DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1 - 7 in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 – 10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/27/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2023, 04/20/2026, and 05/08/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 07/14/2023 were received and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification received on 07/14/2023 was received and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the separator layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The spec describes a lithium-ion battery having a negative electrode layer, an electrolyte layer, and a positive electrode layer; therefore, the examiner is interpreting the separator layer as being the electrolyte layer for art purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harata et al (JP2022034998A, as provided in IDS received 04/20/2026, hereinafter Harata).
Regarding claim 1, Harata teaches the following elements:
Electrode active material Si particles having clathrate-type Si and diamond-type Si in the same particles. (FIG. 1 shows an overlaid X-ray diffraction chart of the negative electrode active material of Examples 1 to 3, and an overlaid X-ray diffraction chart of the negative electrode active material of Examples 4 to 7 is shown in FIG. Shown in 2. In FIG. 1, the peaks indicated by black triangles are derived from silicon clathrate II, the peaks indicated by white circles are derived from silicon clathrate I, and the peaks indicated by × are diamond structures., Harata, [0060])
Regarding claim 3, Harata teaches the following elements:
The electrode active material Si particles according to claim 1, wherein the clathrate-type Si at least partially has a clathrate type II structure. (FIG. 1 shows an overlaid X-ray diffraction chart of the negative electrode active material of Examples 1 to 3, and an overlaid X-ray diffraction chart of the negative electrode active material of Examples 4 to 7 is shown in FIG. Shown in 2. In FIG. 1, the peaks indicated by black triangles are derived from silicon clathrate II, the peaks indicated by white circles are derived from silicon clathrate I, and the peaks indicated by × are diamond structures., Harata, [0060])
Regarding claim 4, Harata teaches the following elements:
The electrode active material Si particles according to claim 1, which have a porous structure. (Na is present in all polyhedral cages that make up the silicon clathrate I., Harata, [0003]) and (That is, Na may or may not be present in the cage of the polyhedron constituting the silicon clathrate II., Harata, [0004])
The cage like structure of clathrate-type silicon containing pores.
Regarding claim 5, Harata teaches the following elements:
An electrode compound material comprising electrode active material Si particles according to claim 1. (From FIG. 3, while the negative electrode active material of Comparative Example 1 contains a large amount of silicon clathrate I and an unreacted Na—Si alloy in addition to silicon clathrate II, each of Example 1 and Comparative Example 2 It can be seen that all the negative electrode active materials contain silicon clathrate II as a main component., Harata, [0079])
Regarding claim 6, Harata teaches the following elements:
A lithium-ion battery having a negative electrode layer comprising an electrode compound material according to claim 5, an electrolyte layer and a positive electrode layer, in that order. (The negative electrode active material of the present invention can be used as a negative electrode active material for a secondary battery such as a lithium ion secondary battery and a power storage device such as an electric double layer capacitor and a lithium ion capacitor. The lithium ion secondary battery includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode, an electrolytic solution and a separator, or a positive electrode, a negative electrode and a solid electrolyte., Harata, [0041])
Regarding claim 7, Harata teaches the following elements:
The lithium-ion battery according to claim 6, wherein the separator layer is a solid electrolyte layer. (The negative electrode active material of the present invention can be used as a negative electrode active material for a secondary battery such as a lithium ion secondary battery and a power storage device such as an electric double layer capacitor and a lithium ion capacitor. The lithium ion secondary battery includes a positive electrode, a negative electrode, an electrolytic solution and a separator, or a positive electrode, a negative electrode and a solid electrolyte., Harata, [0041])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harata et al (JP2022034998A, as provided in IDS received 04/20/2026, hereinafter Harata) in view of Goodman et al (US10439223B1, hereinafter Goodman).
Regarding claim 2, Harata teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as shown above. However, Harata does not teach the specific abundance ratio of diamond-type Si of 0.05% to 11.00% in the electrode active material. Goodman teaches a silicon-carbide reinforced binder for secondary batteries, specifically silicon nanocrystals mixed with a binder. Goodman also teaches that these silicon nanocrystals can have a certain portion of silicon in a diamond-cubic crystal structure ranging from 10% of the silicon metal to 95%. (Preferably, at least 10 atom %, 20 atom %, 25 atom %, 30 atom %, 35 atom %, 40 atom %, 45 atom %, 50 atom %, 55 atom %, 60 atom %, 65 atom %, 70 atom %, 75 atom %, 80 atom %, 85 atom %, 90 atom %, or 95 atom % of the silicon metal has a diamond-cubic crystal structure. Notably, the silicon metal can be single crystalline or can be polycrystalline., Goodman, column 7 lines 33 - 39)
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exits. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the abundance ratio of diamond-type silicon in the electrode active material of Harata with the specified ratio of at least 10% of Goodman because it might further negate the volumetric expansion of Si materials due to the influx of atoms.
/JOSHUA P BISTANY-RIEBMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721