Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a mental process directed to determining a supply of power; determining a weather parameter; calculating a total available power; and determining, based on the duration of insufficient power…a climate setting. But for the inclusion of general computing components, the combination of limitations represent opinion, judgment, or observation, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 5 recites a mental process directed to the determination of climate setting comprising determining a condenser temperature for a duration of insufficient power, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 7 recites a mental process directed to determining an insufficient power based on one or more power sources, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 8 recites a mental process of determining at least one of a power outage, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 11 recites a mental process directed to comparing and calculating as described, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 12 recites a mental process directed to calculating power as described, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 13 recites a mental process directed to comparing and calculating; however, enabling a user to adjust a setting represents insignificant extra-solution activity,see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 15 describes a mental process directed to determining the weather condition parameter, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 16 describes a mental process directed to calculating the total available power as described, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 17 describes a mental process directed to calculating the total available power based on a deep discharge as described, Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 18 describes a mental process directed to calculating the total available power based on a maximum amount of power as described, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 19 describes a mental process directed to determining a climate setting based on a user profile, see Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application:
Claim 1 recites additional limitations comprising a computing device, power supply, area, and a climate control system which are recited generally so as to generically link the abstract idea to the field of climate control systems(see Applicant’s specification for general field of use discussion, 0004-0005) see also MPEP 2106.05(h). Moreover, the limitation of “setting the climate setting” represents insignificant extra-solution activity via setting a parameter value of the climate control system, MPEP 2106.05(g). The computing device represents mere instructions to apply the abstract idea, MPEP 2106.05(f). The combination of limitations as a whole do not meaningfully limit the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(d).
( Examiner note: it is suggested to control a climate control system by implementing the setting to reduce a power usage of a climate control system responsive to determining a duration in which power is insufficient, or equivalent language. )
Claim 2 recites a parameter setting comprising temperature that represents data input or insignificant extra solution activity, MPEP 2106.05(g)
Claim 3 recites a parameter setting comprising humidity and air flow settings representing data types or insignificant extra solution activity MPEP 2106.05(g)
Claim 4 recites a parameter setting comprising weather condition related to power production that represents data input or insignificant extra solution activity MPEP 2106.05(g)
Claim 6 generally links the abstract idea to the field of power analysis based in generically describing power sources, MPEP 2106.05(h)
Claim 9 recites tangential data gathering comprising receiving a weather forecast representing insignificant extra-solution activity, MPEP 2106.05(g)
Claim 10 recites tangential data gathering comprising receiving conditions representing insignificant extra-solution activity, MPEP 2106.05(g)
Claim 14 generally links the abstract idea to a field of power analysis based upon generally describing one or more power sources, MPEP 2106.05(h)
Claim 20 is directed to insignificant extra solution comprising monitoring power consumption of a condenser; a mental process directed to determining a heat loss; and generally applying the abstract idea by setting, MPEP 2106.05(g)
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per clam 1, the computing device represents mere instructions to apply the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(d). Moreover, the insignificant extra solution activity of “setting the climate setting” represent well-understood, routine, conventional activity, infra applied prior art, see also adjusting temperature based on limited power availability described below:
20160274653: 0040 e.g. “The available power of an energy storage device is the rated power the storage can supply at the given moment, plus any charging power. The available power of a running electrical load is the portion that can be temporarily reduced. Constraints can be specified (e.g., by a user) for loads, and the calculation of available power can take such constraints into account. For example, in a facility that needs to be heated to a minimum temperature, a constraint can be placed on a heating load to avoid reducing the heating load below a particular specified level. It may be possible to reduce the heating load in order to manage demand, but available power from such a reduction may be limited by the constraint. Similar constraints could be specified for a cooling system load in a facility that must remain below a maximum temperature.
20220271348 e.g. [0043] FIG. 9 is a logic flow diagram 900 illustrating a process for controlling an HVAC system within a nanogrid, according to various embodiments. The premise of the process is the control of the frequency of on/off cycles of the HVAC system depending on the availability of PV power and reducing the frequency of “on” time while PV power is off-line. In various embodiments, controller 602 controls one or more node 604, supplying at least one HVAC system or component, by establishing one or more set-point (e.g. temperature threshold) lower temperature thresholds and limits received, for example from a thermostat, and powering the HVAC unit to its lower limit when PV power is available and allowing the temperature to vary between a lower threshold and one or more limit. When insufficient PV power is present, the temperature of a conditioned space can be increased to an upper limit and allow oscillation between its upper threshold and limit.
See also 20230244197 -0008, see also 20040117330 -0204
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification states the inverter provides data for determining a weather condition parameter in conclusory form but without the specific steps or description to show possession of the particular data types, inverter interfaces, or other information needed to show the inverter provides a particular type of data for realizing the weather condition. The specification teaches:
0110 e.g. “ The controller may be configured to receive data indicating the weather forecast via an inverter of the PV power generation system 126. The weather forecast may be used to determine the duration of the insufficient power supply, and/or determine a total available power, as described herein.”
0246 e.g. “The method of any one of clauses 1 to 43, wherein the receiving the weather condition parameter comprises receiving data associated with the weather condition parameter via an inverter of the photovoltaic (PV) power generation system.”
The description of the inverter providing data associated with a weather condition parameter does not describe the “associated data.” The description is inadequate to how the inverter itself provides the associated data for determining a weather condition. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as an inverter which functions as providing power data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10-12, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822).
Claim 1.
Goodnow et al. does not expressly teach determining a supply of power is insufficient for climate control of an area described below. KIM et al. teaches determining a supply of power is insufficient for climate control of an area described below, a method (ABSTRACT, Figure 1, Figure 2) comprising:
determining, by a computing device, a supply of power that is insufficient for climate control of an area (Goodnow et al.,0004, 0017- 0018, Figure 2-205 e.g. see determining green-out conditions, namely power consumption exceeds available power supply of a grid, 0004, 0017 e.g. “The impacts of such high loads can be felt in many ways, depending upon whether the load is near or exceeds the capacity of the power infrastructure. For example, as the load nears capacity the backup power sources (e.g., coal or diesel fired generators) can be brought on-line, however, such backup power sources are typically less efficient and bad for the environment. Also, as the load nears capacity (e.g., during known peak use periods), the cost to consumer can be increased. Thus, if power usage remains high during peak load/peak cost periods, prohibitive expense can be incurred and environmental impact realized. As the load reaches or exceeds capacity, “brownouts” can occur (i.e., the supply voltage can be reduced). At the extreme, “blackouts” can occur (i.e., all power can be switched off). If “brownouts” or “blackouts” are experienced, the impact to electrical systems can be catastrophic (e.g., loss of data, corruption of data, system failure, etc,” see also computing device as a processor, 0008, Figure 2), see also KIM for determining a supply of power is insufficient for climate control of an area, namely total power consumption of multiple air conditioners exceed threshold power limits, see ABSTRACT, Figure 9 e.g. “The server includes a communication interface, a memory configured to store priorities of each of a plurality of spaces, and a processor configured to control a plurality of air conditioners arranged in the plurality of spaces, and the processor may, based on a total power usage of the plurality of air conditioners exceeding a first threshold value, control the plurality of air conditioners to operate in a power peak control mode to reduce the total power usage, and based on the total power usage being less than a second threshold value while operating in the power peak control mode, control the plurality of air conditioners to sequentially switch to a general mode according to the priority”)
determining a duration of the insufficient supply of power (0024, 0027, 0029-30 e.g. see determining duration of green-out, Figure 2-205)
determining a weather condition parameter (0021, 0034-35 e.g. see obtaining weather indicative of green-out conditions)
calculating total available power from one or more power sources, wherein each of the one or more power sources is configured to provide power to the area (0004, 0017 e.g. see capacity of available power as reading on calculating total available power)
determining, based on the duration of the insufficient supply of power, the total available power, and the weather condition parameter, a climate setting of a climate control system of at least part of the area (0027, 0038 e.g. see adjusting temperature control systems in response to limited power capacity, see also KIM for determining total power consumption of multiple air conditioners based on current settings exceeds available power, including adjusting set-points 0004, Figure 2-S940)
setting the climate setting of the climate control system (0018, 0027, 0038, see also Kim, Figure 2-S940 e.g. see adjusting at least temperature settings responsive to determining power supply is insufficient)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Kim, namely adjusting climate control settings for multiple air conditioners in response to determine total power consumption exceeds target power (e.g. available power is insufficient to handle total air conditioner demand), to the teachings of Goodnow, namely adjusting device settings for a duration in which power consumption exceeds available capacity, would achieve an expected and predictable result of adjusting multiple climate control settings during a period in which power consumption exceeds power availability. Kim is reasonably pertinent to a problem of adjusting climate control systems to account for insufficient power capacities while providing a benefit of “efficiently managing a comfort level of a user and peak demand power by controlling an operation mode of an air conditioner and a controlling method thereof,” 0002.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the climate setting comprises a temperature setting. (Goodnow, 0027 0043 0051 0117 )
Claim 3.
The method of claim 1, wherein the climate setting comprises at least one of a humidity setting and an air flow setting (Kim 0117)
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein the weather condition parameter is related to power production of the one or more power sources (Goodnow 0021 0034)
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the insufficient supply of power comprises determining a reduction of the supply of power received from one of the one or more power sources (Goodnow. 0004-0005)
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the insufficient supply of power comprises determining at least one of a power outage, a brownout, a blackout, a malfunction of at least one of the one or more power sources, an islanding condition, an off-grid condition, or an extreme weather condition (Goodnow, 0004 )
Claim 10. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving conditions of the at least part of the area, and wherein the determining the climate setting of the climate control system is further based on the received conditions( Goodnow Supra claim 1, 0043, see peak demand)
Claim 11. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
calculating required power for the area, supra claim 1, and
comparing the required power with the total available power, wherein the determining the climate setting of the climate control system is further based on a determination that the required power is greater than the total available power, supra claim 1
Claim 12.
The method of claim 11, wherein the calculating the required power is based on at least one of the duration of the insufficient supply of power or the weather condition parameter. Goodnow Supra claim 1
Claim 14. The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more power sources comprises one or more of an energy storage device, a photovoltaic (PV) power generation system, a wind turbine, or a generator (Goodnow, 0004 e.g. see power grid generator)
Claim 19. The method of claim 1 but does not teach the user profile limitations described bleow. further comprising generating a user profile for each of a plurality of residents in the area, and wherein the determining the climate setting of the climate control system is further based on the user profile for each of the plurality of residents (Kim, 0016 0066 0093-95 e.g. see obtaining user desired settings and controlling HVAC based on each setting/priority)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Buda (PG/PUB 20230077210)
Claim 5. The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the condenser temperature limitations described below. Buda teaches the condenser temperature limitations described below,
wherein the determining the climate setting of the climate control system comprises determining a condenser temperature of a condenser of the climate control system for the duration of the insufficient supply of power (Buda, 0006 e.g. “The embodiments disclosed herein relate to improved systems and methods for monitoring and detecting potential problems early in a VCC based HVAC&R system. One embodiment described herein provides an improved HVAC&R monitoring system and method that employs a monitoring application or agent that uses continuous machine learning and a temperature map to derive or “learn” a relation between a measured input power parameter of one or more system compressors, and condenser and evaporator intake fluid temperatures, based on observations of the temperatures and the input power parameter when the HVAC&R system is new or in a “newly maintained” condition,” see also 0019, 0039, 0049, see also “duration,” supra claim 1)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Buda, namely determining a condenser temperature to determine abnormal operation for a time period , to the teachings of Goodnow, namely providing a duration of time for analyzing grid abnormalities associated with power production, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Buda is reasonably pertinent to a problem of allocating power to climate control systems with a benefit of identifying abnormal condenser states.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Janous (PH/PUB 20060011617)
Claim 6. The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the stored energy limitations described below. Janous teaches the stored energy limitations described below
wherein a first one of the one or more power sources is configured to generate power, and a second one of the one or more power sources is configured to provide stored energy (Janous, 0028-30 e.g. see energy storage devices)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Janous, namely providing energy storage devices as part of determining total power capacity for supplying loads, to the teachings of Goodnow, namely determining total power available for loads, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Janous is reasonably pertinent to a problem of determining capacity and would commend itself to determining the power balance conditions of Goodnow.
Claim 17.
The method of claim 1 but does not teach the deep discharge limitations described below. Janous teaches the deep discharge limitations described below
wherein the one or more power sources comprises a battery, and wherein the calculating the total available power comprises calculating a power associated with a deep discharge of the battery (Janous, 0028-30, 0038, 0113 e,g, see accounting for deep discharge for determining total power available)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Janous, namely providing energy storage devices as part of determining total power capacity for supplying loads, to the teachings of Goodnow, namely determining total power available for loads, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Janous is reasonably pertinent to a problem of determining capacity and would commend itself to determining the power balance conditions of Goodnow.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Keil (USPN 10663185)
Claim 9. The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the climate setting limitation described below. Keil teaches the climate setting limitations described below
further comprising receiving a weather forecast, and wherein the determining the climate setting is further based on the weather forecast (ABTRACT, Figure 6, Col 3 lines 40-67 e.g. see automated schedules as reading on climate settings based on weather forecast)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Keil, namely determining climate settings based on weather forecasts , to the teachings of Goodnow, namely adjusting climate settings based in part on weather would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Keil is reasonably pertinent to a problem of determining how weather affects energy consumption of appliances and would commend itself to regulating energy consumption for particular time periods based on weather forecasts as described, summary of invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Hirst (PG/PUB 20110118891)
Claim 13.
The method of claim 1 but does not teach the enabling user limitations described below. Hirst teaches enabling user limitations described below, further comprising:
calculating required power for the area, supra claim 1
comparing the required power with the total available power; supra claim 1, and
based on a determination that the required power that is less than the total available power (e.g. as interpreted, power is available, supra claim 1), enabling a user to adjust a setting of the climate control system (Hirst, 0027, 0034-38, 0350 e.g. see preventing user adjustments during grid imbalance and allowing a user to perform adjustments during normal grid balance, i.e., power is available)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Hirst, namely allowing user adjustment during normal grid states, i.e., power available, to the teachings of Goodnow, namely determining when power is sufficient to supply loads, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Hirst is reasonably pertinent to a problem of enabling and disabling user modification of power settings that otherwise affect the grid balance and would commend itself to a problem of managing appliances based on power balances, summary of invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Zhang (PG/PUB 20190273382)
Claim 15. The method of claim 14 but does not teach the inverter limitations described below. Zhang teaches the inverter limitations described below.
wherein the determining the weather condition parameter comprises receiving data associated with the weather condition parameter via an inverter of the PV power generation system (Zhang, ABSTRACT, 0008)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Zhang, namely providing inverter data for determining photovoltaic power in light of weather conditions , to the teachings of Goodnow, namely regulating appliances based on total power availability, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Zhang is reasonably pertinent to a problem of providing power and would commend itself to determining whether to adjust appliance settings based on power sufficiency.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Hoff (USPN 10797639)
Claim 16. The method of claim 1 but does not teach calculating solar power for a duration. Hoff teachers calculating solar polar fir a duration and supra claim 1 for the duration
wherein the one or more power sources comprises a photovoltaic (PV) power generation system, and wherein the calculating the total available power comprises calculating solar power generated during the duration (Hoff, ABSTRACT, Figure 11, Col 4 lines 1-67, Col 8 lines 51-67)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Hoff, namely determining solar power over a time period , to the teachings of Goodnow, namely determining available power during a time period, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Hoff is reasonably pertinent to a problem of determining available solar power during a time period and would commend itself to determining total power available during grid conditions, see Hoff, ABSTRACT, summary of invention.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Hamaguchi (USPN12444948)
Claim 18.
The method of claim 1 but does not expressly teach the maximum limitations described below. Hamaguhci teaches the maximum limitations described below
wherein the one or more power sources comprises a generator, and wherein the calculating the total available power further comprises determining a maximum amount of power that the generator is configured to supply (Col 8 lines 11-25)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Hamaguchi namely determining maximum power generation , to the teachings of Goodnow, namely determining whether power can satisfy load demands, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Hamaguich is reasonably pertinent to a problem of determining maximum power output, see ABSTRACT, summary of invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodnow et al. (PG/PUB 20100191385) in view over KIM et al. (PG/PUB 20210180822) in view over Brady (PG/PUB 20180306476) in view over Wu (PG/PUB 20210199325) in view over Riley (USPN 5395042)
Claim 20. The method of claim but does not teach the condenser limitations described below or the setting limitations described below. Brady teaches the condenser limitations (e.g. power measurement associated with fault) and Wu teaches the heat loss associated with condenser fault described below and Riley teaches the setting limitations (e.g. as interpreted, compensating for heat loss/drift) described below, further comprising:
monitoring a power consumption of a condenser in the area (Brady, ABSTRACT, 0096 e.g. see condenser failure detection based on power analysis)
determining, based on the power consumption, a heat loss of the area during the duration of insufficient power supply (Wu e.g., see heat loss associated with HVAC component failure, see associated condenser of Brady, ABSTRACT, Figure 5, 0017, 0096)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Brady, namely determining condenser fault based on power analysis, to the teachings of Wu, namely determining heat loss associated with HVAC component failure, to the teachings of Goodnow, ass modified supra claim 1, namely controlling HVAC settings based on power limits would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Brady and Wu are reasonably pertinent to a problem of identify heat loss associated with condenser failures and would commend themselves the multiple HVAC systems within the area, as per Goodnow as modified by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize an improved invention by identifying heat loss associated with power anomalies of the condenser.
The combination does not teach the setting limitations described. Riley teaches the setting limitations described below
setting, based on the heat loss, a temperature for one or more heat devices that are within the area (Riley, ABSTRACT, Figure 2 e.g. see recovery temperature (e.g. setting a temperature) based on temperature drift (e.g. heat loss)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention applying the teachings of Riley, namely setting a temperature in light of temperature drift/heat loss , to the teachings of Goodnow, as modified, namely determining a heat loss associated with condenser failure, would achieve an expected and predictable result via combining said elements using known methods. Riley is reasonably pertinent to a problem of compensating for temperature drifts by activating a HVAC system using a higher temperature set-point to achieve a target temperature within a set time period. The application of Riley to the climate control systems of Goodnow, as modified by Kim, provides an improved invention by achieving target comfort levels after a heat loss occurs due to condenser failure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Claim 1 relevancy
20210180822 20210294405 20110113273 20080178615 20060191275 20050097905 20210180822 20180172309 20170351228 20160097556 20140163743 20050143865
Claim 5 relevancy
20230077210 20160047584
Claim 13 relevancy
20130116829 20110118891 -0034 20230127816 -0019 20230036096
20100191385 8463448 “normal mode returned””
Claim 15 relevancy
20210194424 20200133220 20190273382
Claim 17 relevancy
20200303925 20070282495 20170117710
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117