DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated February 26, 2026, claim 3 was amended. Claims 3, 10, and 11 are pending.
The amendments to the claims overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant's arguments with respect to the art rejections over Nakazono have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2022023381 to Imazato (hereinafter, “Imazato”) in view of WO-2019111302 to Shigeo (hereinafter, “Shigeo”). Note: Copies of Imazato and Shigeo are attached to the Office Action dated March 3, 2025.
Regarding claim 3, Imazato discloses a protrusion tray (tray 9, Figs. 6-7) comprising: a stack portion (annotated Fig. 7 below) comprising an upper portion (annotated Fig. 7) and a lower portion (annotated Fig. 7), a cross-sectional area of the lower portion (see annotated Fig. 7) being greater than a cross-sectional area of the upper portion (see annotated Fig. 7); and a protrusion (protrusion 97, Fig. 7) protruding from the stack portion (annotated Fig. 7) and configured to stack another protrusion tray thereon (p. 2, ll. 32-35 of translation), wherein the protrusion (protrusion 97) is spaced apart from a lower end (annotated Fig. 7) of the lower portion (annotated Fig. 7) of the stack portion (annotated Fig. 7) along a height direction (annotated Fig. 7), and wherein, along the height direction (annotated Fig. 7), the cross-sectional area of the lower portion (annotated Fig. 7) increases (see Fig. 7) from the protrusion (protrusion 97) toward the lower end (annotated Fig. 7).
Imazato Annotated Figure 7
Imazato does not expressly disclose the protrusion is between and spaced apart from an upper surface of the upper portion and a lower end of the lower portion along a height direction, and the protrusion protrudes beyond each of the upper portion and the lower end along a lateral direction intersecting the height direction.
Shigeo teaches a similar protrusion tray (tray 1, Fig. 1) comprising a stack portion and a protrusion (undercut 3 in sidewall of tray 1, see Fig. 1). Shigeo teaches the protrusion protrudes from the stack portion and is configured to stack another protrusion tray thereon (p. 4, ll. 11-13). Shigeo teaches the protrusion (undercut 3) is between the upper surface of the upper portion of the stack portion (see Fig. 3; see also Figs. 2b, 7) and a lower end of the lower portion of the stack portion along a height direction (see Fig. 3; see also Figs. 2b, 7). Shigeo teaches the protrusion is spaced apart from the upper surface of the upper portion and the lower end of the lower portion of the stack portion (see e.g., Fig. 7). Shigeo teaches the protrusion protrudes beyond each of the upper portion and the lower end along a lateral direction intersecting the height direction (see e.g., Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the protrusion tray of Imazato to move the protrusion down such that it is spaced apart from and between the upper surface of the upper portion and the lower end of the lower portion, and have the protrusion extend in a lateral direction beyond the upper portion and the lower end as taught by Shigeo because (1) it has been held that changes in shape are an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular claimed configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), citing In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47); and (2) it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C), citing In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Regarding claim 10, Imazato further discloses an upper surface (annotated Fig. 7) of the protrusion (protrusion 97) is parallel to the upper surface of the upper portion (annotated Fig. 7) of the stack portion (annotated Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Imazato further discloses a lower surface (annotated Fig. 7) of the protrusion (protrusion 97) is inclined relative to the upper surface (annotated Fig. 7) of the protrusion (protrusion 97).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733