DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 20180141174 A1) in view of Passmore et al. (US 20040138782 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mori discloses
A wire arc additive manufacturing system (manufacturing machine 100, fig.1, Par.0024 cited: “manufacturing machine 100 is an AM/SM hybrid manufacturing machine capable of additive manufacturing (AM) for a workpiece and subtractive manufacturing (SM) for a workpiece”) comprising:
a build plate (spindle 112, fig.1) defining a vertically oriented build plane (vertical plane) and having a center point (center point of spindle 112, fig.1) and a build axis (horizontal axis) oriented perpendicular to the build plane (vertical plane), wherein the vertically oriented build plane (vertical plane) is perpendicular to a floor; wherein the build plate (spindle 112) is configured to rotate on the build axis (horizontal axis) about center point (center point of spindle 112) [Par.0028 cited: “…spindle 112 is provided rotatably about a central axis 201 extending in parallel with the Z axis…”] and at least one robot (robot arm 31, fig.1).
However, Mori does not disclose at least one robot comprising at least one print head configured to deposit a molten material onto the build plate in a series of layers disposed along the build axis to form a part.
Passmore discloses a wire arc additive manufacturing system (multi-station robotic welding assembly 10, fig.1, Par.0030cited: “multi-station robotic welding assembly”) comprising: at least one robot (robots 11 and 12, fig.1) comprising at least one print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) configured to deposit a molten material onto the build plate (protective shields 38A-C) in a series of layers disposed along the build axis (horizontal axis) to form a part [Par.0031 cited: “…robots 11 and 12 includes a movable arm 31A, 31B and wrist 32A, 32B adapted for carrying and manipulating a welding torch 33A, 33B…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of invention to substitute or replace at least one robot of Mori, by using at least one robot comprising at least one print head, as taught by Passmore, in order to deposit a molten material onto the build plate in a series of layers disposed along the build axis to form a part.
Regarding claim 2, Mori discloses
the build plate (spindle 112, fig.1) rotates at a speed from 0.5 inch per minute to 600 inch per minute [spindle 112, fig.1, can be programmed to perform the function].
Regarding claim 3, Mori discloses
a positioner (first headstock 111, fig.1), wherein the build plate (spindle 112, fig.1) is attached to the positioner (first headstock 111) and a motor [first headstock 111, fig.1, inherently has a motor] on the positioner (first headstock 111) drives the build plate (spindle 112) to rotate.
Regarding claim 4, Mori discloses
the build plate (spindle 112, fig.1) has a circular shape and a diameter from 5 feet to 18 feet [spindle 112, fig.1, is an intended use, it has a circular shape and it can be replaced with a diameter from 5 feet to 18 feet].
Regarding claim 5, Passmore discloses
the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) is placed at a position at 90-degree or 270-degree from a top of the build plate (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) circumferentially around the center point (center point of protective shields 38 A-C).
Regarding claim 6, Passmore discloses
a build plate rotation speed and a print head deposition rate are coordinated such that the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) is at a constant location during printing [robots 11, 12 can be programmed to perform the function, Par.0037 cited: “…Programming for the robots 11, 12 is initiated to place the system in a complete automatic mode…”].
Regarding claim 7, Passmore discloses
the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) is positioned at one end of an extendable arm (movable arm 31A-B, fig.1) of the at least one robot (robots 11, 12, fig.1) such that the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B) extends to reach a desired location to print.
Regarding claim 8, Mori discloses
the at least one robot (robot arm 31, fig.1) is mounted on a rail (linear guide 22, fig.1) arranged in a print direction such that the rail (linear guide 22) moves the at least one robot (robot arm 31) as the part prints.
Regarding claim 9, Mori discloses
the at least one robot (robot arm 31, fig.1) is mounted on a first mobile platform (base member 23, base 32, arm 33, fig.1) comprising a riser (base member 23, fig.1); wherein the at least one robot (robot arm 31) moves freely horizontally and vertically.
Regarding claim 10, Mori discloses
a laser tracking system (manufacturing head 61, fig.1) to position the at least one robot (robot arm 31, fig.1) at a desired location for printing.
Regarding claim 11, Passmore discloses
the mobile platform (base member 23, base 32, arm 33, fig.1) is a manually guided vehicle or an autonomously guided vehicle [base member 23, base 32, arm 33, fig.1, is a manually guided vehicle or an autonomously guided vehicle].
Regarding claim 12, Passmore discloses
a second robot (robot 12, fig.1) supported on a second mobile platform (welding station 16, fig.1) comprising a riser (welding station 16,); wherein the second robot (robot 12) moves freely horizontally and vertically.
Regarding claim 13, Passmore discloses
the second robot (robot 12, fig.1) comprises an end effector assembly (wrist 32B, fig.1) configured to attach a tool (welding torch 33B, fig.1) elected from the group consisting of: a print tool, a weld tool (welding torch 33B), a machining tool, an inspection tool, and an imaging tool.
Regarding claim 14, Passmore discloses
the print head (welding torch 33A-B, fig.1) is placed at a position such that the force of gravity pulls the weld puddle down relative to the build direction.
Regarding claim 15, Passmore discloses
the part (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) has a cylindrical shape or a dome shape [robots 11-12, fig.1, can be programmed to perform the function].
Regarding claim 16, Passmore discloses
a second build plate (protective shields 38C, fig.1) defining a second vertically oriented build plane (vertical plane) and having a second center point (center point of protective shields 38C) and a second build axis (horizontal axis) oriented perpendicular to the second build plane (vertical plane), wherein the second build plane (vertical plane) is perpendicular to the floor, wherein the second build plate (protective shields 38C) is configured to rotate on the second build axis (horizontal axis) about the second center point (center point of protective shields 38C); and a second robot (robot 12, fig.1) comprising at least one print head (welding torch 33B, fig.1) configured to deposit a molten material onto the second build plate (protective shields 38C) in a series of layers disposed along the second build axis to form a second part [Par.0031 cited: “…robots 11 and 12 includes a movable arm 31A, 31B and wrist 32A, 32B adapted for carrying and manipulating a welding torch 33A, 33B…”].
Regarding claim 17, Passmore discloses
the build plate (protective shields 38C, fig.1) is attached to the positioner (junction box 21, fig.1) via a slew ring (indexers 22, 23, and 24, fig.1).
Regarding claim 18, Passmore discloses
the build axis (horizontal axis) and the second build axis (horizontal axis) are colinear, and wherein the build plane (vertical plane) of the build plate (protective shields 38A, fig.1) faces an opposite direction from the second build plane (vertical plane) of the second build plate (protective shields 38C, fig.1).
Regarding claim 19, Passmore discloses
second robot (robot 12, fig.1) is mounted on a rail (platform 14, fig.1) parallel to the second build axis (horizontal axis) and fixed to the floor such that the second robot (robot 12) moves along the rail (platform 14) as the second part prints.
Regarding claim 20, Passmore discloses
second robot (robot 12, fig.1) is mounted on a mobile platform (welding station 16, fig.1) comprising a riser (welding station 16); wherein the second robot (robot 12,) moves freely horizontally and vertically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of invention to substitute or replace at least one robot of Mori, by using a second robot, a second mobile platform, a second riser, an end effector assembly, a tool, a second build plate, a second build axis, and a second rail,… as taught by Passmore, in order to improve productivity.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Passmore et al. (US 20040138782 A1) in view of Peter et al. (US 20140091129 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Passmore discloses
A wire arc additive manufacturing system (multi-station robotic welding assembly 10, fig.1, Par.0030cited: “multi-station robotic welding assembly”) comprising:
a build plate (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) defining a vertically oriented build plane (vertical plane) and having a center point (center point of protective shields 38 A-C) and a build axis (horizontal axis) oriented perpendicular to the build plane (vertical plane), wherein the vertically oriented build plane (vertical plane) is perpendicular to a floor; and
at least one robot (robots 11 and 12, fig.1) comprising at least one print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) configured to deposit a molten material onto the build plate (protective shields 38A-C) in a series of layers disposed along the build axis (horizontal axis) to form a part [Par.0031 cited: “…robots 11 and 12 includes a movable arm 31A, 31B and wrist 32A, 32B adapted for carrying and manipulating a welding torch 33A, 33B…”].
However, Passmore does not disclose the build plate is configured to rotate on the build axis about center point.
Mruczeck discloses a wire arc additive manufacturing system (welding system 100, fig.1, Par.0019 cited: “…welding system 100…”) comprising: a build plate (cylindrical object 120, fig.1) is configured to rotate [Par.0019 cited: “…rotation of cylindrical object 120 will rotate the opposite direction of at least two rollers 130…”] on an axis (horizontal axis) about center point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of invention to substitute or replace the build plate of Passmore, by using a build plate is configured to rotate on the build axis about center point, as taught by Mruczeck, in order to provide a circumferential welding process due by a rotation.
Regarding claim 2, Passmore discloses
the build plate (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) rotates at a speed from 0.5 inch per minute to 600 inch per minute [rotatable fixture base 18, fig.1, can be programmed to perform the function, Par.0032 cited: “…rotatable fixture base 18 includes a three-position, DC driven, rotary cam indexer…”].
Regarding claim 3, Passmore discloses
a positioner (junction box 21, fig.1), wherein the build plate (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) is attached to the positioner (junction box 21) and a motor [Par.0032 cited: “…rotatable fixture base 18 includes a three-position, DC driven, rotary cam indexer…”] on the positioner drives the build plate (protective shields 38A-C) to rotate.
Regarding claim 4, Passmore discloses
the build plate (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) has a circular shape and a diameter from 5 feet to 18 feet [protective shields 38A-C, fig.1, is an intended use, it can be replaced by a circular shape and a diameter from 5 feet to 18 feet].
Regarding claim 5, Passmore discloses
the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) is placed at a position at 90-degree or 270-degree from a top of the build plate (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) circumferentially around the center point (center point of protective shields 38 A-C).
Regarding claim 6, Passmore discloses
a build plate rotation speed and a print head deposition rate are coordinated such that the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) is at a constant location during printing [robots 11, 12 can be programmed to perform the function, Par.0037 cited: “…Programming for the robots 11, 12 is initiated to place the system in a complete automatic mode…”].
Regarding claim 7, Passmore discloses
the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B, fig.1) is positioned at one end of an extendable arm (movable arm 31A-B, fig.1) of the at least one robot (robots 11, 12, fig.1) such that the print head (welding torch 33A, 33B) extends to reach a desired location to print.
Regarding claim 8, Passmore discloses
the at least one robot (robots 11, 12, fig.1) is mounted on a rail (platform 14, fig.1) arranged in a print direction such that the rail (platform 14) moves the at least one robot (robots 11, 12) as the part prints.
Regarding claim 9, Passmore discloses
the at least one robot (robots 11, 12, fig.1) is mounted on a first mobile platform (welding station 15, fig.1) comprising a riser (welding station 15); wherein the at least one robot (robots 11, 12) moves freely horizontally and vertically.
Regarding claim 10, Passmore discloses
a laser tracking system (programming, Par.0037) to position the at least one robot (robots 11, 12, fig.1) at a desired location for printing [robots 11, 12 can be programmed to perform the function, Par.0037 cited: “…Programming for the robots 11, 12 is initiated to place the system in a complete automatic mode…”].
Regarding claim 11, Passmore discloses
the mobile platform (wrist 32A-B, fig.1) is a manually guided vehicle [wrist 32A-B, fig.1, is considered as a manually guide vehicle] or an autonomously guided vehicle.
Regarding claim 12, Passmore discloses
a second robot (robot 12, fig.1) supported on a second mobile platform (welding station 16, fig.1) comprising a riser (welding station 16,); wherein the second robot (robot 12) moves freely horizontally and vertically.
Regarding claim 13, Passmore discloses
the second robot (robot 12, fig.1) comprises an end effector assembly (wrist 32B, fig.1) configured to attach a tool (welding torch 33B, fig.1) elected from the group consisting of: a print tool, a weld tool (welding torch 33B), a machining tool, an inspection tool, and an imaging tool.
Regarding claim 14, Passmore discloses
the print head (welding torch 33A-B, fig.1) is placed at a position such that the force of gravity pulls the weld puddle down relative to the build direction.
Regarding claim 15, Passmore discloses
the part (protective shields 38A-C, fig.1) has a cylindrical shape or a dome shape [robots 11-12, fig.1, can be programmed to perform the function].
Regarding claim 16, Passmore discloses
a second build plate (protective shields 38C, fig.1) defining a second vertically oriented build plane (vertical plane) and having a second center point (center point of protective shields 38C) and a second build axis (horizontal axis) oriented perpendicular to the second build plane (vertical plane), wherein the second build plane (vertical plane) is perpendicular to the floor, wherein the second build plate (protective shields 38C) is configured to rotate on the second build axis (horizontal axis) about the second center point (center point of protective shields 38C); and a second robot (robot 12, fig.1) comprising at least one print head (welding torch 33B, fig.1) configured to deposit a molten material onto the second build plate (protective shields 38C) in a series of layers disposed along the second build axis to form a second part [Par.0031 cited: “…robots 11 and 12 includes a movable arm 31A, 31B and wrist 32A, 32B adapted for carrying and manipulating a welding torch 33A, 33B…”].
Regarding claim 17, Passmore discloses
the build plate (protective shields 38C, fig.1) is attached to the positioner (junction box 21, fig.1) via a slew ring (indexers 22, 23, and 24, fig.1).
Regarding claim 18, Passmore discloses
the build axis (horizontal axis) and the second build axis (horizontal axis) are colinear, and wherein the build plane (vertical plane) of the build plate (protective shields 38A, fig.1) faces an opposite direction from the second build plane (vertical plane) of the second build plate (protective shields 38C, fig.1).
Regarding claim 19, Passmore discloses
second robot (robot 12, fig.1) is mounted on a rail (platform 14, fig.1) parallel to the second build axis (horizontal axis) and fixed to the floor such that the second robot (robot 12) moves along the rail (platform 14) as the second part prints.
Regarding claim 20, Passmore discloses
second robot (robot 12, fig.1) is mounted on a mobile platform (welding station 16, fig.1) comprising a riser (welding station 16); wherein the second robot (robot 12,) moves freely horizontally and vertically.
Response to Amendment/Argument
With respect to Drawing Objection: the new Drawing filed on 07/13/2026 has been fully considered and overcame the Drawing Objection in the previous Office action.
With respect to prior art Rejection: the applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20, filed on 07/13/2026, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. See Rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Clark et al. (US 20190283166 A1) is considered as the relevant prior art in field of applying a cladding layer to a component, as shown in fig.1, with a build plate and a robot, but does not disclose the vertically oriented build plane is perpendicular to a floor…
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
07/26/2026