DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Tarasinski et al (US PG Pub No. 2008/0087480).
Regarding claim 1, Tarasinski teaches An electric power unit, comprising:
an electric motor; (18 figure 1)
a motor shaft (14 figure 1 paragraph 6 rotor of e motor is locked in rotation with ICE paragraph 25) disposed in the electric motor;
an output shaft that outputs power of the electric power unit; (38 figure 1)
a first power transmission mechanism (area around 18) that is connected to the motor shaft (14) and the output shaft (38), and transmits power of the motor shaft to the output shaft; and
a damper disposed in the first power transmission mechanism (26 figure 1 paragraph 26 torsion damper).
Regarding claim 6, Tarasinski teaches further comprising a control unit that controls the electric motor so that a torque of the electric motor changes periodically while a fixed drive signal is received. (paragraph 7 non-uniformities of drivetrain can be minimized)
Regarding claim 7, Tarasinski teaches wherein
the damper has a natural period;
and the control unit is configured to control the electric motor so that a fluctuation period of the torque of the electric motor is a predetermined set period based on the natural period of the damper. (paragraph 7 non-uniformities of drivetrain can be minimized)
Regarding claim 10, Tarasinski teaches further comprising another damper provided in the first power transmission mechanism (paragraph 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarasinski et al (US PG Pub No. 2008/0087480) in view of Uehara (US PG Pub no. 2020/0248779)
Regarding claim 2, Tarasinski teaches a torsion damper (paragaprh 26)
Tarasinski does not explicitly teach however Uehara teaches wherein: the damper is a torsion damper including:
a first rotor; (paragraph 9 input side rotor; 10 figure 3 paragraph 44)
a second rotor arranged coaxial with the first rotor; and (paragraph 9 output side rotor; 20 figure 4 spline hub paragraph 50-53)
a spring that is interposed between the first rotor and the second rotor and transmits a torque of the first rotor to the second rotor. (paragraph 9 damper elastic part)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Tarasinski based on the teachings of Uehara to teach wherein: the damper is a torsion damper including: a first rotor; a second rotor arranged coaxial with the first rotor; and a spring that is interposed between the first rotor and the second rotor and transmits a torque of the first rotor to the second rotor. The motivation would be to inhibit damage of vehicle without reducing drivability (Uehara paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 4, Tarasinski teaches the motor shaft (14 figure 1 paragraph 26 torsion damper)
Tarasinski does not explicitly teach however Uehara teaches wherein the first rotor (10 figure 3) and the second rotor (20 figure 4) are supported on Tarasinskis motor shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Tarasinski based the teachings of Uehara to teach wherein the first rotor and the second rotor are supported on the motor shaft. The motivation would be to inhibit damage of vehicle without reducing drivability (Uehara paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 5, Tarasinki teaches the output shaft (38)
Tarasinski does not explicitly teach however Uehara teaches wherein the first rotor (10 figure 3) and the second rotor (20 figure 4) are supported on the output shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Tarasinski based on the teachings of Uehara to teach wherein the first rotor andthe second rotor are supported on the output shaft. The motivation would be to inhibit damage of vehicle without reducing drivability (Uehara paragraph 8).
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8-9, 11-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747