DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-24 and 31-36 are pending. Claims 25-30 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The Examiner suggests replacing the acronym “SRS” with “sounding reference signal” and replacing “TD-OCC” with “time domain orthogonal cover code”.
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-17, 19-24 and 31-35 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al, US 2021/0135823 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, US 2021/0135823 in view of Nilsson et al, US 2026/0058853.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-5, 7-17, 19-24 and 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, US 2021/0135823 hereafter Zhang in view of Nilsson et al, US 2026/0058853 hereafter Nilsson.
As for claim 1, Zhang discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Zhang, [0066], [0069]-[0070], The UE 120 including the processor and memory), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is, individually or in combination, configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a configuration indicating for the UE to apply one or more time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC) sequences across multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) ports (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, Fig. 15, [0038], [0094], [0108]-[0109], Obtaining, by the UE, an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via plurality of antenna ports using a plurality of TD-OCC); and
transmit SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports with the one or more TD-OCC sequence according to the configuration (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, [0038], [0095], [0108]-[0109], Transmit, by the UE, the SRS via the plurality of antenna ports using a plurality of TD-OCC).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports.
However, Nilsson discloses wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences (Nilsson, [0072], [0076], applying different TD-OCC codes in addition to different cyclic shifts in frequency dimension) across the multiple SRS ports. (Nilsson, [0073], all SRS ports are configured to use the same cyclic shift if TD-OCC is configured for a multi-port SRS resource. The Examiner interprets “if” to correspond to “is based on” and “TD-OCC is configured for a multi-port SRS resource” corresponds to “a same TD-OCC sequence”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports as taught by Nilsson to provide orthogonality between the different SRS ports that are less sensitive to delay spread in the channel. (Nilsson, [0072])
As for claims 2, 14 and 32, Zhang discloses the configuration indicates for the UE to apply a single TD-OCC sequence across the multiple SRS ports (Zhang, [0108]-[0109], The UE is configured with the transmission configuration for the number of TD-OCC, combs and cyclic shifts), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports using the single TD-OCC sequence (Zhang, Fig. 15, [0109], Transmit SRS on the plurality of SRS ports using one TD-OCC 1542).
As for claims 3, 15 and 33, Zhang discloses the configuration indicates for the UE to apply multiple TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports (Zhang, [0108]-[0109], The UE is configured with the transmission configuration for the number of TD-OCC, combs and cyclic shifts), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit the SRS on different SRS ports using different TD-OCC sequences (Zhang, [0038], [0109], Transmit the SRS via various antenna ports by transmitting the SRS using differing TD-OCC).
As for claims 4, 16 and 34, Zhang discloses the multiple TD-OCC sequences include a first number of unique TD-OCC sequences to be applied over a second number of symbols to a third number of SRS ports (Zhang, [0038], [0109], [0113], Using different TD-OCC to transmit SRS using various ports using multiple DFT-S-OFDM symbols 1532, 1534 of one slot, time-domain orthogonal cover codes (TD-OCC) 1542.), based on at least one of: the first number of the unique TD-OCC sequences being less than or equal to the third number of the SRS ports (Zhang, [0109], e.g. using one TD-OCC 1542 which is less than the number of ports being 2, 4 or 8).
As for claims 5, 17 and 35, Zhang discloses the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: indicate support for application of at least one of: multiple TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, [0038], [0095], [0108]-[0109], the UE transmits the SRS via the plurality of antenna ports using multiple/different TD-OCC).
As for claims 7 and 19, Zhang discloses the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: use at least one of a different cyclic shift or a different comb offset for SRS transmissions (Zhang, Fig 15, [0108]-[0109], each port is transmitted using a different combination of cyclic shift, transmission comb, and TD-OCC (e.g. using two different cyclic shifts 1522 and 1524 and using two different transmission combs 1512a and 1512b)) using a same TD-OCC sequence across different SRS ports (Zhang, Fig 15, [0108]-[0109], Using the same TD-OCC 1542).
As for claims 8 and 20, Zhang discloses the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: use a same cyclic shift (Zhang, [0099], Using the same cyclic shift) and a same comb offset (Zhang, Fig. 8, 812, [0082], [0099], Using the same comb) for SRS transmissions using different TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, [0038], [0095], [0108]-[0109], the UE transmits the SRS via the plurality of antenna ports using multiple/different TD-OCC).
As for claims 9 and 21, Zhang discloses the configuration indicates for the UE to apply a first number of TD-OCC sequences across a second number of SRS ports (Zhang, [0108]-[0109], The UE is configured with the transmission configuration for the number of TD-OCC, combs and cyclic shifts), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: apply a same TD-OCC sequence among the first number of TD-OCC sequences for each SRS port within a group (Zhang, Fig. 15, [0108]-[0109], Apply the same TD-OCC 1542 to each port in the group of ports 0-3), the group being based on: a set of consecutive port numbers (Zhang, [0106], Using consecutive port numbers 0-3 or 4-7).
As for claims 10 and 22, Zhang discloses use a same cyclic shift and the same comb offset for corresponding SRS ports in each group (Zhang, [0101], [0108]-[0109], A first set of cyclic shifts or one cyclic shift and one comb (e.g. 1302a or comb#0) is used for transmitting SRS over a group of 2 or 4 ports. [0092], using 8 cyclic shifts (CSs) on one comb to support transmitting SRS via 8 ports), use at least one of the different cyclic shift or a different comb offset for the SRS transmissions using the same TD-OCC sequence for the group that includes 4 SRS ports (Zhang, Fig 15, [0108]-[0109], using one transmission comb and one cyclic shift to transmit SRS over 4 ports. Or (e.g. using two different cyclic shifts 1522 and 1524 and using two different transmission combs 1512a and 1512b with the SAM TD-OCC 1542)), or use a same cyclic shift and the same comb offset for corresponding SRS ports in each group (Zhang, [0109], using one transmission comb and one cyclic shift to transmit SRS over 4 ports).
As for claims 11 and 23, Zhang discloses the configuration (Zhang, [0108]-[0109], The UE is configured with the transmission configuration for the number of TD-OCC, combs and cyclic shifts) indicates for the UE to apply a first number of TD-OCC sequences across a second number of SRS ports (Zhang, Fig. 15, [0108]-[0109], Apply the same TD-OCC 1542 to each port in the group of ports 0-3 and the group of ports 4-7), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: apply a different TD-OCC sequence among the first number of TD-OCC sequences for each SRS port within a group (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, [0038], [0095], [0108]-[0109], the UE transmits the SRS via the plurality (group) of antenna ports using multiple/different TD-OCC), the group being based on: a set of consecutive port numbers (Zhang, [0106], Using consecutive port numbers 0-3 or 4-5 or 6-7).
As for claims 12 and 24, Zhang discloses the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to use a same cyclic shift and a same comb offset for SRS transmissions from each SRS port in the group (Zhang, Fig. 10, [0099] SRSs for all configured transmit antenna ports can be multiplexed and transmitted using one or more transmission combs with a same repetition factor (RPF), and multiple cyclic shifts, with a same or different set of cyclic shifts on each comb).
use a different cyclic shift and the same comb offset for the SRS transmissions using the same TD-OCC sequence among 2 groups (Zhang, Fig. 10, [0092], the UE is using 8 cyclic shifts (CSs) on one comb to support transmitting SRS via 8 ports. [0099] SRSs for all configured transmit antenna ports can be multiplexed and transmitted using one or more transmission combs with a same repetition factor (RPF), and multiple cyclic shifts, with a same or different set of cyclic shifts on each comb).
As for claim 13, Zhang discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Zhang, [0065]-[0067], The base station 110 including a processor and memory), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to:
output a configuration (Zhang, [0108]-[0109], The transmission configuration for the number of TD-OCC, combs and cyclic shifts) indicating for a user equipment (UE) to apply one or more time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC) sequences across multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) ports (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, Fig. 15, [0038], [0094], [0108]-[0109], Send, to the UE, an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via plurality of antenna ports using a plurality of TD-OCC); and
receive SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports with the one or more TD-OCC sequence according to the configuration (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, [0038], [0095], [0108]-[0109], Receive, from the UE, the SRS via the plurality of antenna ports using a plurality of TD-OCC).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports.
However, Nilsson discloses wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences (Nilsson, [0072], [0076], applying different TD-OCC codes in addition to different cyclic shifts in frequency dimension) across the multiple SRS ports. (Nilsson, [0073], all SRS ports are configured to use the same cyclic shift if TD-OCC is configured for a multi-port SRS resource. The Examiner interprets “if” to correspond to “is based on” and “TD-OCC is configured for a multi-port SRS resource” corresponds to “a same TD-OCC sequence”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports as taught by Nilsson to provide orthogonality between the different SRS ports that are less sensitive to delay spread in the channel. (Nilsson, [0072])
As for claim 31, Zhang discloses:
A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration (Zhang, [0108]-[0109], The UE is configured with the transmission configuration for the number of TD-OCC, combs and cyclic shifts) indicating for the UE to apply one or more time domain orthogonal cover code (TD-OCC) sequences across multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) ports (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, Fig. 15, [0038], [0094], [0108]-[0109], Obtaining, by the UE, an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via plurality of antenna ports using a plurality of TD-OCC); and
transmitting SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports with the one or more TD-OCC sequence according to the configuration (Zhang, Fig. 11, 1102, [0038], [0095], [0108]-[0109], Transmit, by the UE, the SRS via the plurality of antenna ports using a plurality of TD-OCC).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports.
However, Nilsson discloses wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences (Nilsson, [0072], [0076], applying different TD-OCC codes in addition to different cyclic shifts in frequency dimension) across the multiple SRS ports. (Nilsson, [0073], all SRS ports are configured to use the same cyclic shift if TD-OCC is configured for a multi-port SRS resource. The Examiner interprets “if” to correspond to “is based on” and “TD-OCC is configured for a multi-port SRS resource” corresponds to “a same TD-OCC sequence”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with wherein at least one of a cyclic shift or a comb offset for the SRS on each of the multiple SRS ports is based on whether the configuration indicates to apply a same TD-OCC sequence or different TD-OCC sequences across the multiple SRS ports as taught by Nilsson to provide orthogonality between the different SRS ports that are less sensitive to delay spread in the channel. (Nilsson, [0072])
5. Claim(s) 6, 18 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, US 2021/0135823 hereafter Zhang in view of Nilsson et al, US 2026/0058853 as applied to claims 1, 13 and 31 above, and further in view of Chou et al, US 2025/0211474 hereafter Chou.
As for claims 6, 18 and 36, the combination of Zhang and Nilsson does not explicitly disclose the configuration includes at least one of:
a sequence configuration for each of multiple TD-OCC sequences,
an index, from a defined set of sequences, for each of the multiple TD-OCC sequences, or
a single index from the defined set of sequences, and a number of sequences.
However, Chou discloses the configuration includes at least one of:
a sequence configuration for each of multiple TD-OCC sequences (Chou, FIG. 4, [0054]-[0055], TD-OCC lookup table with a symbol repetition factor R=4. Four sequences (1, 1, 1, 1), (1, −1, 1, −1), (1, 1, −1, −1), and (1, −1, −1, 1)),,
an index, from a defined set of sequences, for each of the multiple TD-OCC sequences (Chou, FIG. 4, [0014], [0054]-[0056], Using a random code index. The TD-OCC lookup table with a symbol repetition factor R=4. Four sequences (1, 1, 1, 1), (1, −1, 1, −1), (1, 1, −1, −1), and (1, −1, −1, 1)), or
a single index from the defined set of sequences, and a number of sequences (Chou, FIG. 4, [0014], [0054]-[0056], Using a random code index. The TD-OCC lookup table with a symbol repetition factor R=4. Four sequences (1, 1, 1, 1), (1, −1, 1, −1), (1, 1, −1, −1), and (1, −1, −1, 1)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Zhang and Nilsson with the configuration includes at least one of: a sequence configuration for each of multiple TD-OCC sequences, an index, from a defined set of sequences, for each of the multiple TD-OCC sequences, or a single index from the defined set of sequences, and a number of sequences as taught by Chou to provide increased sounding reference signal (SRS) capacity (Chou, [0029]).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0372732 discloses [0093] the wireless device may transmit an SRS configuration message indicating that it desires the forthcoming SRSs to be transmitted in a certain fashion (e.g., distributing the SRS antenna ports in a certain way on the time-frequency resource grid, or using certain comb offsets, cyclic shifts, or OCC-codes).
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469