DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-17 are pending in this office action.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted July 14, 2023; March 25, 2024; and, April 22, 2025, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0271341 A1) in view of Ji et al. (US 2020/0388876 A1).
With regard to Claims 1-8, Zhou et al. disclose an electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery, comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent (paragraphs 0088-0089), a lithium salt (paragraphs 0048, 0089), and an additive comprising ethyl propionate and fluoroethylene carbonate (paragraphs 0026, 0029-0032), the fluoroethylene carbonate meeting the claimed limitations (in Claims 1, 7-8) of a cyclic carbonate compound, more specifically, having the specific structure represented by Chemical Formula 3:
. Zhou et al. also disclose the further use of a trinitrile compound additive represented by Chemical Formula 2:
, wherein R5 to R14 are each independently hydrogen, a halogen, a cyano group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C5 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C5 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C12 aryl group, or a combination thereof, n1 to n3 are each independently one selected from integers of 0 to 20, n1+n2+n3 ≥ 1, and m1 to m3 are each independently one selected from integers of 0 to 2, more specifically, wherein n1 to n3 are different integers (meeting Claim 5), and are selected from 1,3,5-hexanetricarbonitrile and 1,2,3-tris(2-cyanoethoxy)propane (meeting Claim 6) (paragraph 0046).
Zhou et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the additive comprises a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1:
, wherein L¹ and L² are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkylene group, and R¹ to R⁴ are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl 20 group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C2 to C10 alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C10 cycloalkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C10 cycloalkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C10 cycloalkynyl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C20 aryl group.
Ji et al. disclose an electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery in which the electrolyte may further comprise one or more additives (paragraph 0066). Ji et al. disclose wherein the additive can be a silicon compound
having a structure
, more specifically, wherein L1 and L2 are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C10 alkylene group (meeting Claim 2), wherein R¹ to R⁴ are each independently a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl group (meeting Claim 3), and wherein the silicon compound is
1,3-bis(3-cyanoproyl)tetramethyl disiloxane (meeting Claim 4) (paragraphs 0122-0123). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Zhou et al. to include the additive represented by Chemical Formula 1
because Ji et al. teach that the presence of silicon compounds in the electrolyte additive can result in a SEI and/or CEI layer on the surface of electrodes with improved performance, such as demonstrating improved chemical stability and increased density, and facilitating reduction in capacity fade and/or generation of excessive gaseous byproducts during operation of the lithium ion battery, as well as, improved cycling stability and rate capability (paragraph 0126).
With regard to Claim 9, Ji et al. disclose the first compound is included in an amount of less than 10% by weight (paragraph 0066), which meets the claimed limitation of about 0.5 parts by weight to about 3.0 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery.
With regard to Claim 10, Zhou et al. disclose wherein the second compound is included in an amount of less than 2.5% by weight (paragraph 0047), which meets the claimed limitation of about 1.0 part by weight to about 5.0 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery.
With regard to Claim 11, Zhou et al. disclose wherein the third compound is included in an amount of about 3.0 parts by weight to about 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery (paragraphs 0029-0032).
With regard to Claim 12, Zhou et al. disclose wherein the second compound is included in an amount of less than 2.5% by weight (paragraph 0047) and Ji et al. disclose the first compound is included in an amount of less than 10% by weight (paragraph 0066), but neither Zhou et al. nor Ji et al. specifically disclose wherein a total weight of the first compound and the second compound is about 2.0 parts by weight to about 6.0 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery. The specific amount of the first and second compound in the electrolyte is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. In the electrolyte, stability and cost of manufacturing are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said amount of first and second compound in the electrolyte, with the stability and manufacturing cost both increasing as the amount of first and second compound in the electrolyte is increased, the precise amount of first and second compound in the electrolyte would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of first and second compound in the electrolyte of Zhou et al. and Ji et al. to obtain the desired balance between the stability and cost of manufacturing (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With regard to Claim 13, Zhou et al. disclose wherein the second compound is included in an amount of less than 2.5% by weight (paragraph 0047) and Ji et al. disclose the first compound is included in an amount of less than 10% by weight (paragraph 0066), but neither Zhou et al. nor Ji et al. specifically disclose wherein the first compound and the second compound are mixed together in a weight ratio of about 1:0.5 to about 1:5. The specific weight ratio of the first and second compound in the electrolyte is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. In the electrolyte, stability and cost of manufacturing are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said weight ratio of first and second compound in the electrolyte, with the stability and manufacturing cost both increasing as the weight ratio of first and second compound in the electrolyte is increased, the precise weight ratio of first and second compound in the electrolyte would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the weight ratio of first and second compound in the electrolyte of Zhou et al. and Ji et al. to obtain the desired balance between the stability and cost of manufacturing (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With regard to Claim 14, Zhou et al. disclose wherein the second compound is included in an amount of less than 2.5% by weight (paragraph 0047) and Ji et al. disclose the first compound is included in an amount of less than 10% by weight (paragraph 0066), but neither Zhou et al. nor Ji et al. specifically disclose wherein the composition is included in an amount of about 5.0 parts by weight to about 15 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery. The specific composition amount is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. In the electrolyte, stability and cost of manufacturing are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said composition amount in the electrolyte, with the stability and manufacturing cost both increasing as the composition amount is increased, the precise composition amount in the electrolyte would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the composition amount in the electrolyte of Zhou et al. and Ji et al. to obtain the desired balance between the stability and cost of manufacturing (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With regard to Claim 15, Zhou et al. disclose a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material; a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material; and the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery noted above (paragraphs 0053-0054).
With regard to Claim 16, Zhou et al. disclose wherein the negative electrode active material comprises a carbon-based negative electrode active material (paragraphs 0072-0078).
With regard to Claim 17, Zhou et al. disclose wherein the rechargeable battery has an upper limit voltage of 4.2V (paragraphs 0101-0107), but do not specifically disclose wherein the rechargeable lithium battery has a charging upper limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.5 V. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a rechargeable lithium battery having a charging upper limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.5 V, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725