DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2023, 07/23/2024, 08/29/2024, 12/02/2024, 03/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0073] of the .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close” (in the recited phase “close contact”) in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "close" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In other words, the Claim is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear what level/amount/proximity/etc. of contact constitutes being in "close" contact.
Claims 2-10 are rejected at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
The term “close” (in the recited phase “close contact”) in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "close" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In other words, the Claim is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear what level/amount/proximity/etc. of contact constitutes being in "close" contact.
Claim 7 is rejected at least by virtue of dependence on claim 6.
The term “close” (in the recited phase “close contact”) in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "close" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In other words, the Claim is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear what level/amount/proximity/etc. of contact constitutes being in "close" contact.
Claims 12-20 are rejected at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 11.
The term “close” (in the recited phase “close contact”) in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "close" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In other words, the Claim is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear what level/amount/proximity/etc. of contact constitutes being in "close" contact.
Claim 17 is rejected at least by virtue of dependence on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR20190081736A) hereinafter "Kim1", reference is made to the enclosed machine translation, in view of Kim et al. (KR 20190138529 A) hereinafter "Kim2", reference is made to US equivalent US20210226233A1 for translation, (both cited on the IDS filed 7/17/2023) in further view of Kim et al. (US 20140291874 A1) hereinafter "Kim3".
Regarding claim 1, Kim1 teaches a gasket assembly for a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes ([0021]; Fig. 2 reproduced below; [0044]-[0045]), and a gasket including a packing portion having a second hole into which the sub-case is inserted and being in close contact with an outer circumferential surface of the sub-case inserted into the second hole to prevent a fluid in the mid-case from flowing toward the cap (Fig. 3 element 200 is considered a gasket; Fig. 6 & 11; [0052]-[0055]; [0064]; [0070]), an edge portion formed to be connected to the packing portion and interposed in a space formed by a groove formed at an end portion of the mid-case and an end portion of the cap ([0066]-[0070]; Fig. 3 & 6).
Kim1 does not teach a sub-case formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted.
However, Kim2 teaches a gasket assembly for a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes ([0013]; [0073]), and a gasket assembly ([0087]-[0090]; Fig. 9). Kim2 teaches a projecting portion (Fig. 9 element 125) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted ([0058]; [0067]; [0071]; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0090]; the projecting portion reads on a sub-case surrounding and end of a cartridge). Kim2 teaches that the projecting portion is used to hermetically seal the cap case and the potting unit ([0071]) and the combination of a gasket and a projecting portion further prevents the second fluid introduced into the space between the inner surface of the cap case and the cartridge from leaking to the fluid introduction and discharge port without passing through the hollow fiber membranes ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gasket assembly taught by Kim1 by adding a protruding portion (sub-case) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted as taught by Kim2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the fuel cell membrane humidifier taught by Kim1 by adding a protruding portion (sub-case) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted as taught by Kim2 to further prevent the second fluid introduced into the space between the inner surface of the cap case and the cartridge from leaking to the fluid introduction and discharge port without passing through the hollow fiber membranes ([0088]).
Kim1 in view of Kim2 does not teach a sealing portion formed to come into contact with the sub-case and the packing portion to prevent the fluid in the mid-case from flowing toward the cap.
However, Kim3 teaches a gasket assembly for a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes ([0020]-[0022]; [0064]; [0074]) with a sealing member ([0080]). Kim3 teaches where the sealing member comprises a solid-state sealing element (gasket) and a liquid-state sealing element (Fig. 1 element 221), the liquid-state sealing element adapted to absorb a difference between thermal deformations of the potting portion and the housing ([0080]-[0084]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fuel cell membrane humidifier taught by Kim1 in view of Kim2 by adding a liquid-state sealing element as taught by Kim3.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the fuel cell membrane humidifier taught by Kim1 in view of Kim2 by adding a liquid-state sealing element as taught by Kim3 to absorb a difference between thermal deformations of the potting portion and the housing ([0080]-[0084]). The sealing portion taught by Kim3, when placed between the gasket assembly of Kim1 and the protruding portions of Kim2 would come into contact with the sub-case and the packing portion to prevent the fluid in the mid-case from flowing toward the cap.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim1 teaches wherein the sealing portion is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case or an inner surface of the gasket (Kim3 Fig. 1; the sealing portion is formed on an inner surface of the gasket).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim1 teaches the gasket assembly of claim 1. Kim1 teaches a wherein a gasket assembly includes an extension leg and a second sealing portion ([0070]; Fig. 3 & 6 annotated below).
Modified Kim1 does not explicitly teach a sealing support portion formed to contact and support the sealing portion on a lower surface of the packing portion.
However, Kim3 teaches wherein the liquid-state sealing portion is supported by a solid-state sealing portion (Kim3 Fig. 1 [0054]-[0057], [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate the liquid-state sealing portion of Kim3 (i.e. sealing portion) between the gasket assembly and the potting portion taught by Kim1 where the extension leg and second sealing portion of the gasket assembly act as a supporting portion. Therefore, the structure taught by modified Kim1 teaches a sealing support portion formed to contact and support the sealing portion on a lower surface of the packing portion (Kim1 Fig. 3 & 6; Kim3 Fig. 1 [0054]-[0057], [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim1 teaches the gasket assembly of claim 3. Modified Kim1 teaches wherein the sealing portion and the sealing support portion include at least one material selected from among silicone, acrylic rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), nitrile-butadiene rubber (NBR), and urethane (Kim1 [0053]; Kim3 [0058], [0081]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim1 teaches the gasket assembly of claim 3. Modified Kim1 further teaches wherein the sealing portion is made of a liquid sealing material containing at least one material selected from among silicone and urethane (Kim3 [0023], [0058], [0081]), and the sealing support portion is made of a solid sealing material containing at least one material selected from among silicon, acrylic rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), and nitrile-butadiene rubber (NBR) (Kim3 [0058], [0081]; Kim1 [0053]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim1 teaches the gasket assembly of claim 1 wherein the packing portion includes a body member having a second hole into which the sub-case is inserted ([0052]-[0055]; Fig. 3 annotated above; absent further definition the packing portion is considered to have a body member).
Kim1 does not teach wherein the packing portion includes a protrusion member formed at one end of the body member and in close contact with the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case inserted into the second hole.
However, Kim3 teaches a sealing portion with a protrusion member formed at one end of the body member and in close contact with the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case inserted into the second hole (Fig. 9-11; [0100]-[0105] at least one rib 623). Kim3 teaches that a rib is configured to absorb the difference between the thermal deformations of the housing and the potting portion ([0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the gasket assembly taught by Kim1 by including at least one rib (protrusion member) on the extension leg of the gasket assembly as taught by Kim3.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the gasket assembly taught by Kim1 by including at least one rib (protrusion member) on the extension leg of the gasket assembly as taught by Kim3 to absorb the difference between the thermal deformations of the housing and the potting portion ([0105]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim1 teaches a gasket assembly for a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes ([0021]; Fig. 2 reproduced below; [0044]-[0045]); and a gasket assembly airtightly coupled to at least one end of the humidification module through mechanical assembly so that the cap is able to be in fluid communication only with the hollow fiber membranes ([0033]-[0034]; [0047]; [0056]; [0077]-[0078]), and a gasket including a packing portion having a second hole into which the sub-case is inserted and being in close contact with an outer circumferential surface of the sub-case inserted into the second hole to prevent a fluid in the mid-case from flowing toward the cap (Fig. 3 element 200 is considered a gasket; Fig. 6 & 11; [0052]-[0055]; [0064]; [0070]), an edge portion formed to be connected to the packing portion and interposed in a space formed by a groove formed at an end portion of the mid-case and an end portion of the cap ([0066]-[0070]; Fig. 3 & 6).
Kim1 does not teach a sub-case formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted.
However, Kim2 teaches a gasket assembly for a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes ([0013]; [0073]), and a gasket assembly ([0087]-[0090]; Fig. 9). Kim2 teaches a projecting portion (Fig. 9 element 125) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted ([0058]; [0067]; [0071]; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0090]; the projecting portion reads on a sub-case surrounding and end of a cartridge). Kim2 teaches that the projecting portion is used to hermetically seal the cap case and the potting unit ([0071]) and the combination of a gasket and a projecting portion further prevents the second fluid introduced into the space between the inner surface of the cap case and the cartridge from leaking to the fluid introduction and discharge port without passing through the hollow fiber membranes ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the gasket assembly taught by Kim1 by adding a protruding portion (sub-case) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted as taught by Kim2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the fuel cell membrane humidifier taught by Kim1 by adding a protruding portion (sub-case) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted as taught by Kim2 to further prevent the second fluid introduced into the space between the inner surface of the cap case and the cartridge from leaking to the fluid introduction and discharge port without passing through the hollow fiber membranes ([0088]).
Kim1 in view of Kim2 does not teach a sealing portion formed to come into contact with the sub-case and the packing portion to prevent the fluid in the mid-case from flowing toward the cap.
However, Kim3 teaches a gasket assembly for a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes ([0020]-[0022]; [0064]; [0074]) with a sealing member ([0080]). Kim3 teaches where the sealing member comprises a solid-state sealing element (gasket) and a liquid-state sealing element, the liquid-state sealing element adapted to absorb a difference between thermal deformations of the potting portion and the housing ([0080]-[0084]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fuel cell membrane humidifier taught by Kim1 in view of Kim2 by adding a liquid-state sealing element as taught by Kim3.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the fuel cell membrane humidifier taught by Kim1 in view of Kim2 by adding a liquid-state sealing element as taught by Kim3 to absorb a difference between thermal deformations of the potting portion and the housing ([0080]-[0084]). The sealing portion taught by Kim3, when placed between the gasket assembly of Kim1 and the protruding portions of Kim2 would come into contact with the sub-case and the packing portion to prevent the fluid in the mid-case from flowing toward the cap.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim1 teaches wherein the sealing portion is formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case or an inner surface of the gasket (Kim3 Fig. 1; the sealing portion is formed on an inner surface of the gasket).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim1 teaches the fuel cell membrane humidifier of claim 11. Kim1 teaches a wherein a gasket assembly includes an extension leg and a second sealing portion ([0070]; Fig. 3 & 6 annotated below).
Modified Kim1 does not explicitly teach a sealing support portion formed to contact and support the sealing portion on a lower surface of the packing portion.
However, Kim3 teaches wherein the liquid-state sealing portion is supported by a sold-state sealing portion (Kim3 Fig. 1 [0054]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate the liquid-state sealing portion of Kim3 (i.e. sealing portion) between the gasket assembly and the potting portion taught by Kim1 where the extension leg and second sealing portion of the gasket assembly act as a supporting portion. Therefore, the structure taught by modified Kim1 teaches a sealing support portion formed to contact and support the sealing portion on a lower surface of the packing portion (Kim1 Fig. 3 & 6; Kim3 Fig. 1 [0054]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim1 teaches the fuel cell membrane humidifier of claim 13. Modified Kim1 teaches wherein the sealing portion and the sealing support portion include at least one material selected from among silicone, acrylic rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), nitrile-butadiene rubber (NBR), and urethane (Kim1 [0053]; Kim3 [0058]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kim1 teaches the fuel cell membrane humidifier of claim 13. Modified Kim1 further teaches wherein the sealing portion is made of a liquid sealing material containing at least one material selected from among silicone and urethane (Kim3 [0023], [0058], [0081]), and the sealing support portion is made of a solid sealing material containing at least one material selected from among silicon, acrylic rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), and nitrile-butadiene rubber (NBR) (Kim3 [0058], [0081]; Kim1 [0053]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim1 teaches the fuel cell humidifier of claim 11 wherein the packing portion includes a body member having a second hole into which the sub-case is inserted ([0052]-[0055]).
Kim1 does not teach wherein the packing portion includes a protrusion member formed at one end of the body member and in close contact with the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case inserted into the second hole.
However, Kim3 teaches a sealing portion with a protrusion member formed at one end of the body member and in close contact with the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case inserted into the second hole (Fig. 9-11; [0100]-[0105] at least one rib 623). Kim3 teaches that a rib is configured to absorb the difference between the thermal deformations of the housing and the potting portion ([0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the gasket assembly taught by Kim1 by including at least one rib (protrusion member) on the extension leg of the gasket assembly as taught by Kim3.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further modify the gasket assembly taught by Kim1 by including at least one rib (protrusion member) on the extension leg of the gasket assembly as taught by Kim3 to absorb the difference between the thermal deformations of the housing and the potting portion ([0105]).
Claim(s) 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim1 (KR20190081736A) in view of Kim2 (KR 20190138529 A), reference is made to US equivalent US20210226233A1 for translation, in further view of Kim3 (US 20140291874 A1), as applied above, in further view of Kwon et al. (US 20160036075 A1) hereinafter "Kwon".
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim1 teaches the gasket assembly of claim 6. Although modified Kim1 teaches two or more protrusion members (Kim3 Fig. 10 annotated below), modified Kim1 is silent as to the body member includes two or more second holes into which two or more sub-cases are able to be inserted, and two or more protrusion members are included and formed in contact with outer circumferential surfaces of the two or more sub-cases.
However, Kwon teaches a membrane humidifier for a fuel cell 100 ([0050], Fig. 1), wherein the humidification module comprises two or more cartridges (one hollow fiber membrane bundle 106 in each division module 110 [0055], Fig. 1) and the packing portion has two or more holes into which the cartridges are inserted ( [0051-0055], division modules 110 comprise first division module 111, second division module 112, third division module 113 [0058-0060], Figs. 1-6). Kwon also discloses the main body comprises a peripheral portion with at least one rib between the holes (support stage 120 and joint groove in side housing 101 [0059], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have two or more cartridges in the humidification module, a packing portion with two or more holes to support the cartridges, and a main body with a rib, as disclosed by Kwon.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the features disclosed by Kwon into the humidifier taught by modified Kim1. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143 and 2143.02).
The structure taught by modified Kim1 in view of Kwon has two or more hole into which cartridges can be inserted. Therefore, the structure is further able to accommodate two or more subcases (which surround the end of a cartridge) as required by claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim1 teaches the fuel cell membrane humidifier of claim 16. Although modified Kim1 teaches two or more protrusion members (Kim3 Fig. 10 annotated below), modified Kim1 is silent as to the body member includes two or more second holes into which two or more sub-cases are able to be inserted, and two or more protrusion members are included and formed in contact with outer circumferential surfaces of the two or more sub-cases.
However, Kwon teaches a membrane humidifier for a fuel cell 100 ([0050], Fig. 1), wherein the humidification module comprises two or more cartridges (one hollow fiber membrane bundle 106 in each division module 110 [0055], Fig. 1) and the packing portion has two or more holes into which the cartridges are inserted ( [0051-0055], division modules 110 comprise first division module 111, second division module 112, third division module 113 [0058-0060], Figs. 1-6). Kwon also discloses the main body comprises a peripheral portion with at least one rib between the holes (support stage 120 and joint groove in side housing 101 [0059], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have two or more cartridges in the humidification module, a packing portion with two or more holes to support the cartridges, and a main body with a rib, as disclosed by Kwon.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the features disclosed by Kwon into the humidifier taught by modified Kim1. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143 and 2143.02).
The structure taught by modified Kim1 in view of Kwon has two or more hole into which cartridges can be inserted. Therefore, the structure is further able to accommodate two or more subcases (which surround the end of a cartridge) as required by the Claim.
Claim(s) 8-9, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim1 (KR20190081736A) in view of Kim2 (KR 20190138529 A), reference is made to US equivalent US20210226233A1 for translation, in further view of Kim3 (US 20140291874 A1), as applied above, in further view of Kim et al. (KR 20190138528 A) hereinafter "Kim4", reference is made to the enclosed machine translation.
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Kim1 teaches the gasket assembly of claim 1. Kim1 teaches wherein a gasket assembly includes a second sealing portion that compresses a first sealing portion in the vertical direction ([0056]; [0023]; [0070]; Fig. 3 & 6 annotated above). Kim2 teaches a cap projecting portion (Fig. 9 element 125) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted ([0058]; [0067]; [0071]; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0090]). Kim2 teaches that a projecting portion is pressed against a surface of the potting portion to hermetically seal the cap case and the potting unit ([0071]; [0088]).
Modified Kim1 does not explicitly teach damping portion formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case to absorb vibration in a vertical direction of the cartridge with a movement in the vertical direction suppressed by the sealing portion and the packing portion and a damping cap portion formed over an upper surface of the packing portion, an upper surface of the sub-case, and an upper surface of the cartridge to absorb the vibration in the vertical direction of the cartridge.
However, Kim4 teaches a gasket assembly (Fig. 6 element 300) that extends past the edge of a potting portion at the end of a cartridge (Fig. 6; [0068]) and where the outer circumferential surface of a cartridge includes an extension rib (element 145) that supports the bottom of the gasket assembly (element 300) ([0064]; [0066]-[0067]; [0068]; Fig. 6). Kim4 teaches that pressing the gasket assembly against the cap, in the vertical direction, with the extension rub improves airtightness ([0068]).
Modified Kim1 recognizes the importance of compressing elements together to create an improved seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gasket assembly taught by modified Kim1 to include a structural portion formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case and a structural portion formed over an upper surface of the packing portion, an upper surface of the sub-case, and an upper surface of the cartridge to absorb the vibration in the vertical direction of the cartridge as taught by Kim4.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the gasket assembly taught by modified Kim1 to include a structural portion formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case and a structural portion formed over an upper surface of the packing portion, an upper surface of the sub-case, and an upper surface of the cartridge to absorb the vibration in the vertical direction of the cartridge as taught by Kim4 to improve airtightness ([0068]).
Examiner notes that the Claim does not require a specific level/degree of vibrational absorption and the structure taught by modified Kim1 in view of Kim4 provides damping effect to at least some level/degree as the structural elements are pressed together. Further, the Claim does not require a specific level/degree of such restraint of movement in the vertical direction and the structure taught by modified Kim1 in view of Kim4 limits movement to at least some level/degree as the structural elements are pressed together.
Regarding claims 18-19, modified Kim1 teaches the fuel cell membrane humidifier of claim 11. Kim1 teaches wherein a gasket assembly includes a second sealing portion that compresses a first sealing portion in the vertical direction ([0056]; [0023]; [0070]; Fig. 3 & 6 annotated above). Kim2 teaches a cap projecting portion (Fig. 9 element 125) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted ([0058]; [0067]; [0071]; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0090]). Kim2 teaches that a projecting portion is pressed against a surface of the potting portion to hermetically seal the cap case and the potting unit ([0071]; [0088]).
Modified Kim1 does not explicitly teach damping portion formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case to absorb vibration in a vertical direction of the cartridge with a movement in the vertical direction suppressed by the sealing portion and the packing portion and a damping cap portion formed over an upper surface of the packing portion, an upper surface of the sub-case, and an upper surface of the cartridge to absorb the vibration in the vertical direction of the cartridge.
However, Kim4 teaches a gasket assembly (Fig. 6 element 300) that extends past the edge of a potting portion at the end of a cartridge (Fig. 6; [0068]) and where the outer circumferential surface of a cartridge includes an extension rib (element 145) that supports the bottom of the gasket assembly (element 300) ([0064]; [0066]-[0067]; [0068]; Fig. 6). Kim4 teaches that pressing the gasket assembly against the cap, in the vertical direction, with the extension rub improves airtightness ([0068]).
Modified Kim1 recognizes the importance of compressing elements together to create an improved seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the gasket assembly taught by modified Kim1 to include a structural portion formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case and a structural portion formed over an upper surface of the packing portion, an upper surface of the sub-case, and an upper surface of the cartridge to absorb the vibration in the vertical direction of the cartridge as taught by Kim4.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the gasket assembly taught by modified Kim1 to include a structural portion formed on the outer circumferential surface of the sub-case and a structural portion formed over an upper surface of the packing portion, an upper surface of the sub-case, and an upper surface of the cartridge to absorb the vibration in the vertical direction of the cartridge as taught by Kim4 to improve airtightness ([0068]).
Examiner notes that the Claim does not require a specific level/degree of vibrational absorption and the structure taught by modified Kim1 in view of Kim4 provides damping effect to at least some level/degree as the structural elements are pressed together. Further, the Claim does not require a specific level/degree of such restraint of movement in the vertical direction and the structure taught by modified Kim1 in view of Kim4 limits movement to at least some level/degree as the structural elements are pressed together.
Claim(s) 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim1 (KR20190081736A) in view of Kim2 (KR 20190138529 A), reference is made to US equivalent US20210226233A1 for translation, in further view of Kim3 (US 20140291874 A1), as applied above, in further view of Uchida et al. (US 6316139 B1) hereinafter "Uchida".
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim1 teaches the gasket assembly of claim 1. Modified Kim1 teaches a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (Kim2 [0013]; [0073]), and a gasket assembly (Kim2 [0087]-[0090]; Fig. 9). Modified Kim1 teaches a projecting portion (Kim2 Fig. 9 element 125) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted (Kim2 [0058]; [0067]; [0071]; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0090]) and the projecting portion is used to hermetically seal the cap case and the potting unit (Kim2 [0071])
Modified Kim does not teach wherein an adhesive is applied to an inner circumferential surface of the sub-case such that the sub-case is coupled to the end of the cartridge.
However, Uchida teaches a fuel cell gasket comprising a rubber elastomer layer and an adhesive layer (abstract), wherein the adhesive layer is between a membrane and rubber elastomer layer (Column 4, lines 21-25). Uchida teaches that the adhesive layer prevents the rubber elastomer layer from shifting during operation of the fuel cell (Column 4, lines 33-43). Uchida teaches that the adhesive material may be a rubber adhesive or an acrylic adhesive (Column 4, lines 1-4).
Using an adhesive is an art recognized method for securing components in a fuel cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive layer, as disclosed by Uchida, on the inner circumferential surface of the sub-case in the fuel cell humidifier of modified Kim1, in order to secure the two parts.
Regarding claim 20, modified Kim1 teaches the fuel cell membrane humidifier of claim 11. Modified Kim1 teaches a fuel cell membrane humidifier including a mid-case, a cap fastened to the mid-case, and at least one cartridge disposed inside the mid-case and accommodating a plurality of hollow fiber membranes (Kim2 [0013]; [0073]), and a gasket assembly (Kim2 [0087]-[0090]; Fig. 9). Modified Kim1 teaches a projecting portion (Kim2 Fig. 9 element 125) formed in a shape surrounding an end of the cartridge and including a first hole into which the end of the cartridge is inserted (Kim2 [0058]; [0067]; [0071]; Fig. 9; [0087]-[0090]) and the projecting portion is used to hermetically seal the cap case and the potting unit (Kim2 [0071])
Modified Kim does not teach wherein an adhesive is applied to an inner circumferential surface of the sub-case such that the sub-case is coupled to the end of the cartridge.
However, Uchida teaches a fuel cell gasket comprising a rubber elastomer layer and an adhesive layer (abstract), wherein the adhesive layer is between a membrane and rubber elastomer layer (Column 4, lines 21-25). Uchida teaches that the adhesive layer prevents the rubber elastomer layer from shifting during operation of the fuel cell (Column 4, lines 33-43). Uchida teaches that the adhesive material may be a rubber adhesive or an acrylic adhesive (Column 4, lines 1-4).
Using an adhesive is an art recognized method for securing components in a fuel cell. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive layer, as disclosed by Uchida, on the inner circumferential surface of the sub-case in the fuel cell humidifier of modified Kim1, in order to secure the two parts.
Conclusion
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728