DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 15-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “control plane” in claims 1, 11 is used by the claim to mean “a communication means/method for user devices,” while the accepted meaning is “a means or method for a network controller, like a router, to establish network topology and define how packets are forwarded through the network.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. The term “control plane” is a term of art that is described as “a logically centralized control frame work that runs the NOS (network operating system), maintains global view of the network, and provides hardware abstractions to SDN applications.” [“Security in Software Defined Networks: A Survey”, Ahmad et al., IEEE Communication Surveys & Tutorials, Vol.17, No.4, Fourth Quarter 2015, pp 2318, col. 1].
Note: for the art rejections below, the claim limitation is interpreted to represent “control plane location-based user device (CP UD)” based on the originally filed disclosure that provides a description of what makes a device a “control plane location-based user device” as an example, as presented in [0016] as Apple iPhone.
Claims 2, 5-12, 15-17 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-12, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annamalai et al. [US 20110269477] in view of Piett et al. [US 20160337831].
As to claim 1. Annamalai discloses A method for facilitating a cellular communication, the method being implemented by at least one electronic processor configured to execute computer programs, [0066], wherein the method comprises:
receiving, at a first network via a user plane, [0019] a Secure User Plane Location terminals, wherein [0036] the communication system 300 may comprise a SUPL positioning center with SUPL standard that is connected to the location center 372, and from a second network, location data of a location-based user device (CP UD), [fig. 7B, 0097] home network receives location data from a visited network (Note: a user plane is simply a framework used for forwarding traffic to the end devices, in this case the user device);
detecting, at the first network, presence or absence of an active connection between the user device and the first network, [fig. 6, 0085, 0086] determines if the emergency call is still active, then continues to determine the location when the access network changes 675, 620;
obtaining, at the first network, the location of the CP UD from the location data, [fig. 6, 7B, 0087] during location determination process, if the mobile device moves to a visited network outside the home network, method of fig. 7B is implemented after step 675, in response to the presence of the active connection, [fig. 6, 0085, 0086] determines if the emergency call is still active, then continues to determine the location when the access network changes 675, 620; and
transmitting the information indicating the location to a location database in communication to the call center, [0095].
Annamalai fails to explicitly disclose wherein the user device is a control plane location-based user device; and wherein the location data being included in a SIP header, the SIP header generated by the CP UD.
Piett teaches a 911 caller location data determination method and system wherein the system uses a session initiation protocol SIP and its header as the signaling protocol, [0063]; wherein the caller’s location is provided in the form of a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), that is appended in the header of the SIP message, [0063]; wherein the URI is generated and added to the URI by the calling device 102, [0064]; wherein the calling device can be an Apple iPhone, [0037].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Annamalai with that of Piett so that the system so that the system can implement internet telephony and allow the user to connect to emergency services when traditional call services are not available.
As to claim 2. Annamalai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the information is received after an emergency call is initiated from the CP UD, [0028, 0085].
As to claim 5. Annamalai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the information is received at the first network after the CP UD moves from the first network to the second network during the active connection with the call center, [0087, 0088].
As to claim 6. Annamalai fails to disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising the following limitations. However, Piett teaches:
obtaining, at the first network, last-known location of the CP UD, [0072]; and
comparing, at the first network, the location of the CP UD received from the second network with the last-known location of the CP UD, [0072],
wherein the transmission of the location of the CP UD to the call center is performed after an outcome of the comparison indicates a difference between the location of the CP UD and the last-known location of the CP UD, [0075].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Annamalai with that of Piett so that the system can use the last known location of the device until the new location is determined as an approximate location of the user.
As to claim 7. Annamalai fails to disclose The method of claim 6, further comprising: saving the CP UD location received from the second network as the last-known CP UD location.
Piett teaches a 911 caller location data determination method and system wherein the system uses a session initiation protocol SIP and its header as the signaling protocol, [0063]; wherein the system updates the new location of the user and saves the location in a database, [0072].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Annamalai with that of Piett so that the system can use the last known location of the device until the new location is determined as an approximate location of the user.
As to claim 8. Annamalai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the information is received at the first network in a user plane, [0019].
As to claim 9. Annamalai discloses The method of claim 8, wherein the information is received through a user plane connection between a first user plane function of the first network and a second user plane function of the second network, [0019, 0038] wherein the user devices and the home network implement a SUPL standards.
As to claim 10. Annamalai discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the information is received from the second network periodically, [0081].
As to claim 11 is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 1.
As to claims 12, 15-17 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 2, 5-7, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Annamalai [0019] fails to teach or suggest routing a control plane location data over a user plane to maintain continuity for a CP location-based user device during inter-network handover.
Response 1: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a control plane location data”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims only claim “receiving … information indicating a location of a … user device”; wherein the user device is claimed to be “a control plane location-based”. There is no “control plane location data” claimed.
User plane is simply a framework used for forwarding traffic to the end devices, in this case the user device. Annamalai, in [0019, 0036] teaches that the network can be implemented to utilize the standards for using a secure user plane location (SUPL) communication standard.
Argument 2: Annamalai fails to teach or suggest routing a control plane location data over a user plane to maintain continuity for a CP location-based user device during inter-network handover.
Response 2: In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “routing”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims only claim “receiving … information indicating a location of a … user device”. There is no “routing” claimed.
Argument 3: Piett fails to tech, disclose, or suggest A “Control Plane Location-Based User Device” (CP UD) and teaches away from the claimed combination.
Response 3: “control plane location-based user device (CP UD)” based on the originally filed disclosure that provides a description of what makes a device a “control plane location-based user device” as an example, as presented in [0016] as Apple iPhone. Piett [0037] teaches that the user device is an Apple iPhone, used in system for managing the location of a calling device during an emergency call, [abs.], and when calls are transferred between PSAPs, [0077]; wherein the location is provided in the form of a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), that is appended in the header of the SIP message, [0063]; wherein the URI is generated and added to the URI by the calling device 102.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688