DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 11, 20, 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
• Claim 1, line 12, “Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)” should be “a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”.
• Claim 11, line 15, “Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)” should be “a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”.
• Claim 20, line 15, “Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)” should be “a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)”.
• Claim 21, line 2, “relative throughput” should be “a relative throughput”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Remarks
4. This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 04/07/2026.
Claims 1-21 are pending in the application, claims 1, 11, 20, and 21 have been amended, and claims 2-10, 12-19 were previously presented.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-20190215086-A1). The applicant argues that:
A) The office action does not teaches " transmitting, by the UE, CSI feedback comprising one or more spatial muting parameters indicating muting patterns based on the first subset of the first plurality of antenna ports and the second subset of the first plurality of antenna ports, the one or more spatial muting parameters being transmitted via Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)” (Page 7-10, Remarks).
In response to A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Kwak2 explicitly teaches and transmitting, by the UE, CSI feedback comprising one or more spatial muting parameters indicating muting patterns based on the first subset of the first plurality of antenna ports and the second subset of the first plurality of antenna ports ([0313] and [0317] describe the UE estimates a channel for each antenna port and estimates an additional channel for a virtual resource based on the estimated channel. The UE determines feedback, generates CRI, PMI, RI, and CQI corresponding to the feedback, and transmits the feedback information to the eNB in accordance with the feedback setting of the eNB or the aperiodic CSI reporting trigger. That indicates that the UE can transmit the CSI feedback to the BS. Fig. 1 and [0074] states “FIG. 1. When the number of antenna ports is 4, the CSI-RS is transmitted from the entire specific pattern. When the number of antenna ports is 8, the CSI-RS is transmitted using 2 patterns. However, when muting, one pattern unit is used. That is, although muting can be applied to a plurality of patterns, the muting cannot be applied to only a portion of a pattern, when the position of the muting does not overlap with the CSI-RS. However, the muting can be applied to a portion of one pattern when the position of the CSI-RS does overlap with the position of the muting” which explain the muting can be applied to apportion of pattern, and the CSI-RS can be transmitted over 2, 4, 8 REs according to the number of antenna ports transmitting the CSI-RS, that also confirms the muting patterns can be applied based on the subset of the plurality of antenna ports. Where [0073] states “In the LTE-A system, the muting is also referred to as a zero-power CSI-RS because the muting is applied to a position of the CSI-RS due to the characteristics of the muting and the transmission power is not transmitted.” That means the muting/zero power CSI RS can be applied on position/portion of resource elements Res associated with CSI RS, states “see also [0088] lines 13-19. These paragraphs implies the UE can transmit the CSI feedback for muting patterns. Table 1, Tables 6-7 and [0090] describe the codebook subset restriction (CBSR), as a type of spatial/beam management in 5G NR CSI feedback, which can be used to restrict/mute which codebook (thus which spatial patterns or antenna port subsets) for feedback or reporting, such as pattern based on group of ports. Moreover, [0304]-[0305] describe the mechanism for applying zero power (for power saving) on the muting CSI-RS).
Kwak1 also teaches the one or more spatial muting parameters being transmitted via Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) ([0158] sates “The PUCCH used in periodic and semi-persistent CSI report is limited in the amount of report that may be transmitted. Accordingly, in LTE, the UE selects some subbands of the bandwidth part and transmits on the uplink.” and [0168] states “in the case of aperiodic CSI report, type II CSI report is supported via the PUSCH that may support more overhead, type II reporting which needs higher reporting overhead may be supported only in aperiodic CSI report.” [0088] also states “Further, the muting may also apply to some of the positions denoted with A, B, C, D, E, E, F, G, H, I, and J. In particular, the CSI-RS may be transmitted via two, four, or eight REs depending on the number of transmit (TX) antenna ports. In case the number of antenna ports is two, the CSI-RS is transmitted through a half of a particular pattern of FIG. 1, in case the number of antenna ports is four, the CSI-RS is transmitted through the overall particular pattern, and in case the number of antenna ports is eight, the CSI-RS is transmitted via two patterns”, see further explanation in [0088]. That implies the PUCCH and PUSCH can be used for the periodic and aperiodic (Type II ) for reporting the feedback CSI reports, respectively, which include parameters for spatial muting [0088], such as codebook sub set restrictions [0101] and Table 7, PMI, RI, and CQI, etc., as stated in [0032], claims 3 and 8, see also [0138] and [0206]). Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
B) The Office's alleged combination of Kwak and Khoshnevisan, Cirik, and/or Kim seemingly fails to disclose independent claims 1 and 11. (Page 11, Remarks).
In response to B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Please see the Claim Rejections section below that details the rejections of the instant claims.
Therefore, the office action still teach the limitations as currently claimed.
C) Applicant argues that the independent claims 1, 11, 20 are allowable for similar reasons (Page 10, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
D) Applicant argues that the remaining claims, dependent claims are allowable for similar reasons (Page 11, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, for at least the same reasons given in the response above, and as detailed in the Claim Rejections section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US-20190053089-A1), here in referred to as Kwak1, in view of Kwak et al. (US-20190215086-A1), here in referred to as Kwak2.
As to claim 1 see similar rejections to claim 11, the apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 11 and 20 (Currently Amended), Kwak1 teaches a User Equipment (UE) comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause performance of (Fig. 22, [0025], [0066], the UE includes one or more processors that execute the instructions stored in its memory. The processor responsible to perform different operations): receiving a Channel State Information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmitted through a first plurality of antenna ports (Fig. 1, [0085], [0088], the UE can receive CSI-RS transmitted by the BS through a plurality of antenna ports, “In case the number of antenna ports is two, the CSI-RS is transmitted through a half of a particular pattern of FIG. 1, in case the number of antenna ports is four, the CSI-RS is transmitted through the overall particular pattern, and in case the number of antenna ports is eight, the CSI-RS is transmitted via two patterns“ as stated in [0088], which explicitly mentions the CSI-RS can be transmitted through multiple antenna ports, such as 2, 4, 8, or 16 ports (e.g., Table 12-1 and Table 12-2)); calculating a first channel property indicator for a first subset of the first plurality of antenna ports, based on the CSI-RS ([0287], [0281], [0110]-[0113], the UE generates feedback information (channel property indicator) including indicators such as precoding matrix indicator PMI, rank indicator RI, and channel quality indicator CQI, using the received CSI-SR and feedback configuration information, as stated in [0286] “feedback configuration information that is based on at least one or more CSI-RSs. The feedback configuration information may be set to at least one of the PMI/CQI period and offset, the RI period and offset”, and [0297], lines 32-35. The calculation is guided by the feedback configuration which specified specific parameters such as number of antenna ports and codebook type. [0287] states “The UE estimates the channel per antenna port and estimates an additional channel for a virtual resource based on the same.”); and calculating a second channel property indicator for a second subset of the first plurality of antenna ports, based on the CSI-RS ([0285],Table 12-1 and Table 12-2, describe type I and type II CSI reporting which involve calculating channel property indicators for subsets of antenna ports based on the received CSI-RS, as stated in [0285], “it may include at least one of the number of the ports for the reference signal, N1 and N2, each of which indicates the number of antennas per dimension, O1 and O2, each of which indicates the oversampling factor per dimension”), wherein the second subset is different from the first subset ([0275], the CSI-RS resource configuration allows for multiple subsets of antenna ports to be defined. [0277], lines 5-12, “the type of the codebook, N1 and N2, each of which indicates the number of antennas per dimension, O1 and O2, each of which indicates the oversampling factor per dimension, one subframe config for transmitting multiple CSI-RSs”, it indicates the configurations for sunsets of antenna ports, such as (N1, N2) and (Q1, Q2), which indicate the number of antennas and oversampling factors per dimension (Table 12-1 and Table 12-2)); the one or more spatial muting parameters being transmitted via Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) or Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) ([0158] sates “The PUCCH used in periodic and semi-persistent CSI report is limited in the amount of report that may be transmitted. Accordingly, in LTE, the UE selects some subbands of the bandwidth part and transmits on the uplink.” and [0168] states “in the case of aperiodic CSI report, type II CSI report is supported via the PUSCH that may support more overhead, type II reporting which needs higher reporting overhead may be supported only in aperiodic CSI report.” [0088] also states “Further, the muting may also apply to some of the positions denoted with A, B, C, D, E, E, F, G, H, I, and J. In particular, the CSI-RS may be transmitted via two, four, or eight REs depending on the number of transmit (TX) antenna ports. In case the number of antenna ports is two, the CSI-RS is transmitted through a half of a particular pattern of FIG. 1, in case the number of antenna ports is four, the CSI-RS is transmitted through the overall particular pattern, and in case the number of antenna ports is eight, the CSI-RS is transmitted via two patterns”, see further explanation in [0088]. That implies the PUCCH and PUSCH can be used for the periodic and aperiodic (Type II ) for reporting the feedback CSI reports, respectively, which include parameters for spatial muting [0088], such as codebook sub set restrictions [0101] and Table 7, PMI, RI, and CQI, etc., as stated in [0032], claims 3 and 8, see also [0138] and [0206]).
Kwak1 does not explicitly teach and transmitting, by the UE, CSI feedback comprising one or more spatial muting parameters indicating muting patterns based on the first subset of the first plurality of antenna ports and the second subset of the first plurality of antenna ports.
However, Kwak2 teaches and transmitting, by the UE, CSI feedback comprising one or more spatial muting parameters indicating muting patterns based on the first subset of the first plurality of antenna ports and the second subset of the first plurality of antenna ports ([0313] and [0317] describe the UE estimates a channel for each antenna port and estimates an additional channel for a virtual resource based on the estimated channel. The UE determines feedback, generates CRI, PMI, RI, and CQI corresponding to the feedback, and transmits the feedback information to the eNB in accordance with the feedback setting of the eNB or the aperiodic CSI reporting trigger. That indicates that the UE can transmit the CSI feedback to the BS. Fig. 1 and [0074] states “FIG. 1. When the number of antenna ports is 4, the CSI-RS is transmitted from the entire specific pattern. When the number of antenna ports is 8, the CSI-RS is transmitted using 2 patterns. However, when muting, one pattern unit is used. That is, although muting can be applied to a plurality of patterns, the muting cannot be applied to only a portion of a pattern, when the position of the muting does not overlap with the CSI-RS. However, the muting can be applied to a portion of one pattern when the position of the CSI-RS does overlap with the position of the muting” which explain the muting can be applied to apportion of pattern, and the CSI-RS can be transmitted over 2, 4, 8 REs according to the number of antenna ports transmitting the CSI-RS, that also confirms the muting patterns can be applied based on the subset of the plurality of antenna ports. Where [0073] states “In the LTE-A system, the muting is also referred to as a zero-power CSI-RS because the muting is applied to a position of the CSI-RS due to the characteristics of the muting and the transmission power is not transmitted.” That means the muting/zero power CSI RS can be applied on position/portion of resource elements Res associated with CSI RS, states “see also [0088] lines 13-19. These paragraphs implies the UE can transmit the CSI feedback for muting patterns. Table 1, Tables 6-7 and [0090] describe the codebook subset restriction (CBSR), as a type of spatial/beam management in 5G NR CSI feedback, which can be used to restrict/mute which codebook (thus which spatial patterns or antenna port subsets) for feedback or reporting, such as pattern based on group of ports. Moreover, [0304]-[0305] describe the mechanism for applying zero power (for power saving) on the muting CSI-RS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 to incorporate the teachings of Kwak2 (in analogous art) by adding CSI feedback comprising one or more spatial muting parameters indicating muting patterns based on the first subset of the first plurality of antenna ports and the second subset of the first plurality of antenna ports. Through the CSI and beam management-related information reporting, the CSI can be efficiently identified despite a limited amount of information being used for the CSI reporting. to enhance signal quality and coverage (Kwak2 , [0013], lines 5-8).
8. Claims 2-3, 5-9 , 12-13, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. (US-20190053089-A1) here in referred to as Kwak1, in view of Kwak et al. (US-20190215086-A1), here in referred to as Kwak2, further in view of khoshnevisan et al. (US-20210258964-A1).
As to claims 2-3, 5-9 see similar rejections to claims 12-13, 15-19 respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach method of claim 1.
Kwak1 and Kwak2 fail to teach receiving, by the UE, in a Media Access Control control element (MAC CE), a trigger state identifier, determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset; determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset; and receiving, by the UE, a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmitted over the first subset.
However, khoshnevisan teaches receiving, by the UE, in a Media Access Control control element (MAC CE), a trigger state identifier (Figs. 7A and 7B, Fig. 12 Step 1205, [0112], lines 9-13, [0123], lines 12-16, UE can receive MAC-CE that includes a trigger state identifier, where transmission configuration indicator (TCI) can be considered a trigger state identifier, [0080], lines 3-5); determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset ( [0080], , the TCI state is linked to antenna ports, beam pairs or quasi-colocation assumptions. Fig. 7B illustrate each TCI state is linked to specific CSI_RS resources which associated with antenna ports. This mapping will help the UE to determine the set of antenna ports based on the TCI state); and receiving, by the UE, a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmitted over the first subset ([0080], lines 3-8, [0106], lines 6-7, claim 19, lines 4-6. UE can receive a PDSCH transmitted over a subset of antenna ports by activation a subset of TCI, where the TCI states being associated with antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, in a Media Access Control control element (MAC CE), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach the UE of claim 11.
Kwak1 and Kwak2 fail to teach wherein the first subset is associated with an index.
However, khoshnevisan teaches wherein the first subset is associated with an index (Fig. 7B and [0080] states “a TCI state is associated with a beam pair, an antenna panel, antenna ports, antenna port groups, a quasi-colocation (QCL) relation, and/or a transmission reception point (TRP). Multi-TCI state transmission may be associated with multiple beam pairs, multiple antenna panels” . [0124] states “each control resource set (CORESET) may be configured with an index value. In some example, the index values are a 0 or 1”. These parts indicates that the subsets of antenna ports or configurations may associated with indices through TCI states).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, in a Media Access Control control element (MAC CE), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach the UE of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of:
Kwak1 and Kwak2 do not explicitly teach receiving, by the UE, in a Downlink Control Information (DCI), a trigger state identifier, and determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset and the second subset.
However, khoshnevisan teaches receiving, by the UE, in a Downlink Control Information (DCI), a trigger state identifier ([0113] states “ the UE 702 receives a DCI (with a last symbol of the DCI at t1) from the BS 704 triggering an A-CSI-RS (with a first symbol of the A-CSI-RS at t2). The DCI may indicate one of the active trigger states. “ That’s implies the UE receives a trigger state identifier through DCI); and determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset and the second subset (Fig. 8, [0126] states “the DCI, received at 810, may indicate a TCI state for the scheduled A-CSI-RS. The DCI may be received in a CORESET associated with one of the index values (e.g., index value 0 in the example in FIG. 8). Thus, the UE 802 identifies the CORESET and index value associated with the DCI. “ Where the multi-TCI states can be used by UE to identify the different subsets of antenna ports as stated in [0080], “ Multi-TCI state transmission may be associated with multiple beam pairs, multiple antenna panels” and “that a user equipment (UE) may use for channel estimation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach the UE of claim 13.
Kwak1 and Kwak2 do not explicitly teach wherein the UE is preconfigured with an association mapping the trigger state identifier to the first subset and the second subset.
However, khoshnevisan teaches wherein the UE is preconfigured with an association mapping the trigger state identifier to the first subset and the second subset (Fig. 7A and [0112] states “As shown in FIG. 7A, at 706, a radio resource control (RRC) configured CSI reporting configuration may configure a user equipment (UE) 702 with up to 128 trigger states (e.g., a higher layer parameter AperiodicTriggerStateList). This indicates the initial configuration of trigger states is done by RRC. Fig. 11 and [0156] states “A TCI state for each of the CSI-RS resources may be indicated as part of trigger state configuration. At 1108, a MAC-CE may activate a subset (e.g., up to 64) of the configured trigger states.” Both these parts how preconfigured the UE through mapping the trigger state identifier to the first subset and the second subset, where each TCI state is linked to the CSI-RS resource set/ antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach the UE of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of:
Kwak1 and Kwak2 do not explicitly teach determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset and the second subset, receiving, by the UE, in a Media Access Control control element (MAC CE), a trigger state identifier.
However, khoshnevisan teaches determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset and the second subset (Fig. 8, [0126] states “the DCI, received at 810, may indicate a TCI state for the scheduled A-CSI-RS. The DCI may be received in a CORESET associated with one of the index values (e.g., index value 0 in the example in FIG. 8). Thus, the UE 802 identifies the CORESET and index value associated with the DCI. “ Where the multi-TCI states can be used by UE to identify the different subsets of antenna ports as stated in [0080], “ Multi-TCI state transmission may be associated with multiple beam pairs, multiple antenna panels” and “that a user equipment (UE) may use for channel estimation.”), receiving, by the UE, in a Media Access Control control element (MAC CE), a trigger state identifier (Figs. 7A and 7B, Fig. 8, step 808, Fig. 12 Step 1205, [0112], lines 9-13, “a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) may activate up to 64 of the configured trigger states.” [0123], lines 12-16, UE can receive MAC-CE that includes a trigger state identifier, where transmission configuration indicator (TCI) can be considered a trigger state identifier, [0080], lines 3-5. Claim 19 explicitly states “the MAC-CE activates a subset of the plurality of TCI states for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission; the MAC-CE maps a plurality of TCI codepoints to one or more TCI states of the subset of the plurality of TCI state” which implies the determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the different subset for receiving PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Kwak1, Kwak2 and khoshnevisan teach the UE of claim 16.
Kwak1 and Kwak2 do not explicitly teach wherein the UE is preconfigured with an association mapping the trigger state identifier to the first subset and the second subset.
However, khoshnevisan teaches wherein the UE is preconfigured with an association mapping the trigger state identifier to the first subset and the second subset (Fig. 7A and [0112] states “As shown in FIG. 7A, at 706, a radio resource control (RRC) configured CSI reporting configuration may configure a user equipment (UE) 702 with up to 128 trigger states (e.g., a higher layer parameter AperiodicTriggerStateList). This indicates the initial configuration of trigger states is done by RRC. Fig. 11 and [0156] states “A TCI state for each of the CSI-RS resources may be indicated as part of trigger state configuration. At 1108, a MAC-CE may activate a subset (e.g., up to 64) of the configured trigger states.” Both these parts describe how preconfigured the UE through mapping the trigger state identifier to the first subset and the second subset, where each TCI state is linked to the CSI-RS resource set/ antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach the UE of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of:
Kwak1 and Kwak2 do not explicitly teach receiving, by the UE, in a Downlink Control Information (DCI), a trigger state identifier; determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset; and receiving, by the UE, a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmitted over the first subset.
However, khoshnevisan teaches receiving, by the UE, in a Downlink Control Information (DCI), a trigger state identifier ([0113] states “ the UE 702 receives a DCI (with a last symbol of the DCI at t1) from the BS 704 triggering an A-CSI-RS (with a first symbol of the A-CSI-RS at t2). The DCI may indicate one of the active trigger states. “ That’s implies the UE receives a trigger state identifier through DCI); determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset ( Fig. 8, [0126] states “the DCI, received at 810, may indicate a TCI state for the scheduled A-CSI-RS. The DCI may be received in a CORESET associated with one of the index values (e.g., index value 0 in the example in FIG. 8). Thus, the UE 802 identifies the CORESET and index value associated with the DCI. “ Where the multi-TCI states can be used by UE to identify the different subsets of antenna ports as stated in [0080], “ Multi-TCI state transmission may be associated with multiple beam pairs, multiple antenna panels” and “that a user equipment (UE) may use for channel estimation.”) ; and receiving, by the UE, a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmitted over the first subset ([0080], lines 3-8, [0106], lines 6-7, states “the UE 602 may apply the TCI state indicated in the DCI for the PDSCH, at 610a. For example, the UE 602 can determine the receive beam for receiving the PDSCH based on the indicated TCI state, at 612.” Claim 19, lines 4-6. UE can receive a PDSCH transmitted over a subset of antenna ports by activation a subset of TCI, where the TCI states being associated with antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 19 (Original), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach the UE of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause performance of:
Kwak1 further teaches and reporting, by the UE, the first channel property indicator and the second channel property indicator ([0281] states the UE may generate the feedback information rank, PMI, and CQI using the received feedback configuration and based on the estimated channel and may select the optimal CRI based thereupon.” And Claim 1, lines 16-17, generating feedback information based on the estimated aperiodic channel status; and transmitting the feedback information to the BS based on the feedback transmission timing. That implies several types of channel property indicators , such as RI, PMI, CQI, and CRI can be reported by UE).
Kwak1 does not explicitly teach receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier; determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset and the second subset.
However, khoshnevisan teaches receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier ([0231], gNB is designed to support 5GNR technology, enabling higher data rate, and lower latency. Both gNB and BS can be used interchangeably to describe the entity responsible for communication with the UE. [0112], Figs. 7A and 7B each trigger state in a list is linked to a CSI-RS resource set, each CSI-RS resource set has multiple CSI-RS resources, and a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for each of the CSI-RS resources is indicated as part of trigger state configuration); determining, based on the trigger state identifier, the first subset and the second subset (Fig. 8, [0126] states “the DCI, received at 810, may indicate a TCI state for the scheduled A-CSI-RS. The DCI may be received in a CORESET associated with one of the index values (e.g., index value 0 in the example in FIG. 8). Thus, the UE 802 identifies the CORESET and index value associated with the DCI. “ Where the multi-TCI states can be used by UE to identify the different subsets of antenna ports as stated in [0080], “ Multi-TCI state transmission may be associated with multiple beam pairs, multiple antenna panels” and “that a user equipment (UE) may use for channel estimation.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of khoshnevisan (in analogous art) by adding receiving, by the UE, from a network node (gNB), a trigger state identifier to enhance signal quality and coverage (khoshnevisan, [0004], lines 13-15).
9. Claims 4, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak1 et al. (US-20190053089-A1) here in referred to as Kwak1, in view of Kwak et al. (US-20190215086-A1), here in referred to as Kwak2, in view of khoshnevisan et al. (US-20210258964-A1), further in view of Cirik et al. (US-20210378004-A1).
As to claim 4 see similar rejection to claim 14 respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Kwak1, Kwak2 and khoshnevisan teach the UE of claim 13.
Kwak1, Kwak2 and khoshnevisan do not explicitly teach wherein the DCI is a group common DCI.
However, Cirik teaches wherein the DCI is a group common DCI ([0190], lines 8-12, states “The payload transmitted on the PDCCH may be referred to as downlink control information (DCI). In some scenarios, the PDCCH may be a group common PDCCH (GC-PDCCH) that is common to a group of UEs.” Which explicitly that the DCI can be transmitted on a group common PDCCH, which is a share data among a group of UEs to make the as a group of DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 in view of khoshnevisan to incorporate the teachings of Cirik (in analogous art) by adding the DCI is a group common DCI for efficient resources management (Cirik, [0271], lines 3-6).
10. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak1 et al. (US-20190053089-A1), here in referred to as Kwak1, in view of Kwak et al. (US-20190215086-A1), here in referred to as Kwak2, further in view of Kim et al. (US-20140241201-A1).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Kwak1 and Kwak2 teach the method of claim 1.
Kwak1 further teaches wherein the one or more spatial muting parameters (Fig. 1 and [0087] describe how to apply muting through applicable to a plurality of patterns in LTE, “ the LTE-A system may set a muting so that CSI-RS transmitted from another BS may be received without interfering with the UEs in the cell. The muting may apply at the position where a CSI-RS may be transmitted. Generally, the UE skips the corresponding radio resource and receives a traffic signal. The muting in the LTE-A system is also called zero-power CSI-RS.“) are based on relative throughput ([0017] illustrates the feedback configuration information (CSI) may include a precoding matrix indicator (PMI)/channel quality indicator (CQI) is reported, [0113] states “The CQI may be replaced with the SINR, maximum error correction code rate and modulation scheme, or data efficiency per frequency which may be utilized similar to the maximum data rate.” That implies it is directly related to the SINR and throughput,
Kwak1 and Kwak2 does not explicitly teach signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) loss, and SINR gain.
However, Kim teaches signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) loss, and SINR gain ([0168] lines 1-5 states “When the UE feeds back the muting point information, the UE may apply one of the following methods as an SINR calculation method for CQI calculation. The UE may calculate SINR by excluding interference generated from a muting point from entire interference signal power” which implies CQI calculation, that included in the CSI feedback, is applied through the SINR by excluding the interference from a muting point, and “the UE may calculate SINR on the basis of the entire interference signal power. Furthermore, the UE may use a difference between SINR calculated on the basis of the entire interference signal power and SINR calculated by excluding interference generated from the muting point from the entire interference signal power.” [0165] states “the muting reference value is a basis for determination of whether SINR gain obtained when the muting point is applied is sufficiently large.” These parts indicates that the different in SINR values , which can be SINR loss or SINR gain, are considered to determine whether muting is useful).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kwak1 in view of Kwak2 to incorporate the teachings of Kim (in analogous art) by adding the CSI feedback comprises spatial muting parameters based on relative throughput, signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR) loss, and SINR gain for transmitting muting point information determined on the basis of the channel state values and indicating a preferred base station not-participating in CoMP transmission from among the plurality of base stations (Kim, Claim 1, lines 10-13).
Relevant Prior Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
KWAK et al. (US-20190068343-A1), KWAK et al. (US-20190174440-A1), NOH et al. (US-20200136690-A1), YUAN et al. (US-20230216640-A1) and Forenza et al. (US-20140016499-A1) teach methods and apparatus for system energy managements in wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463