CTFR 18/352,810 CTFR 81246 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues amended the independent claims including, at least in part, the elements of, "in response to receipt of an indication of a cell switch." (Emphasis added). Support for the amendment may be found, for example, at paragraph [0655] of Applicant's published application, which is reproduced below for the Examiner's convenience. [0655] The purpose of this procedure is for the UE 5402 to generate a complete LTM candidate cell configuration to be stored and applied only when an indication of an LTM cell switch is received by lower layers. During the generation of a complete LTM candidate cell configuration, the current UE configuration shall not be modified. (Emphasis added). Zhou fails to disclose each and every element of the amended independent claims. Zhou generally teaches techniques for configuring a UE with a set of cells via RRC signaling to perform L1/L2 mobility. According to Zhou, a base station may proactively configure a new set of cells via RRC signaling as a UE moves. In other words, Zhou teaches mobility managed and triggered via high-layer RRC signaling configurations. Zhou does not teach or suggest that the generation of a complete configuration occurs specifically in response to a functional trigger comprising an indication of a cell switch , as claimed in Applicant's amended independent claims. Thus, Zhou does not teach or suggest, at least: "generate a complete configuration ... in response to receipt of an indication of a cell switch," as claimed in Applicant's amended independent claims. However, The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner appreciate noting the support in at least paragraph 0655. As best understood by the Examiner paragraph 0655 discloses “ an indication” and “complete…configuration” . It would be most helpful if the claims specified the indicator and the particulars of a complete configuration that would distinguish over the prior art. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns , 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. Carefully consider at least paragraphs 0091-0094 adds context which describes a delta configuration, full configuration, mobility and handover between cells based on L1/L2 signaling. As best understood by the Examiner the mobility/handover would read on “an indication” of a cell switch. It would be most helpful if the Applicant would specify in the claim what “indicator” e.g., specific command or specific action that would “indicate” a cell switch in a manner that defines over the prior art in order to clarify the meets and bounds of protection. The delta configuration and or full configuration as applied by the prior art would read on “complete configuration” i.e., a configuration having the necessary parts as transmitted/applied. It would be most helpful if the Applicant would specify in the claim what a “complete configuration” e.g., distinguishing elements over a configuration that explicitly states the configuration is incomplete or a partial configuration in a manner that defines over the prior art to clarify the meets and bounds of protection. Paragraphs 0090-0094 is reproduced for convenience: [0090] FIG. 7 is a diagram 700 illustrating an example of configuring a cell set for L1/L2 mobility or for general cell configuration based on delta configuration (or delta signaling) in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. In one aspect of the present disclosure, as a group of cells (e.g., cells associated with a base station) is likely to have similar configuration, when configuring cells for L1/L2 mobility (e.g., cells within the configured cell set), a base station 704 may provide a configuration for a cell or for a group of cells to a UE 702 as a delta configuration with respect to a reference cell configuration or a cell group configuration. The reference cell may be an SpCell or an SCell, and the reference cell may be specified via the signaling. [0091] In one example, as shown at 706, a delta configuration for L1/L2 mobility configuration or for general cell configuration may designate one cell (e.g., cell 1) as a reference cell, the delta configuration may include a plurality of configuration parameters (e.g., full configuration parameters 1 to N) for the reference cell. For other cells that are not the reference cell (which may be referred to as “non-reference cells” hereafter), their configuration parameters may be provided as delta configuration parameters, where just configuration parameters that are different from the reference cell are included in the delta configuration. For example, as shown at 708, a non-reference cell 2 may have a similar cell configuration as the reference cell 1 except for the configuration parameters 1, 2, and 7. As such, delta configuration for cell 2 may include just configuration parameters 1, 2, and 7, and other configuration parameters (e.g., ones that are the same as cell 1) may be excluded from the delta configuration to reduce signaling overhead. Then, for configuration parameters that are not included in the delta configuration, such as configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N for cell 2, the UE 702 may apply the corresponding configuration parameters based on the reference cell (e.g., apply configuration parameters 3 to 6 and 8 to N of cell 1 to cell 2). In another example, if a non-reference cell has the same configuration (e.g., same configuration parameters) as the reference cell, the delta configuration may include an indication that indicates the non-reference cell has the same configuration as the reference cell to further reduce the signaling overhead. For example, as shown at 710, a non-reference cell X may have the same cell configuration as the reference cell 1. Thus, delta configuration for cell X may include just an indication that indicates cell X has the same configuration or configuration parameters as cell 1 to reduce signaling overhead. As such, when the base station 704 updates a cell to become an SpCell or an SCell for the UE 702, the UE 702 may have the corresponding configuration to apply to achieve seamless inter-cell mobility. [0092] For purposes of the present disclosure, a full configuration for a cell or a set of cell may refer to a configuration that includes all configuration parameters for configuring the cell or the set of cell, and a delta configuration for a cell or a set of cells may refer to a configuration that includes a subset of configuration parameters (e.g., of a full configuration) or an indication (e.g., for indicating one cell has same configuration as another cell) for the cell or the set of cell, such as shown at 706 of FIG. 7. For example, a delta configuration may refer to a configuration that just contains information elements (IEs) that are different from a reference cell's corresponding information elements. All other information elements that are not specified in the delta configuration may mean that they have the same parameter values as the reference cell. Configuration parameters for a cell under delta configuration may be referred to as delta configuration parameters. In some examples, a delta configuration may include at least one reference cell with all configuration parameters (e.g., cell 1 with configuration parameters 1 to N). In other examples, the reference cell(s) may be designated in a previous configuration of a cell set . For example, a previous configuration of a configured cell set for a UE may include cells 1 to 7 with cell 1 designated as the reference cell. After the UE moves , the base station may update the configured cell set to include cells 1 to 3 and 8 to 10 (e.g., by removing cells 4 to 7 and adding cells 8 to 10). In this example, the delta configuration may include delta configuration parameters for cells 8 to 10 without including the full configuration for cell 1. In addition, for purposes of the present disclosure, the delta configuration may include L1/L2 mobility specific configuration, such as SpCell configuration, PCell configuration, SCell configuration, L1 measurements and/or reporting configuration for deactivated cells, or a combination thereof. In some examples, the delta configuration may also include a general cell configuration (e.g., configuration not related to L1/L2 mobility). In some examples, one or more delta configuration parameters in the delta configuration may be an independent value (e.g., parameter 1=256, parameter 2=128, parameter 3=Yes, etc.). In other examples, one or more delta configuration parameters may be delta values with respect to the configuration parameters of the reference cell to further reduce signaling overhead (e.g., parameter 1=+4, parameter 2=−16, etc.). [0093] FIG. 8 is a diagram 800 illustrating an example delta configuration with respect to information element (IE) of L1/L2 mobility configuration (e.g., I1L2MobilityConfig) in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As shown at 802, the delta configuration may include a full configuration (e.g., SpCellConfig and SCellConfig) for a reference cell . As shown at 804, for other non-reference cells, delta configuration parameters (which may also be referred to as “partial configuration” hereafter) may be applied, which may include just a subset of parameters of the full configuration (e.g., deltaConfigForspCell and deltaConfigForsCell), such as described in connection with FIG. 7. [0094] FIG. 9 is a diagram 900 illustrating an example delta configuration with respect to IE of a serving cell configuration (e.g., ServingCellConfig) in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As shown at 902, the delta configuration may include a full configuration (e.g., ServingCellConfigForReferenceCell and I1l2MobilityConfing) for the reference cell(s). As shown at 904, for other non-reference cells, delta configuration/delta configuration parameters may be applied, which may include just a subset of parameters of the full configuration (e.g., ServingCellConfigForOtherCell and deltaConfig), such as described in connection with FIG. 7. In some examples, serving cell configuration for the reference cell (e.g., ServingCellConfigForReferenceCell) and serving cell configuration for other cell (e.g., ServingCellConfigForOtherCell) may also be presented in a cell group configuration (e.g., cellGroupConfig) IE to configure the reference cell and other non-reference cells, respectively. Based on the remarks above the rejection is maintained as proper and made final . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2024/0007914, hereinafter, ‘Zhou’ . Consider Claims 11 and as applied to claim 1 , Zhou teaches one or more non-transitory computer readable media (NTCRM) ( e.g., see at least figure 3 structural architecture ) comprising instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by one or more processors is to cause a user equipment (UE) to: store a layer 1 (L1)/layer 2 (L2) triggered mobility (LTM) reference configuration (e.g., see at least 0081 “ for the UE 402 to perform the L1/L2 mobility, the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a set of cells (e.g., cells 1 to 7) via RRC configuration, which may be referred to as the L1/L2 mobility configured cell set (or simply configured cell set )… The base station 404 may continue to proactively configure the UE 402 with new set of cells based on the UE 402's mobility via RRC signaling (e.g., by adding cell(s) to and/or removing cell(s) from the configured list of cells)” 0082- “as the UE 402 moves, the cells from the configured cell set may be deactivated and activated via L1/L2 signaling” ), wherein the LTM reference configuration is a configuration provided to the UE that is common to all configured LTM candidate cells ( e.g., see at least 0092 – “a full configuration for a cell or a set of cell may refer to a configuration that includes all configuration parameters for configuring the cell or the set of cell, and a delta configuration for a cell or a set of cells may refer to a configuration that includes a subset of configuration parameters (e.g., of a full configuration) or an indication (e.g., for indicating one cell has same configuration as another cell) for the cell or the set of cell” ); store an LTM candidate cell configuration separate from the LTM reference configuration, wherein the LTM candidate cell configuration is a configuration associated with an LTM candidate ( e.g., see delta configurations as applied to the full configuration in 0091-0092 ); and generate a complete LTM candidate cell configuration by application of the LTM candidate cell configuration on top of the LTM reference configuration in response to receipt of an indication of a cell switch ( i.e., modifying configurations using the delta configuration as noted in at least 0091-0092 ). Consider Claims 12 and as applied to claim 2 , Zhou teaches wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: upon the generation of a complete LTM candidate cell configuration by applying the LTM candidate cell configuration on top of the LTM reference configuration, consider the configuration in the LTM reference configuration as the complete LTM candidate cell configuration ( e.g., see application of delta configuration and updated configuration in the UE as noted in at least 0091-0092 and figure 17 ). Consider Claim 13 and as applied to claim 3 , Zhou teaches wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: for each field present in the LTM candidate cell configuration that releases an element on an elements to release list, delete a corresponding element from the complete LTM candidate cell configuration, if present (e .g., see at least 0112 –“the base station 1704 may transmit a list of deactivated cells (e.g., candidate cells) to the UE 1702. In response, at 1726, the UE 1702 may add at least one deactivated cell to the activated cells based on the mobility of the UE and the configuration 1706 (e.g., the UE 1702 may apply the corresponding configuration for the newly added activated cell(s)). For example, as shown by FIGS. 4 and 5, the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a cell set for L1/L2 mobility. Then, the UE 402 may add or remove cell(s) from the cell set based on the mobility of the UE 402. For example, when the UE 402 moves from one location to another location, the UE 402 may add the deactivated cell 4 to the activated cell set, and remove the activated cell 2 to the deactivated cell set .” – see modifying the configured list in at least 0081, 0096- delta configuration IE, , 0125 and 0138 ) . Consider Claim 14 and as applied to claim 4 , Zhou teaches wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: for each field present in the LTM candidate cell configuration that adds or modifies an element on an elements to add or modify list: when a corresponding element is already present in the complete LTM candidate cell configuration, modify the corresponding element in the complete LTM candidate cell configuration with the one received in the LTM candidate cell configuration; and when a corresponding element is not already present in the complete LTM candidate cell configuration, add the corresponding element in the complete LTM candidate cell configuration according to the corresponding element in the LTM candidate cell configuration(e .g., see at least 0112 –“the base station 1704 may transmit a list of deactivated cells (e.g., candidate cells) to the UE 1702. In response, at 1726, the UE 1702 may add at least one deactivated cell to the activated cells based on the mobility of the UE and the configuration 1706 (e.g., the UE 1702 may apply the corresponding configuration for the newly added activated cell(s)). For example, as shown by FIGS. 4 and 5, the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a cell set for L1/L2 mobility. Then, the UE 402 may add or remove cell(s) from the cell set based on the mobility of the UE 402. For example, when the UE 402 moves from one location to another location, the UE 402 may add the deactivated cell 4 to the activated cell set, and remove the activated cell 2 to the deactivated cell set .” – see modifying the configured list in at least 0081, 0096- delta configuration IE, 0125 and 0138 ). Consider Claim 15 and as applied to claim 5 , Zhou teaches wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: for each field present in the LTM candidate cell configuration that that do not release, add, or modify an element of a list: when a corresponding field is present in the complete LTM candidate cell 250 configuration, modify the corresponding field in the complete LTM candidate cell configuration with the corresponding field in the received LTM candidate cell configuration; and when the corresponding field is not present in the complete LTM candidate cell configuration, add the corresponding field in the received LTM candidate cell configuration in the complete LTM candidate cell configuration(e .g., see at least 0112 –“the base station 1704 may transmit a list of deactivated cells (e.g., candidate cells) to the UE 1702. In response, at 1726, the UE 1702 may add at least one deactivated cell to the activated cells based on the mobility of the UE and the configuration 1706 (e.g., the UE 1702 may apply the corresponding configuration for the newly added activated cell(s)). For example, as shown by FIGS. 4 and 5, the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a cell set for L1/L2 mobility. Then, the UE 402 may add or remove cell(s) from the cell set based on the mobility of the UE 402. For example, when the UE 402 moves from one location to another location, the UE 402 may add the deactivated cell 4 to the activated cell set, and remove the activated cell 2 to the deactivated cell set .” – see modifying the configured list in at least 0081, 0096- delta configuration IE, 0125 and 0138 ). Consider Claim 16 and as applied to claim 6 , Zhou teaches wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: for each field that is present in the LTM reference configuration that does not have a corresponding field in the LTM candidate cell configuration, remove a corresponding field from the complete LTM candidate cell configuration(e .g., see at least 0112 –“the base station 1704 may transmit a list of deactivated cells (e.g., candidate cells) to the UE 1702. In response, at 1726, the UE 1702 may add at least one deactivated cell to the activated cells based on the mobility of the UE and the configuration 1706 (e.g., the UE 1702 may apply the corresponding configuration for the newly added activated cell(s)). For example, as shown by FIGS. 4 and 5, the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a cell set for L1/L2 mobility. Then, the UE 402 may add or remove cell(s) from the cell set based on the mobility of the UE 402. For example, when the UE 402 moves from one location to another location, the UE 402 may add the deactivated cell 4 to the activated cell set, and remove the activated cell 2 to the deactivated cell set .” – see modifying the configured list in at least 0081, 0096- delta configuration IE, 0125 and 0138 ). Consider Claim 17 and as applied to claim 7 , Zhou teaches wherein the LTM candidate cell configuration is associated with a master cell group (MCG), and execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: obtain the LTM candidate cell configuration from a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message received via system information block one (SIB 1) ( e.g., see at least 0081 –“the base station 404 may configure the UE 402 with a set of cells (e.g., cells 1 to 7) via RRC” – 0106 –“The base station 1704 may transmit the delta configuration 1706 to the UE 1702 via RRC signaling” ). Consider Claim 18 and as applied to claim 8 , Zhou teaches wherein the LTM candidate cell configuration is associated with a secondary cell group (SCG) ( e.g., see at least figure 6 and 0016 – “FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example of cells in a configured cell set including both valid secondary cell (SCell) and special cell (SpCell) configurations in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure” ), and execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: obtain the LTM candidate cell configuration from an RRC reconfiguration message received via system information block three (SIB3) or SIB 1 ( e.g., see at least 0086 – “…where RRC signaling may be used for updating the set of cells for L1/L2 mobility - 0074 – “The controller/processor 359 provides RRC layer functionality associated with system information (e.g., MIB, SIB s) acquisition, RRC connections ”). Consider Claim 19 and as applied to claim 9 , Zhou teaches wherein execution of the instructions is to cause the UE to: operate in accordance with an indication of an LTM cell switch from a lower layer entity ( e.g., se at least 0080 –“When a UE 402 moves from one location to another location, the UE 402 may be configured to perform layer one (L1) (e.g., physical layer) and/or layer two (L2) (e.g., medium access control (MAC) layer) based inter-cell mobility (which may also be referred to as “L1/L2 mobility” hereafter).”- 0081 –“The base station 404 may continue to proactively configure the UE 402 with new set of cells based on the UE 402's mobility via RRC signaling (e.g., by adding cell(s) to and/or removing cell(s) from the configured list of cells)” ). Consider Claim 20 Zhou teaches wherein the LTM candidate cell configuration is a complete LTM candidate cell configuration or a delta configuration with respect to the LTM reference configuration (e.g., see delta configuration in at least 0087, and full configurations as noted with respect to 0091-0092 ). Consider Claim 10 , Zhou teaches wherein: the reference configuration is a layer 1 (Ll)/layer 2 (L2) triggered mobility (LTM) reference configuration ( e.g,, see L1/L2 signaling in at least 0087 ), the candidate cell configuration is an LTM candidate cell configuration, the complete configuration is a complete LTM candidate cell configuration, and the indication of the cell switch is an LTM cell switch indication (e.g., see at least 0091-0092 and figure 17 with respect to delta configuration being applied to complete configuration ) ; or the reference configuration is a subsequent conditional primary SCG cell addition or change (CPAC) reference configuration, the candidate cell configuration is an conditional reconfiguration candidate cell configuration or a cell group configuration, and the complete configuration is a complete conditional configuration ( see further configurations in at least 0086-0087 and 0091-0092 ) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20180115933 A1 - [0066] UE 115-b, at block 340, may identify a default configuration and MF RAT of target base station 105-d, and may establish connection 345 with target base station 105-d in response thereto. In some examples, UE 115-b may receive the handover command 335, which may be a 3GPP-encoded RRCConnectionReconfiguration message that includes the fullConfig flag , and target base station 105-d may be recognized to be a MF cell (e.g., recognized through a carrierFreq in MobilityControlInfo of RRCConnectionReconfiguration that is in the MF frequency band). The UE 115-b may apply a MF-specific default configuration in response to identifying the default configuration and the MF band indication. Such a technique may provide for a reinterpretation that involves interpreting EUTRA RRC information elements (IEs) in a way consistent with a MF target cell. For example, a default configuration may be pre-specified in UE 115-b and known at target base station 105-d (e.g., based on MF specification 36.331). US 20220408323 A1 - [0370] In a case that the field 200.sub.3 is present and/or carries a fullConfig flag or fullConfig indicator, the field 200.sub.4 comprises the full format configuraton of the handover configuration information. Otherwise, if field 200.sub.3 is not present and/or does not carry a flag or indicator, the field 200.sub.4 may comprise less than full configuration information, e.g., may comprise delta signaling for the configuration information of the target node. US 20240381213 A1 - [0366] In a case that the field 2003 is present and/or carries a fullConfig flag or fullConfig indicator, the field 2004 comprises the full format configuration of the handover configuration information. Otherwise, if field 2003 is not present and/or does not carry a flag or indicator, the field 2004 may comprise less than full configuration information, e.g., may comprise delta signaling for the configuration information of the target node . Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES TERRELL SHEDRICK whose telephone number is (571)272-8621. The examiner can normally be reached 8A-5P. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew D Anderson can be reached at 571 272 4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 2 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 3 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 4 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 5 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 6 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 7 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 8 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 9 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 10 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 11 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 12 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 13 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 14 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 15 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 16 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/352,810 Page 17 Art Unit: 2646