DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
[AltContent: rect]
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hart et al. (US 2018/0117854).
As to claim 12: Hart discloses the claimed method for producing an additively manufactured article (i.e., FIG. 10 shows a block diagram of an additive manufacturing system and process) (Hart at [0015], FIG. 10), the method comprising:
obtaining a build structure (i.e., base plate 102 is secured to the machine build platform using bolts) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1, FIG. 10);
obtaining a plurality of build plate assemblies (i.e., plurality of blocks 114 defining build surfaces 122) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1);
wherein each build plate assembly from among the plurality of build plate assemblies each comprises a machinable build block (i.e., blocks 114 can be individually removed and machined as needed) (Hart at [0025]);
coupling the plurality of build plate assemblies to the build structure (i.e., base plate 102 is secured to the machine build platform using bolts; and each block 114 is configured to matingly engage with a respective recess in the plurality of recesses 110 in base plate 102) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1, FIG. 10);
machining an outer surface of at least one machinable build block to a first configuration with a first desired planar tolerance (i.e., blocks 114 can be individually removed and machined as needed; the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on build plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900; that is, each block-recess configuration may be of a shape distinct from another block-recess configuration within the same build plate 100, thereby allowing a distinct object to be built thereon) (Hart at [0025]); and
additively manufacturing a first article at a first orientation on the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block (i.e., the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on build plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900; that is, each block-recess configuration may be of a shape distinct from another block-recess configuration within the same build plate 100, thereby allowing a distinct object to be built thereon) (Hart at [0025]).
As to claim 14: Hart discloses the method of claim 12. Hart further discloses the claimed wherein the first configuration conforms to a desired bottom surface of the first article (i.e., an object 902 which is desired to be built by additive manufacturing system 900 may be built directly on build surface 122 of block 116; the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900) (Hart at [0022], [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[AltContent: rect]This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 2018/0117854).
As to claim 1: Hart discloses the claimed additive manufacturing build plate (i.e., build plate 100) (Hart at [0019], [0020], FIG. 1, FIG. 10), the build plate comprising:
a build structure with a first planar tolerance (i.e., machine build platform) (Hart at [0019], FIG. 1, FIG. 10); and
a plurality of build plate assemblies (i.e., plurality of blocks 114 defining build surfaces 122) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1),
wherein each build plate assembly comprises: a build support device (i.e., base plate 102), the build support device affixed to the build structure (i.e., base plate 102 is secured to the machine build platform using bolts) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1, FIG. 10); and
a machinable build block coupled to the build support device (i.e., each block 114 is configured to matingly engage with a respective recess in the plurality of recesses 110 in base plate 102) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1),
the machinable build block configured such that an outer surface of the machinable build block is capable of being machined to a second planar tolerance, the second planar tolerance is more precise than the first planar tolerance (i.e., blocks 114 can be individually removed and machined as needed and therefore are capable of being machined to a second planar tolerance which is more precise than the first planar tolerance) (Hart at [0025]), and
wherein the build plate surface is suitable for an additively manufactured part to be produced on the plurality of machinable build blocks (i.e., the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on build plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900; that is, each block-recess configuration may be of a shape distinct from another block-recess configuration within the same build plate 100, thereby allowing a distinct object to be built thereon) (Hart at [0025]).
Hart, as discussed above, discloses build plate 100 including a plurality of blocks 114 and each block 116 of the plurality of blocks 114 being disposed in their respective recess 110 within base plate 102, and each block 116 of the plurality of blocks 114 forming build surface 122 (i.e., plurality of blocks 114 are not connected/coupled to form a build plate surface, but rather form individual build surfaces 122) (Hart at [0019], [0020], FIGs. 1-3). Though, Hart fails to explicitly disclose, in a single embodiment, the claimed wherein each of the plurality of build plate assemblies are connected to form a build plate surface.
However, Hart teaches an additional embodiment of a build plate configuration. Build plate 200 constitutes Hart’s additional embodiment, and build plate 200 includes base plate 202 including a first build surface 204 having at least one recess 210 therein (Hart at [0026], FIGs. 4-5).
Hart further teaches build plate 200 including a plurality of blocks 214, and each block 216 of the plurality of blocks 214 including either two projections 228a and 228b, a projection 228 and a groove 236, or two grooves 236a and 236b in order for the plurality of blocks 214 to matingly engage one another and the groove 232 along a sidewall within recess 210, such that the plurality of blocks 214 matingly engaging each other and forming build surface 222 (i.e., wherein each of the plurality of build plate assemblies are connected to form a build plate surface) (Hart at [0027], [0029], [0030], [0031], FIGs. 4-5, FIGs. 6-8, FIG. 9).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the second embodiment of Hart’s build plate such that each of the plurality of build plate assemblies are connected to form a build plate surface as doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (i.e., build surface 222 forms a larger build surface for parts having bigger and/or more complex geometries to be formed on) with the advantage of doing so also allowing for the removal and manipulation of each individual block having a completed object thereon without affecting the remaining blocks, and doing so also allowing for each cleaning and maintenance of the build plate in Hart’s second embodiment can be individually removed and cleaned as needed (as recognized by Hart at [0031]).
As to claim 2: Hart teaches the additive manufacturing build plate of claim 1. Hart further discloses the claimed wherein the machinable build block comprises a top surface configured to conform to a bottom surface of a desired article (i.e., an object 902 which is desired to be built by additive manufacturing system 900 may be built directly on build surface 122 of block 116; the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900) (Hart at [0022], [0025]).
[AltContent: rect]
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Haendel et al. (US 2019/0202115).
As to claim 3: Hart teaches the additive manufacturing build plate of claim 1. Hart further discloses block 116 including a projections 128 for matingly engaging with a groove 132 within a recess 118; the projection being formed such that projection 128 runs vertically along a side of block 116 such that projection 128 extends from a bottom surface of recess 118 to build surface 122 of block 116 (Hart at [0023]); though, Hart fails to disclose the claimed wherein the machinable build block is coupled using mechanical fasteners to the build support device.
However, Van Haendel teaches an apparatus 1 for producing an object 2 by means of additive manufacturing, and the apparatus 1 including support 5 for positioning the object 2 during fabrication (Van Haendel at [0025], Fig. 1). Van Haendel further teaches a plurality of build plate elements 6a-6i individually connected to support 5 (Van Haendel at [0025], [0026], [0027], Fig. 2a); and each of the plurality of build plate elements 6a-6i connected to support 5 via adjustment members 9 (Van Haendel at [0026], [0027] Fig. 2a). The adjustment member 9 in Van Haendel is formed by locking element 91 and positioning element 3, where the locking element 91 is arranged for locking the z-position of the build plate element 6 by connecting the build plate element 6 to the support 5 (i.e., wherein the machinable build block is coupled using mechanical fasteners to the build support device) (Van Haendel at [0032], [0033], Fig. 3a).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the machinable build block coupled to the build support device using mechanical fasteners as such is known in the art of build plates for additive manufacturing given the discussion of Van Haendel above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of being able to process each build plate element individually which increases the ease and speed with which the objects may be removed (as recognized by Van Haendel at [0026]).
As to claim 4: Hart and Van Haendel teach the additive manufacturing build plate of claim 3. Van Haendel further discloses the claimed wherein the mechanical fasteners are recessed from a top surface of the machinable build block (i.e., flanged-like part 95 of the locking element 91 may be taken up by a recess 61 provided in the build plate element 6) (Van Haendel at [0033], Fig. 2a, Fig. 3a), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 3.
[AltContent: rect]
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Samo (US 2018/0073859).
As to claim 5: Hart teaches the additive manufacturing build plate of claim 1. Hart fails to disclose the claimed wherein the machinable build block comprises reference features capable of being used as a datum for an additive manufacturing process.
However, Samo teaches a plate 100 for a 3D scanning system, the plate 100 including a plate body 101 configured to mount a 3D scanning system and a plurality of artifact alignment apertures 103 defined in plate body 101 and arranged in a predetermined patter, e.g., a grid, to allow a predetermined mounting arrangement of one or more artifacts (Samo at [0019], FIG. 1). Samo further teaches the plate 100 including position indices 105 on a surface of the plate body 101, where the position indices 105 are associated with at least one of the plurality of rows and/or columns, so as to include a plurality of letters for one of the plurality of rows or columns and a plurality of numbers for the other of the plurality of rows or columns (i.e., wherein the machinable build block comprises reference features capable of being used as a datum for an additive manufacturing process) (Samo at [0021], FIG. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the position indices on a surface of a plate body as such is known in the art of mounting structures on a plate in a 3D scanning system given the discussion of Samo above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allowing for the indices associated with the pattern, e.g., the grid as shown, can be used so that successful set-ups relating to specific parts can be recorded so as to be repeated if needed (as recognized by Samo at [0021]).
[AltContent: rect]
Claims 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US 2018/0117854) in view of Donovan et al. (US 2019/0118469).
As to claim 6: Hart discloses the claimed method for producing an additively manufactured article (i.e., FIG. 10 shows a block diagram of an additive manufacturing system and process) (Hart at [0015], FIG. 10), the method comprising:
obtaining a build structure (i.e., base plate 102 is secured to the machine build platform using bolts) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1, FIG. 10);
obtaining a plurality of build plate assemblies (i.e., plurality of blocks 114 defining build surfaces 122) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1);
wherein each build plate assembly among the plurality of build plate assemblies each comprises a machinable build block (i.e., blocks 114 can be individually removed and machined as needed) (Hart at [0025]);
coupling the plurality of build plate assemblies to the build structure (i.e., base plate 102 is secured to the machine build platform using bolts; and each block 114 is configured to matingly engage with a respective recess in the plurality of recesses 110 in base plate 102) (Hart at [0019], [0020], [0021], FIG. 1, FIG. 10);
machining an outer surface of at least one machinable build block to a first configuration with a first desired planar tolerance (i.e., blocks 114 can be individually removed and machined as needed; the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on build plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900; that is, each block-recess configuration may be of a shape distinct from another block-recess configuration within the same build plate 100, thereby allowing a distinct object to be built thereon) (Hart at [0025]); and
additively manufacturing a first article at a first orientation on the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block (i.e., the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on build plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900; that is, each block-recess configuration may be of a shape distinct from another block-recess configuration within the same build plate 100, thereby allowing a distinct object to be built thereon) (Hart at [0025]).
Hart fails to explicitly disclose the claimed removing the first article from the machinable build block and machining the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block to a second configuration with a second desired planar tolerance, the second configuration different from the first configuration; and coupling the first article to the build structure in a second orientation and additively manufacturing a second article onto the first article.
However, Donovan teaches a method for constructing components where the initial shape is additively manufactured, removed from the build plate (i.e., removing the first article from the machinable build block), inverted or otherwise reoriented, and a second additive build can be used to complete the component/add more to the component (Donovan at [0035]). Donovan further teaches after removing the initial shape, using a second build plate including any suitable recess to accept the first portion in a reoriented position (i.e., machining the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block to a second configuration with a second desired planar tolerance, the second configuration different from the first configuration) and can cause the first portion to align to the second build plate (i.e., coupling the first article to the build structure in a second orientation); then additive material can be added to the surface of the first portion (i.e., additively manufacturing a second article onto the first article) (Donovan at [0035], FIGs. 1-7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the steps of removing the first article from the machinable build block and machining the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block to a second configuration with a second desired planar tolerance, the second configuration different from the first configuration; and coupling the first article to the build structure in a second orientation and additively manufacturing a second article onto the first article as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Donovan above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allowing for part complexity, simplified or eliminated post processing, and the inverted component allowing for geometry to be manufactured with overhangs eliminated during manufacture (as recognized by Donovan at [0036]).
As to claim 8: Hart and Donovan teach the method of claim 6 above. Hart further discloses the claimed wherein the first configuration conforms to a desired bottom surface of the first article (i.e., an object 902 which is desired to be built by additive manufacturing system 900 may be built directly on build surface 122 of block 116; the block-recess configuration of build plate 100 allows for customization of blocks 114 to facilitate a desired configuration of object 902 to be built on plate 100 by additive manufacturing system 900) (Hart at [0022], [0025]).
As to claim 9: Hart and Donovan teach the method of claim 6 above. Donovan further teaches the claimed wherein the second configuration comprises reference features for aligning the first article when the first article is coupled to the build structure in a second orientation (i.e., build plate 107 for an additive manufacturing machine can include a build plate body 113 defining a part portion recess 115 that can be configured to receive a portion (e.g., first portion 115) of a part and to allow additive manufacturing of a second portion (e.g., second portion 109) of a part on the first portion of the part; any suitable apertures can be defined in the second build plate 107 such that the first portion 101 is caused to be oriented in a particular manner due to the orientation of the apertures in the recess 115) (Donovan at [0032], [0035], FIGs. 4-5), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 6.
As to claim 10: Hart and Donovan teach the method of claim 6 above. Donovan further teaches the claimed wherein the first article comprises first alignment features (i.e., hollow posts 103) (Donovan at [0023], [0032], FIGs. 1-2), and the second configuration of the machinable build block comprises second alignment features corresponding to the first alignment features when the first article is coupled to the build structure in the second orientation (i.e., build plate 107 for an additive manufacturing machine can include a build plate body 113 defining a part portion recess 115 that can be configured to receive a portion (e.g., first portion 115) of a part and to allow additive manufacturing of a second portion (e.g., second portion 109) of a part on the first portion of the part; any suitable apertures can be defined in the second build plate 107 such that the first portion 101 is caused to be oriented in a particular manner due to the orientation of the apertures in the recess 115) (Donovan at [0032], [0035], FIGs. 4-5), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 6.
[AltContent: rect]
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart and Donovan as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Van Haendel et al. (US 2019/0202115).
As to claim 7: Hart and Donovan teach the method of claim 6 above. Hart, modified by Donovan, fail to disclose the claimed wherein coupling the plurality of build plate assemblies is performed using mechanical fasteners.
However, Van Haendel teaches an apparatus 1 for producing an object 2 by means of additive manufacturing, and the apparatus 1 including support 5 for positioning the object 2 during fabrication (Van Haendel at [0025], Fig. 1). Van Haendel further teaches a plurality of build plate elements 6a-6i individually connected to support 5 (Van Haendel at [0025], [0026], [0027], Fig. 2a); and each of the plurality of build plate elements 6a-6i connected to support 5 via adjustment members 9 (Van Haendel at [0026], [0027] Fig. 2a). The adjustment member 9 in Van Haendel is formed by locking element 91 and positioning element 3, where the locking element 91 is arranged for locking the z-position of the build plate element 6 by connecting the build plate element 6 to the support 5 (i.e., wherein coupling the plurality of build plate assemblies is performed using mechanical fasteners) (Van Haendel at [0032], [0033], Fig. 3a).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the machinable build block coupled to the build support device using mechanical fasteners as such is known in the art of build plates for additive manufacturing given the discussion of Van Haendel above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of being able to process each build plate element individually which increases the ease and speed with which the objects may be removed (as recognized by Van Haendel at [0026]).
[AltContent: rect]
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart and Donovan as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Samo (US 2018/0073859).
As to claim 11: Hart and Donovan teach the method of claim 6 above. Hart, modified by Donovan, fail to disclose the claimed wherein the machinable build block comprises reference features capable of being used as a datum for an additive manufacturing process.
However, Samo teaches a plate 100 for a 3D scanning system, the plate 100 including a plate body 101 configured to mount a 3D scanning system and a plurality of artifact alignment apertures 103 defined in plate body 101 and arranged in a predetermined patter, e.g., a grid, to allow a predetermined mounting arrangement of one or more artifacts (Samo at [0019], FIG. 1). Samo further teaches the plate 100 including position indices 105 on a surface of the plate body 101, where the position indices 105 are associated with at least one of the plurality of rows and/or columns, so as to include a plurality of letters for one of the plurality of rows or columns and a plurality of numbers for the other of the plurality of rows or columns (i.e., wherein the machinable build block comprises reference features capable of being used as a datum for an additive manufacturing process) (Samo at [0021], FIG. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the position indices on a surface of a plate body as such is known in the art of mounting structures on a plate in a 3D scanning system given the discussion of Samo above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allowing for the indices associated with the pattern, e.g., the grid as shown, can be used so that successful set-ups relating to specific parts can be recorded so as to be repeated if needed (as recognized by Samo at [0021]).
[AltContent: rect]
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Donovan et al. (US 2019/0118469).
As to claim 16: Hart discloses the method of claim 12 above. Hart fails to disclose the claimed further comprising removing the article from the machinable build block and machining the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block to a second configuration with a second desired planar tolerance, the second configuration different from the first configuration.
However, Donovan teaches a method for constructing components where the initial shape is additively manufactured, removed from the build plate (i.e., removing the first article from the machinable build block), inverted or otherwise reoriented, and a second additive build can be used to complete the component/add more to the component (Donovan at [0035]). Donovan further teaches after removing the initial shape, using a second build plate including any suitable recess to accept the first portion in a reoriented position (i.e., machining the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block to a second configuration with a second desired planar tolerance, the second configuration different from the first configuration) (Donovan at [0035], FIGs. 1-7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the step of removing the first article from the machinable build block and machining the outer surface of the at least one machinable build block to a second configuration with a second desired planar tolerance, the second configuration different from the first configuration as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Donovan above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allowing for part complexity, simplified or eliminated post processing, and the inverted component allowing for geometry to be manufactured with overhangs eliminated during manufacture (as recognized by Donovan at [0036]).
As to claim 17: Hart discloses the method of claim 12 above. Hart fails to disclose the claimed method further comprising coupling the article to the build structure in a second orientation and additively manufacturing a second article onto the first article.
However, Donovan remains as introduced and applied in the rejection of claim 16, and Donovan further teaches the claimed method further comprising coupling the article to the build structure in a second orientation (i.e., coupling the first article to the build structure in a second orientation) and additively manufacturing a second article onto the first article (i.e., additively manufacturing a second article onto the first article) (Donovan at [0035], FIGs. 1-7), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 16.
As to claim 18: Hart and Donovan teach the method of claim 17 above. Donovan further teaches the claimed wherein a second configuration comprises reference features for aligning the first article when the first article is coupled to the build structure in a second orientation (i.e., build plate 107 for an additive manufacturing machine can include a build plate body 113 defining a part portion recess 115 that can be configured to receive a portion (e.g., first portion 115) of a part and to allow additive manufacturing of a second portion (e.g., second portion 109) of a part on the first portion of the part; any suitable apertures can be defined in the second build plate 107 such that the first portion 101 is caused to be oriented in a particular manner due to the orientation of the apertures in the recess 115) (Donovan at [0032], [0035], FIGs. 4-5), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 16.
As to claim 20: Hart and Donovan teach the method of claim 16 above. Donovan further teaches the claimed wherein the first article comprises first alignment features (i.e., hollow posts 103) (Donovan at [0023], [0032], FIGs. 1-2), and the second configuration of the machinable build block comprises second alignment features corresponding to the first alignment features when the first article is coupled to the build structure in a second orientation (i.e., build plate 107 for an additive manufacturing machine can include a build plate body 113 defining a part portion recess 115 that can be configured to receive a portion (e.g., first portion 115) of a part and to allow additive manufacturing of a second portion (e.g., second portion 109) of a part on the first portion of the part; any suitable apertures can be defined in the second build plate 107 such that the first portion 101 is caused to be oriented in a particular manner due to the orientation of the apertures in the recess 115) (Donovan at [0032], [0035], FIGs. 4-5), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 16.
[AltContent: rect]
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart and Donovan as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Van Haendel et al. (US 2019/0202115).
As to claim 13: Hart discloses the method of claim 12 above. Hart fails to disclose the claimed wherein coupling the plurality of build plate assemblies is performed using at least one mechanical fasteners.
However, Van Haendel teaches an apparatus 1 for producing an object 2 by means of additive manufacturing, and the apparatus 1 including support 5 for positioning the object 2 during fabrication (Van Haendel at [0025], Fig. 1). Van Haendel further teaches a plurality of build plate elements 6a-6i individually connected to support 5 (Van Haendel at [0025], [0026], [0027], Fig. 2a); and each of the plurality of build plate elements 6a-6i connected to support 5 via adjustment members 9 (Van Haendel at [0026], [0027] Fig. 2a). The adjustment member 9 in Van Haendel is formed by locking element 91 and positioning element 3, where the locking element 91 is arranged for locking the z-position of the build plate element 6 by connecting the build plate element 6 to the support 5 (i.e., wherein coupling the plurality of build plate assemblies is performed using at least one mechanical fasteners) (Van Haendel at [0032], [0033], Fig. 3a).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the machinable build block coupled to the build support device using mechanical fasteners as such is known in the art of build plates for additive manufacturing given the discussion of Van Haendel above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of being able to process each build plate element individually which increases the ease and speed with which the objects may be removed (as recognized by Van Haendel at [0026]).
As to claim 19: Hart and Van Haendel teach the method of claim 13 above. Van Haendel further teaches the claimed wherein a top of the at least one mechanical fastener is below a top surface of the machinable build block (i.e., flanged-like part 95 of the locking element 91 may be taken up by a recess 61 provided in the build plate element 6) (Van Haendel at [0033], Fig. 2a, Fig. 3a), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 13.
[AltContent: rect]
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart, Gringas and Donovan as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Samo (US 2018/0073859).
As to claim 15: Hart discloses the method of claim 12 above. Hart fails to disclose the claimed wherein the machinable build block comprises reference features capable of being used as a datum for an additive manufacturing process.
However, Samo teaches a plate 100 for a 3D scanning system, the plate 100 including a plate body 101 configured to mount a 3D scanning system and a plurality of artifact alignment apertures 103 defined in plate body 101 and arranged in a predetermined patter, e.g., a grid, to allow a predetermined mounting arrangement of one or more artifacts (Samo at [0019], FIG. 1). Samo further teaches the plate 100 including position indices 105 on a surface of the plate body 101, where the position indices 105 are associated with at least one of the plurality of rows and/or columns, so as to include a plurality of letters for one of the plurality of rows or columns and a plurality of numbers for the other of the plurality of rows or columns (i.e., wherein the machinable build block comprises reference features capable of being used as a datum for an additive manufacturing process) (Samo at [0021], FIG. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the position indices on a surface of a plate body as such is known in the art of mounting structures on a plate in a 3D scanning system given the discussion of Samo above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, with the added benefit of doing so allowing for the indices associated with the pattern, e.g., the grid as shown, can be used so that successful set-ups relating to specific parts can be recorded so as to be repeated if needed (as recognized by Samo at [0021]).
Conclusion
/BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1743