DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 10-31-2025
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10-12-2023 was filed after the mailing date of the application filed on 7-14-2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11 depending on claim 10 and 12 depending on claim 9.
Claims 11 line 1 and 12 line 1, “signal generator” should change to “sound generator” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recited “wherein at least one sound transducer of the first to fourth sound transducers is configured as headphone capsule”
It is not clear what is meant by headphone capsule. In general, a driver for a headphone is regarded here as such a capsule.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohta US Patent 3796840
Regarding claim 1, Ohta discloses sound generator wearable on the head (Figs 1-2, col 3 line 11-33), comprising:
a first sound generator element (Fig 1, a first sound generator element 11, col 3 line 11-33) on a first side (left side, col 3 line 14, col 4 line 64-68); and
a second sound generator element (Fig 3, second sound generator element 12, col 3 line 11-33) on a second side (right side, col 3 line 14-15, col 4 line 64-68),
wherein at least a first sound transducer (speaker 14 , col 3 line 13-20; Figs 1, 3 and 4); and
the second sound transducer (speaker 15, col 3 line 13-20; Figs 1, 3 and 4) are arranged in the first sound generator element (11) such that sound emission direction of the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer are parallel or deviate by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction (Figs 1-2, discloses an arrangement of the sound transducers with sound emission directions which deviate by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction (col 3 line 64-col 4 line 8, col 4 line 1-4 defined “less than 180 DEG relative to each other”, Fig 5 shows an embodiment with 150°, i.e. corresponding to 30°, in the definition of the claimed invention. Although 0°, i.e. “parallel” is therefore excluded. Ohta discloses a value arbitrarily close to 0° to 30°. Col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 1- 8, col 4 line 1-14 discloses the speakers 14 and 15 respectively generally consist of magnet poles 39 and 40, magnets 41 and 42 and diaphragms 43 and 44 which are respectively mounted on unit mounting plate 45 with an angle of less than 180° relative to each other as shown in cross section in Fig 5. In the present embodiment, the angle made between planes which are vertical to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 of the speakers 14 and 15 is 150.degree. and the angle made between the directions of the center of radiation of sound which are equal to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 is 30.degree) and
wherein a third sound transducer (18) and a fourth sound transducer (speaker 19, col 3 line 11-33) are arranged in the second sound generator element (12) such that sound emission directions of the third sound transducer and the fourth sound transducer are parallel to one another or deviate by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction.
(the third sound generator 18 and fourth sound generator 19, col 3 line 11-33 are arranged in the second sound generator element 12 such that sound emission directions of the third sound transducer and the further sound transducer by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction, col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 8, see discussion above, which applied equally to the right sound generator element 12, col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 1- 8, col 4 line 1-14 discloses the speakers 18 and 19 respectively generally consist of magnet poles 39 and 40, magnets 41 and 42 and diaphragms 43 and 44 which are respectively mounted on unit mounting plate 45 with an angle of less than 180° relative to each other as shown in cross section in Fig 5. In the present embodiment, the angle made between planes which are vertical to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 of the speakers 14 and 15 is 150.degree. and the angle made between the directions of the center of radiation of sound which are equal to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 is 30.degree).
Regarding claim 3, Ohta discloses sound generator according to claim 1 configured as headphones, wherein the first sound generator element (Fig 1, first sound generator element 11, col 3 line 11-13) comprises a first headphone chamber (left side headphone chamber, col 3 line 14),
wherein the second sound generator element (Fig 3, second sound generator element 12, col 3 line 11-33) comprises a second headphone chamber (left side headphone chamber, col 3 line 14-15), and
wherein a connecting ridge connecting the first headphone chamber and the second headphone chamber to one another is arranged (Fig 5 shows speakers 14 and 15 are separated from each other by partitions 47, col 4 line 15-21, claims 3, claim 7), and
wherein the first sound transducer (Fig 1, 14) and the second sound transducer (Fig 1, 15) are arranged in the first headphone chamber (left side of the headphone chamber, col 3 line 14), and wherein the third sound transducer (Fig 1, 18) and the fourth sound transducer (Fig 1, 19) are arranged in the second headphone chamber (Fig 1 right side of the headphone chamber, col 3 line 11-33).
Regarding claim 5, Ohta discloses sound generator according to claim 1, wherein the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer are arranged horizontally next to each other when the sound generator is worn on the head (Fig 1 shows speakers 14, 15 is worn on the head),
or wherein the third sound transducer and the fourth sound transducer are arranged horizontally next to each other when the sound generator is worn on the head (Fig 1 shows speaker 18, 19 is worn on the head).
Regarding claim 30, Ohta discloses method for operating a sound generator with
a first sound generator element (Fig 1, a first sound generator element 11, col 3 line 11-33) on a first side (left side, col 3 line 14, col 4 line 64-68); and
a second sound generator element (Fig 3, second sound generator element 12, col 3 line 11-33) on a second side (right side, col 3 line 14-15, col 4 line 64-68), comprising:
emitting sound by a first sound transducer (speaker 14 , col 3 line 13-20; Figs 1, 3 and 4); and
a second sound transducer (speaker 15, col 3 line 13-20; Figs 1, 3 and 4) in the first sound generator element (11), such that sound emission directions of the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer are parallel or deviate by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction (Figs 1-2, discloses an arrangement of the sound transducers with sound emission directions which deviate by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction (col 3 line 64-col 4 line 8, col 4 line 1-4 defined “less than 180 DEG relative to each other”, Fig 5 shows an embodiment with 150°, i.e. corresponding to 30°, in the definition of the claimed invention. Although 0°, i.e. “parallel” is therefore excluded. Ohta discloses a value arbitrarily close to 0° to 30°. Col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 1- 8, col 4 line 1-14 discloses the speakers 14 and 15 respectively generally consist of magnet poles 39 and 40, magnets 41 and 42 and diaphragms 43 and 44 which are respectively mounted on unit mounting plate 45 with an angle of less than 180° relative to each other as shown in cross section in Fig 5. In the present embodiment, the angle made between planes which are vertical to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 of the speakers 14 and 15 is 150.degree. and the angle made between the directions of the center of radiation of sound which are equal to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 is 30.degree) and
emitting sound by a third sound transducer (speaker 18, col 3 line 11-33) and a fourth sound transducer (speaker 19, col 3 line 11-33) in the second sound generator element, such that sound emission directions of the third sound transducer and the fourth sound transducer are parallel to one another or deviated by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction
(the third sound generator 18 and fourth sound generator 19, col 3 line 11-33 are arranged in the second sound generator element 12 such that sound emission directions of the third sound transducer and the further sound transducer by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction, col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 8, see discussion above, which applied equally to the right sound generator element 12, col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 1- 8, col 4 line 1-14 discloses the speakers 18 and 19 respectively generally consist of magnet poles 39 and 40, magnets 41 and 42 and diaphragms 43 and 44 which are respectively mounted on unit mounting plate 45 with an angle of less than 180° relative to each other as shown in cross section in Fig 5. In the present embodiment, the angle made between planes which are vertical to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 of the speakers 14 and 15 is 150.degree. and the angle made between the directions of the center of radiation of sound which are equal to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 is 30.degree).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta 3796840 in view of Clark 2021/0127199
Regarding claim 2, Ohta discloses in Figs 1-2, col 3 line 11-33, four sound transducers 14, 15, 18, and 19.
as MEMS transducer or dynamic transducer (Figs 1-2 each shows a headphone with dynamic transducers), and
wherein each transducer comprises its own sound output to emit sound in the emission direction (Figs 1-2 shows each transducer has its own output such as channel “ch-1 to ch-4, col 1 line 10-30, col 3 line 10-44).
Ohta does not explicitly discloses wherein at least one sound transducer of the first to fourth sound transducers is configured as balanced armature transducer.
Clark teaches wherein at least one sound transducer of the first to fourth sound transducers is configured as balanced armature transducer (Fig 4A-4B, earphone 160 includes multiple balance armature (BA) driver 162, para [32-35]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Clark in Ohta’s invention in order to improve acoustic performance in smaller physical packages conductive to earphone utilization. See Clark’s para [32].
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta 3796840 in view of Sporer 20120008812
Regarding claim 4, Ohta discloses sound generator according to claim 1,
wherein at least one sound transducer of the first to fourth sound transducers is configured as headphone capsule (referred to 112 rejection, Ohta discloses headphone capsule via as drivers).
Ohta does not explicitly disclose wherein each headphone capsule has the same size or wherein each headphone capsule has a diameter of less than 4 cm.
Sporer teaches wherein each headphone capsule has the same size or wherein each headphone capsule has a diameter of less than 4 cm (para [43] teaches headphone capsules is very small, Figs 6a-6b shows having very small depth of only 10.6 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Sporer in Ohta’s invention for improving performance and low cost. See Sporer’s para [43].
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta 3796840
Regarding claim 6, Ohta discloses sound generator according to claim 1,
wherein a first partition is arranged between the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer (Fig 5 shows partition 47 is arrange between the speaker 14 and speaker 15, col 4 line 15-20),
which projects less than 3 cm with respect to the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer (Fig 5 shows a distance between speaker 14 and speaker 15).
Ohta discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a first partition is arranged between the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer which projects less than 3 cm with respect to the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to by the manufactures or one ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made wherein a first partition is arranged between the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer which projects less than 3 cm with respect to the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer, since it has been held that where the conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable resulted.
or wherein a second partition is arranged between the third sound transducer and the fourth sound transducer, which projects less than 3 cm with respect to the third sound transducer and the fourth sound transducer;
or wherein the first partition or the second partition project by at least 1 cm with respect to a respective pair of first and second sound transducers or third and fourth sound transducers.
Regarding claim 7, Ohta discloses sound generator according to claim 6, wherein the first partition or the second partition (Fig 5 shows left and right partitions 47) is semicircular, elliptical or parabolic,
wherein the partition projects highest at a shortest distance between center portions of the first and second sound transducer or the third and fourth transducer (Fig 5 shows two partitions 47, col 4 line 15-21, claims 3 and 7).
Ohta discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first partition or the second partition is semicircular, elliptical or parabolic. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to by the manufactures or one ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made the first partition or the second partition is semicircular, elliptical or parabolic. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to by the manufactures or one ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to have made the first partition or the second partition is semicircular, elliptical or parabolic, since it has been held that where the conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable resulted.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta 3796840 in view of Turner 3,984,636
Regarding claim 8, Ohta does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 8.
Turner teaches sound generator according to claim 1, comprising:
an input interface (input interface is at least a cable connection or an input jack, (Fig 1 col 2 line 68-col 3 line 1-8) for receiving a first control signal for the first sound transducer,
(signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68. The signal processor is designed to generate, from the first input channel and the second input channel, a first control signal for a first sound transducer 20, L20, see Figs 4-5),
a second control signal for the second sound transducer (Figs 4-5, second transducer 21, 21L on a first side L of a sound generator, col 4 line 17-29);
a third control signal for the third sound transducer (third sound transducer 20, 20R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29) and
a fourth control signal for the fourth sound transducer (fourth sound transducer 21, 21R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29);
wherein the first control signal and the second control signal are out of phase (Abstract teaches headphone including control circuit that includes phase reversal switches 40, 41, 42, and a control coupling to a phase shift. The shift phase is a control that adjust the timing relationship between two waves such as “out of phase” Col 2 line 15-21, col 4 line 30-43, col 4 line 67-col 5 line 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Turner in Ohta’s invention, the effect of this electronic mixing is enhanced by asymmetrically mounted the audio transducer within headphone cup. See Turner’s abstract.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta 3796840 in view of Turner 3,984636 further in view of Takahashi 3,783,192
Regarding claim 9, Ohta as modified by Turner does not explicitly disclose claimed limitation as recited in claim 9.
Takahashi teaches sound generator according to claim 8, wherein the signal processor comprises:
a first input for the first input channel (Fig 6, first input/L signal for the first input channel/FL, col 2 line 37-60, abstract);
a second input for the second input channel (Fig 6 second input/R signal for the second channel/RL, col 2 line 37-60);
a first branch element (Fig 6, L-R via 5) connecting the first input to a first signal path (L signal) for the first sound transducer and to a second signal path for the second sound transducer (Fig 6 second signal path/RL; col 2 line 37-60, abstract).
or
a second branch element connecting the second input to a third signal path for the third sound transducer and to a fourth signal path for the fourth sound transducer,
wherein at least one signal path of the first signal path and the second signal path
or at least one signal path of the third signal path and the fourth signal path comprises a phase shifter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Takahashi in Ohta’s invention as modified by Turner, in order to improve the separation between the front and rear channels.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta 3796840 in view of Turner 3,984636 further in view of Takahashi 3,783,192 further in view of Lawande 2015/0117667 further as modified by Woelfl 2018/0192226
Regarding claim 10, Ohta as modified by Turner further as modified by Takahashi does not teach the claimed limitation as recited in claim 10.
Lawande teaches sound generator according to claim 9, wherein the first branch element or the second branch element, or the first signal path, or at least one signal path of the first signal path, the second signal path, the third signal path and the fourth signal path comprises a frequency-selective filter (para [25] teaches frequency selective filters such as high-pass filter 26, midrange filter 27, low-pass filter 28 and adder 29 may be used, as shown in Fig 4) to acquire a filtered portion of the first input channel or the second input channel in the respective signal path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Lawande in Ohta’s invention as modified by Turner and Takahashi, selection frequency filter improve signal quality by isolating desired frequencies and removing noise, using techniques like low-pass/high-pass, band-pass filters.
Lawande does not explicitly teach wherein the respective signal path further comprises an adder to add an unfiltered portion of the first input channel or the second input channel to the filtered portion.
Woelfl teaches wherein the respective signal path further comprises an adder to add an unfiltered portion of the first input channel or the second input channel to the filtered portion (Para [192] teaches a crossfeed unit, configured to filter the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal, to mix the unfiltered first audio input signal with the filtered second audio input signal, and to mix the filtered first audio input signal with the unfiltered second audio input signal. Para [193] teaches wherein crossfeeding comprises filtering the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal, mixing the unfiltered first audio input signal with the filtered second audio input signal, and mixing the filtered first audio input signal with the unfiltered second audio input signal, and applying artificial reflections to the first audio input signal and the second audio input signal, para [81].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Woelfl in Ohta’s invention as modified by Turner further as modified by Lawande in order to improve listening experience.
Regarding claim 11, Ohta as modified by Turner further as modified by Takahashi does not teach the claimed limitation as recited in claim 11.
Lawande teaches Signal generator according to claim 10, wherein the frequency-selective filter comprises a high pass filter (para [25] teaches frequency selective filters such as high-pass filter 26, midrange filter 27, low-pass filter 28 and adder 29 may be used, as shown in Fig 4) to acquire a filtered portion of the first input channel or the second input channel in the respective signal path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Lawande in Ohta’s invention, selection frequency filter improve signal quality by isolating desired frequencies and removing noise, using techniques like low-pass/high-pass, band-pass filters.
Claim 23, 29, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Turner 3,984636 in view of Dijkstra EP1640972A1
Regarding claim 23, Turner discloses signal processor (signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68), comprising:
a first input for a first input channel; a second input for a second input channel,
wherein the signal processor is configured to generate, from the first input channel and the second input channel (signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68. The signal processor is designed to generate, from the first input channel and the second input channel, a first control signal for a first sound transducer 20, L20, see Figs 4-5),
a first control signa3first input channel and the second input channel, a first control signal for a first sound transducer 20, L20, see Figs 4-5), and
a second control signal for a second sound transducer on a first side of a sound generator (Figs 4-5, second transducer 21, 21L on a first side L of a sound generator, col 4 line 17-29); and
to generate a third control signal for a third sound transducer (third sound transducer 20, 20R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29) and
to generate a fourth control signal for a first sound transducer on a second side of the sound generator (fourth sound transducer 21, 21R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29).
Turner does not explicitly discloses a wireless interface for outputting the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal and the fourth control signal.
However, using wireless interface/connection to headphone is well known in the art.
Dijkstra EP1640972A1 teaches in Figs 1-4 shows various ways of connecting a playback device 10 on the ear to a signal processor 24. In addition to the integration of the signal processor 24 in the earpiece 10 as shows in Fig 1, para [29-30]. Fig 3 shows a cable connection between the earpiece 10 and the external signal processor 24, para [33, 36]. Fig 4 shows a wireless connection between the earpiece 10 and the external signal processor 24, para [37].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Dijkstra in Turner ‘s invention, enable wireless interface between the headphone and any external electronic device.
Regarding claim 29, Turner does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 29.
One ordinary skill in the art would know that a mobile device has a signal processor for wireless connectivity via Bluetooth.
Dijkstra EP1640972A1 teaches signal processor according to claim 23 arranged in a mobile device, wherein the first input and the second input of the signal processor can be coupled to an audio library stored in the mobile device,
or wherein the first input and the second input can be coupled to a remote audio library via an interface of the mobile device and wherein the wireless interface is a Bluetooth interface or a WLAN interface (para [33] teaches an interface of a standard wireless communication device, such as a mobile telephone device or a mobile radio device. Preferably, the wireless link between the transmitter T1 / receiver R 1 and the remote receiver R2 / remote transmitter T2 is a Bluetooth link. The remote receiver R2 / transmitter T2 then could be a part of the Bluetooth interface of a standard wireless communication device, such as a mobile telephone device or a mobile radio device,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Dijkstra in Turner ‘s invention, enable wireless interface between the headphone and any external electronic device.
Regarding claim 31, Turner discloses method for operating a signal processor (signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68) with a first input for a first input channel and a second input for a second input channel, comprising: generating, from the first input channel and the second input channel (signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68. The signal processor is designed to generate, from the first input channel and the second input channel, a first control signal for a first sound transducer 20, L20, see Figs 4-5),
a first control signal for a first sound transducer (signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68. The signal processor is designed to generate, from the first input channel and the second input channel, a first control signal for a first sound transducer 20, L20, see Figs 4-5), and
a second control signal for a second sound transducer on a first side of a sound generator (Figs 4-5, second transducer 21, 21L on a first side L of a sound generator, col 4 line 17-29), and
a third control signal for a third sound transducer (third sound transducer 20, 20R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29) and
a fourth control signal for a fourth sound transducer on a second side of the sound generator (fourth sound transducer 21, 21R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29).
Turner does not explicitly teach outputting, via a wireless interface, the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal and the fourth control signal.
However, using wireless interface/connection to headphone is well known in the art.
Dijkstra EP1640972A1 teaches in Figs 1-4 shows various ways of connecting a playback device 10 on the ear to a signal processor 24. In addition to the integration of the signal processor 24 in the earpiece 10 as shows in Fig 1, para [29-30]. Fig 3 shows a cable connection between the earpiece 10 and the external signal processor 24, para [33, 36]. Fig 4 shows a wireless connection between the earpiece 10 and the external signal processor 24, para [37].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Dijkstra in Turner ‘s invention, enable wireless interface between the headphone and any external electronic device.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Turner 3,984636 in view of Dijkstra EP1640972A1 further in view of Takahashi 3783192
Regarding claim 26, Turner as modified by Dijkstra does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 26.
Takahashi teaches signal processor according to claim 23, wherein the first branch element or the second branch element is configured to provide a signal for the first signal path with a positive phase shift by using a phase shifter and to provide a signal for the second signal path with a negative phase shift by using a further phase shifter (Col 1 line 60-65 teaches positive phase shift 90.degree; col 2 line 53-60 teaches the left and right signals L and R applied to a first matrix circuit 5 which produces a difference signal (L - R) and to a second matrix circuit 6 which produces a sum signal (L + R). The sum signal (L + R) is passed through a -90.degree. phase shifter 7 to produce a signal whose phase is lagged 90.degree. with reference to the difference signal (L - R). Also see col 3 line 4-19 and Figs 5-6 and 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Takahashi in Turner’s invention as modified by Dijkstra, in order to preserve the desirable phase characteristic of the SQ system over the entire audio frequency range it is advantageous to use an SQ decoder. Especially suitable for use in the SQ decoder system which can improve the separation between the front and rear channels. See Takahashi’s col 4 line 9-12; col 5 line 24-25.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohta 3796840 in view of Brimijoin II 2022/0021972
Regarding claim 32, Ohta discloses a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating
a sound generator with a first sound generator element (Fig 1, a first sound generator element 11, col 3 line 11-33) on a first side (left side, col 3 line 14, col 4 line 64-68); and a second sound generator element (Fig 3, second sound generator element 12, col 3 line 11-33) on a second side (right side, col 3 line 14-15, col 4 line 64-68), the method comprising:
emitting sound by a first sound transducer speaker 14 , col 3 line 13-20; Figs 1, 3 and 4); and a second sound transducer (speaker 15, col 3 line 13-20; Figs 1, 3 and 4) in the first sound generator element (11), such that sound emission directions of the first sound transducer and the second sound transducer are parallel or deviate by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction
(Figs 1-2, discloses an arrangement of the sound transducers with sound emission directions which deviate by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction (col 3 line 64-col 4 line 8, col 4 line 1-4 defined “less than 180 DEG relative to each other”, Fig 5 shows an embodiment with 150°, i.e. corresponding to 30°, in the definition of the claimed invention. Although 0°, i.e. “parallel” is therefore excluded. Ohta discloses a value arbitrarily close to 0° to 30°. Col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 1- 8, col 4 line 1-14 discloses the speakers 14 and 15 respectively generally consist of magnet poles 39 and 40, magnets 41 and 42 and diaphragms 43 and 44 which are respectively mounted on unit mounting plate 45 with an angle of less than 180° relative to each other as shown in cross section in Fig 5. In the present embodiment, the angle made between planes which are vertical to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 of the speakers 14 and 15 is 150.degree. and the angle made between the directions of the center of radiation of sound which are equal to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 is 30.degree) and
emitting sound by a third sound transducer (18) and a fourth sound transducer (speaker 19, col 3 line 11-33) in the second sound generator element (12), such that sound emission directions of the third sound transducer and the fourth sound transducer are parallel to one another by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction
(the third sound generator 18 and fourth sound generator 19, col 3 line 11-33 are arranged in the second sound generator element 12 such that sound emission directions of the third sound transducer and the further sound transducer by less than 30° from a parallel emission direction, col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 8, see discussion above, which applied equally to the right sound generator element 12, col 3 line 64 – col 4 line 1- 8, col 4 line 1-14 discloses the speakers 18 and 19 respectively generally consist of magnet poles 39 and 40, magnets 41 and 42 and diaphragms 43 and 44 which are respectively mounted on unit mounting plate 45 with an angle of less than 180° relative to each other as shown in cross section in Fig 5. In the present embodiment, the angle made between planes which are vertical to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 of the speakers 14 and 15 is 150.degree. and the angle made between the directions of the center of radiation of sound which are equal to the central axes of the magnets 41 and 42 is 30.degree).
Ohta does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a sound generator with a first sound generator element and when said computer program is run by a computer.
Brimijoin II teaches a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a sound generator with a first sound generator element and when said computer program is run by a computer (para [39] teaches headset 100 includes multiple speaker, para [7, 41, 109-110] teaches the audio controller 150 may comprise a processor and a computer readable storage medium. The audio controller is further configured to provide the augmented sound signal to the in-ear device for presentation to a user, and non-transitory computer readable storage mediums configured to store instructions for performing the methods of this disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Brimijoin II in Ohta ‘s invention, provides the data and instructions needed for a computer to perform the method for operating sound generators.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner 3,984636 in view of Brimijoin II 2022/0021972
Regarding claim 33, Turner teaches a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a signal processor (signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68) with a first input for a first input channel and a second input for a second input channel the method comprising:
generating, from the first input channel and the second input channel (signal processor/amplifier 10 and ambience programmer 4, col 2 line 67-col 3 line 8, col 3 line 65-col 4 line 13, col 3 line 65 – 68. The signal processor is designed to generate, from the first input channel and the second input channel, a first control signal for a first sound transducer 20, L20, see Figs 4-5),
a first control signal for a first sound transducer and a second control signal for a second sound transducer on a first side of a sound generator (Figs 4-5, second transducer 21, 21L on a first side L of a sound generator, col 4 line 17-29), and
a third control signal for a third sound transducer (third sound transducer 20, 20R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29) and
a fourth control signal for a fourth sound transducer on a second side of the sound generator; and outputting, via a wireless interface (fourth sound transducer 21, 21R on a second side R of the sound generator, col 4 line 17-29).
Turner does not explicitly teach outputting, via a wireless interface, the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal and the fourth control signal;
a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a signal processor the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal and the fourth control signal, when said computer program is run by a computer.
Brimijoin II teaches outputting, via a wireless interface (para [104] teaches the network may include any combination of local area/or wide area network using both wireless and/or wire communication system), the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal and the fourth control signal;
a non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a signal processor the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal and the fourth control signal, when said computer program is run by a computer para [39] teaches headset 100 includes multiple speaker, para [7, 41, 109-110] teaches the audio controller 150 may comprise a processor and a computer readable storage medium. The audio controller is further configured to provide the augmented sound signal to the in-ear device for presentation to a user, and non-transitory computer readable storage mediums configured to store instructions for performing the methods of this disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the teaching of Brimijoin II in Turner ‘s invention, provides the data and instructions needed for a computer to perform the method for operating sound generators and via wireless interface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-22, 24-25, 27-28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation, “Signal generator according to claim 9, wherein the first signal path comprises a first plurality of bandpass filters and the second signal path comprises a second plurality of bandpass filters, wherein the first plurality of bandpass filters or the second plurality of bandpass filters are configured orthogonal to one another, such that a bandpass channel of the first plurality of bandpass filters comprises a frequency pass band that corresponds to a frequency stop band in the second plurality of bandpass filters.”
Claim 13 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation, “Sound generator according to claim 12, wherein the first plurality of bandpass filters comprises at least two bandpass filters with a first center frequency and a third center frequency and wherein the second plurality of bandpass filters comprises at least two bandpass filters comprising a second center frequency and a fourth center frequency, wherein the first center frequency, the second center frequency, the third center frequency and the fourth center frequency are arranged in increasing frequency order, and wherein the first plurality of bandpass filters each comprise a stop band at the second center frequency and the fourth center frequency, and wherein the second plurality of bandpass filters each comprise a stopband at the first center frequency and the third center frequency.”
Claim 14 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation “sound generator according to claim 8, wherein the signal processor comprises a side signal generator that is configured to generate one or several side signals from the first input channel and the second input channel and wherein the signal processor is configured to determine the first control signal, the second control signal, the third control signal and the fourth control signal by using the one or several side signals.”
Claim 15 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation “Sound generator according to claim 14, wherein the signal processor comprises: a side signal combiner for combining the side signal with the left channel or the right channel in terms of signal flow before branching into the first signal path and the second signal path, or the third signal path and the fourth signal path, or in terms of signal flow after branching into the respective two signal paths.”
Claim 16 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation “Sound generator according to claim 8, wherein the signal processor further comprises:
a side signal generator or a side signal modifier to generate at least one further side signal and a further side signal combiner to combine the further side signal with the other left channel and the right channel before branching into two respective signal paths or after branching into the respective signal paths.”
Claim 17 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation “Sound generator according to claim 8, wherein the signal processor comprises: a side signal generator for generating a first side signal and a second side signal from the first input channel and the second input channel; a first side signal combiner for combining the first side signal with the first input channel; a second side signal combiner for combining the second side signal with the second input channel, a first branch element for branching an output signal of the first side signal combiner into a first signal path for the first control signal and into a second signal path for the second control signal; and a second branch element for branching an output signal of the second side signal combiner into a third signal path for the third control signal and into a fourth signal path for the fourth control signal.”
Claims 18-22, 28 objected because they are depending on objected claim 17.
Claim 22 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation “Sound generator according to claim 21, wherein the first signal path comprises the first plurality of bandpass filters, wherein the second signal path comprises the second plurality of bandpass filters, wherein the third signal path comprises the first plurality of bandpass filters and wherein the fourth signal path comprises the second plurality of bandpass filters, wherein the first signal path is configured to provide the first control signal for the first sound transducer, wherein the second signal path is configured to provide the second control signal for the second signal path, wherein the third signal path is configured to provide the third control signal for the third sound transducer and wherein the fourth signal path is configured to provide the fourth control signal for the second sound transducer, wherein the first sound transducer is arranged horizontally next to the second sound transducer and wherein the fourth sound transducer is arranged horizontally next to the third sound transducer, or wherein the first plurality of bandpass filters comprise even bandpass filters and a second plurality of bandpass filters comprise odd bandpass filters.”
Claim 24 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation “Signal processor according to claim 23, wherein the signal processor comprises: a side signal generator for generating a first side signal and a second side signal from the first input channel and the second input channel; a first side signal combiner for combining the first side signal with the first input channel; a second side signal combiner for combining the second side signal with the second input channel, a first branch element for branching an output signal of the first side signal combiner into a first signal path for the first control signal and into a second signal path for the second control signal; and a second branch element for branching an output signal of the second side signal combiner into a third signal path for the third control signal and into a fourth signal path for the fourth control signal.”
Claim 25 objected because it is depending on objected claim 24.
Claim 27 objected because the prior art fail to teach the claimed limitation Signal processor according to claim 23, wherein the first signal path comprises a first plurality of bandpass filters and the second signal path comprises a second plurality of bandpass filters, wherein the first plurality of bandpass filters and the second plurality of bandpass filters are formed orthogonally to one another, such that a bandpass channel of the first plurality of bandpass filters comprises a frequency pass band that corresponds to a frequency stop band in the second plurality of bandpass filters”
Claim 28 objected because it is depending on objected claim 21.
Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692