DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 4, 6, 7, and 9, the use of “preferably”, “optionally”, and “most optionally” render the claims indefinite as the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Also in claim 1, “each R” is indefinite because it is unclear to exactly which R groups are being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Aoki et al. (“Aoki”, US 2018/0233750 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 10 and 11, Aoki discloses a slurry for a positive electrode of a lithium-ion secondary battery (abstract). Aoki teaches the positive electrode slurry is coated on a current collector to produce a positive electrode ([0006]).
Aoki teaches using a thickening dispersant for increasing the binding property, increasing dispersibility, and improving the stability of the slurry ([0072]). The thickening dispersant (D) contains a polyalkylene oxide having a phenyl group in the side chain ([0073]-[0074]), which is considered to read on the polyether polyol as claimed in claim 1 and 2. See formula (I) in [0074]).
As to claim 3, Aoki teaches multiple examples of thickening dispersants with a Mw of 80,000 (see Table 1).
As to claim 5, Aoki teaches examples of the positive electrode active material include a lithium cobalt oxide, inter alia ([0039]).
Claims 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki.
As to claim 4, Aoki teaches the content of the polyalkylene oxide having a phenyl group in the side chain is 5 parts by mass or more, with respect to 100 parts by mass of the thickening dispersant ([0092]), and the content of the thickening dispersant (D) is 0.2 to 5.0 parts by mass with respect to the positive electrode material ([0090]), which overlaps the claimed range. [0.05 x 0.2 = 0.04]
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 6, Aoki does not teach the gel state factor G of the positive electrode slurry ranges from 0 to 1.
However, Aoki teaches keeping the viscosity of the positive electrode slurry at a desired range such that the coating properties of the slurry on the current collector is excellent ([0089]).
Based on the teachings of Aoki considering the thickness, viscosity, and dispersion to maintain excellent binding and coating properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the viscosity, thickness, or “gel state” through routine experimentation for excellent binding and coating properties.
As to claim 7, Aoki teaches application of the positive electrode slurry to the current collector ([0111]).
Aoki does not teach the mass of the positive electrode film layer per unit area.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the mass of the positive electrode film layer for optimal battery performance, as appropriately setting the thickness, length and width of the coating layer ([0111]) is within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claims 8 and 9, Aoki does not teach the specific results claimed involving no cracks produced and an infiltration increase rate.
However, since Aoki teaches all the limitations of the positive electrode slurry, including the polyether polyol claimed, the resulting properties would be presumed to be substantially identical.
See MPEP 2144.09. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746