DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 7-20 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-6 are being examined herein.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The objection to the claim 1 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is being withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konry et al. (US 20250222454 A1) as evidenced by Baroud et al. (US 20170252744 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Konry teaches a method comprising:
a. providing a microfluidic system (Fig. 2C) comprising a droplet generator and a microfluidic platform comprising an inlet (annotated Fig. A below), a fluidic chamber fluidly coupled to the inlet, and an outlet fluidly coupled to the fluidic chamber, wherein the fluidic chamber comprises one or more trapping arrays (see annotated Fig. A);
b. accepting, by the droplet generator, one or more particles (Fig. 2A, droplet generator accept NK and tumor cells);
c. generating, by the droplet generator, one or more particle-laden droplets, each particle-laden droplet comprising a particle of the one or more particles surrounded by an aqueous solution, surrounded by a carrier oil (Figs. 1, 2A and 2C, droplet generator generates droplets encapsulated NK and tumor cells);
d. directing the one or more particle-laden droplets through the inlet of the microfluidic device to the fluidic chamber (Fig. 2C);
e. immobilizing, by the one or more trapping arrays, the one or more particle-laden droplets (Fig. 2C); and
f. directing, by the droplet generator, a continuous substantially laminar flow of carrier oil through the inlet and through the fluidic chamber (para. 0053, oil continues to flow. Oil flow is substantially laminar flow for droplet generation and subsequent trapping in a microfluidic chip); wherein the continuous flow of carrier oil induces one or more microvortices within the one or more particle-laden droplets at the one or more trapping arrays (the continuous flow of oil, which is immiscible to the droplet, induces internal vortex within the droplets as evidenced by Baroud et al, para. 0110, an external flow of oil induces recirculation vortices within microdroplets).
Figure A. Annotated Fig. 2C of Konry.
Regarding claim 2, Konry teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Konry further teaches wherein the one or more trapping arrays comprise a plurality of pillars separated by gaps (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 3, Konry teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Konry teaches wherein the plurality of pillars are separated by 2 to 50 mm gaps (Fig. 5C, see scale bar on the top left, see annotated Fig. B below).
Figure B. annotate Fig. B of Konry.
Regarding claim 5, Konry teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Konry further teaches wherein the one or more trapping arrays comprise one or more pockets (docking sites, Fig. 2C) disposed in an upper interior surface of the fluidic chamber, a bottom interior surface of the fluidic chamber, or a combination thereof (Fig. 2C).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konry et al. (US 20250222454 A1) as evidenced by Baroud et al. (US 20170252744 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further evidenced by Kamalakshakurup ("Microvortices In Droplets: Generation & Applications" (2014). Wayne State University Dissertations. Paper 1015).
Regarding claim 6, Konry teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Konry further teaches wherein the continuous flow of carrier oil has a flow rate such that the one or more microvortices induce, for each particle-laden droplet of the one or more particle-laden droplets, spinning of the particle within the particle-laden droplet or orbiting of the particle around a point within the particle-laden droplet (para. 0053, oil continues to flow, then systematically increase from 0-900 mL/hr.; and para. 0054 and Fig. 5C, the oil flow at least one of the flow rates between 0-900 mL/hr. causes the droplet to exit through narrow outlet of the trap, which causes relative displacement of the droplet and the oil, inducing internal recirculation vortices as evidenced by Kamalakshakurup, p. 34. 2nd para. The vortices are spinning motion, and thus leads to subsequent spinning or orbiting of the particle, see Kamalakshakurup, p. 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konry et al. (US 20250222454 A1) in view of Huebner et al. (“Static microdroplet arrays: a microfluidic device for droplet trapping, incubation and release for enzymatic and cell-based assays.” Lab Chip. 2009 Mar 7;9(5):692-8.)
Regarding claim 4, Konry teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2.
Konry teaches an array of microdroplet traps, wherein every two adjacent traps in the same row have a shared pillar (Fig. 2C, two traps formed by three pillars, where the middle pillar is shared between the two traps), and thus does not teach wherein the plurality of pillars are separated by at least three gaps comprising a central gap and at least one lateral gap on each side of the central gap, wherein each particle-laden droplet immobilized by the trapping array blocks the central gap such that the continuous flow of carrier oil flows through the lateral gaps around the particle-laden droplet.
However Huebner teaches an array of traps for immobilizing microdroplets. Huebner further teaches teach two adjacent traps on the same row do not have a shared pillar, but each traps have two unshared pillars (Fig. 2), such that the plurality of pillars are separated by at least three gaps comprising a central gap and at least one lateral gap on each side of the central gap.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted array of traps wherein every two adjacent traps have a shared pillar as taught by Konry with an array of traps wherein each traps have two unshared pillars (Fig. 2) such that the plurality of pillars are separated by at least three gaps comprising a central gap and at least one lateral gap on each side of the central gap as taught by Huebner because it was recognized that an array of traps wherein each trap is made of unshared pillars was an alternative an array of traps where in with every two adjacent traps in the row have a shared pillar and would provide more flexibility. Simple substitution of one known element (array of traps where in every two traps in the same row with a shared pillar) for another (array of traps wherein traps do not have shared pillars) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (array of trap of microdroplets) are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The teachings of modified Konry would yield wherein the plurality of pillars are separated by at least three gaps comprising a central gap and at least one lateral gap on each side of the central gap (Huebner, Fig. 2), wherein each particle-laden droplet immobilized by the trapping array blocks the central gap such that the continuous flow of carrier oil flows through the lateral gaps around the particle-laden droplet (Konry, Fig. 2C and Huebner, Fig. 2).
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baroud et al. (US 20170252744 A1) in view of Konry et al. (US 20250222454 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baroud teaches a method comprising:
d. directing
e. immobilizing, by the one or more trapping arrays, the one or more particle-laden droplets (Fig. 2 and para. 0110);
f. directing
Baroud teaches a method for handling, in a microfluidic system, microdroplets encapsulated with biological cells (paras. 0087 and 0110). Baroud further teaches the microdroplets are formed of an aqueous solution in oil, and the method further include trapping the microdroplets in a trapping area of a microfluidic chip (Baroud, Fig. 1)(fluidic chamber) of the microfluidic system(Figs. 1-2, paras. 0087 and 0110 and abstract).
Baroud teaches the microdroplets are formed outside of the microfluidic system (para. 0086 and Fig. 1) and thus fails to teaches a droplet generator, and consequently fails to teaches steps a to c, and a portion of step f where it recites “directing, by the droplet generator, a continuous substantially laminar flow of carrier oil.”
However, Konry teaches a method for handling, in a microfluidic system, microdroplets encapsulated with biological cells. Konry further teaches an integrated droplet generation in the system for generating microdroplets are formed of an aqueous solution in oil (Fig. 1). Konry, teaches the method involves:
a. providing a microfluidic system (Konry, Fig. 2C) comprising a droplet generator and a microfluidic platform comprising an inlet (annotated Fig. A, above), a fluidic chamber (the chamber as shown in Baroud, Fig. 1) fluidly coupled to the inlet (the droplet generator of Konry is coupled to the inlet of Baroud’s chamber), and an outlet fluidly coupled to the fluidic chamber, wherein the fluidic chamber comprises one or more trapping arrays (see annotated Fig. A, above);
b. accepting, by the droplet generator, one or more particles (Fig. 2A, droplet generator accept NK and tumor cells);
c. generating, by the droplet generator, one or more particle-laden droplets, each particle-laden droplet comprising a particle of the one or more particles surrounded by an aqueous solution, surrounded by a carrier oil (Figs. 1, 2A and 2C, droplet generator generates droplets encapsulated NK and tumor cells);
d. directing the one or more particle-laden droplets through the inlet of the microfluidic device to the fluidic chamber (Fig. 2C);
e. immobilizing, by the one or more trapping arrays, the one or more particle-laden droplets (Fig. 2C);
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the microfluidic system and the associated method taught by Baroud to include a droplet generator connected to the inlet of Baroud’s microfluidic chip in Fig. 1 (fluidic chamber) and the associated method of generating droplet encapsulated with cells including steps a-c: a. providing a microfluidic system comprising a droplet generator and a microfluidic platform comprising an inlet, a fluidic chamber fluidly coupled to the inlet, and an outlet fluidly coupled to the fluidic chamber, wherein the fluidic chamber comprises one or more trapping arrays; b. accepting, by the droplet generator, one or more particles; and c. generating, by the droplet generator, one or more particle-laden droplets, each particle-laden droplet comprising a particle of the one or more particles surrounded by an aqueous solution, surrounded by a carrier oil as taught by Konry (Figs. 1, 2A and 2C) in order to have integrated droplet generation and trapping system with a reasonable expectation of success (Konry, Fig. 1) (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
Modified Baroud would yield
a. providing a microfluidic system comprising a droplet generator (annotated Fig. A above) and a microfluidic platform comprising an inlet (the inlet of the chamber in Baroud, Fig. 1), a fluidic chamber (the chamber as shown in Baroud, Fig. 1) fluidly coupled to the inlet, and an outlet fluidly coupled to the fluidic chamber (the outlet of the chamber in Baroud, Fig. 1), wherein the fluidic chamber comprises one or more trapping arrays (Baroud, Fig. 1);
b. accepting, by the droplet generator, one or more particles (Konry, Fig. 2A, droplet generator accepting Baroud, para. 0110 cells in suspension in an aqueous phase comprising or consisting of culture medium and hydrogel);
c. generating, by the droplet generator, one or more particle-laden droplets, each particle-laden droplet comprising a particle of the one or more particles surrounded by an aqueous solution, surrounded by a carrier oil (Konry, Figs. 1, 2A and 2C and Baroud, para. 0110);
Modified Baroud further teaches the method comprise
d. directing the one or more particle-laden droplets through the inlet of the microfluidic device to the fluidic chamber (the chamber as shown in Baroud, Fig. 1; Baroud, para. 0110, the encapsulated cell suspension, culture media and hydrogel, Baroud);
e. immobilizing, by the one or more trapping arrays, the one or more particle-laden droplets (Baroud, Fig. 2);
In addition, Baroud teaches step f “directingfails to teach the directing is by the droplet generator.
However, modified Baroud comprises a droplet generator with an oil inlet (Konry, Fig. 1). Further Konry teaches a continuous flow of carrier oil to the trap array after the microdroplets are being trapped (Konry, para. 0053)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method step of directing a continuous substantially laminar flow of carrier oil taught by Baroud with the directing accomplished by the droplet generator in modified Baroud as taught by Konry (Fig. 1) because it was recognized that the droplet generator was an alternative to an oil source and would provide more convenient oil source (since a droplet generator is already a part of modified Baroud). Simple substitution of one known element (an oil source) for another (oil from droplet generator) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (providing oil flow to the array of microdroplet trap) are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 2, modified Baroud teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Baroud further teaches wherein the one or more trapping arrays comprise a plurality of pillars separated by gaps (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Baroud teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Baroud teaches wherein the plurality of pillars are separated by 2 to 50 mm gaps (para. 0086).
Regarding claim 5, modified Baroud teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Baroud further teaches wherein the one or more trapping arrays comprise one or more pockets (Fig. 2, where the droplets are trapped) disposed in an upper interior surface of the fluidic chamber, a bottom interior surface of the fluidic chamber, or a combination thereof (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Baroud teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Modified Baroud further teaches wherein the continuous flow of carrier oil has a flow rate such that the one or more microvortices induce, for each particle-laden droplet of the one or more particle-laden droplets, spinning of the particle within the particle-laden droplet or orbiting of the particle around a point within the particle-laden droplet (Baroud, para. 0110, induces recirculation within the droplet, which internal recirculation vortices. The vortices are spinning motion, and thus leads to subsequent spinning or orbiting of the particle).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 11, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 03/16/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 12-18, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758