Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-12, 16, 19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2023/0319822), hereinafter Park, in view of Chen et al. (CN 112787770 A), hereinafter Chen.
Re. Claim 1, Park teaches a method, applied to a receiving end, wherein the method comprises: obtaining, by a receiving end in a non-terrestrial communication system, a transmission resource (¶0007 - receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) by a user equipment (UE) from a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a wireless communication system, including receiving semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information); obtaining, by the receiving end, second information from a transmitting end in the non-terrestrial communication system, wherein the second information indicates that the obtained transmission resource is to be activated for feedback (¶0007 - receiving first downlink control information (DCI) that activates an SPS configuration related to the SPS configuration information, receiving the PDSCH based on the SPS configuration, and determining whether to perform hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ) feedback of a HARQ process for the PDSCH based on the SPS configuration); and feeding back, by the receiving end, first information to the transmitting end based on the transmission resource (¶0008 - The UE may transmit acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) for the PDSCH based on the HARQ feedback of at least one HARQ process for the SPS configuration being enabled based on the SPS configuration information).
Yet, Park does not expressly teach wherein the first information is determined based on a channel state of a first channel, and the first information indicates whether a transmission mode is to be adjusted, and the transmission mode includes an aggregation transmission mode.
However, Chen explicitly teaches wherein the first information is determined based on a channel state of a first channel, and the first information indicates whether a transmission mode is to be adjusted (Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4 - the partial bits in the DCI corresponding to the HARQd are used for indicating the data transmission mode of the current HARQ process… 1 bit indicating NDI in the original DCI, for indicating the specific transmission mode, for example, bit NDI= 0 represents the transmission mode of using repeated transmission (transmission), bit NDI= 1 represents the transmission mode of the aggregation transmission; that is, the original bit used for indicating the NDI is used for indicating the transmission mode; when 0 is 0, indicating the mode of repeated transmission; when it is 1, indicating the mode of the aggregation transmission), and the transmission mode includes an aggregation transmission mode (Pg. 3, Paragraph 9 - the transmission mode is aggregation transmission, then the indication of the transmission mode of the first HARQ process is used for indicating the transmission version of the aggregation transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Chen to the teaching of Park. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission efficiency as Chen provides an indicator showing whether adjustment is needed to be performed (Chen, Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4) and provides an aggregation transmission mode (Chen, Pg. 3, Paragraph 9). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 10, Park teaches a method, wherein the method comprises: sending, by a transmitting end to a receiving end in a non-terrestrial communication system, second information, wherein the second information indicates that a transmission resource is to be activated for feedback (¶0015 - provided herein is a method of transmitting a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) by a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a wireless communication system, including transmitting semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information); obtaining, by the transmitting end, first information from a receiving end based on a transmission resource, wherein the first information is determined based on a channel state of a first channel, and the transmission resource is used for feeding back the first information (¶0007 - receiving first downlink control information (DCI) that activates an SPS configuration related to the SPS configuration information, receiving the PDSCH based on the SPS configuration, and determining whether to perform hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ) feedback of a HARQ process for the PDSCH based on the SPS configuration.)
Yet, Park does not expressly teach the first information indicates whether a transmission mode is to be adjusted, the transmission mode includes an aggregation transmission mode, and determining, based on the first information, whether to adjust the transmission mode on the first channel.
However, Chen explicitly teaches the first information indicates whether a transmission mode is to be adjusted (Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4 - the partial bits in the DCI corresponding to the HARQd are used for indicating the data transmission mode of the current HARQ process… 1 bit indicating NDI in the original DCI, for indicating the specific transmission mode, for example, bit NDI= 0 represents the transmission mode of using repeated transmission (transmission), bit NDI= 1 represents the transmission mode of the aggregation transmission; that is, the original bit used for indicating the NDI is used for indicating the transmission mode; when 0 is 0, indicating the mode of repeated transmission; when it is 1, indicating the mode of the aggregation transmission), the transmission mode includes an aggregation transmission mode (Pg. 3, Paragraph 9 - the transmission mode is aggregation transmission, then the indication of the transmission mode of the first HARQ process is used for indicating the transmission version of the aggregation transmission), and determining, based on the first information, whether to adjust the transmission mode on the first channel (Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4 - the partial bits in the DCI corresponding to the HARQd are used for indicating the data transmission mode of the current HARQ process… 1 bit indicating NDI in the original DCI, for indicating the specific transmission mode, for example, bit NDI= 0 represents the transmission mode of using repeated transmission (transmission), bit NDI= 1 represents the transmission mode of the aggregation transmission; that is, the original bit used for indicating the NDI is used for indicating the transmission mode; when 0 is 0, indicating the mode of repeated transmission; when it is 1, indicating the mode of the aggregation transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Chen to the teaching of Park. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission efficiency as Chen provides an indicator showing whether adjustment is needed to be performed (Chen, Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4) and provides an aggregation transmission mode (Chen, Pg. 3, Paragraph 9). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 19, Park teaches an apparatus, used in a receiving end in a non-terrestrial communication system, wherein the apparatus comprises: transceiver, the transceiver configured to obtain a transmission resource and obtain second information from a transmitting end in the non-terrestrial communication system, wherein the second information indicates that the obtained transmission resource is to be activated for feedback (Fig. 21, 106. Further, this claim language reflects the language of the method of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds as disclosed above); at least one processor (Fig. 21, 102); and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 21, 104) and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor (¶0021 - The at least one computer program may be configured to cause at least one processor to perform the operations of receiving the PDSCH and be stored in the computer readable storage medium), and wherein the transceiver is further configured to feed back the first information to a transmitting end in the non-terrestrial communication system based on the transmission resource (¶0365 - the processor(s) 102 may process information within the memory(s) 104 to generate first information/signals and then transmit radio signals including the first information/signals through the transceiver(s) 106).
Yet, Park does not expressly teach determining first information wherein the first information is determined based on a channel state of a first channel, and the first information indicates whether a transmission mode is to be adjusted, and the transmission mode includes an aggregation transmission mode.
However, Chen explicitly teaches determining first information wherein the first information is determined based on a channel state of a first channel, and the first information indicates whether a transmission mode is to be adjusted (Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4 - the partial bits in the DCI corresponding to the HARQd are used for indicating the data transmission mode of the current HARQ process… 1 bit indicating NDI in the original DCI, for indicating the specific transmission mode, for example, bit NDI= 0 represents the transmission mode of using repeated transmission (transmission), bit NDI= 1 represents the transmission mode of the aggregation transmission; that is, the original bit used for indicating the NDI is used for indicating the transmission mode; when 0 is 0, indicating the mode of repeated transmission; when it is 1, indicating the mode of the aggregation transmission), and the transmission mode includes an aggregation transmission mode (Pg. 3, Paragraph 9 - the transmission mode is aggregation transmission, then the indication of the transmission mode of the first HARQ process is used for indicating the transmission version of the aggregation transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Chen to the teaching of Park. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission efficiency as Chen provides an indicator showing whether adjustment is needed to be performed (Chen, Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4) and provides an aggregation transmission mode (Chen, Pg. 3, Paragraph 9). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 7 and 16, Park and Chen teach Claim 1 and 10.
Additionally, Park further teaches wherein: the first information comprises AT LEAST ONE OF: first indication information OR second indication information; the first indication information indicates a channel condition of the first channel; and the second indication information indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) (¶0091 - the BS schedules UL transmission in relation to, for example, frequency/time resources, a transport layer, a UL precoder, and an MCS Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or” and “At least one of”) OR a variation value of an MCS.
Re. Claim 12, Park and Chen teach Claim 10.
Additionally, Park further teaches wherein the obtaining first information from a receiving end based on a transmission resource comprises: in a first time period, obtaining the first information from the receiving end based on the transmission resource (¶0077 - the BS schedules DL transmission in relation to, for example, frequency/time resources, a transport layer, a DL precoder, and an MCS (S1401)), wherein the first time period indicates effective duration in which the transmission resource is used for feeding back the first information (¶0263 - multi-transmission time interval (TTI) PDSCH (i.e., different TBs across multiple slots) scheduling information, other than PDSCH repetition (i.e., same TB across multiple slots), may be indicated by the TPC command for the scheduled PUCCH, the PUCCH resource indicator field, and/or the HARQ feedback timing indicator field).
Re. Claim 21, Park and Chen teach Claim 1.
Additionally, Park further teaches wherein the non-terrestrial communication system includes a satellite communication system (¶0014 - The NTN may be related to at least one of a geostationary orbit (GEO) satellite, a medium-earth orbit (MEO) satellite, a high elliptical orbit (HEO) satellite, a high altitude platform station (HAPS), or a low earth orbit (LEO) satellite).
Re. Claim 22, Park and Chen teach Claim 1.
Additionally, Park further teaches wherein the non-terrestrial communication system includes a high-altitude communication platform (¶0014 - The NTN may be related to at least one of a geostationary orbit (GEO) satellite, a medium-earth orbit (MEO) satellite, a high elliptical orbit (HEO) satellite, a high altitude platform station (HAPS), or a low earth orbit (LEO) satellite).
Re. Claim 23, Park and Chen teach Claim 10.
Additionally, Park further teaches wherein the non-terrestrial communication system includes a satellite communication system or a high-altitude communication platform (¶0014 - The NTN may be related to at least one of a geostationary orbit (GEO) satellite, a medium-earth orbit (MEO) satellite, a high elliptical orbit (HEO) satellite, a high altitude platform station (HAPS), or a low earth orbit (LEO) satellite).
Claims 3, 8-9, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Chen, and Lu; Qianxi (2022/0303732), hereinafter Lu 1.
Re. Claim 3, Park and Chen teach Claim 1.
Yet, the combination of Park and Beal does not expressly teach wherein the feeding back first information to a transmitting end based on the transmission resource comprises: in a first time period, feeding back the first information to the transmitting end based on the transmission resource, wherein the first time period indicates effective duration in which the transmission resource is used for feeding back the first information.
However, Lu 1 further teaches wherein the feeding back first information to a transmitting end based on the transmission resource comprises: in a first time period, feeding back the first information to the transmitting end based on the transmission resource (¶0085 - The feedback resource used to transmit the feedback message could be explicitly indicated or implicitly mapped between the feedback message and a physical radio resource which could be a time slot, a carrier frequency, and/or a code domain of a control channel), wherein the first time period indicates effective duration in which the transmission resource is used for feeding back the first information (¶0045 - For the indicated resources for feedback, it can be resource in time, frequency, and/or code domain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lu 1 to the teaching of Park and Chen. The motivation for such would be as Lu 1 provides a means of feeding back the first information within a first time period based on the transmission resource provided (Lu 1, ¶0085). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 8 and 17, Park and Chen teach Claim 7 and 16.
Yet, the combination of Park and Beal does not expressly teach wherein: the channel condition of the first channel is related to a deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel; and if the deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel exceeds a specified threshold, the channel condition of the first channel is poor; or if the deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel does not exceed a specified threshold, the channel condition of the first channel is good.
However, Lu 1 explicitly teaches wherein: the channel condition of the first channel is related to a deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel (¶0107 - the trigger condition may indicate a channel condition threshold); and if the deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel exceeds a specified threshold, the channel condition of the first channel is poor (¶0107 - the trigger condition may indicate a channel condition threshold that, if not satisfied, causes the UE 120 to switch to the hybrid/analog beamforming mode (since the hybrid/analog beamforming mode may be expected to provide better performance than the digital beamforming mode in relatively poor channel conditions)); or if the deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel does not exceed a specified threshold, the channel condition of the first channel is good (¶0107 - the trigger condition may indicate a channel condition threshold that, if satisfied, causes the UE 120 to switch to the digital beamforming mode (since the digital beamforming mode may be expected to provide better performance than the hybrid/analog beamforming mode in relatively good channel conditions)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lu 1 to the teaching of Park and Chen. The motivation for such would be as Lu 1 provides a means of determining if a channel condition is poor by monitoring channel states and an associated threshold (Lu 1, ¶0107). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 9 and 18, Park and Chen teach Claim 7 and 16.
Yet, the combination of Park and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the channel condition of the first channel is a channel condition level that is in a preset range of channel condition levels and that is related to a deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel, the preset range of channel condition levels comprises a plurality of channel condition levels, and different channel condition levels are associated with different deterioration degrees of the channel state.
However, Lu 1 expressly teaches wherein the channel condition of the first channel is a channel condition level that is in a preset range of channel condition levels and that is related to a deterioration degree of the channel state of the first channel, the preset range of channel condition levels comprises a plurality of channel condition levels, and different channel condition levels are associated with different deterioration degrees of the channel state (¶0108 - the UE 120 may be associated with a plurality of trigger conditions & ¶0107 - the trigger condition may indicate a channel condition threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lu 1 to the teaching of Park and Chen. The motivation for such would be as Lu 1 provides a range of channel condition levels based on different deterioration levels of the channel (Lu 1, ¶0107). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 4, 6, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chen, Lu 1, and Shin et al. (20210022139), hereinafter Shin.
Re. Claim 4, Park and Chen teach Claim 1.
However, the combination of Park and Chen does not expressly teach determining the first information based on a measurement result, wherein the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining a transmission mode of to-be-sent second data, and the second data is related to the first HARQ.
Yet, Lu 1 explicitly teaches determining the first information based on a measurement result, wherein the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining a transmission mode of to-be-sent second data, and the second data is related to the first HARQ (Claim 14 - receive, through the receiver, a feedback message comprising a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) message indicating a reliability of the MBMS connection from a feedback resource; and determine whether to re-transmit the MBMS data based on the feedback message).
Yet, the combination of Park, Chen and Lu 1 does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: obtaining first data from the transmitting end through the first channel, wherein the first data is related to a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and the first HARQ process is in a disabled state; measuring the channel state of the first channel based on the obtained first data.
However, Shin explicitly teaches wherein the method further comprises: obtaining first data from the transmitting end through the first channel, wherein the first data is related to a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and the first HARQ process is in a disabled state; measuring the channel state of the first channel based on the obtained first data (¶0208 - When the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback is disabled and the HARQ feedback-based retransmission method is used, the transmitting terminal may measure the CBR for the PSFCH channel);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Lu 1 and Shin to the teaching of Park and Chen. The motivation for such would be as Lu 1 provides a means of determining the transmission type of to-be-sent data related to the HARQ (Lu 1, Claim 14) and Shin provides a means for measuring the channel state based on obtained data (Shin, ¶0208). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 6, Park and Chen teach Claim 1.
However, the combination of Park and Chen does not expressly teach measuring the channel state of the first channel based on the obtained third data; and determining the first information based on a measurement result, wherein the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining whether to retransmit the third data.
Yet, Lu 1 explicitly teaches measuring the channel state of the first channel based on the obtained third data; and determining the first information based on a measurement result, wherein the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining whether to retransmit the third data (Claim 14 - receive, through the receiver, a feedback message comprising a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) message indicating a reliability of the MBMS connection from a feedback resource; and determine whether to re-transmit the MBMS data based on the feedback message).
Yet, the combination of Park, Chen and Lu 1 does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: obtaining third data from the transmitting end through the first channel, wherein the third data is related to a second hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and the second HARQ process is in an enabled state.
However, Shin explicitly teaches wherein the method further comprises: obtaining third data from the transmitting end through the first channel, wherein the third data is related to a second hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and the second HARQ process is in an enabled state (Fig. 9, CBR is measured when it is determined that the capability is present (907), one such instance of capability being present is HARQ being enabled);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Lu 1 and Shin to the teaching of Park and Chen. The motivation for such would be as Lu 1 provides a means of measuring the first data via the channel state data (Lu 1, Claim 14), and Shin provides a third data related to an enabled HARQ process (Shin, Fig. 9). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 13, Park and Chen teach Claim 10.
However, the combination of Park and Chen does not expressly teach before the obtaining first information from a receiving end, sending first data to the receiving end through the first channel, determining the first information based on a measurement result, wherein the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining a transmission mode of to-be-sent second data, and the second data is related to the first HARQ.
Yet, Lu 1 explicitly teaches before the obtaining first information from a receiving end, sending first data to the receiving end through the first channel (¶0070 - The feedback resource could be determined based on an implicit mapping between a predetermined physical resource and the feedback message or explicitly indicated from the eNB), determining the first information based on a measurement result, wherein the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining a transmission mode of to-be-sent second data, and the second data is related to the first HARQ (Claim 14 - receive, through the receiver, a feedback message comprising a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) message indicating a reliability of the MBMS connection from a feedback resource; and determine whether to re-transmit the MBMS data based on the feedback message).
Yet, the combination of Park, Chen, and Lu 1 does not expressly teach wherein the first data is related to a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and the first HARQ process is in a disabled state; measuring the channel state of the first channel based on the obtained first data.
However, Shin explicitly teaches wherein the first data is related to a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and the first HARQ process is in a disabled state; measuring the channel state of the first channel based on the obtained first data (¶0208 - When the HARQ ACK/NACK feedback is disabled and the HARQ feedback-based retransmission method is used, the transmitting terminal may measure the CBR for the PSFCH channel);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teachings of Lu 1 and Shin to the teaching of Park and Chen. The motivation for such would be as Lu 1 provides a means of measuring channel data based on to-be-sent data of the HARQ (Lu 1, Claim 14) Shin provides a means for measuring the channel state based on obtained data (Shin, ¶0208). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claim 15, Park and Chen teach Claim 10.
Yet, the combination of Park and Chen does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: before the obtaining first information from a receiving end, sending third data to the receiving end through the first channel and the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining whether to retransmit the third data.
However, Lu 1 explicitly teaches wherein the method further comprises: before the obtaining first information from a receiving end, sending third data to the receiving end through the first channel (¶0070 - The feedback resource could be determined based on an implicit mapping between a predetermined physical resource and the feedback message or explicitly indicated from the eNB), and the first information is used by the transmitting end for determining whether to retransmit the third data (Claim 14 - receive, through the receiver, a feedback message comprising a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) message indicating a reliability of the MBMS connection from a feedback resource; and determine whether to re-transmit the MBMS data based on the feedback message).
Yet, the combination of Park, Chen, and Lu 1 do not expressly teach wherein the third data is related to a second hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, the second HARQ process is in an enabled state.
However, Shin explicitly teaches wherein the third data is related to a second hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, the second HARQ process is in an enabled state (Fig. 9, CBR is measured when it is determined that the capability is present (907), one such instance of capability being present is HARQ being enabled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Shin and Lu 1 to the teaching of Park and Chen. The motivation for such would be as Lu 1 provides sending the third information feedback before obtaining the first information (Lu 1, ¶0070), and Shin provides a third data related to an enabled HARQ process (Shin, Fig. 9). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chen, Lu 1, Shin and Lu; Qianxi (2022/0151015), hereinafter Lu 2.
Re. Claims 5 and 14, Park, Chen, Lu 1 and Shin teach Claims 4 and 13.
Yet, the combination of Park, Chen, Lu 1 and Shin does not expressly teach wherein the transmission mode of the second data comprises at least one of: repeated transmission.
However, Lu 2 explicitly teaches wherein the transmission mode of the second data comprises at least one of: repeated transmission (¶0100 - In some other embodiments, when the repeated transmission mode is used for the downlink data, starting or restarting the discontinuous reception downlink retransmission timer corresponding to the HARQ process) or aggregation transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lu 2 to the teaching of Park, Chen, Lu 1, and Shin. The motivation for such would be as Lu 2 provides that the transmission mode may be repeated transmission (Lu 2, ¶0100). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection under reference Chen. The previous final rejection used reference Beale to reject Claims 1, 10, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103. With the present amendment being presented, Applicant argues that Beale does not disclose a “transmission mode includes an aggregation transmission mode”. To this argument, Examiner has withdrawn the rejection on the previous grounds and presents the new rejection under Chen which discloses a first information that indicates whether a transmission is to be adjusted (Pg. 15, Paragraphs 3-4 - the partial bits in the DCI corresponding to the HARQd are used for indicating the data transmission mode of the current HARQ process… 1 bit indicating NDI in the original DCI, for indicating the specific transmission mode, for example, bit NDI= 0 represents the transmission mode of using repeated transmission (transmission), bit NDI= 1 represents the transmission mode of the aggregation transmission; that is, the original bit used for indicating the NDI is used for indicating the transmission mode; when 0 is 0, indicating the mode of repeated transmission; when it is 1, indicating the mode of the aggregation transmission) and an aggregation transmission mode (Pg. 3, Paragraph 9 - the transmission mode is aggregation transmission, then the indication of the transmission mode of the first HARQ process is used for indicating the transmission version of the aggregation transmission). As such, in light of this change in grounds of argument, Examiner upholds the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for the independent claims 1, 10, and 19 as well as all claims depending therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fu; Ting (2023/0318750) - ¶0004-0013, & ¶0162-0218
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475