DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, drawn to the process of analyzing blood samples, and without traverse of Species 1B and 2A, microneedle array embodiment drawn to Figures 1A-1C and blood collection device embodiment drawn to Figure 2, in the reply filed on 3/20/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the groups of invention would likely be subject to the same search, and accordingly the simultaneous examination of both alleged invention groups does not present a serious search and/or examination burden”.
This is not found persuasive because, as set forth in the restriction requirement mailed 9/5/25, see especially pages 2-3, the mere fact that the inventions contain related subject matter does not preclude the inventions from (i) being independent and/or distinct, (ii) having different classifications necessitating different fields of search and/or search techniques therefor, and/or (iii) the likelihood of raising different non-prior art issues such that a search and examination is present.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4, 5, 14-19, 22, and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/20/26.
Regarding the withdrawn claims not indicated by Applicant, the Examiner respectfully notes the following:
Claims 4, 5: the “extracting dried blood” from absorbent material portion 116 is solely drawn to non-elected Species B, Figures 1D, and the instant Specifications description thereof.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “a blood sample” in line 2 should apparently read “the blood sample”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plante et al. (US 2013/0018279 A1, hereinafter Plante).
For claim 1, Plante discloses a method of analyzing a blood sample from an animal (Figs 2,8) ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]), the method comprising inter alia:
extracting a blood sample from a blood collection device (Figs 2,8) ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]), wherein the blood collection device comprises: (i) a microneedle array (microneedles 25) (Fig 2); and (ii) a blood storage layer (absorbent pad 23) (Fig 2) ([0030-0053]), and wherein the microneedle array transports the blood sample from the animal to the blood storage layer, and wherein the microneedle array comprises one or more microneedles;
conducting at least one test on the extracted blood sample ([0006-0008,0062-0063]); and
reporting results from the at least one test to a customer ([0006-0008,0062-0063]).
For claim 2, Plante discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the microneedle array comprises a plurality of microneedles (plurality of 25, Fig 2).
For claim 3, Plante discloses the method of claim 1, wherein extracting the blood sample comprises extracting the blood sample from a chamber defined by the blood collection device (extraction in laboratory from 23) Figs 2,8) ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]).
For claim 6, Plante discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the blood collection device further comprises an outer layer (outer main body 21) (Fig 2) ([0030-0053]) surrounding one or more microneedles of the microneedle array (Fig 2) ([0030-0053]), and wherein the outer layer restricts movement of the one or more microneedles of the microneedle array with respect to the blood storage layer (especially via adhesive 22) (Fig 2) ([0030-0053]).
For claim 7, Plante discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the outer layer comprises a polymer (Fig 2) ([0030-0053]).
For claim 8, Plante discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the outer layer provides a pharmaceutical agent to the animal ([0030-0053, especially 0049-0053]).
For claim 9, Plante discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the blood collection device further comprises a pressure indicator (color change indicating window 28) (Fig 2) ([0030-0053]), and wherein the pressure indicator comprises a compressible button configured to provide haptic feedback to a user of the blood collection device when a predetermined pressure is applied to the compressible button by the user (upon compressing window with sufficient application pressure to pierce the skin haptic feedback is provided and further sampling causes color change indication) (Fig 2) ([0030-0053]).
For claim 10, Plante discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the blood collection device further comprises a peel-to-expose package (85,87) surrounding, at least, the microneedle array and the blood storage layer of the blood collection device (Figs 2,8) ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]).
For claim 11, Plante discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the peel-to-expose package comprises a first tab that selectively covers the microneedle array and a second tab that selectively covers the blood storage layer (front and back of 85 and/or 87) (Figs 2,8) ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]).
For claim 12, Plante discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the second tab comprises a transparent material (Fig 8) ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]).
For claim 13, Plante discloses the method of claim 11, wherein at least one of the first tab and the second tab of the peel-to-expose package is re-sealable after the peel-to-expose package is peeled away (consumer seals 87 to ship) (Figs 8) ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plante in view of Sebba et al. (WO 2016/022604 A2, hereinafter Sebba).
For claim 20, Plante discloses the method of claim 1, including subsequent laboratory analysis of an extracted sample for consumer information and convenience ([0006-0008,0030-0053,0062-0063]). Plante discloses the method of claim 1, except for expressly disclosing wherein conducting the at least one test on the extracted blood sample comprises: (i) lysing the extracted blood sample to provide a lysed blood sample; (ii) measuring an activity of G6PDH in the lysed blood sample; and (iii) correlating the activity of G6PDH in the lysed blood sample to a hematocrit of the blood sample.
For claim 20, Sebba, in the same field of consumer blood analytical analysis, teaches conducting the at least one test on the extracted blood sample comprises: (i) lysing the extracted blood sample to provide a lysed blood sample ([0033-0090, especially 0081-0100]); (ii) measuring an activity of G6PDH in the lysed blood sample ([0033-0090, especially 0081-0100]); and (iii) correlating the activity of G6PDH in the lysed blood sample to a hematocrit of the blood sample ([0033-0090, especially 0081-0100]).
For claim 20, Plante and Sebba are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analytical blood diagnostics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Plante to incorporate the teachings of Sebba to provide additional and/or alternate diagnostic testing on blood specimens. Doing so would aid in achieving the predictable reporting laboratory blood analysis results of quantified hematocrit in blood samples to evaluate glucose enzymatic activity to a consumer.
For claim 21, Plante discloses the claimed invention as set forth hereinabove, except for expressly disclosing, wherein measuring the activity of the G6PDH comprises: allowing the lysed blood sample to react for a predetermined reaction time; measuring a first absorption of the lysed blood sample at a beginning of a predetermined reaction time; measuring a second absorption of the lysed blood sample at a conclusion of the predetermined reaction time; calculating a rate of formation of NADPH based on a change in absorption between the second absorption and the first absorption; and correlating the rate of formation with a standard curve to determine the hematocrit of the blood sample.
For claim 21, Sebba, in the same field of consumer blood analytical analysis, teaches measuring the activity of the G6PDH comprises: allowing the lysed blood sample to react for a predetermined reaction time ([0033-0090, especially 0081-0100]); measuring a first absorption of the lysed blood sample at a beginning of a predetermined reaction time; measuring a second absorption of the lysed blood sample at a conclusion of the predetermined reaction time ([0033-0090, especially 0081-0100]); calculating a rate of formation of NADPH based on a change in absorption between the second absorption and the first absorption ([0033-0090, especially 0081-0100]); and correlating the rate of formation with a standard curve to determine the hematocrit of the blood sample ([0033-0090, especially 0081-0100]).
For claim 21, Plante and Sebba are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of analytical blood diagnostics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Plante to incorporate the teachings of Sebba to provide additional and/or alternate diagnostic testing on blood specimens. Doing so would aid in achieving the predictable reporting laboratory blood analysis results of quantified hematocrit in blood samples to evaluate glucose enzymatic activity to a consumer.
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for analyzing extracted animal blood samples.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791