Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Dong (KR 20210064582 A). With respect to claims 1, 3, Dong discloses the claimed floating carrier with an embedded holder assembly provided in the floating carrier with the embedded holder assembly having a holder (310, 600) and a framework structure (note Figures 1-5). The framework structure is a symmetrical structure formed by crossing of a transverse beam 10 and a longitudinal beam 300, the holder is provided at ends of the beams with the holder 120 being of an openable and closable structure (carabiner). The framework structure being in a tic tac toe structure (Figure 5). With respect to claims 4-5, note Dong, all the Figures. With respect to claim 12, note Dong, Figure 1, GP.
Claim(s) 9-11, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (KR 20210064582 A) in view of Billings (US 2006/0075702). With respect to claims 9-11, Dong does not disclose metal cables. Billings teaches metal cables in a framework (paragraph 0003). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to form the device of Dong with the framework cables being metal as taught by Billings with a high likelihood of success for improved strength, durability and economy. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also that a person of ordinary skill in designing off shore floating structures would have years of experience and advanced degrees and would be familiar with various materials to provide a stable and durable structure to withstand the rigors of floating in ocean waters. With respect to claim 14, note Dong, Figure 1, GP. With respect to claim 16, the method directly inherently follows from the structure of the combination; note also Dong all the Figures and Specification.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (KR 20210064582 A) in view of Van Otten et al (US 2017/0229997). With respect to claim 13, Dong does not disclose a tube and flat connector. Van Otten et al teach a tube 600 and a flat connector 100 with angle adjustment (Figure 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to form the device of Dong with a tube and flat connector as taught by Van Otten et al with a high likelihood of success for improved efficiency by orienting the solar panels toward the sun. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also that a person of ordinary skill in designing off shore floating structures would have years of experience and advanced degrees and would be familiar with various angles of orientation of solar panels to collect the most energy in an efficient manner.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (KR 20210064582 A) in view of Billings (US 2006/0075702), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Van Otten et al (US 2017/0229997). With respect to claim 15, Dong does not disclose a tube and flat connector. Van Otten et al teach a tube 600 and a flat connector 100 with angle adjustment (Figure 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to form the device of Dong with a tube and flat connector as taught by Van Otten et al with a high likelihood of success for improved efficiency by orienting the solar panels toward the sun. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also that a person of ordinary skill in designing off shore floating structures would have years of experience and advanced degrees and would be familiar with various angles of orientation of solar panels to collect the most energy in an efficient manner.
Claims 6-8 and 17-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that Dong does not disclose two ends of the each of the transverse beam and the longitudinal beam are each provided with the holder. To the contrary, Dong discloses the claimed floating carrier with an embedded holder assembly provided in the floating carrier with the embedded holder assembly having a holder (120, 310, 600) and a framework structure (note Figures 1-5). The framework structure is a symmetrical structure formed by crossing of a transverse beam and a longitudinal beam (beams 10, 300, 400, 500), the holder is provided at ends of the beams with the holder 120 being of an openable and closable structure (carabiner). The framework structure being in a tic tac toe structure (Figure 5).
Further, Applicant alleges that the beams 10, 300 of Dong are not integrally connected. However, note Figures 4, 5 of Dong with connectors 120, 310, 600 to integrally connect the beams 400, 500, 300, 10.
Applicant further alleges that Dong does not integrally attach the float to the holder. However, claim 1 is silent as to integrally attaching to a float. Note the claim simply limits the holder to integrally connect the beams. Only claimed limitation may be relied upon for patentability.
With respect to the combination rejections it is noted that Applicant has not argued against the combinations so those rejections are deemed to be proper.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615