DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 4 and 11 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant’s argument, that by virtue of their dependence from amended claim 1, claims 2-10 are allowable, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claim 1. Therefore for at least the reasons above presented for claim 1, the dependent claims 2-20 are rejected.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of claim 11, claim 11 recites the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claim 11, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
In response to the applicant’s argument, that by virtue of their dependence from amended claim 11, claims 12-22 are allowable, the examiner respectfully disagrees. No new arguments were presented for dependent claims other than their dependency to independent claim 11. Therefore for at least the reasons above presented for claim 11, the dependent claims 12-22 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220279456 A1); hereinafter Babaei, in view of Kim (US 12382465 B2); hereinafter Kim; further in view of KITTICHOKECHAI (WO 2022086414 A2); hereinafter KITTICHOKECHAI.
Regarding claim 1, Babaei teaches a method, performed by user equipment (UE), of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) switching secondary cell (sSCell) switching, the method comprising:
transmitting UE capability information to a next generation node B (gNB) during an initial registration procedure ([0262] In an example, the wireless device may transmit the one or more capability messages in response to transitioning from an RRC idle/inactive state to an RRC connected state.), the UE capability information indicating whether the UE supports PUCCH cell switching (Fig. 37 and [0256] the wireless device may transmit one or more capability messages comprising one or more capability information elements (IEs) associated with uplink control channel (e.g., PUCCH) cell switching. For example, the one or more capability IEs may indicate whether the wireless device is capable of (e.g., supports) uplink control channel (e.g., PUCCH) cell switching (e.g., PUCCH cell switching);
receiving radio resource control (RRC) configuration including a PhysicalCellGroupConfig information element, the PhysicalCellGroupConfig information element including a sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements to configure multiple cells as PUCCH sSCells ([0167] the wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters associated with PUCCH carrier switching. The configuration parameters, associated with PUCCH carrier switching, may be for one or more PUCCH carriers/cells in a PUCCH group. Also, [0253] the wireless device may receive a configuration parameter (e.g., a pucch-sSCellPattern parameter) of a switching pattern);
receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) message for activation of a PUCCH sSCell for PUCCH transmission ([0108] The base station may activate or deactivate configured SCells using a SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE).
Babaei does not explicitly teach the MAC CE message comprising a MAC sub header including a logical channel identification (LCID) field and an extended LCID (eLCID) field, the MAC CE message further including a multi-bit PUCCH sSCell identification (ID) of an SCell index to be used for the PUCCH sSCell.
However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches the MAC CE message comprising a MAC sub header including a logical channel identification (LCID) field and an extended LCID (eLCID) field (Col. 5, lines 28-37 FIG. 2I illustrates Table showing mapping information of a logical channel identifier for each data (e.g., data (MAC SDU or RLC PDU) of uplink shared channel (UL-SCH) or MAC CE) when a first logical channel Identity (LCID) or a second extended logical channel identity (eLCID) of a MAC subheader which is available for application of a data transmission method of a MAC layer is used, according to an embodiment of the disclosure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MAC-CE message of Babaei to include a MAC sub header including the LCID and eLCID fields of Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method to transmit and/or receive data in a MAC layer (Kim; Col. 148, lines 25-28).
Kim does not teach the MAC CE message further including a multi-bit PUCCH sSCell identification (ID) of an SCell index to be used for the PUCCH sSCell.
However, KITTICHOKECHAI, in the same field of endeavor of PUCCH carrier switching teaches the MAC CE message further including a multi-bit PUCCH sSCell identification (ID) of an SCell index to be used for the PUCCH sSCell ([00149] Fig. 10 and 11, One example of the PUCCH cell activation/deactivation MAC CE is illustrated in Figure 10, in which a PUCCH cell for one PDSCH serving cell is shown. The fields are Serving Cell ID, PUCCH Cell Indicator and a reserved bit R. [00151] The PUCCH Cell Indicator field indicates the UL serving cell where the HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH on the Serving Cell are carried. In some embodiments, "PUCCH Cell Indicator" is 1-bit, where value '0' indicates PCell, value '1' indicates SpCell of this cell group or a PUCCH SCell. In other embodiments, "PUCCH Cell Indicator" is 2-bit, and up to 4 PUCCH cells can be indicated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MAC-CE message of Babaei to include a multi-bit PUCCH sSCell identification (ID) of an SCell index of KITTICHOKECHAI. The motivation to do so would have been to allow to switch PUCCH carrier in a PUCCH group on which HARQ feeback is transmitted. The embodiments allow for example, the HARQ feedback to be provided on UL carrier in a PUCCH group and not necessarily only on the default PUCCH carriers such as PCell or PUCCH-SCell of the corresponding PUCCH group. This can be useful, e.g., for URLLC, to reduce the overall DL transmission latency which involves HARQ-ACK retransmission because the UE can switch to a PUCCH carrier which provides lower latency. (KITTICHOKECHAI; [0013]).
Regarding claim 5, Babaei teaches the sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements includes a first pucch sSCell information element for a primary PUCCH group, and a secondary pucch-sSCell information element is for a secondary PUCCH group ([0111] as shown in FIG. 11B, the base station may configure a UE with a primary PUCCH group 1114 and a secondary PUCCH group 1116).
Regarding claim 6, Babaei teaches the sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements is a first sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements for a master cell group, and in which a second sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements is for a secondary cell group ([0172] In case of dual/multi connectivity, the plurality of cells may comprise a first cell group (e.g., a master cell group (MCG)) provided by a first base station (e.g., a master base station) and a secondary cell group (e.g., a secondary cell group (SCG)) provided by a secondary base station).
Regarding claim 7, Babaei teaches selecting an RRC configured PUCCH cell for a first transmission and selecting the PUCCH sSCell for a second transmission (Fig. 26 and 27 and [0177] The wireless device may transmit a physical uplink control channel, via the first cell of the PUCCH group, with a first power level determined based on the first TPC command. The wireless device may switch a PUCCH cell/carrier from the first cell of the cell group to the second cell of the cell group. The switching the PUCCH cell/carrier from the first cell to the second cell may be based on one or more processes described above (e.g., based on an indication in a DCI and/or one or more rules to determine a PUCCH cell/carrier in a PUCCH group and/or a PUCCH cell timing pattern for determining a PUCCH cell/carrier in a PUCCH group). The wireless device then transmits the 2nd PUCCH via the 2nd cell of the PUCCH group as shown in Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 8, Babaei teaches the selecting is based on a predetermined periodic cell switch pattern ([0171] In an example, the switching between a first cell, in the first plurality of cells of the plurality of cells in the PUCCH group, to a second cell in the first plurality of cells may be based on a timing pattern of applicable PUCCH cells).
Regarding claim 9, Babaei teaches in which the selecting is based on a downlink control information (DCI) indicator ([0169] the switching between a first cell, in the first plurality of cells of the plurality of cells in the PUCCH group, to a second cell in the first plurality of cells may be based on a dynamic indication in a DCI).
Regarding claim 10, Babaei teaches the activation is performed after a time delay that is based on subcarrier spacing and physical downlink shared channel-to-hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (PDSCH-to- HARQ_feedback) timing indicator (Fig. 17 The term activation is interpreted as the actual switch from one cell to another. [0164] The UE switches cells, if necessary, after a time delay based on the PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator and may also be based on the periodic cell switching pattern for PUCCH transmissions. [0259] The switching pattern may be based on a numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)) of the primary cell. a bit of the pattern may correspond to a slot for a reference SCS configuration (e.g., provided by a configuration parameter, e.g., by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon) for the PCell with a value of ‘0’ or a value of ‘1’ indicating, respectively, the first cell or the second cell (e.g., PUCCH-sSCell) as the cell for PUCCH transmissions during the slot of the reference SCS configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei in view of Kim; further in view of KITTICHOKECHAI as applied to claim 1 above, hereinafter Babaei-Kim- KITTICHOKECHAI; further in view of Cheng (US 20220330155 A1); hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding claim 4, Babaei-Kim- KITTICHOKECHAI teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach MAC CE further includes a PUCCH group identification (ID) indicating whether a dynamic switch of PUCCH MAC CE is for a primary PUCCH group or for a secondary PUCCH group.
Cheng in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications and secondary cell dormancy teaches MAC CE further includes a PUCCH group identification (ID) indicating whether a dynamic switch of PUCCH MAC CE is for a primary PUCCH group or for a secondary PUCCH group ([0086] In some aspects, the RAR message may use a particular format to provide the timing alignment indicator. For example, as shown by reference numbers 703-2 and 703-3, BS 110 may use a legacy RAR MAC CE or a dedicated RAR MAC CE (e.g., which may include a reserved bit, N, (used as PUCCH group ID) to indicate whether the timing advance command is of a primary PUCCH group or a secondary PUCCH group of a secondary cell group)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MAC-CE message of Babaei-Kim- KITTICHOKECHAI to include the PUCCH group ID of Cheng to indicate whether a dynamic switch of PUCCH MAC CE is for a primary PUCCH group or for a secondary PUCCH group. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a dormancy profile to define a dormancy state or dormancy behavior for a bandwidth part associated with a secondary cell. (Cheng, [0074]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Babaei in view of Kim; further in view of KITTICHOKECHAI as applied to claim 1 above, hereinafter Babaei-Kim- KITTICHOKECHAI; further in view of Babaei (US 20230102290 A1); hereinafter Babaei2.
Regarding claim 2, Babaei-Kim- KITTICHOKECHAI teaches claim 1, but does not teach switching the PUCCH sSCell from a first cell to a second cell by deactivation of the first cell identified in a first MAC CE message and activation of the second cell identified in a second MAC CE message.
In the same field of endeavor of PUCCH cell switching, Babaei2 teaches switching the PUCCH sSCell from a first cell to a second cell by deactivation of the first cell identified in a first MAC CE message and activation of the second cell identified in a second MAC CE message ([0036] For example, the wireless device may receive a first command (e.g., a first SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) indicating deactivation of the second cell. In response to receiving the first command, the wireless device may deactivate the second cell and the second cell may be deactivated in the first transmission timing based on the first command. In response to the second cell being deactivated in the first transmission timing, the wireless device may transmit the first UCI via the first cell in the first transmission timing. In an example, the timing pattern may further indicate that the second cell is the cell configured for PUCCH transmission in a second transmission timing. The wireless device may receive a second command (e.g., a second SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) indicating activation of the second cell. In response to receiving the second command, the wireless device may activate the second cell and the second cell may be activated in the second transmission timing based on the second command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babaei-Kim- KITTICHOKECHAI with the teachings of Babaei2 to include the details of PUCCH cell switching with respect to the MAC CE Activation/Deactivation messages. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance processes associated with PUCCH Cell Switching in a PUCCH group and activation/deactivation status of candidate PUCCH cells in the PUCCH group (Babaei2, [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Babaei teaches the deactivation is performed after a time delay that is based on subcarrier spacing and physical downlink shared channel-to-hybrid automatic repeat requestfeedback (PDSCH-to- HARQ_feedback) timing indicator (Fig. 17 [0164] The term deactivation is interpreted as the actual switch from one cell to another. The UE switches cells, if necessary, after a time delay based on the PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator and may also be based on the periodic cell switching pattern for PUCCH transmissions. [0259] The switching pattern may be based on a numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)) of the primary cell. A bit of the pattern may correspond to a slot for a reference SCS configuration (e.g., provided by a configuration parameter, e.g., by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon) for the PCell with a value of ‘0’ or a value of ‘1’ indicating, respectively, the first cell or the second cell (e.g., PUCCH-sSCell) as the cell for PUCCH transmissions during the slot of the reference SCS configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220279456 A1); hereinafter Babaei, in view of KITTICHOKECHAI (WO 2022086414 A2); hereinafter KITTICHOKECHAI.
Regarding claim 11, Babaei teaches a method, performed by a next generation node B (gNB), of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) switching secondary cell (sSCell) switching, the method comprising: receiving user equipment (UE) information from a UE during an initial registration procedure ([0262] In an example, the wireless device may transmit the one or more capability messages in response to transitioning from an RRC idle/inactive state to an RRC connected state), the UE capability information indicating whether the UE supports PUCCH cell switching ((Fig. 37 and [0256] the wireless device may transmit one or more capability messages comprising one or more capability information elements (IEs) associated with uplink control channel (e.g., PUCCH) cell switching. For example, the one or more capability IEs may indicate whether the wireless device is capable of (e.g., supports) uplink control channel (e.g., PUCCH) cell switching (e.g., PUCCH cell switching); determining whether the UE supports PUCCH cell switching ([0250] receiving configuration parameters for PUCCH cell switching (e.g., configuration parameters of the second cell (PUCCH switching secondary cell) and/or the second index for determining a second TPC command associated with the second cell) may be in response to transmitting the one or more capability messages and the one or more capability IEs indicating that the wireless device is capable of (e.g., supports) the uplink control channel (e.g., PUCCH) cell switching. Receiving configuration parameters for PUCCH cell switching from the gNB shows that the gNB determined the UE could support PUCCH cell switching); transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) configuration including a PhysicalCellGroupConfig information element, the PhysicalCellGroupConfig information element including a sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements to configure multiple cells as PUCCH sSCells ([0167] the wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g., one or more RRC messages) comprising configuration parameters associated with PUCCH carrier switching. The configuration parameters, associated with PUCCH carrier switching, may be for one or more PUCCH carriers/cells in a PUCCH group. Also, [0253] the wireless device may receive a configuration parameter (e.g., a pucch-sSCellPattern parameter) of a switching pattern); selecting a PUCCH sSCell from among the configured PUCCH sSCells based on one or more triggering criteria, the one or more triggering criteria including pathloss, PUCCH resource location in a resource grid, cross fronthaul deployment type, selected antenna port, configured PUCCH sSCell switch pattern defining switching pattern between primary cell (PCell)/primary secondary cell (PSCell)/PUCCH secondary cell (SCell) and PUCCH switching secondary cell (PUCCH sSCell) (PCell/PSCell/PUCCH SCell and PUCCH sSCell), or type of spectrum used ([0168] The wireless device may determine a cell from the first plurality of cells as an applicable cell for PUCCH transmission and/or may switch PUCCH carrier/cell based at least one of: …a timing pattern for applicable cell used for transmission of PUCCH. [0253] For example, the configuration parameter may provide/indicate a periodic cell switching pattern for PUCCH transmissions (configured PUCCH sSCell switch pattern). The wireless device may determine, based on the switching pattern indicated by the first configuration parameter, whether the first cell or the second cell is the cell for uplink control channel transmission in/during the transmission timing of the uplink control information. For example, if the transmission timing of the uplink control information is within the first timings, indicated by the switching pattern, the wireless device may determine the first cell as the cell for uplink control channel transmission in/during the transmission timing (selecting a PUCCH sSCell from among the configured PUCCH sSCells). For example, if the transmission timing of the uplink control information is within the second timings, indicated by the switching pattern, the wireless device may determine the second cell as the cell for uplink control channel transmission in/during the transmission timing. [0111] A base station may configure a UE with multiple PUCCH groups wherein a PUCCH group comprises one or more cells. For example, as shown in FIG. 11B, the base station may configure a UE with a primary PUCCH group 1114 and a secondary PUCCH group 1116. The primary PUCCH group may comprise the PCell 1110 and one or more first SCells. The secondary PUCCH group may comprise a PUCCH SCell and one or more second SCells.); and triggering a MAC CE message for activation of the selected PUCCH sSCell for PUCCH transmission ([0108] The base station may activate or deactivate configured SCells using a SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE).
Babaei does not teach the MAC CE message further including a multi-bit PUCCH sSCell identification (ID) of an SCell index to be used for the PUCCH sSCell.
However, KITTICHOKECHAI, in the same field of endeavor of PUCCH carrier switching teaches the MAC CE message further including a multi-bit PUCCH sSCell identification (ID) of an SCell index to be used for the PUCCH sSCell ([00149] Fig. 10 and 11, One example of the PUCCH cell activation/deactivation MAC CE is illustrated in Figure 10, in which a PUCCH cell for one PDSCH serving cell is shown. The fields are Serving Cell ID, PUCCH Cell Indicator and a reserved bit R. [00151] The PUCCH Cell Indicator field indicates the UL serving cell where the HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH on the Serving Cell are carried. In some embodiments, "PUCCH Cell Indicator" is 1-bit, where value '0' indicates PCell, value '1' indicates SpCell of this cell group or a PUCCH SCell. In other embodiments, "PUCCH Cell Indicator" is 2-bit, and up to 4 PUCCH cells can be indicated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MAC-CE message of Babaei to include a multi-bit PUCCH sSCell identification (ID) of an SCell index of KITTICHOKECHAI. The motivation to do so would have been to allow to switch PUCCH carrier in a PUCCH group on which HARQ feeback is transmitted. The embodiments allow for example, the HARQ feedback to be provided on UL carrier in a PUCCH group and not necessarily only on the default PUCCH carriers such as PCell or PUCCH-SCell of the corresponding PUCCH group. This can be useful, e.g., for URLLC, to reduce the overall DL transmission latency which involves HARQ-ACK retransmission because the UE can switch to a PUCCH carrier which provides lower latency. (KITTICHOKECHAI; [0013]).
Regarding claim 12, Babaei teaches the PUCCH sSCell is for a frequency division duplex (FDD) system ([0167] In an example, the first secondary cell may be a FDD cell).
Regarding claim 13, Babaei teaches the PUCCH sSCell is for a time division duplex (TDD) system ([0162] A wireless device may switch PUCCH carrier/cell, for example to avoid delay for HARQ feedback transmission if a PUCCH carrier/cell of a PUCCH group is a TDD cell).
Regarding claim 14, Babaei teaches the sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements includes a first pucch-sSCell information element for a primary PUCCH group, and a second pucch-sSCell information element is for a secondary PUCCH group ([0111] as shown in FIG. 11B, the base station may configure a UE with a primary PUCCH group 1114 and a secondary PUCCH group 1116).
Regarding claim 15, Babaei teaches the sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements is a first sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements for a master cell group, and in which a second sequence of pucch-sSCell information elements is for a secondary cell group ([0172] In case of dual/multi connectivity, the plurality of cells may comprise a first cell group (e.g., a master cell group (MCG)) provided by a first base station (e.g., a master base station) and a secondary cell group (e.g., a secondary cell group (SCG)) provided by a secondary base station.
Regarding claim 16, Babaei teaches the PhysicalCellGroupConfig information element configures the UE for PUCCH cell switching that is statically configured based on a predetermined periodic cell switch pattern ([0253] the wireless device may receive a configuration parameter (e.g., a pucch-sSCellPattern parameter). The configuration parameter may provide/indicate a periodic cell switching pattern for PUCCH transmissions).
Regarding claim 17, Babaei teaches the PhysicalCellGroupConfig information element configures the UE for PUCCH cell switching that is dynamically configured based on downlink control information (DCI) indicator ([0169] the switching between a first cell, in the first plurality of cells of the plurality of cells in the PUCCH group, to a second cell in the first plurality of cells may be based on a dynamic indication in a DCI).
Regarding claim 21, Babaei teaches in response to the activation or deactivation performed after a time delay that is based on subcarrier spacing and physical downlink shared channel-to-hybrid automatic repeat requesetfeedback (PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback) timing indicator, and monitoring PUCCH on both RRC configured cells and the PUCCH sSCells (Fig. 17 [0164] The term activation/deactivation is interpreted as the actual switch from one cell to another. The UE switches cells, if necessary, after a time delay based on the PDSCH-to-HARQfeedback timing indicator and may also be based on the periodic cell switching pattern for PUCCH transmissions. [0259] The switching pattern may be based on a numerology (e.g., subcarrier spacing (SCS)) of the primary cell. A bit of the pattern may correspond to a slot for a reference SCS configuration (e.g., provided by a configuration parameter, e.g., by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon) for the PCell with a value of ‘0’ or a value of ‘1’ indicating, respectively, the first cell or the second cell (e.g., PUCCH-sSCell) as the cell for PUCCH transmissions during the slot of the reference SCS configuration. After which the PUCCH is transmitted by the UE as shown in Fig. 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei in view of KITTICHOKECHAI, as in claim 11, further in view of Cheng (US 20220330155 A1); hereinafter Cheng, further in view of 3GPP TS 38.321 V17.5.0 (2023-06); hereinafter TS 38.321.
Regarding claim 18, Babaei teaches the method of claim 11 but does not teach wherein the MAC CE message comprises: a MAC sub header including a logical channel identification (LCID) field and an extended LCID (eLCID) field; and MAC CE data including an activation/deactivation (A/D) bit, PUCCH group identification (ID), a serving cell ID, a PUCCH-sSCell ID, a bandwidth part (BWP) ID, a supplementary uplink (SUL) bit, and a multi-cell configuration (MC) bit.
However, KITTICHOKECHAI, in the same field of endeavor of PUCCH carrier switching teaches wherein the MAC CE message comprises: a MAC sub header including a logical channel identification (LCID) field and an extended LCID (eLCID) field ([00154] Table 3 shows an example of a new eLCID for this new MAC CE); and MAC CE data including a serving cell ID ([00150] The Serving Cell ID field indicates the identity of the PDSCH serving cell for which the MAC CE applies. The length of the field is 5 bits), a PUCCH-sSCell ID ([00151] The PUCCH Cell Indicator field indicates the UL serving cell where the HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH on the Serving Cell are carried. In some embodiments, "PUCCH Cell Indicator" is 1-bit, where value '0' indicates PCell, value '1' indicates SpCell of this cell group or a PUCCH SCell. In other embodiments, "PUCCH Cell Indicator" is 2-bit, and up to 4 PUCCH cells can be indicated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MAC-CE message of Babaei to include the MAC CE data fields of KITTICHOKECHAI. The motivation to do so would have been to allow to switch PUCCH carrier in a PUCCH group on which HARQ feeback is transmitted. The embodiments allow for example, the HARQ feedback to be provided on UL carrier in a PUCCH group and not necessarily only on the default PUCCH carriers such as PCell or PUCCH-SCell of the corresponding PUCCH group. This can be useful, e.g., for URLLC, to reduce the overall DL transmission latency which involves HARQ-ACK retransmission because the UE can switch to a PUCCH carrier which provides lower latency. (KITTICHOKECHAI; [0013]).
KITTICHOKECHAI does not teach MAC CE data including an activation/deactivation (A/D) bit, PUCCH group identification (ID), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID, a supplementary uplink (SUL) bit, and a multi-cell configuration (MC) bit.
However, Cheng in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications and secondary cell dormancy, teaches MAC CE data including a PUCCH group identification (ID) ([0086] as shown by reference numbers 703-2 and 703-3, BS 110 may use a legacy RAR MAC CE or a dedicated RAR MAC CE (e.g., which may include a reserved bit, N, (used as PUCCH group ID) to indicate whether the timing advance command is of a primary PUCCH group or a secondary PUCCH group of a secondary cell group)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MAC-CE message of Babaei and KITTICHOKECHAI to include the PUCCH group ID of Cheng. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a dormancy profile to define a dormancy state or dormancy behavior for a bandwidth part associated with a secondary cell. (Cheng, [0074]).
Cheng does not explicitly teach the MAC CE message comprising MAC CE data including an activation/deactivation (A/D) bit, a bandwidth part (BWP) ID, a supplementary uplink (SUL) bit, and a multi-cell configuration (MC) bit.
However, TS 38.321, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches the MAC CE message comprising a MAC sub header including a logical channel identification (LCID) field and an extended LCID (eLCID) field (Section 6.2.1, The MAC subheader consists of the following fields: LCID and eLCID); and MAC CE data including an activation/deactivation (A/D) bit (Fig. 6.1.3.18-1, Section 6.1.3.18, Si: If, in PUCCH-Config in which the PUCCH Resource ID is configured, there is a PUCCH Spatial Relation Info with PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfoId as specified in TS 38.331 [5], configured for the uplink bandwidth part indicated by BWP ID field, Si indicates the activation status of PUCCH Spatial Relation Info with PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfoId equal to i + 1, otherwise MAC entity shall ignore this field. The Si field is set to 1 to indicate PUCCH Spatial Relation Info with PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfoId equal to i + 1 shall be activated. The Si field is set to 0 to indicate PUCCH Spatial Relation Info with PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfoId equal to i + 1 shall be deactivated. Only a single PUCCH Spatial Relation Info can be active for a PUCCH Resource at a time), a bandwidth part (BWP) ID ((Fig. 6.1.3.25-1, Section 6.1.3.25, BWP ID: This field indicates a UL BWP for which the MAC CE applies as the codepoint of the DCI bandwidth part indicator field as specified in TS 38.212 [9]. The length of the BWP ID field is 2 bits), a supplementary uplink (SUL) bit (Fig. 6.1.3.26-1, Section 6.1.3.26, SUL: This field indicates whether the MAC CE applies to the NUL carrier or SUL carrier configuration. This field is set to 1 to indicate that it applies to the SUL carrier configuration, and it is set to 0 to indicate that it applies to the NUL carrier configuration), and a multi-cell configuration (MC) bit (Fig. 6.1.3.26-1, Section 6.1.3.26, C: This field indicates whether the octets containing Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) are present. If this field is set to 1, Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s) are present (multi-cell configuration), otherwise they are not present so MAC entity shall ignore Resource Serving Cell ID field(s) and Resource BWP ID field(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MAC-CE message of Babaei, KITTICHOKECHAI and Cheng to include a MAC sub header including the LCID and eLCID fields of TS 38.321 and the data including an activation/deactivation (A/D) bit, a supplementary uplink (SUL) bit, and a multi-cell configuration (MC) bit. The motivation to do so would have been to include other pertinent parameters in the MAC CE for flexible configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei in view of KITTICHOKECHAI, Cheng and 3GPP TS 38.321 V17.5.0 (2023-06); hereinafter Babaei- KITTICHOKECHAI-Cheng-TS 38.321, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Babaei (US 20230102290 A1); hereinafter Babaei2.
Regarding claim 19, Babaei- KITTICHOKECHAI-Cheng-TS 38.321 teaches claim 18, but they do not explicitly teach the MAC CE message is a first MAC CE message, and the method further comprising switching the selected PUCCH sSCell by deactivation of a first cell identified in the first MAC CE message, and activation of a second cell identified in a second MAC CE message.
In the same field of endeavor of PUCCH cell switching, Babaei2 teaches the MAC CE message is a first MAC CE message, and the method further comprising switching the selected PUCCH sSCell by deactivation of a first cell identified in the first MAC CE message, and activation of a second cell identified in a second MAC CE message ([0336] For example, the wireless device may receive a first command (e.g., a first SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) indicating deactivation of the second cell. In response to receiving the first command, the wireless device may deactivate the second cell and the second cell may be deactivated in the first transmission timing based on the first command. In response to the second cell being deactivated in the first transmission timing, the wireless device may transmit the first UCI via the first cell in the first transmission timing. In an example, the timing pattern may further indicate that the second cell is the cell configured for PUCCH transmission in a second transmission timing. The wireless device may receive a second command (e.g., a second SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE) indicating activation of the second cell. In response to receiving the second command, the wireless device may activate the second cell and the second cell may be activated in the second transmission timing based on the second command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babaei- KITTICHOKECHAI-Cheng-TS 38.321 with the teachings of Babaei2 to include the details of PUCCH cell switching with respect to the MAC CE Activation/Deactivation messages. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance processes associated with PUCCH Cell Switching in a PUCCH group and activation/deactivation status of candidate PUCCH cells in the PUCCH group (Babaei2 [0043]).
Regarding claim 20, Babaei- KITTICHOKECHAI-Cheng-TS 38.321 teaches claim 18, but they do not explicitly teach deactivating the PUCCH sSCell in response to none of the cells qualifying as the PUCCH sSCell based on one or more triggering criteria.
In the same field of endeavor of PUCCH cell switching, Babaei2 teaches deactivating the PUCCH sSCell in response to none of the cells qualifying as the PUCCH sSCell based on one or more triggering criteria ([0229] In an example embodiment, the plurality of cells in a PUCCH group may be deactivated while (e.g., based on) the candidate PUCCH cells of the PUCCH group are deactivated. For example, the network (base station) may transmit commands (e.g., one or more MAC CEs) indicating deactivation of all of the cells of the PUCCH group based on/while the candidate PUCCH cells of the PUCCH group are deactivated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babaei- KITTICHOKECHAI-Cheng-TS 38.321 with the teachings of Babaei2 to deactivate the PUCCH sSCell in response to none of the cells qualifying as the PUCCH sSCell based on one or more triggering criteria. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance processes associated with PUCCH Cell Switching in a PUCCH group and activation/deactivation status of candidate PUCCH cells in the PUCCH group (Babaei2 [0043]).
Regarding claim 22, Babaei- KITTICHOKECHAI-Cheng-TS 38.321 teaches claim 18, but they do not explicitly teach triggering a deactivation MAC CE message to deactivate the PUCCH sSCell preparatory to a cell release.
In the same field of endeavor of PUCCH cell switching, Babaei2 teaches triggering a deactivation MAC CE message to deactivate the PUCCH sSCell preparatory to a cell release ([0189] In an example, at handover or connection resume from RRC_INACTIVE: the SCells may be activated or deactivated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Babaei- KITTICHOKECHAI-Cheng-TS 38.321 with the teachings of Babaei2 to include triggering a deactivation MAC CE message to deactivate the PUCCH sSCell preparatory to a cell release. The motivation to do so would have been to enhance processes associated with PUCCH Cell Switching in a PUCCH group and activation/deactivation status of candidate PUCCH cells in the PUCCH group (Babaei2 [0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Huang (US 20230055203 A1) discloses dynamic SCell activation/deactivation via MAC-CE.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465