DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11744600 . Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10702292. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations in the current claims can be found in the patented claims, as shown in the chart below.
Current claim #
1
2
4
5
6
11
12
13
Corresponding claim # in 11744600
3, 6
3, 6
3
6
3, 6
3
6
3, 6
Current claim #
1
2
4
5
6
11
12
13
Corresponding claim # in 10702292
3-6
3-6
3, 4
5, 6
6
3, 4
5, 6
6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-11, 13-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiedtke et al. (US 20040153109 A1), hereinafter after referred to as “Tiedtke” in view of Pratt et al. (US 20150094673 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Pratt”.
Regarding Claim 1, Tiedtke teaches a system for real time monitoring of catheter aspiration (see Abstract; Figure 3), comprising:
a pressure sensor (414) configured for placement in fluid communication with a lumen (return lumen 438) which at least partially includes an aspiration lumen of a catheter (lumen of catheter 402), the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source (440);
a processor coupled to the pressure sensor (electronic signal evaluation circuit 442, see Figure 3) and configured for measuring deviations in fluid pressure (the pressure sensor 414 measures the pressure drop over the hydraulic resistance. The measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]-[0022]; it is understood the evaluation device collects data from sensor 414); and
a communicator coupled to the processor (an acoustic signal generator 446, see Figure 3) and configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]), the continuous signal provided by a non-visual source (acoustic signal generator 446).
However, Tiedtke does not explicitly disclose an aspiration lumen; the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source; and the communicator configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure.
Pratt teaches a reduced-pressure therapy system (see Abstract) an aspiration lumen (tubing 412 and 410); the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source (coupled to reduce pressure pump 402, see Figure 4); and the communicator (LED 508) configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure (the LED 508 may be communicatively coupled to the pressure sensor 504 to receive a signal from the pressure sensor 504 in response to an applied pressure, see Paragraph [0082]).
Tiedtke and Pratt are analogous art because both teach a system for real time monitoring of a catheter.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the lumen and the communicator of Tiedtke and further include an aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source and wherein the communicator generates a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure, as taught by Pratt. Pratt teaches an aspiration lumen coupled to a vacuum can provide negative pressure which is beneficial for reducing pressure in proximity to a tissue site can augment and accelerate growth of new tissue at the tissue site (see Paragraph [0003]). Pratt also teaches the communicator may provide a generic visual feedback as to whether reduced-pressure therapy is being effectively administered using a wall-suction source (see Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tiedtke teaches a system for real time monitoring of catheter aspiration (see Abstract; Figure 3), comprising:
a pressure sensor (414) configured for placement in fluid communication with an lumen (return lumen 438) of a catheter (catheter 402),
a processor coupled to the pressure sensor (electronic signal evaluation circuit 442, see Figure 3) and configured for measuring variations in fluid pressure (the pressure sensor 414 measures the pressure drop over the hydraulic resistance. The measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]-[0022]; it is understood the evaluation device collects data from sensor 414); and
a communicator coupled to the processor (an acoustic signal generator 446, see Figure 3) and configured to generate a signal which varies proportionally as a result of variation in fluid pressure (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]), the signal provided by a non-visual source (acoustic signal generator 446).
However, Tiedtke does not explicitly disclose an aspiration lumen; the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source; and the communicator configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure.
Pratt teaches a reduced-pressure therapy system (see Abstract) an aspiration lumen (tubing 412 and 410); the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source (coupled to reduce pressure pump 402, see Figure 4); and the communicator (LED 508) configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure (the LED 508 may be communicatively coupled to the pressure sensor 504 to receive a signal from the pressure sensor 504 in response to an applied pressure, see Paragraph [0082]).
Tiedtke and Pratt are analogous art because both teach a system for real time monitoring of a catheter.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the lumen and the communicator of Tiedtke and further include an aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source and wherein the communicator generates a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure, as taught by Pratt. Pratt teaches an aspiration lumen coupled to a vacuum can provide negative pressure which is beneficial for reducing pressure in proximity to a tissue site can augment and accelerate growth of new tissue at the tissue site (see Paragraph [0003]). Pratt also teaches the communicator may provide a generic visual feedback as to whether reduced-pressure therapy is being effectively administered using a wall-suction source (see Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 4, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 1, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the continuous signal is provided by an audible source (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 5, Tiedtke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Tiedtke does not explicitly disclose wherein the continuous signal is provided by a tactile source.
Pratt teaches an apparatuses for providing feedback for reduced-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a pressure sensor (504) coupled to a processor (printed circuit board 502); a communicator coupled to the processor and configured to generate a continuous signal which varies proportionally as a result of variation in fluid pressure (feedback system (500) having a signal interface may be an auditory device or a tactile device, such as a moving protrusion, see Paragraph [0080]; The feedback system may further include an indicator communicatively coupled to the printed circuit board and the pressure sensor, and may be configured to indicate a status of the control pressure, see Paragraph [0007]), wherein the continuous signal is provided by a tactile source (a tactile device, such as a moving protrusion, see Paragraph [0080]).
Tiedtke and Pratt are analogous art because both teach a monitoring device for providing feedback to user.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the audio communicator device of Tiedtke and replace it with a tactile communicator device of Pratt. Pratt teaches the devices and systems described herein may provide feedback to an operator on leak conditions, feedback to an operator on blockage conditions, and feedback to an operator on canister full conditions (see Paragraph [0117]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 1, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the communicator comprises an audio speaker, a piezoelectric, a heater, or a vibrator (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 7, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 1, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein an amplitude of the continuous signal is proportional to the measured fluid pressure (the measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 8, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 1, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein a frequency of the continuous signal is proportional to the measured fluid pressure (the measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 9, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 1, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the proportionality is direct proportionality (the measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 10, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 1, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the catheter further includes a high pressure injection lumen (430) having a proximal end (404) and a distal end (406) and extending from a proximal end of the catheter to a location adjacent a distal end of the aspiration lumen (see Figure 3); and at least one orifice at or near the distal end of the high pressure injection lumen (a path section 432 open to the outside surroundings on the distal end section 406 of the catheter, see Figure 3) and configured to allow high pressure liquid injected through the high pressure injection lumen to be released into the aspiration lumen (the pressurized fluid arrives at the distal end section 406 of catheter 402 in the form of a sharp fluid jet in the open path section 432, treats the vessel 12 there, for example, cuts or fragments the vascular constriction material 434 and then flows into the distal end 436 of the return channel 438 with entrainment of material 434 and then through the latter in the direction of arrow 418 to the proximal end section 404, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 11, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 2, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the continuous signal is provided by an audible source (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 12, Tiedtke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 2. However, Tiedtke does not explicitly disclose wherein the continuous signal is provided by a tactile source.
Pratt teaches an apparatuses for providing feedback for reduced-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a pressure sensor (504) coupled to a processor (printed circuit board 502); a communicator coupled to the processor and configured to generate a continuous signal which varies proportionally as a result of variation in fluid pressure (feedback system (500) having a signal interface may be an auditory device or a tactile device, such as a moving protrusion, see Paragraph [0080]; The feedback system may further include an indicator communicatively coupled to the printed circuit board and the pressure sensor, and may be configured to indicate a status of the control pressure, see Paragraph [0007]), wherein the continuous signal is provided by a tactile source (a tactile device, such as a moving protrusion, see Paragraph [0080]).
Tiedtke and Pratt are analogous art because both teach a monitoring device for providing feedback to user.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the audio communicator device of Tiedtke and replace it with a tactile communicator device of Pratt. Pratt teaches the devices and systems described herein may provide feedback to an operator on leak conditions, feedback to an operator on blockage conditions, and feedback to an operator on canister full conditions (see Paragraph [0117]).
Regarding Claim 13, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 2, and Tiedtke teaches wherein the communicator comprises an audio speaker, a piezoelectric, a heater, or a vibrator (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 14, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 2, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein an amplitude of the continuous signal is proportional to the measured fluid pressure (the measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 15, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 2, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein a frequency of the continuous signal is proportional to the measured fluid pressure (the measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 16, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 2, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the proportionality is direct proportionality (the measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 17, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 2, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the catheter further includes a high pressure injection lumen (430) having a proximal end (404) and a distal end (406) and extending from a proximal end of the catheter to a location adjacent a distal end of the aspiration lumen (see Figure 3); and at least one orifice at or near the distal end of the high pressure injection lumen (a path section 432 open to the outside surroundings on the distal end section 406 of the catheter, see Figure 3) and configured to allow high pressure liquid injected through the high pressure injection lumen to be released into the aspiration lumen (the pressurized fluid arrives at the distal end section 406 of catheter 402 in the form of a sharp fluid jet in the open path section 432, treats the vessel 12 there, for example, cuts or fragments the vascular constriction material 434 and then flows into the distal end 436 of the return channel 438 with entrainment of material 434 and then through the latter in the direction of arrow 418 to the proximal end section 404, see Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding Claim 18, Tiedtke teaches a system for real time monitoring of thrombus aspiration (see Abstract; Figure 3), comprising:
a pressure sensor (414) configured for placement in fluid communication with an lumen (return lumen 438) of a catheter (catheter 402) and configured to measure pressure within the lumen to characterize flow of blood and/or thrombus within the lumen (the pressure sensor 414 measures the pressure drop over the hydraulic resistance. The measured pressure varies as a function of flow resistance of the fluid in the flow path of the catheter, see Paragraph [0020]-[0022]; it is understood the evaluation device collects data from sensor 414), the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source (440);
a processor coupled to the pressure sensor (electronic signal evaluation circuit 442, see Figure 3) and configured for measuring fluid pressure (it is understood the evaluation device collects data from sensor 414); and
a communicator coupled to the processor to receive output therefrom (an optical display device 444 and/or to an acoustic signal generator 446, see Figure 3), and configured to generate a signal that is not a pseudo-continuous analog (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]), of which a physical property is proportional to measured fluid pressure and of which a physical property can be sensed real- time by a user for characterizing fluid pressure (the optical display device 444 shows the user of catheter 402 the aforementioned information; the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]).
However, Tiedtke does not explicitly disclose an aspiration lumen; the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source; and the communicator configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure.
Pratt teaches a reduced-pressure therapy system (see Abstract) an aspiration lumen (tubing 412 and 410); the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source (coupled to reduce pressure pump 402, see Figure 4); and the communicator (LED 508) configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure (the LED 508 may be communicatively coupled to the pressure sensor 504 to receive a signal from the pressure sensor 504 in response to an applied pressure, see Paragraph [0082]).
Tiedtke and Pratt are analogous art because both teach a system for real time monitoring of a catheter.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the lumen and the communicator of Tiedtke and further include an aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source and wherein the communicator generates a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure, as taught by Pratt. Pratt teaches an aspiration lumen coupled to a vacuum can provide negative pressure which is beneficial for reducing pressure in proximity to a tissue site can augment and accelerate growth of new tissue at the tissue site (see Paragraph [0003]). Pratt also teaches the communicator may provide a generic visual feedback as to whether reduced-pressure therapy is being effectively administered using a wall-suction source (see Paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 19, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 18, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the continuous signal is provided by a visual source (optical display device 444).
Regarding Claim 20, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 18, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the continuous signal is provided by an audible source (the acoustic signal generator 446 generates tones or noises that the user can hear, depending on the information, see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 21, Tiedtke teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 18. However, Tiedtke does not explicitly disclose wherein the continuous signal is provided by a tactile source.
Pratt teaches an apparatuses for providing feedback for reduced-pressure therapy (see Abstract) comprising a pressure sensor (504) coupled to a processor (printed circuit board 502); a communicator coupled to the processor and configured to generate a continuous signal which varies proportionally as a result of variation in fluid pressure (feedback system (500) having a signal interface may be an auditory device or a tactile device, such as a moving protrusion, see Paragraph [0080]; The feedback system may further include an indicator communicatively coupled to the printed circuit board and the pressure sensor, and may be configured to indicate a status of the control pressure, see Paragraph [0007]), wherein the continuous signal is provided by a tactile source (a tactile device, such as a moving protrusion, see Paragraph [0080]).
Tiedtke and Pratt are analogous art because both teach a monitoring device for providing feedback to user.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the communicator device of Tiedtke and replace it with a tactile communicator device of Pratt. Pratt teaches the devices and systems described herein may provide feedback to an operator on leak conditions, feedback to an operator on blockage conditions, and feedback to an operator on canister full conditions (see Paragraph [0117]).
Regarding Claim 22, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 18, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the continuous signal is provided by a non-visual source (the pressure sensor 414 is connected via an electronic signal evaluation circuit 442 to the acoustic signal generator 446, see Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding Claim 23, Tiedtke and Pratt teaches all of the limitations, as discussed above in claim 2, and Tiedtke further teaches wherein the catheter further includes a high pressure injection lumen (430) having a proximal end (404) and a distal end (406) and extending from a proximal end of the catheter to a location adjacent a distal end of the aspiration lumen (see Figure 3); and at least one orifice at or near the distal end of the high pressure injection lumen (a path section 432 open to the outside surroundings on the distal end section 406 of the catheter, see Figure 3) and configured to allow high pressure liquid injected through the high pressure injection lumen to be released into the aspiration lumen (the pressurized fluid arrives at the distal end section 406 of catheter 402 in the form of a sharp fluid jet in the open path section 432, treats the vessel 12 there, for example, cuts or fragments the vascular constriction material 434 and then flows into the distal end 436 of the return channel 438 with entrainment of material 434 and then through the latter in the direction of arrow 418 to the proximal end section 404, see Paragraph [0020]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant states that the 102(a)(1) rejection over Tiedtke would fail to teach “an aspiration lumen; the aspiration lumen configured to couple to a vacuum source; and the communicator configured to generate a continuous signal which is proportional to measured fluid pressure”. The examiner agrees that Tiedtke alone does not read on these limitations. Accordingly, claims 1-2 and 18 are now rejected under 103 in view of Pratt (US 20150094673 A1). Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (4/4/2026)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781