K1 value for each of the multiple PUCCHs, based on the indication of the at least one PRI and the at least one K1 (Sakhnini [0117] the HARQ feedback timing and/or the PUCCH resource are applied to all of the plurality of sub-groups.
[0118] the DCI may indicate different HARQ feedback timings and/or PUCCH resources. The different HARQ feedback timings and/or the PUCCH resources are applied to different sub-groups of the plurality of sub-groups.), and
transmit, to the base station, at least one PUCCH among the multiple PUCCHs including the HARQ feedback for the PDSCHs, based on the determined PRI and K1 values (Sakhnini [0113] the UE transmits a first feedback (e.g., HARQ ACK 1 illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9) for the first sub-group to the network entity, in accordance with the feedback timing.
[0116] the UE transmits a second feedback (e.g., HARQ ACK 2 illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9) for the second sub-group to the network entity, in accordance with the feedback timing.
[0087] The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as HARQ ACK/NACK feedback.).
Sakhnini does not explicitly teach wherein different offsets are determined for each of the multiple PUCCHs after a first PUCCH, based on a total number of the multiple PUCCHs and a total number of the PDSCHs.
Rastegardoost in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein different offsets are determined for each of the multiple PUCCHs after a first PUCCH, based on a total number of the multiple PUCCHs and a total number of the PDSCHs (Rastegardoost Fig. 23, as shown in the fig, 4 PDSCHs, PDSCH1, PDSCH2, PDSCH3 and PDSCH4; 2 PUCCHs, PUCCH1 and PUCCH2. The timing offset of right edge of the PUCCH2 relative to the left edge of PDSCH1 depends on the total number of PDSCHs and total number of PUCCHs. Assuming the length of each PDSCH is t_pdsch and the length of each PUCCH is t_pucch in the time domain, then the timing offset of PUCCH2 = 4 * t_pdsch + K1_1 + K1_2 + 2 * t_pucch. 4 is the total number of PDSCHs, 2 is the total number of PUCCHs.
Note: PUCCH1 is the first PUCCH. PUCCH1 and PUCCH2 are the multiple PUCCHs.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakhnini with Rastegardoost’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing DCI overhead (Rastegardoost [0278]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Rastegardoost prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sakhnini prior art) based on design incentives (reducing DCI overhead) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Sakhnini teaches A base station comprising (Sakhnini Fig. 15,
communications device 1500; [0149] communications device 1500 is a network entity, such as
BS 102 described above with respect to FIGS. 1 and 3.):
a transceiver (Sakhnini Fig. 15, transceiver 1508; [0150] The communications device 1500
includes a transceiver 1508 (e.g., a transmitter and/or a receiver). The transceiver 1508 is configured to transmit and receive signals for the communications device 1500 via an antenna 1510, such as the various signals as described herein.); and
a processor configured to (Sakhnini Fig. 15, processor 1520; [0150] The communications device
1500 includes a processing system 1502.
[0151] The processing system 1502 includes one or more processors 1520.):
configure a downlink (DL) control information (DCI) for multiple physical DL shared channel
(PDSCHs), the DCI including an indication of at least one physical uplink (UL) control channel (PUCCH) resource indicator (PRI) and at least one timing indicator (K1) for providing multiple PUCCHs to carry hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for the PDSCHs (Sakhnini [0102] the DCI scheduling the multiple PDSCH transmissions may also indicate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for the HARQ feedback.
[0103] the PUCCH resources that carry the HARQ-ACK feedback are dynamically controlled by the network entity and can be divided into two parts. A first part may include HARQ feedback timing (K1), which indicates time relationship between the PDSCH transmissions and the corresponding HARQ feedback.
[0104] A second part may include a PUCCH resource selection. a PUCCH resource within the selected PUCCH resource set for the HARQ feedback is indicated using the DCI (e.g., using an up to three bit field).
[0109] the DCI schedules multiple transmissions (e.g., multiple PDSCH transmissions illustrated in FIG. 8) belonging to a plurality of sub-groups. As illustrated in FIG. 9, the plurality of sub-groups may include a first sub-group and a second sub-group. Each sub-group is associated with one or more transmissions. For example, the first sub-group is associated with a first transmission (e.g., PDSCH 1) and a second transmission (e.g., PDSCH 2). The second sub-group is associated with a third transmission (e.g., PDSCH 3) and a fourth transmission (e.g., PDSCH 4).
[0110] the DCI indicates one or more parameters. The one or more parameters may include a feedback timing (e.g., a HARQ feedback timing such as K1) and/or a resource (e.g., a PUCCH resource) for a feedback (e.g., a HARQ feedback) for each sub-group. The feedback timing indicates a slot offset between a transmission of a sub-group and a corresponding feedback occasion for the feedback. For example, the slot offset may be between a last PDSCH transmission of the sub-group and the corresponding HARQ feedback.),
transmit the DCI to a terminal (Sakhnini [0108] a network entity (e.g., such as gNodeB (gNB) or BS 102 in wireless communication network 100 of FIG. 1) transmits a DCI to a UE.),
transmit the PDSCHs to the terminal (Sakhnini [0111] the network entity transmits the first transmission of the first sub-group to the UE.
[0112] the network entity transmits the second transmission of the first sub-group to the UE.
[0114] the network entity transmits the third transmission of the second sub-group to the UE.
[0115] the network entity transmits the fourth transmission of the second sub-group to the UE.
Note: first, second, third and fourth transmission corresponds to PDSCH 1, PDSCH 2, PDSCH 3 and PDSCH 4 in Fig. 8, 9.), and
receive, from the terminal, at least one PUCCH among the multiple PUCCHs including the HARQ feedback for the PDSCHs, based on determined PRI and K1 values (Sakhnini [0113] the UE transmits a first feedback (e.g., HARQ ACK 1 illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9) for the first sub-group to the network entity, in accordance with the feedback timing.
[0116] the UE transmits a second feedback (e.g., HARQ ACK 2 illustrated in FIG. 8 and FIG. 9) for the second sub-group to the network entity, in accordance with the feedback timing.
[0087] The PUCCH carries uplink control information (UCI), such as HARQ ACK/NACK feedback.),
wherein the terminal determines a PRI value and a K1 value for each of the multiple PUCCHs, based on the indication of the at least one PRI and the at least one K1 (Sakhnini [0117] the HARQ feedback timing and/or the PUCCH resource are applied to all of the plurality of sub-groups.
[0118] the DCI may indicate different HARQ feedback timings and/or PUCCH resources. The different HARQ feedback timings and/or the PUCCH resources are applied to different sub-groups of the plurality of sub-groups.).
Sakhnini does not explicitly teach wherein different offsets are determined for each of the multiple PUCCHs after a first PUCCH, based on a total number of the multiple PUCCHs and a total number of the PDSCHs.
Rastegardoost in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein different offsets are determined for each of the multiple PUCCHs after a first PUCCH, based on a total number of the multiple PUCCHs and a total number of the PDSCHs (Rastegardoost Fig. 23, as shown in the fig, 4 PDSCHs, PDSCH1, PDSCH2, PDSCH3 and PDSCH4; 2 PUCCHs, PUCCH1 and PUCCH2. The timing offset of right edge of the PUCCH2 relative to the left edge of PDSCH1 depends on the total number of PDSCHs and total number of PUCCHs. Assuming the length of each PDSCH is t_pdsch and the length of each PUCCH is t_pucch in the time domain, then the timing offset of PUCCH2 = 4 * t_pdsch + K1_1 + K1_2 + 2 * t_pucch. 4 is the total number of PDSCHs, 2 is the total number of PUCCHs.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakhnini with Rastegardoost’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing DCI overhead (Rastegardoost [0278]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Rastegardoost prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sakhnini prior art) based on design incentives (reducing DCI overhead) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1 and 18 recite similar limitations of claims 19 and 20 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 2, Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost (hereinafter combination) discloses The
method of claim 1.
Sakhnini teaches wherein the indication of the at least one PRI and the at least one K1 includes a
plurality of fields indicating the PRI values and the K1 values (Sakhnini [0118] the DCI may indicate different HARQ feedback timings and/or PUCCH resources. The different HARQ feedback timings and/or the PUCCH resources are applied to different sub-groups of the plurality of sub-groups. ).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
Sakhnini teaches wherein the indication of the at least one PRI and the at least one K1 includes a
single field including an index to an entry of a table identifying the PRI values and the K1 values (Sakhnini Fig. 11; [0119] the DCI may indicate an entry in a table (e.g., table illustrated in FIG. 11) including both HARQ feedback timings and PUCCH resources for different sub-groups of the plurality of sub-groups.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses The method of claim 3.
Sakhnini teaches wherein the table includes a plurality of entries, and each of the of entries
indicates different numbers of the PRI values and the K1 values (Sakhnini Fig. 11; [0119] each entry in the table may contain different parameter combination for the multiple sub-groups and/or CCs and/or CBGs. Note: as shown in Fig. 11, each entry in the table contains different K1 values and PUCCH resource indications (i.e. PRI). ).
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
Rastegardoost teaches wherein the indication of the at least one K1 includes only one K1 value
for the first PUCCH among the multiple PUCCHs (Rastegardoost
[0304] FIG. 23 shows an example of multiple HARQ feedback transmission associated with a multi-PDSCH scheduling, according to some embodiments. As shown in FIG. 23, the wireless device receives a DCI scheduling four PDSCHs (PDSCH #1 to PDSCH #4). In an example, the DCI may indicate one of the slot offsets (e.g., k1-1), and the other slot offset (e.g., k1-2) may be pre-defined and/or pre-configured by RRC signaling and/or indicated by a MAC-CE or a second DCI.
the wireless device may determine a first slot for a first PUCCH transmission (PUCCH #1) for first HARQ feedback transmission based on the first slot offset.
Note: As indicated in Fig. 23, the first PUCCH transmission (PUCCH #1) is at n+K1_1. ), and
wherein subsequent K1 values are determined for remaining PUCCHs among the multiple PUCCHs by applying the different offset to the one K1 value for each of the remaining PUCCHs (Rastegardoost [0304] The wireless device may determine a second slot for a second PUCCH transmission (PUCCH #2) for second HARQ feedback transmission based on the second slot offset. For example, the wireless device may apply the second slot offset to the first slot of the first PUCCH.
Note: As indicated in Fig. 23, the second PUCCH transmission (PUCCH #2) is at n+K1_1+K1_2.).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Rastegardoost) regarding claim 19 is applicable to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses The method of claim 10.
Rastegardoost teaches further comprising receiving the different offsets via radio resource
control (RRC), a medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE), or the DCI (Rastegardoost [0304] the other slot offset (e.g., k1-2) may be pre-defined and/or pre-configured by RRC signaling and/or indicated by a MAC-CE or a second DCI.).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Rastegardoost) regarding claim 19 is applicable to claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses The method of 10.
Rastegardoost teaches further comprising determining the different offsets based PUCCHs
indexes of the multiple PUCCHs (Rastegardoost [0304] the wireless device may determine a first slot for a first PUCCH transmission (PUCCH #1) for first HARQ feedback transmission based on the first slot offset. The wireless device may determine a second slot for a second PUCCH transmission (PUCCH #2) for second HARQ feedback transmission based on the second slot offset.
Note: As indicated in Fig. 23, K1_1 for PUCCH #1; K1_2 for PUCCH #2. PUCCH #1 corresponds to PUCCH with index 1; PUCCH #2 corresponds to PUCCH with index 2.).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Rastegardoost) regarding claim 19 is applicable to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses The method of 10.
Rastegardoost teaches further comprising determining the different offsets from a table based
on a total number of the PDSCHs (Rastegardoost [0307] the DCI scheduling multiple PDSCHs may comprise a field indicating two or more slot offsets for HARQ feedback timing of the multiple PDSCHs. For example, one or more first bits of the field may indicate a first slot offset (e.g., MSB.fwdarw.k1_1) and one or more second bits of the field may indicate a second slot offset (e.g., LSB.fwdarw.k1_2). For example, RRC parameters may indicate a table for joint indication of the two or more slot offsets. For example, the table may be pre-defined. For example, the field in the DCI may indicate an entry/row of the table, wherein the entry/row indicates the two or more slot offsets for two or more HARQ feedback timing. For example, the slot offsets may be applied to PDSCHs in an order of bits (e.g., from MSB to LSB) and/or an order of time.
[0308] In an example, the TDRA table that the RRC indicates for PDSCH configuration may indicate the two or more HARQ feedback timing. For example, the multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI may comprise a TDRA field indicating/pointing to an entry/row of the pre-configured/pre-defined TDRA table, wherein the entry/row indicates SLIV for each of the multiple PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI. The TDRA field may indicate one or more time gap between two of the PDSCHs. For example, the wireless device may determine a slot associated with a gap between two PDSCHs of the multiple PDSCHs for a HARQ transmission of the multi-PDSCH scheduling. The gap may comprise one or more slots and/or one or more symbols. For example, the wireless device may determine one or more first slots for PUCCH transmission comprising HARQ feedback of one or more of the PDSCHs based on the gaps between the scheduled PDSCHs. For example, the wireless device may determine one or more second slots for HARQ feedback transmission based on a HARQ feedback timing field in the DCI. ).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Rastegardoost) regarding claim 19 is applicable to claim 13.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US 20220046696 A1 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses The method of claim 3.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein a bit size of the single field is based on a total
number of entries in the table.
Park in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein a bit size of the single field is based on a total number of entries in the table (Park [0105] The bit size of the DCI field is determined by the number of entries configured in Table.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Park’s above teachings. The motivation is improving reliability of data transmission (Park [0008]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Park prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sakhnini and Rastegardoost prior art) based on design incentives (improving reliability of data transmission) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost and Park discloses The method of claim 4.
Sakhnini teaches wherein the table is configured by higher layer signaling (Sakhnini [0119] The
table may be configured via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration.).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230371027 A1 (hereinafter Fu).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein each of the PDSCHs is one-to-one mapped to
one of the multiple PUCCHs, and wherein a respective K1 value for each of the multiple PUCCHs is measured relative to a corresponding mapped PDSCH.
Fu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein each of the PDSCHs is one-to-one mapped to one of the multiple PUCCHs (Fu Fig. 5; [0019] FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of scheduling two or more PDSCHs using one DCI and transmitting HARQ-ACK feedbacks of two or more PDSCHs using PUCCH resources according to embodiments of the disclosure.
[0092] The m.sup.th PUCCH resource is configured to receive a HARQ-ACK of the PDSCH and m is a serial number of a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI.
Note: As shown in Fig. 5, PDSCH 0, PDSCH 1, PDSCH 2 and PDSCH 3 are one to one mapped to corresponding PUCCHs.
), and
wherein a respective K1 value for each of the multiple PUCCHs is measured relative to a corresponding mapped PDSCH (Fu Fig. 5; [0091] A slot position of an m.sup.th PUCCH resource is determined based on the slot position of the m.sup.th PDSCH scheduled by the DCI and the K1 value carried by the DCI.
[0094] As illustrated in FIG. 5, since the unified K1 value is adopted, the slot positions of the PUCCH resources corresponding to the PDSCHs may be determined by offsetting the slot positions of the PDSCHs by K1 slots respectively.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Fu’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the signaling utilization of DCI (Fu [0157]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Fu prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sakhnini and Rastegardoost prior art) based on design incentives (improving the signaling utilization of DCI) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of US 20200127796 A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the indication of the at least one K1 includes
multiple K1 values for the multiple PUCCHs, and wherein each of the K1 values for the multiple PUCCHs is measured relative to a reference PDSCH among the PDSCHs.
Li in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the indication of the at least one K1 includes multiple K1 values for the multiple PUCCHs, and wherein each of the K1 values for the multiple PUCCHs is measured relative to a reference PDSCH among the PDSCHs (Li Fig. 20; [0136] a DCI could indicate multiple values of K1 for PDSCH-to-HARQ-ACK timings, so that multiple PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK transmission can be indicated by the DCI. Note: as shown in Fig. 20, both K1-1 and K1-2 are measured relative to the same PDSCH.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Li’s above teachings. The motivation is providing more opportunities for PUCCH transmission (Li [0136]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Li prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sakhnini and Rastegardoost prior art) based on design incentives (providing more opportunities for PUCCH transmission) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost and Li discloses The method of claim 8.
Li teaches the reference PDSCH is a first PDSCH (Li Fig. 20; Note: as shown in Fig. 20, both K1-1
and K1-2 are measured relative to the first PDSCH.).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Li) regarding claim 8 is applicable to claim 9.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220311545 A1 (hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising mapping a PDSCH received to a
closest PUCCH occasion that occurs after receiving the PDSCH reception and satisfying a processing timeline of the terminal that occurs after an indicated PUCCH, when the indicated PUCCH does not satisfy the processing timeline of the terminal.
Sun in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising mapping a PDSCH received to a closest PUCCH occasion that occurs after receiving the PDSCH reception and satisfying a processing timeline of the terminal that occurs after an indicated PUCCH, when the indicated PUCCH does not satisfy the processing timeline of the terminal (Sun Fig. 3A; [0060] FIG. 3A illustrates a diagram 300 showing an example minimum timing offset that reflects the minimum HARQ-ACK processing time 302 for a PDSCH 304 in accordance with some embodiments. In diagram 300. PUCCH 306, 308, 310, and 312 are PUCCH transmissions that may occur for PDSCH 304. As shown by diagram 300, the minimum HARQ-ACK processing time 302 extends from PDSCH 304 (e.g., from after the last symbol of PDSCH 304) through part of slot 4. Accordingly, in the example shown, PUCCH 306 and 308 do not satisfy the minimum timing offset because they located within the minimum HARQ-ACK processing time 302. PUCCH 306 and 308 therefore may not be the first PUCCH transmission after PDSCH 304. In the example shown, PUCCH 310 and 312 comply with the minimum timing offset because they are located in slots 5 and 6, which are after the slots 1, 2, 3, and 4 that are covered by the minimum HARQ-ACK processing time 302. Thus, the first PUCCH transmission after PDSCH 304 may be PUCCH 310 since it complies with the minimum timing offset. Note: PUCCH 310 is the closest PUCCH occasion; PUCCH 308 is the indicated PUCCH. ).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Sun’s above teachings. The motivation is ensuring PUCCH transmission complying with minimum processing time (Sun [0060]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Sun prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sakhnini and Rastegardoost prior art) based on design incentives (ensuring PUCCH transmission complying with minimum processing time) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses The method of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein transmitting, to the base station, the at least
one PUCCH among the multiple PUCCHs including the HARQ feedback for the PDSCHs, comprises transmitting HARQ feedback for a PDSCH mapped to a later scheduled PUCCH transmission, in an earlier PUCCH transmission satisfying a processing timeline of the terminal.
Sun in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein transmitting, to the base station,
the at least one PUCCH among the multiple PUCCHs including the HARQ feedback for the PDSCHs, comprises transmitting HARQ feedback for a PDSCH mapped to a later scheduled PUCCH transmission, in an earlier PUCCH transmission satisfying a processing timeline of the terminal (Sun Fig. 3A; [0060] In diagram 300, PUCCH 306, 308, 310, and 312 are PUCCH transmissions that may occur for PDSCH 304. PUCCH 306 and 308 do not satisfy the minimum timing offset because they located within the minimum HARQ-ACK processing time 302. PUCCH 306 and 308 therefore may not be the first PUCCH transmission after PDSCH 304. the first PUCCH transmission after PDSCH 304 may be PUCCH 310 since it complies with the minimum timing offset. Note: PUCCH 312 is a later scheduled PUCCH transmission for PDSCH 304.).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Sun) regarding claim 15 is applicable to claim 16.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakhnini in view of Rastegardoost as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230083414 A1 (hereinafter Takeda).
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses The method claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, from the base station,
another DCI; and incrementing a counter DL assignment index (C-DAI) by a value of 1 or by a value corresponding to a total number of the PDSCHs.
Takeda in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further comprising: receiving, from the base station, another DCI; and incrementing a counter DL assignment index (C-DAI) by a value of 1 or by a value corresponding to a total number of the PDSCHs (Takeda [0128] a counter-downlink assignment index (C-DAI) that may be configured in the DCIs that a UE 115 receives from a base station 105. The base station may include a count value (e.g., the C-DAI) in each DCI.
[0129] The count in the DCI may be incremented by one when the DCI is transmitted on the actual CCs, such as CC 405-a or CC 405-b.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Takeda’s above teachings. The motivation is improving communications reliability (Takeda [0163]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Takeda prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Sakhnini and Rastegardoost prior art) based on design incentives (improving communications reliability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418