Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2022/0104004) in view of Thiebaut (WO 2022/008951).
As to claim 1, Huang discloses a method for obtaining a cellular network address, the method comprising: receiving a request from a network function 170 (see at least figure 3) residing outside of a cellular network core 150 of a cellular network, the request indicating an external Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with a user equipment (UE) 100 (see figure 3, paragraph [0083]); determining, by the UPF 330 (see figure 3), the cellular network address for the UE 110 that corresponds to the external IP address (see paragraph [0078] which discloses “If core network 150 includes a 5G core network, AMF 320 may instruct SMF 340 to set up a connection between UE device 110 and the network using UPF 330. PGW 240 or UPF 330 may allocate an IP address and/or a port to UE device 110 from an IP address pool.”); routing, by the UPF 330, an indication of the determined cellular network address to the NEF 360 (see paragraphs [0079], [0085]); and transmitting, by the NEF 360, the indication of the determined cellular network address to the network function 170 residing outside of the cellular network core 150 (see paragraphs [0083], [0085]).
Huang fails to expressly disclose routing, by the network exposure function NEF 360 of the cellular network core 150, the request to a user plane function (UPF) 330 of the cellular network core 150, and in response to the request, routing, by the UPF 330, an indication of the determined cellular network address to the NEF 360. Thiebaut discloses routing, by a network exposure function NEF of a cellular network core, a request to a user plane function (UPF) of the cellular network core (see page 32, lines 24-27), and in response to the request, routing, by the UPF, an indication of a determined cellular network address to the NEF (see page 32, lines 29-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Thiebaut to Huang, in order to yield predictable results such as allowing the request to be processed by the UPF 330 as soon as possible.
As to claim 4, Huang discloses that the network function 170 (see at least figure 3) resides outside of the cellular network 150.
As to claims 5, 13, Huang discloses that determining, by the NEF, whether the request from the network function is authorized, wherein routing the request to the UPF is performed after authorization is determined (see paragraphs [0083], [0089]).
As to claims 6, 14, Huang discloses that the network function 170 (see at least figure 3) is a traffic analysis gateway, wherein external network traffic for a plurality of UE that passes through the UPF is analyzed by the traffic analysis gateway. See paragraphs [0017], [0019].
As to claims 7, 15, Huang discloses determining, by the traffic analysis gateway 170, that an event has occurred for the external IP address of the UE based on external network traffic. See paragraphs [0083], [0084].
As to claims 8, 16, Huang discloses that the request is transmitted by the traffic analysis gateway in response to determining the event has occurred. See paragraphs [0083], [0084].
As to claims 9, 18, Huang discloses that the cellular network core is a 5G New Radio (NR) cellular network core (see paragraph [0023]).
As to claim 10, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claim 17, Huang discloses that a policy of a plurality of stored policies is applied to the cellular network address based at least in part on determining the event has occurred. See paragraphs [0048], [0083], [0084].
As to claim 19, Huang fails to disclose that the NEF is configured to: receive a request for traffic characteristics of traffic corresponding to the UE; transmit a data request to a session management function (SMF) to trigger the UPF to output data corresponding to the traffic characteristics of the traffic; and transmit the data corresponding to the traffic characteristics to the network function. The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that the claimed limitations are known in the art, because they are basic operations of a NEF. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang as claimed, in order to ensure that UE traffic are routed properly.
As to claim 20, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Huang further discloses a network function 170 (see at least figure 3), residing outside of a cellular network core 150 of a cellular network, that is authorized to communicate with a network exposure function (NEF) 360 of the cellular network core 150 (see paragraphs [0049], [0083], [0089]), wherein the network function 170 communicates with one or more application functions (AFs) residing outside of the cellular network (see paragraphs [0030], [0086]. [0087]); a radio access network (RAN) (see paragraph [0044]), comprising a plurality of gNodeBs 310, that is in communication with the cellular network core 150.
Claims 2-3, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Thiebaut as applied to claims 1, 10 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2021/0014766).
As to claims 2, 11, Huang fails to disclose that the request includes an indication of a data network name (DNN), an indication of single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), or both. Liu discloses that a request includes an indication of a data network name (DNN), an indication of single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), or both (see paragraph [0117]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Liu to Huang, in order to select a UPF to support an external network indicated by the DNN (as suggested by Liu at paragraph [0117]).
As to claims 3, 12, the combination of Huang and Liu discloses that the indication of DNN, the indication of S-NSSAI, or both are used to select the UPF from a plurality of UPFs of the cellular network core (see Liu, paragraph [0117]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646