DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered in light of the amendment to the pending claims have been fully considered. However, the claims remain rejected under new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-33, 62 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doan et al. (US 20200197704 A1).
As to claims 1, 33, 62 and 72, Doan et al. discloses treating pain in a patient by delivering a first paresthesia-free electrical signal to the patient's spinal cord region via an implanted signal delivery device (Abstract, [0004, 0025, 0165]) for a first stimulation period and according to a first stimulation schedule in which the first paresthesia-free electrical signal is delivered for at least 12 hours per day, wherein the first paresthesia-free electrical signal reduces the patient's pain ([0167, 0246]); and after the first stimulation period, delivering a second paresthesia-free electrical signal to the patient's spinal cord region via the implanted signal delivery device for a second stimulation period and according to a second stimulation schedule in which the second paresthesia-free electrical signal is delivered for less than 6 hours per day ([0114]), wherein the second paresthesia- free electrical signal at least partially maintains the reduction in the patient's pain achieved during the first stimulation period ([0114-0115]).
Doan et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not explicitly disclose the individual pulses having a pulse width within a pulse width range from 5 milliseconds to 2 seconds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the stimulation session duration, frequency of occurrence and parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 2, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose delivering the first paresthesia- free electrical signal according to the first stimulation schedule includes continuously delivering the first paresthesia-free electrical signal during the first stimulation period ([0167, 0246]; Figure 6).
As to claim 3, the modified Doan et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed except for the explicitly discloses delivering the first paresthesia-free electrical signal for 24 hours at a pulse dose rate of less than 100%. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the stimulation session duration, frequency of occurrence and parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 4, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal according to the second stimulation schedule includes delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal during only a single stimulation session per day ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 5, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose the single stimulation session has a duration of between about 10 minutes and about 4 hours ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 6, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose the single stimulation session has a duration of between about 10 minutes and about 2 hours ([0114-0115]).
As to claim 7, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose the single stimulation session has a duration of between about 10 minutes and about 1 hours ([0114-0115]).
As to claims 8 and 10-12, the modified Doan et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed except for the explicitly disclose the single stimulation session has a duration of between about 15 minutes and about 45 minutes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the stimulation session duration, frequency of occurrence and parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 9, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose the single stimulation session has a duration of about 1 hour ([0114-0115]).
As to claims 13-21, 23-27, 29 and 32, the modified Doan et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed except for the explicitly discloses the stimulation session durations, number of stimulation sessions and frequency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the stimulation session duration, frequency of occurrence and parameters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of modifying the treatment to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 22, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose the first stimulation period has a predetermined duration (see Claim 1 on page 19).
As to claim 28, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose at least one of the first paresthesia-free electrical signal or the second paresthesia-free electrical signal has a frequency in a frequency range of from about 1 Hz to about 1000 Hz ([0185, 0251]).
As to claim 30, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose delivering the first paresthesia- free electrical signal and delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal includes using an implanted signal generator with a primary cell battery to generate the first paresthesia-free electrical signal and the second paresthesia-free electrical signal ([0165, 0208, 0229]).
As to claim 31, Doan et al., and thus the modified Doan et al., disclose delivering the first paresthesia- free electrical signal and delivering the second paresthesia-free electrical signal includes using an external signal generator to generate and deliver the first paresthesia-free electrical signal and the second paresthesia-free electrical signal ([0054, 0144-0145, 0230, 0252]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796