DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doan et al. (US 20200197704 A1).
As to claims 1, 33, 62 and 72, Doan et al. discloses treating pain in a patient by delivering a first paresthesia-free electrical signal to the patient's spinal cord region via an implanted signal delivery device (Abstract, [0004, 0025, 0165]) for a first stimulation period and according to a first stimulation schedule in which the first paresthesia-free electrical signal is delivered for at least 12 hours per day, wherein the first paresthesia-free electrical signal reduces the patient's pain ([0167, 0246]); and after the first stimulation period, delivering a second paresthesia-free electrical signal to the patient's spinal cord region via the implanted signal delivery device for a second stimulation period and according to a second stimulation schedule in which the second paresthesia-free electrical signal is delivered for less than 6 hours per day ([0114]), wherein the second paresthesia- free electrical signal at least partially maintains the reduction in the patient's pain achieved during the first stimulation period ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 2, Doan et al. discloses delivering the first paresthesia- free electrical signal according to the first stimulation schedule includes continuously delivering the first paresthesia-free electrical signal during the first stimulation period ([0167, 0246]; Figure 6).
As to claim 4, Doan et al. discloses delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal according to the second stimulation schedule includes delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal during only a single stimulation session per day ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 5, Doan et al. discloses the single stimulation session has a duration of between about 10 minutes and about 4 hours ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 6, Doan et al. discloses the single stimulation session has a duration of between about 10 minutes and about 2 hours ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 7, Doan et al. discloses the single stimulation session has a duration of between about 10 minutes and about 1 hours ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 9, Doan et al. discloses the single stimulation session has a duration of about 1 hour ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 22, Doan et al. discloses the first stimulation period has a predetermined duration (see Claim 1 on page 19).
As to claim 28, Doan et al. discloses at least one of the first paresthesia-free electrical signal or the second paresthesia-free electrical signal has a frequency in a frequency range of from about 1 Hz to about 1000 Hz ([0185, 0251]).
As to claim 30, Doan et al. discloses delivering the first paresthesia- free electrical signal and delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal includes using an implanted signal generator with a primary cell battery to generate the first paresthesia-free electrical signal and the second paresthesia-free electrical signal ([0165, 0208, 0229]).
As to claim 31, Doan et al. discloses delivering the first paresthesia- free electrical signal and delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal includes using an external signal generator to generate and deliver the first paresthesia-free electrical signal and the second paresthesia-free electrical signal ([0054, 0144-0145, 0230, 0252]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 10-21, 23-27, 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan et al. (US 20200197704 A1).
Doan et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed except for the explicitly discloses the stimulation session durations, number of stimulation sessions and frequency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the stimulation session duration, frequency of occurrence and parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796