DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckler (US Patent Number 9,222,015 B2) in view of Liu (CN Patent Publication Number 102116942 A).
Beckler teaches, as in independent claim 1, a component (Fig. 3), comprising a substrate (100), a base coating (30) disposed on the substrate (100), and a temperature-active coating (10) disposed on the base coating (30), wherein the temperature-active coating (10) is configured to undergo a phase change (¶0038 “thermochromic layer”) when the component is subject to an ambient temperature (¶0037 “transition temperature of the thermochromic material is 27 °C”) that is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold1 (¶0037 “thermochromic materials that have a transition temperature of from about 5 °C”) and less than or equal to a second temperature threshold (¶0037 “90 °C”) , which is greater than the first temperature threshold (¶0037 “5 °C”), and the substrate (100) and the base coating (10) are configured to not undergo respective phase changes when the component is subject to an ambient temperature that is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than or equal to the second temperature threshold2, Beckler fails to teach the phase change including a change from a solid state to a liquid state or gas state, a change from an amorphous solid state to a crystalline solid state, or a change from a crystalline solid state to an amorphous solid state. In a related art, Liu teaches a temperature-active coating (110) configured to undergo a phase change (¶0056 “the coloured developing material layer 110 undergo phase change into gas state”), the phase change including a change from a solid state to a liquid state or gas state (¶0056 “the coloured developing material layer 110 made of colored material, the colored material in the solid or liquid state coloured developing material layer 110 made of colored material, the colored material in the solid or liquid state… the coloured developing material layer 110 undergo phase change into gas state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical device, as taught by Beckler, with the phase change, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of providing a thermal display device without using thermally induced charged particle (¶0010).
Beckler teaches, as in claim 4, wherein the temperature-active coating (10) is configured to, after undergoing a phase change (¶0038 “thermochromic layer”) remain disposed on the base coating3.
Beckler teaches, as in independent claim 18, a component (Fig. 3), comprising a base coating (30), a temperature-active coating (10) disposed on the base coating (30), and an overcoating (20), wherein: the temperature-active coating (10) is configured to undergo a phase change (¶0038 “thermochromic layer”) when the component is subject to an ambient temperature (¶0037 “transition temperature of the thermochromic material is 27 °C”) that is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold (0037 “thermochromic materials that have a transition temperature of from about 5 °C “) and less than or equal to a second temperature threshold (¶0037 “90 °C”), which is greater than the first temperature threshold, and the base coating (30) and the overcoating (20) are configured to not undergo respective phase changes when the component is subject to an ambient temperature that is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than or equal to a second temperature threshold4 Beckler fails to teach the phase change including a change from a solid state to a liquid state or gas state, a change from an amorphous solid state to a crystalline solid state, or a change from a crystalline solid state to an amorphous solid state. In a related art, Liu teaches a temperature-active coating (110) configured to undergo a phase change (¶0056 “the coloured developing material layer 110 undergo phase change into gas state”), the phase change including a change from a solid state to a liquid state or gas state (¶0056 “the coloured developing material layer 110 made of colored material, the colored material in the solid or liquid state coloured developing material layer 110 made of colored material, the colored material in the solid or liquid state… the coloured developing material layer 110 undergo phase change into gas state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical device, as taught by Beckler, with the phase change, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of providing a thermal display device without using thermally induced charged particle (¶0010).
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jankovic (US Patent Publication Number 2020/0269999 A1) in view of Beckler (US Patent Number 9,222,015 B2) and in further view of in view of Liu (CN Patent Publication Number 102116942 A).
Jankovic teaches, as in independent claim 9, a component (100), comprising a substrate (422), and a base coating (410) disposed on the substrate (422), wherein the base coating (410) includes one or more reflective structures (412), wherein each reflective structure (microcones 412)5 includes a core structure (¶0027 “array of silicon micrones 412”) and a temperature-active coating (¶0027 “silicon microcones 412 is covered by a conformal layer of vanadium dioxide 420”) disposed on the core structure (“silicon”), wherein the temperature-active coating is configured to undergo a phase change (¶0030 “vanadium dioxide is in its insulating state” and “the vanadium dioxide is in its metallic state”) when the component is subject to an ambient temperature that is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold and less than or equal to a second temperature threshold, which is greater than the first temperature threshold, and the core structure (“silicon”), is configured to not undergo a phase change when the component is subject to an ambient temperature that is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than or equal to the second temperature threshold6. Jankovic fails to teach when the component is subject to an ambient temperature that is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold and less than or equal to a second temperature threshold, which is greater than the first temperature threshold. However, Jankovic teaches in ¶0026 the thermal control material 310 would have with near-zero thermal emissivity below a particular temperature, and close-to-unity thermal emissivity above that temperature. In a related art, Beckler teaches the temperature-active coating (10) is configured to undergo a phase change (¶0038 “thermochromic layer”) when the component is subject to an ambient temperature (¶0037 “transition temperature of the thermochromic material is 27 °C”) that is greater than or equal to a first temperature threshold (¶0037 “ thermochromic materials that have a transition temperature of from about 5 °C “) and less than or equal to a second temperature threshold (¶0037 “90 °C”) , which is greater than the first temperature threshold (¶0037 “5 °C”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature phase change device, as taught by Jankovic with the temperature thresholds for the temperature active coating, as taught by Beckler, for the purpose of providing a way to predictably vary their ability to absorb or reflect electromagnetic radiation (¶0011).
Jankovic and Beckler fail to teach the phase change including a change from a solid state to a liquid state or gas state, a change from an amorphous solid state to a crystalline solid state, or a change from a crystalline solid state to an amorphous solid state. In a related art, Liu teaches a temperature-active coating (110) configured to undergo a phase change (¶0056 “the coloured developing material layer 110 undergo phase change into gas state”), the phase change including a change from a solid state to a liquid state or gas state (¶0056 “the coloured developing material layer 110 made of colored material, the colored material in the solid or liquid state coloured developing material layer 110 made of colored material, the colored material in the solid or liquid state… the coloured developing material layer 110 undergo phase change into gas state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical device, as taught by Jankovic and Beckler, with the phase change, as taught by Liu, for the purpose of providing a thermal display device without using thermally induced charged particle (¶0010).
Jankovic teaches, as in claim 12, wherein the temperature-active coating (10) is configured to, after undergoing a phase change (¶0038 “thermochromic layer”), remain disposed on the core structure of the reflective structure7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-17, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claims 2 and 10 which include wherein the first temperature threshold is greater than or equal to 150° Celsius, and the second temperature threshold is less than or equal to 200° Celsius.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claims 3 and 11 which includes wherein the threshold percentage of light is greater than or equal to 85%.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claims 5 and 13 which includes wherein the threshold percentage of light is greater than or equal to 35%.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claims 6 which includes wherein the temperature-active coating is configured to, after undergoing a phase, no longer be disposed on the base coating.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claims 7 which includes the overcoating is configured to no longer be disposed on the temperature-active coating after the temperature-active coating undergoes a phase change
Regarding claim 8, has dependency upon claim 7.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claim 14 which includes wherein the temperature-active coating of each reflective structure is configured to, after undergoing a phase change, no longer be disposed on the core structure of the reflective structure.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claim 15, which includes further comprising: another temperature-active coating disposed on the base coating, wherein: the other temperature-active coating is configured to undergo a phase change when the component is subject to an ambient temperature that is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, have dependency upon claim 15.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claim 19, which includes wherein the base coating includes one or more reflective structures, wherein each reflective structure includes a core structure and another temperature-active coating disposed on the core structure, wherein the other temperature-active coating is configured to undergo a phase change.
The prior art fails to simultaneously teach all the limitations of claim 20, which includes at least one of: the temperature-active coating is configured to, after undergoing a phase change, no longer be disposed on the base coating, or the overcoating is configured to no longer be disposed on the temperature-active coating after the temperature-active coating undergoes a phase change when the component is subject to an ambient temperature that is greater than or equal to the first temperature threshold and less than or equal to the second temperature threshold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
06 January 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 Thermochromic inherently undergoes phase change by basic definition of thermochromic.
2 No mention of thermochromic or phase changes to elements 100 and 30.
3 Beckler does not teach removing the layer 10
4 No mention of thermochromic or phase changes to element 20.
5 Anti-reflection properties would mean that some light would still reflect to some degree and therefore would be reflective.
6 ¶0030 teaches “the thermal control material when the vanadium dioxide is in its insulating state…the vanadium dioxide is in its metallic state”. Therefore, the examiner interprets that the phase change is only implemented on the vanadium dioxide and not the core (silicon).
7 Beckler does not teach removing any layer.